no, a mounted creature has only three action options, Dash, Disengage and Dodge. It would not be able to perform any other action, such as attacking or spellcasting (if applicable).
The Initiative of a controlled mount changes to match yours when you mount it. It moves on your turn as you direct it, and it has only three action options during that turn: Dash, Disengage, and Dodge. A controlled mount can move and act even on the turn that you mount it.
I would say the rules of mounted combat are more specific than the actions & bonus actions applicable to a ranger from the beast master subclass for this scenario, since you have converted your primal beast into a mounted creature and the rules of mounted creatures applies specifically to mounted creatures.
I would call the mounted rules the general ones and the beastmaster rules the specific ones.
As long a you respect the timings (when actions happens) and spend the attack or bonus action for the mount to attack, it will be fine.
Remember that while mounted you can't move unless your mount moves on its turn. Since is directly after yours, your DM can make concessions about ordering but you still only get 1 move (at the mount speed) in either turn unless the mount dashes (an action from the mount) or you dismount.
Its rather interesting option when it can be done (small player mostly)
Honestly, it depends if a DM rules that you can treat a creature that always follows your commands as an “independent” mount. There’s nothing really clear in RAW one way or the other for that. Also, keep in mind that 24 Beastmaster pets are all Medium or Small. You need to be a Small character to ride any of them.
Wouldn't the specific beats general rule apply to this letting me attack with it while mounted
If you are a Beastmaster Ranger you have two options: either the beast is controlled and only has the 3 Action options of all controlled mounts: Dash, Disengage, Dodge but it moves on your turn. OR it is independent and it's entire turn including its movement occur after your turn.
If you are a Beastmaster Ranger you have two options: either the beast is controlled and only has the 3 Action options of all controlled mounts: Dash, Disengage, Dodge but it moves on your turn. OR it is independent and it's entire turn including its movement occur after your turn.
Nope, the Beastmaster's companion has its own rules that allows it to act on the Beastmasters turn.
The only question here is if a DM allows the companion to be used as a mount while following its normal rules or if he requires a mounted companion to follow all the rules for a controlled mount. Considering that mounts (well Steeds) that a Paladin can summon explicitly are controlled mounts I would probably default to say that a companion would have to be as well.
Then why are drakewardens allowed to attack with the drake while there mounted on it.
The Drakewarden is a bit of a special case with its own special rules. For example it allows a medium sized creature to mount a medium sized Drake, it always require a BA to be commanded to be able to take any action besides Dodge and it takes its turn after the PC has finished his turn. All in all it's a bit special but the lack of coordination means that it has got some big issues in combat, being able to attack is needed really to not be a clearly weaker choice than other mounts.
If I ride my pet like a mount does it still get to make it's attacks and stuff in combat if I command it to do so as my rules state?
no, a mounted creature has only three action options, Dash, Disengage and Dodge. It would not be able to perform any other action, such as attacking or spellcasting (if applicable).
Wouldn't the specific beats general rule apply to this letting me attack with it while mounted
I would say the rules of mounted combat are more specific than the actions & bonus actions applicable to a ranger from the beast master subclass for this scenario, since you have converted your primal beast into a mounted creature and the rules of mounted creatures applies specifically to mounted creatures.
Then why are drakewardens allowed to attack with the drake while there mounted on it.
Its a DM talk for sure.
I would call the mounted rules the general ones and the beastmaster rules the specific ones.
As long a you respect the timings (when actions happens) and spend the attack or bonus action for the mount to attack, it will be fine.
Remember that while mounted you can't move unless your mount moves on its turn. Since is directly after yours, your DM can make concessions about ordering but you still only get 1 move (at the mount speed) in either turn unless the mount dashes (an action from the mount) or you dismount.
Its rather interesting option when it can be done (small player mostly)
This the new beats rules it goes at the same time as me so would me just moving it at the same time I'm doing stuff be right
Honestly, it depends if a DM rules that you can treat a creature that always follows your commands as an “independent” mount. There’s nothing really clear in RAW one way or the other for that. Also, keep in mind that 24 Beastmaster pets are all Medium or Small. You need to be a Small character to ride any of them.
If you are a Beastmaster Ranger you have two options: either the beast is controlled and only has the 3 Action options of all controlled mounts: Dash, Disengage, Dodge but it moves on your turn. OR it is independent and it's entire turn including its movement occur after your turn.
Nope, the Beastmaster's companion has its own rules that allows it to act on the Beastmasters turn.
The only question here is if a DM allows the companion to be used as a mount while following its normal rules or if he requires a mounted companion to follow all the rules for a controlled mount. Considering that mounts (well Steeds) that a Paladin can summon explicitly are controlled mounts I would probably default to say that a companion would have to be as well.
The Drakewarden is a bit of a special case with its own special rules. For example it allows a medium sized creature to mount a medium sized Drake, it always require a BA to be commanded to be able to take any action besides Dodge and it takes its turn after the PC has finished his turn. All in all it's a bit special but the lack of coordination means that it has got some big issues in combat, being able to attack is needed really to not be a clearly weaker choice than other mounts.