if I am not a magic user, can I use the sylvan talon scimitar to cast message using a magic action?
Yes, unless there is some feature of Sylvan Talon that I am forgetting that would specifically prevent you.
'Using a magic item' is generally a Magic Action (except attacking with a magical weapon and items specifically stating their use is another form of action such as a Bonus Action).
Utilize specifically states that it is used with nonmagical items.
The old rule was more complex than "one leveled spell per turn" with some tricky exceptions and exploits, which is what the new rule is trying to address. Regarding Quicken, the new effect for Quicken says "You can’t modify a spell in this way if you’ve already cast a level 1+ spell on the current turn, nor can you cast a level 1+ spell on this turn after modifying a spell in this way," so it does not combo with any method of casting a leveled spell without using a spell slot.
I don't understand how people are voting Yes in this poll
Quickened Spell
Cost: 2 Sorcery Points
When you cast a spell that has a casting time of an action, you can spend 2 Sorcery Points to change the casting time to a Bonus Action for this casting. You can’t modify a spell in this way if you’ve already cast a level 1+ spell on the current turn, nor can you cast a level 1+ spell on this turn after modifying a spell in this way.
Spell slots are irrelevant. If you cast a leveled spell by any means, you can't also Quicken a leveled spell
The poll asks if you can use a Wand or Scroll. A Cantrip Scroll is a 30 GP item and can be cast in the same turn as a Quickened spell.
So, the answer is yes, a Sorcerer can use a cantrip scroll. A Wand of Fireballs (OP's example) doesn't work, but a Wand of Wonder does.
The old rule was more complex than "one leveled spell per turn" with some tricky exceptions and exploits, which is what the new rule is trying to address. Regarding Quicken, the new effect for Quicken says "You can’t modify a spell in this way if you’ve already cast a level 1+ spell on the current turn, nor can you cast a level 1+ spell on this turn after modifying a spell in this way," so it does not combo with any method of casting a leveled spell without using a spell slot.
I don't understand how people are voting Yes in this poll
Quickened Spell
Cost: 2 Sorcery Points
When you cast a spell that has a casting time of an action, you can spend 2 Sorcery Points to change the casting time to a Bonus Action for this casting. You can’t modify a spell in this way if you’ve already cast a level 1+ spell on the current turn, nor can you cast a level 1+ spell on this turn after modifying a spell in this way.
Spell slots are irrelevant. If you cast a leveled spell by any means, you can't also Quicken a leveled spell
The poll asks if you can use a Wand or Scroll. A Cantrip Scroll is a 30 GP item and can be cast in the same turn as a Quickened spell.
So, the answer is yes, a Sorcerer can use a cantrip scroll. A Wand of Fireballs (OP's example) doesn't work, but a Wand of Wonder does.
If you use Quickened Spell, and then you use Wand of Wonder as a Magic action, and the random roll falls on a spell, should that spell fail / not be allowed? Am I right?
If you use Quickened Spell, and then you use Wand of Wonder as a Magic action, and the random roll falls on a spell, should that spell fail / not be allowed? Am I right?
You can’t cast a level 1+ spell from a magic item on the same turn after modifying a spell with Quickened Spell Metamagic Option.
The old rule was more complex than "one leveled spell per turn" with some tricky exceptions and exploits, which is what the new rule is trying to address. Regarding Quicken, the new effect for Quicken says "You can’t modify a spell in this way if you’ve already cast a level 1+ spell on the current turn, nor can you cast a level 1+ spell on this turn after modifying a spell in this way," so it does not combo with any method of casting a leveled spell without using a spell slot.
I don't understand how people are voting Yes in this poll
Quickened Spell
Cost: 2 Sorcery Points
When you cast a spell that has a casting time of an action, you can spend 2 Sorcery Points to change the casting time to a Bonus Action for this casting. You can’t modify a spell in this way if you’ve already cast a level 1+ spell on the current turn, nor can you cast a level 1+ spell on this turn after modifying a spell in this way.
Spell slots are irrelevant. If you cast a leveled spell by any means, you can't also Quicken a leveled spell
The poll asks if you can use a Wand or Scroll. A Cantrip Scroll is a 30 GP item and can be cast in the same turn as a Quickened spell.
So, the answer is yes, a Sorcerer can use a cantrip scroll. A Wand of Fireballs (OP's example) doesn't work, but a Wand of Wonder does.
If you use Quickened Spell, and then you use Wand of Wonder as a Magic action, and the random roll falls on a spell, should that spell fail / not be allowed? Am I right?
Yes, unless there is some feature of Sylvan Talon that I am forgetting that would specifically prevent you.
'Using a magic item' is generally a Magic Action (except attacking with a magical weapon and items specifically stating their use is another form of action such as a Bonus Action).
Utilize specifically states that it is used with nonmagical items.
Thanks!
The poll asks if you can use a Wand or Scroll. A Cantrip Scroll is a 30 GP item and can be cast in the same turn as a Quickened spell.
So, the answer is yes, a Sorcerer can use a cantrip scroll. A Wand of Fireballs (OP's example) doesn't work, but a Wand of Wonder does.
How to add Tooltips.
If you use Quickened Spell, and then you use Wand of Wonder as a Magic action, and the random roll falls on a spell, should that spell fail / not be allowed? Am I right?
You can’t cast a level 1+ spell from a magic item on the same turn after modifying a spell with Quickened Spell Metamagic Option.
Yes, those would fail.
How to add Tooltips.
Ok, thank you both for confirming!