Hey there, so I'm coming across conflicting information online. Some people are saying that in TCoE, it says this about artificer infusions "Whenever you finish a long rest, you can touch up to 2 nonmagical objects, imbuing each of them with one of your artificer infusions, turning it into a magic item. You can attune yourself to the item the instant you infuse it, or you can forgo attunement so that someone else can attune to the item." E.g., this post says that it's on pg. 57 of TCoE. And this post includes the exact wording also as though it's from the book specifically.
But I can't find this wording anywhere except for posts. DND Beyond's Artificer page says "Whenever you finish a long rest, you can touch a nonmagical object and imbue it with one of your artificer infusions, turning it into a magic item. An infusion works on only certain kinds of objects, as specified in the infusion’s description. If the item requires attunement, you can attune yourself to it the instant you infuse the item. If you decide to attune to the item later, you must do so using the normal process for attunement", as does the version of TCoE available on AnyFlip.
I don't think this will really matter for my artificer, since my DM is pretty chill, but I'm just confused and trying to figure out if there are two versions of TCoE out there? Any help would be great lol
Hey there, so I'm coming across conflicting information online. Some people are saying that in TCoE, it says this about artificer infusions "Whenever you finish a long rest, you can touch up to 2 nonmagical objects, imbuing each of them with one of your artificer infusions, turning it into a magic item. You can attune yourself to the item the instant you infuse it, or you can forgo attunement so that someone else can attune to the item." E.g., this post says that it's on pg. 57 of TCoE. And this post includes the exact wording also as though it's from the book specifically.
But I can't find this wording anywhere except for posts. DND Beyond's Artificer page says "Whenever you finish a long rest, you can touch a nonmagical object and imbue it with one of your artificer infusions, turning it into a magic item. An infusion works on only certain kinds of objects, as specified in the infusion’s description. If the item requires attunement, you can attune yourself to it the instant you infuse the item. If you decide to attune to the item later, you must do so using the normal process for attunement", as does the version of TCoE available on AnyFlip.
I don't think this will really matter for my artificer, since my DM is pretty chill, but I'm just confused and trying to figure out if there are two versions of TCoE out there? Any help would be great lol
Most of the digital versions of books here on D&D Beyond have been updated with some errata since they were originally published; this is probably the result of that. Also note that the Artificer class was originally published in Eberron: Rising from the Last War and that version was also slightly different from the Tasha's Cauldron of Everything version, but the digital versions have since been updated to unify them.
In any case there isn't really any meaningful difference between the two versions of that particular section that I can see, so I don't think it will really matter.
I don't think this will really matter for my artificer, since my DM is pretty chill, but I'm just confused and trying to figure out if there are two versions of TCoE out there? Any help would be great lol
The second one is the correct wording.
Not that I can see why it matters. You start with being able to have two simultaneous infusions (increases to a max of six) so the text that says "a" or "two" makes no difference at all.
Remember that this is also from the Infusion rules.
You can infuse more than one nonmagical object at the end of a long rest; the maximum number of objects appears in the Infused Items column of the Artificer table. You must touch each of the objects, and each of your infusions can be in only one object at a time. Moreover, no object can bear more than one of your infusions at a time. If you try to exceed your maximum number of infusions, the oldest infusion immediately ends, and then the new infusion applies.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Hey there, so I'm coming across conflicting information online. Some people are saying that in TCoE, it says this about artificer infusions "Whenever you finish a long rest, you can touch up to 2 nonmagical objects, imbuing each of them with one of your artificer infusions, turning it into a magic item. You can attune yourself to the item the instant you infuse it, or you can forgo attunement so that someone else can attune to the item." E.g., this post says that it's on pg. 57 of TCoE. And this post includes the exact wording also as though it's from the book specifically.
But I can't find this wording anywhere except for posts. DND Beyond's Artificer page says "Whenever you finish a long rest, you can touch a nonmagical object and imbue it with one of your artificer infusions, turning it into a magic item. An infusion works on only certain kinds of objects, as specified in the infusion’s description. If the item requires attunement, you can attune yourself to it the instant you infuse the item. If you decide to attune to the item later, you must do so using the normal process for attunement", as does the version of TCoE available on AnyFlip.
I don't think this will really matter for my artificer, since my DM is pretty chill, but I'm just confused and trying to figure out if there are two versions of TCoE out there? Any help would be great lol
Most of the digital versions of books here on D&D Beyond have been updated with some errata since they were originally published; this is probably the result of that. Also note that the Artificer class was originally published in Eberron: Rising from the Last War and that version was also slightly different from the Tasha's Cauldron of Everything version, but the digital versions have since been updated to unify them.
In any case there isn't really any meaningful difference between the two versions of that particular section that I can see, so I don't think it will really matter.
pronouns: he/she/they
The second one is the correct wording.
Not that I can see why it matters. You start with being able to have two simultaneous infusions (increases to a max of six) so the text that says "a" or "two" makes no difference at all.
Remember that this is also from the Infusion rules.