As an example, if I make a Trip Attack with a Battleaxe and the Topple Mastery and it hits, does the enemy have to make a Strength Saving Throw (Trip) and a Constitution Saving Throw (Topple) on the same hit? Each one of those requires a different type of saving throw.
If two or more things happen at the same time on a turn, the person at the game table—player or DM—whose turn it is decides the order in which those things happen. For example, if two effects occur at the start of a player character’s turn, the player decides which of the effects happens first.
The saves stack but you can't double prone a creature, so if the creature fails the first save, there is no point making the second save if it's only to make it prone while already prone, just if it saves. I think this point is implicitly understood but stating it just to be concise on the matter.
This is different to an attack with a push weapon and pushing attack, where the effect can stack despite being the same effect, pushing a creature potentially up to 25 foot away with a single attack.
Would you let a PC force the creature to make a Constitution saving throw via Topple and then decide based on the result to use Trip Attack, expend one Superiority Die and add the die to the attack’s damage roll and then force the creature to make a Strength saving throw ?
The saves stack but you can't double prone a creature, so if the creature fails the first save, there is no point making the second save if it's only to make it prone while already prone, just if it saves. I think this point is implicitly understood but stating it just to be concise on the matter.
This is different to an attack with a push weapon and pushing attack, where the effect can stack despite being the same effect, pushing a creature potentially up to 25 foot away with a single attack.
I'd use my Battleaxe and if I hit my attack, it would force the enemy to make a CON saving throw, but if it passed the saving throw, I'd then elect to make it a Trip Attack, which would add extra 1d8 damage to my initial attack and then an additional saving throw, but this time it would require a STR saving throw. That's how I would intend to use it.
I know you can't double prone, but it seems like forcing the enemy to make back to back saving throws would give advantage on knocking an enemy prone, at least to a small degree.
The DM can decide that such circumstance may grant Advantage but at base, those two effects don't force the same saving throw, and while one can automatically apply, the other requires to spend a ressource when you resolve the attack so this should be best discussed with DM.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
As an example, if I make a Trip Attack with a Battleaxe and the Topple Mastery and it hits, does the enemy have to make a Strength Saving Throw (Trip) and a Constitution Saving Throw (Topple) on the same hit? Each one of those requires a different type of saving throw.
TIA
I think so, and then this rule is useful.
I've just found a related thread, if it's also useful: Do Mastery Effects and Similar Effects From Other Sources Stack - Rules & Game Mechanics
I agree with TarodNet Trip Attack and Topple can both apply on the same attack.
The saves stack but you can't double prone a creature, so if the creature fails the first save, there is no point making the second save if it's only to make it prone while already prone, just if it saves. I think this point is implicitly understood but stating it just to be concise on the matter.
This is different to an attack with a push weapon and pushing attack, where the effect can stack despite being the same effect, pushing a creature potentially up to 25 foot away with a single attack.
Would you let a PC force the creature to make a Constitution saving throw via Topple and then decide based on the result to use Trip Attack, expend one Superiority Die and add the die to the attack’s damage roll and then force the creature to make a Strength saving throw ?
I'd use my Battleaxe and if I hit my attack, it would force the enemy to make a CON saving throw, but if it passed the saving throw, I'd then elect to make it a Trip Attack, which would add extra 1d8 damage to my initial attack and then an additional saving throw, but this time it would require a STR saving throw. That's how I would intend to use it.
I know you can't double prone, but it seems like forcing the enemy to make back to back saving throws would give advantage on knocking an enemy prone, at least to a small degree.
The DM can decide that such circumstance may grant Advantage but at base, those two effects don't force the same saving throw, and while one can automatically apply, the other requires to spend a ressource when you resolve the attack so this should be best discussed with DM.