I am guessing that the answer to this is probably no, but I wanted to get some feedback and other opinions.
Since War Caster gives one the ability to use a Spell/Cantrip when making an opportunity attack, and Sentinel allows you to make an Opportunity Attack as a reaction, can you use things like Booming Blade as your Reaction/Opportunity Attack from Sentinel?
War Caster
General Feat (Prerequisite: Level 4+, Spellcasting or Pact Magic Feature)
You gain the following benefits.
Ability Score Increase. Increase your Intelligence, Wisdom, or Charisma score by 1, to a maximum of 20.
Concentration. You have Advantage on Constitution saving throws that you make to maintain Concentration.
Reactive Spell. When a creature provokes an Opportunity Attack from you by leaving your reach, you can take a Reaction to cast a spell at the creature rather than making an Opportunity Attack. The spell must have a casting time of one action and must target only that creature.
Somatic Components. You can perform the Somatic components of spells even when you have weapons or a Shield in one or both hands.
Sentinel
General Feat (Prerequisite: Level 4+, Strength or Dexterity 13+)
You gain the following benefits.
Ability Score Increase. Increase your Strength or Dexterity score by 1, to a maximum of 20.
Guardian. Immediately after a creature within 5 feet of you takes the Disengage action or hits a target other than you with an attack, you can make an Opportunity Attack against that creature.
Halt. When you hit a creature with an Opportunity Attack, the creature’s Speed becomes 0 for the rest of the current turn.
When a creature provokes an Opportunity Attack from you by leaving your reach
That said, if you're investing multiple feats, might as well ask your DM if you can get away with it, even though it's not RAW
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock) Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric) Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue) Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
AntonSirius already gave the answer, so maybe not for LeoDillon, but for anyone else looking for this interaction, the following threads could be helpful:
Maybe this doesn't perfectly apply this this exact interaction in terms of causing a restriction, but it's sure to be important in other attempted combinations and interactions . . .
. . . notice also that when using the 2024 War Caster feat, you are not actually making an opportunity attack when you use the "Reactive Spell" clause to cast a spell at a creature:
you can take a Reaction to cast a spell at the creature rather than making an Opportunity Attack.
But yeah, in this case, as already mentioned, the reason why this combination doesn't work is because the War Caster clause only applies when a creature provokes an OA from you "by leaving your reach".
But would it not be applicable when the opponent is using the disengage action because the opponent is taking an action to leave the reach of the War Caster. I would assert that the 0 movement rate would not apply, as the Reactive Strike is in place of the opportunity attack. But the Sentinel-War Caster has an increased range of opportunity attacks (regular withdrawal from combat OR disengage) in which the Reactive Spell would apply.
But would it not be applicable when the opponent is using the disengage action because the opponent is taking an action to leave the reach of the War Caster. I would assert that the 0 movement rate would not apply, as the Reactive Strike is in place of the opportunity attack. But the Sentinel-War Caster has an increased range of opportunity attacks (regular withdrawal from combat OR disengage) in which the Reactive Spell would apply.
Preparing to leave your reach =/= leaving your reach.
But would it not be applicable when the opponent is using the disengage action because the opponent is taking an action to leave the reach of the War Caster. I would assert that the 0 movement rate would not apply, as the Reactive Strike is in place of the opportunity attack. But the Sentinel-War Caster has an increased range of opportunity attacks (regular withdrawal from combat OR disengage) in which the Reactive Spell would apply.
No Reactive Spell doesn't work with Guardian because a creature taking the Disengage action is not provoking by leaving your reach.
To give a concrete, albeit contrived, scenario where "disengage but doesn't leave reach" is showcased, imagine two PCs sandwiching an enemy. The enemy takes the disengage action and moves to the other side of you without ever leaving your reach. This would trigger sentinel but not war caster.
But would it not be applicable when the opponent is using the disengage action because the opponent is taking an action to leave the reach of the War Caster. I would assert that the 0 movement rate would not apply, as the Reactive Strike is in place of the opportunity attack. But the Sentinel-War Caster has an increased range of opportunity attacks (regular withdrawal from combat OR disengage) in which the Reactive Spell would apply.
No Reactive Spell doesn't work with Guardian because a creature taking the Disengage action is not provoking by leaving your reach.
Actually, thats exactly what happens, because thats what the Sentinel feat provides: Guardian. Immediately after a creature within 5 feet of you takes the Disengage action or hits a target other than you with an attack, you can make an Opportunity Attack against that creature. Here are the key things to keep in mind. From the rules in the Players Handbook:
<If you take the Disengage action, your movement doesn’t provoke Opportunity Attacks for the rest of the current turn.> This means that the Disengage action is defined by the Opportunity Attacks definition. Let's follow that with that rule from the PHB: <You can make an Opportunity Attack when a creature that you can see leaves your reach using its action, its Bonus Action, its Reaction, or one of its speeds.>
So, by definition, Disengage includes leaving the reach of the PC, thereby alleviating the primary limiter of the Reactive Spells.
To give a concrete, albeit contrived, scenario where "disengage but doesn't leave reach" is showcased, imagine two PCs sandwiching an enemy. The enemy takes the disengage action and moves to the other side of you without ever leaving your reach. This would trigger sentinel but not war caster.
In your case, neither War Caster proc nor Sentinel would be triggered, because the enemy has not actually Disengaged. As noted in the post above, in order to Disengage, movement that would otherwise provoke an Opportunity Attack is required. And Opportunity Attack occurs when a creature that you can see leaves your reach using its action, its Bonus Action, its Reaction, or one of its speeds.
To say that you use the Disengage action without actually leaving the reach of the PC is akin to taking the Dash action without moving.
To give a concrete, albeit contrived, scenario where "disengage but doesn't leave reach" is showcased, imagine two PCs sandwiching an enemy. The enemy takes the disengage action and moves to the other side of you without ever leaving your reach. This would trigger sentinel but not war caster.
In your case, neither War Caster proc nor Sentinel would be triggered, because the enemy has not actually Disengaged. As noted in the post above, in order to Disengage, movement that would otherwise provoke an Opportunity Attack is required. And Opportunity Attack occurs when a creature that you can see leaves your reach using its action, its Bonus Action, its Reaction, or one of its speeds.
To say that you use the Disengage action without actually leaving the reach of the PC is akin to taking the Dash action without moving.
In that example, Sentinel is triggered, because the enemy took the Disengage action. Taking the Disengage action is explicitly what triggers that part of the Sentinel feat.
Taking the Dash action without moving is rarely a useful thing to do, but there's nothing saying you can't do it. Neither the Dash action nor the Disengage action actually includes any movement as part of the action.
But would it not be applicable when the opponent is using the disengage action because the opponent is taking an action to leave the reach of the War Caster. I would assert that the 0 movement rate would not apply, as the Reactive Strike is in place of the opportunity attack. But the Sentinel-War Caster has an increased range of opportunity attacks (regular withdrawal from combat OR disengage) in which the Reactive Spell would apply.
No Reactive Spell doesn't work with Guardian because a creature taking the Disengage action is not provoking by leaving your reach.
Actually, thats exactly what happens, because thats what the Sentinel feat provides: Guardian. Immediately after a creature within 5 feet of you takes the Disengage action or hits a target other than you with an attack, you can make an Opportunity Attack against that creature. Here are the key things to keep in mind. From the rules in the Players Handbook:
<If you take the Disengage action, your movement doesn’t provoke Opportunity Attacks for the rest of the current turn.> This means that the Disengage action is defined by the Opportunity Attacks definition. Let's follow that with that rule from the PHB: <You can make an Opportunity Attack when a creature that you can see leaves your reach using its action, its Bonus Action, its Reaction, or one of its speeds.>
So, by definition, Disengage includes leaving the reach of the PC, thereby alleviating the primary limiter of the Reactive Spells.
What? That's not what is says. It's simply making it so that if you move you don't provoke opportunity attacks.
No. That's absolutely not correct. You can move as much as you want as long as you stay within the opponent's reach and then you NEVER have to use disengage. You can dance a jig within 5 feet, you can do a waltz with the opponent within 5 feet and never need disengage OR worry about an AoO. You're going to smacked, but as long as you're within reach that happens anyway, regardless of your "movement"
And if you are outside of their reach, clearly Disengage and AoO are irrelevant.
Disengage is defined by Opportunity Attack. Reread it in the rules section of the PHB if you dont trust what I've quoted above. You Disengage because you do not want to stay within Attack range and movement away would otherwise provoke an AoO. The rule is not relevant in any ither situation. And an Opportunity Attack occurs when an opponent that you can see leaves your reach.
Declaring Disengage does not make the action happen anymore than declaring an Attack makes it happen. Until you swing your sword, you can still cast a Heal spell. Until you start moving away, you haven't disengaged and can still take a swing with your sword. And in fact, once Disengage is interrupted by a reaction like Sentinel, you can still use a different action, like a Dimension Door spell.
No. That's absolutely not correct. You can move as much as you want as long as you stay within the opponent's reach and then you NEVER have to use disengage. You can dance a jig within 5 feet, you can do a waltz with the opponent within 5 feet and never need disengage OR worry about an AoO. You're going to smacked, but as long as you're within reach that happens anyway, regardless of your "movement"
And if you are outside of their reach, clearly Disengage and AoO are irrelevant.
Disengage is defined by Opportunity Attack. Reread it in the rules section of the PHB if you dont trust what I've quoted above. You Disengage because you do not want to stay within Attack range and movement away would otherwise provoke an AoO. The rule is not relevant in any ither situation. And an Opportunity Attack occurs when an opponent that you can see leaves your reach.
Declaring Disengage does not make the action happen anymore than declaring an Attack makes it happen. Until you swing your sword, you can still cast a Heal spell. Until you start moving away, you haven't disengaged and can still take a swing with your sword. And in fact, once Disengage is interrupted by a reaction like Sentinel, you can still use a different action, like a Dimension Door spell.
I never said that moving automatically provokes opportunity attacks.
You are making no sense: you have literally quoted that disengage is defined separately from opportunity attack.
There is another scenario in which you want to disengage: if you plan to run past an enemy who's reach you aren't currently in on that turn.
By your logic, do you need to be attacked on your turn to use the dodge action?
You cannot change your action if sentinel is used. No rule gives you back your action if it doesn't do anything.
What other people are answering you here or in that thread is how the rules work: If you take the Disengage action, your movement doesn't provoke Opportunity Attacks for the rest of the current turn. You are not forced to move, and if you don't move, I could agree it's a strange scenario, but it's fine.
But, whether you move or not, you're not going to provoke an Opportunity Attack when leaving the enemy's reach.
What other people are answering you here or in that thread is how the rules work: If you take the Disengage action, your movement doesn't provoke Opportunity Attacks for the rest of the current turn. You are not forced to move, and if you don't move, I could agree it's a strange scenario, but it's fine.
But, whether you move or not, you're not going to provoke an Opportunity Attack when leaving the enemy's reach.
Except that is the whole point of the Sentinel feat.
And I disagree that this is "how the rules work". I actually have a pretty open mind about this, and have conceded that the other option of the Guardian feat, an attack on an ally, does not proc the "correct" Opportunity Attack. Having said that, however, all of the other arguments I have seen essentially amount to, "no, that's not what the rule says", while I have dropped the actual PHB passages showing why that's EXACTLY what the rules say, RAW as well as RAI.
I would recommend that you carefully read how the feats works, how Opportunity Attack is defined, how Disengage is defined, and how Actions work. The idea that an action is determined by intent and not by the actual utilization of the action is absolute nonsense.
However, since it is clear that we are going to have to agree to disagree on this, I will disengage from this discussion. Fortunately, there is no Sentinel feat in RL to prevent this.
No. That's absolutely not correct. You can move as much as you want as long as you stay within the opponent's reach and then you NEVER have to use disengage. You can dance a jig within 5 feet, you can do a waltz with the opponent within 5 feet and never need disengage OR worry about an AoO. You're going to smacked, but as long as you're within reach that happens anyway, regardless of your "movement"
And if you are outside of their reach, clearly Disengage and AoO are irrelevant.
Disengage is defined by Opportunity Attack. Reread it in the rules section of the PHB if you dont trust what I've quoted above. You Disengage because you do not want to stay within Attack range and movement away would otherwise provoke an AoO. The rule is not relevant in any ither situation. And an Opportunity Attack occurs when an opponent that you can see leaves your reach.
Declaring Disengage does not make the action happen anymore than declaring an Attack makes it happen. Until you swing your sword, you can still cast a Heal spell. Until you start moving away, you haven't disengaged and can still take a swing with your sword. And in fact, once Disengage is interrupted by a reaction like Sentinel, you can still use a different action, like a Dimension Door spell.
I never said that moving automatically provokes opportunity attacks.
I never said you did. My point is that the only movement that is relevant to Disengage is the movement that asoociated with Opportunity Attack.
You are making no sense: you have literally quoted that disengage is defined separately from opportunity attack.
No, I have literally quoted that Disengage is defined BY Opportunity Attack, which it is.
There is another scenario in which you want to disengage: if you plan to run past an enemy who's reach you aren't currently in on that turn.
Yes, and in this scenario, you would not actually disengage until after entering the enemy's circle and then beginning to leave it again, at which point Sentinel WOULD be applicable, as you are leaving the enemy's reach. But if you planned to run past the enemy and then the enemy died, what are you disengaging from? It's not the intent, it's the action.
By your logic, do you need to be attacked on your turn to use the dodge action?
You are absolutely correct! If you are dodging, but there is nothing to dodge, then what you're actually doing is dancing.
You cannot change your action if sentinel is used. No rule gives you back your action if it doesn't do anything.
Until you perform the action, you can change it. And Sentinel, as a Reaction, disallows the initial action. In the same way that you can stop your movement when someone drops a War Caster "Booming Blade" on you, you can alter your action when someone Sentinel Halts you.
I know you're leaving the thread, but I just want to add one more example to show that you can take the Disengage action without actually moving:
If you use Ready Action to take Disengage and define the trigger to happen on another creature's turn, then when the trigger happens, you can't move. So movement and the Disengage action aren't always connected, or even allowed together.
However, since it is clear that we are going to have to agree to disagree on this, I will disengage from this discussion. Fortunately, there is no Sentinel feat in RL to prevent this.
With or without Sentinel, I'll never attack you, adventurer, or any other guy!
No. That's absolutely not correct. You can move as much as you want as long as you stay within the opponent's reach and then you NEVER have to use disengage. You can dance a jig within 5 feet, you can do a waltz with the opponent within 5 feet and never need disengage OR worry about an AoO. You're going to smacked, but as long as you're within reach that happens anyway, regardless of your "movement"
And if you are outside of their reach, clearly Disengage and AoO are irrelevant.
Disengage is defined by Opportunity Attack. Reread it in the rules section of the PHB if you dont trust what I've quoted above. You Disengage because you do not want to stay within Attack range and movement away would otherwise provoke an AoO. The rule is not relevant in any ither situation. And an Opportunity Attack occurs when an opponent that you can see leaves your reach.
Declaring Disengage does not make the action happen anymore than declaring an Attack makes it happen. Until you swing your sword, you can still cast a Heal spell. Until you start moving away, you haven't disengaged and can still take a swing with your sword. And in fact, once Disengage is interrupted by a reaction like Sentinel, you can still use a different action, like a Dimension Door spell.
I never said that moving automatically provokes opportunity attacks.
I never said you did. My point is that the only movement that is relevant to Disengage is the movement that asoociated with Opportunity Attack.
You are making no sense: you have literally quoted that disengage is defined separately from opportunity attack.
No, I have literally quoted that Disengage is defined BY Opportunity Attack, which it is.
There is another scenario in which you want to disengage: if you plan to run past an enemy who's reach you aren't currently in on that turn.
Yes, and in this scenario, you would not actually disengage until after entering the enemy's circle and then beginning to leave it again, at which point Sentinel WOULD be applicable, as you are leaving the enemy's reach. But if you planned to run past the enemy and then the enemy died, what are you disengaging from? It's not the intent, it's the action.
By your logic, do you need to be attacked on your turn to use the dodge action?
You are absolutely correct! If you are dodging, but there is nothing to dodge, then what you're actually doing is dancing.
You cannot change your action if sentinel is used. No rule gives you back your action if it doesn't do anything.
Until you perform the action, you can change it. And Sentinel, as a Reaction, disallows the initial action. In the same way that you can stop your movement when someone drops a War Caster "Booming Blade" on you, you can alter your action when someone Sentinel Halts you.
I don't think I need to respond to most of these points. According to you, the dodge action doesn't exist unless you draw an opportunity attack on your turn.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I am guessing that the answer to this is probably no, but I wanted to get some feedback and other opinions.
Since War Caster gives one the ability to use a Spell/Cantrip when making an opportunity attack, and Sentinel allows you to make an Opportunity Attack as a reaction, can you use things like Booming Blade as your Reaction/Opportunity Attack from Sentinel?
War Caster
General Feat (Prerequisite: Level 4+, Spellcasting or Pact Magic Feature)
You gain the following benefits.
Ability Score Increase. Increase your Intelligence, Wisdom, or Charisma score by 1, to a maximum of 20.
Concentration. You have Advantage on Constitution saving throws that you make to maintain Concentration.
Reactive Spell. When a creature provokes an Opportunity Attack from you by leaving your reach, you can take a Reaction to cast a spell at the creature rather than making an Opportunity Attack. The spell must have a casting time of one action and must target only that creature.
Somatic Components. You can perform the Somatic components of spells even when you have weapons or a Shield in one or both hands.
Sentinel
General Feat (Prerequisite: Level 4+, Strength or Dexterity 13+)
You gain the following benefits.
Ability Score Increase. Increase your Strength or Dexterity score by 1, to a maximum of 20.
Guardian. Immediately after a creature within 5 feet of you takes the Disengage action or hits a target other than you with an attack, you can make an Opportunity Attack against that creature.
Halt. When you hit a creature with an Opportunity Attack, the creature’s Speed becomes 0 for the rest of the current turn.
War Caster explicitly doesn't allow it
That said, if you're investing multiple feats, might as well ask your DM if you can get away with it, even though it's not RAW
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock)
Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric)
Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue)
Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
AntonSirius already gave the answer, so maybe not for LeoDillon, but for anyone else looking for this interaction, the following threads could be helpful:
Maybe this doesn't perfectly apply this this exact interaction in terms of causing a restriction, but it's sure to be important in other attempted combinations and interactions . . .
. . . notice also that when using the 2024 War Caster feat, you are not actually making an opportunity attack when you use the "Reactive Spell" clause to cast a spell at a creature:
But yeah, in this case, as already mentioned, the reason why this combination doesn't work is because the War Caster clause only applies when a creature provokes an OA from you "by leaving your reach".
But would it not be applicable when the opponent is using the disengage action because the opponent is taking an action to leave the reach of the War Caster. I would assert that the 0 movement rate would not apply, as the Reactive Strike is in place of the opportunity attack. But the Sentinel-War Caster has an increased range of opportunity attacks (regular withdrawal from combat OR disengage) in which the Reactive Spell would apply.
Preparing to leave your reach =/= leaving your reach.
No Reactive Spell doesn't work with Guardian because a creature taking the Disengage action is not provoking by leaving your reach.
To give a concrete, albeit contrived, scenario where "disengage but doesn't leave reach" is showcased, imagine two PCs sandwiching an enemy. The enemy takes the disengage action and moves to the other side of you without ever leaving your reach. This would trigger sentinel but not war caster.
Actually, thats exactly what happens, because thats what the Sentinel feat provides: Guardian. Immediately after a creature within 5 feet of you takes the Disengage action or hits a target other than you with an attack, you can make an Opportunity Attack against that creature. Here are the key things to keep in mind. From the rules in the Players Handbook:
<If you take the Disengage action, your movement doesn’t provoke Opportunity Attacks for the rest of the current turn.> This means that the Disengage action is defined by the Opportunity Attacks definition. Let's follow that with that rule from the PHB: <You can make an Opportunity Attack when a creature that you can see leaves your reach using its action, its Bonus Action, its Reaction, or one of its speeds.>
So, by definition, Disengage includes leaving the reach of the PC, thereby alleviating the primary limiter of the Reactive Spells.
In your case, neither War Caster proc nor Sentinel would be triggered, because the enemy has not actually Disengaged. As noted in the post above, in order to Disengage, movement that would otherwise provoke an Opportunity Attack is required. And Opportunity Attack occurs when a creature that you can see leaves your reach using its action, its Bonus Action, its Reaction, or one of its speeds.
To say that you use the Disengage action without actually leaving the reach of the PC is akin to taking the Dash action without moving.
In that example, Sentinel is triggered, because the enemy took the Disengage action. Taking the Disengage action is explicitly what triggers that part of the Sentinel feat.
Taking the Dash action without moving is rarely a useful thing to do, but there's nothing saying you can't do it. Neither the Dash action nor the Disengage action actually includes any movement as part of the action.
pronouns: he/she/they
What? That's not what is says. It's simply making it so that if you move you don't provoke opportunity attacks.
No. That's absolutely not correct. You can move as much as you want as long as you stay within the opponent's reach and then you NEVER have to use disengage. You can dance a jig within 5 feet, you can do a waltz with the opponent within 5 feet and never need disengage OR worry about an AoO. You're going to smacked, but as long as you're within reach that happens anyway, regardless of your "movement"
And if you are outside of their reach, clearly Disengage and AoO are irrelevant.
Disengage is defined by Opportunity Attack. Reread it in the rules section of the PHB if you dont trust what I've quoted above. You Disengage because you do not want to stay within Attack range and movement away would otherwise provoke an AoO. The rule is not relevant in any ither situation. And an Opportunity Attack occurs when an opponent that you can see leaves your reach.
Declaring Disengage does not make the action happen anymore than declaring an Attack makes it happen. Until you swing your sword, you can still cast a Heal spell. Until you start moving away, you haven't disengaged and can still take a swing with your sword. And in fact, once Disengage is interrupted by a reaction like Sentinel, you can still use a different action, like a Dimension Door spell.
Tulbar I realized you were the OP in the thread Using Sentinel Feat against a Spell Caster
What other people are answering you here or in that thread is how the rules work: If you take the Disengage action, your movement doesn't provoke Opportunity Attacks for the rest of the current turn. You are not forced to move, and if you don't move, I could agree it's a strange scenario, but it's fine.
But, whether you move or not, you're not going to provoke an Opportunity Attack when leaving the enemy's reach.
Except that is the whole point of the Sentinel feat.
And I disagree that this is "how the rules work". I actually have a pretty open mind about this, and have conceded that the other option of the Guardian feat, an attack on an ally, does not proc the "correct" Opportunity Attack. Having said that, however, all of the other arguments I have seen essentially amount to, "no, that's not what the rule says", while I have dropped the actual PHB passages showing why that's EXACTLY what the rules say, RAW as well as RAI.
I would recommend that you carefully read how the feats works, how Opportunity Attack is defined, how Disengage is defined, and how Actions work. The idea that an action is determined by intent and not by the actual utilization of the action is absolute nonsense.
However, since it is clear that we are going to have to agree to disagree on this, I will disengage from this discussion. Fortunately, there is no Sentinel feat in RL to prevent this.
If you use Ready Action to take Disengage and define the trigger to happen on another creature's turn, then when the trigger happens, you can't move. So movement and the Disengage action aren't always connected, or even allowed together.
With or without Sentinel, I'll never attack you, adventurer, or any other guy!
No by definition taking the Disengage action doesn't make you move at all but makes your movement not provoke OA if you do.
I don't think I need to respond to most of these points. According to you, the dodge action doesn't exist unless you draw an opportunity attack on your turn.