I apologize for what might be a simple question, but I haven't found an answer in the rulebook or the sites I checked. I wanted to know whether a character can use their Reaction to attack, and then attack again with their Action that same turn. So the character takes their Action in turn 1 to Ready: in this case, when the thug comes into range to hit him with his axe. When the thug does so, the character Reacts and hits the thug with his axe. Since this was a Reaction, doesn't he still have an Action that turn, and can he use that to Attack with his axe again?
If you use your turn to take the Ready Action, you could define the trigger to happen on your own turn or another creature's turn (off-turn). In this case, you wouldn't be able to take the Attack action on your turn, because normally you can take only one action.
Action
On your turn, you can take one action. Choose which action to take from those below or from the special actions provided by your features. See also chapter 1 (“Actions”). These actions are defined elsewhere in this glossary: [...]
If the trigger happens, you will consume your Reaction at that point (e.g. to attack the thug)
Next turn, you will have your Action, Bonus Action and Reaction available again.
Reaction
A Reaction is a special action taken in response to a trigger defined in the Reaction’s description. You can take a Reaction on another creature’s turn, and if you take it on your turn, you can do so even if you also take an action, a Bonus Action, or both. Once you take a Reaction, you can’t take another one until the start of your next turn. The Opportunity Attack is a Reaction available to all creatures. See also “Opportunity Attacks” and chapter 1 (“Actions”).
There are a few edge cases where it's possible to trigger a reaction attack on your own turn against another creature and still take the attack action. I believe one edge case would be two level 15+ Vengeance Paladins. The 1st Vengeance Paladin attacks the 2nd, this causes the 2nd Paladin to use soul of vengeance where they take a reaction to attack the 1st paladin. Now that the 2nd paladin has taken an attack against the 1st Vengeance Paladin, the 1st Vengeance Paladin also uses soul of vengeance to take a reaction to attack the 2nd paladin. This allows the 1st paladin to both use their action and reaction to attack the 2nd paladin on the 1st paladin's move.
Generally speaking however, such scenarios are rare to the point it's not worth worrying about.
Also thanks to classic ways like Haste or Action Surge?
You could use those to get a ready action and take an attack action but at that point, what is the point? It's wasting a reaction for no net benefit really. So possible in those ways too but pointless since you consume the reaction for no reason or worse yet, lose attacks (extra attack) from going that way around.
So the character takes their Action in turn 1 to Ready: in this case, when the thug comes into range to hit him with his axe. When the thug does so, the character Reacts and hits the thug with his axe. Since this was a Reaction, doesn't he still have an Action that turn, and can he use that to Attack with his axe again?
So if the character use their Action to Ready (an attack against an opponent as you specified) on Turn 1 that turn is then ended (possibly having done other things too) before the thug can take their Turn 1 (to move and to try to attack the character). The character could use his Reaction (from the Ready action) but that is used on the thugs Turn 1.
Then at some point Round 1 ends and Round 2 starts. And when the characters Turn 2 comes around he then gets actions back (Action, Bonus Action, Reaction) and he can then use them as he sees fit. Having used his Reaction on Turn 1 does not affect that.
One thing to remember is that if you Ready an action on a Turn then it has to be taken (via a Reaction) before the start of your next Turn otherwise it is lost. Also just because you Ready an action then that doesn't mean that you have to do that action, you can ignore the trigger when(/if) it comes along or you can choose to take another Reaction when an opportunity arises. Just remember that you only have one Reaction to use (you get it back when you start your next Turn).
Also thanks to classic ways like Haste or Action Surge?
You could use those to get a ready action and take an attack action but at that point, what is the point? It's wasting a reaction for no net benefit really. So possible in those ways too but pointless since you consume the reaction for no reason or worse yet, lose attacks (extra attack) from going that way around.
Yeah, I don't see the point either. Just added those options in case they're helpful for the OP.
Also thanks to classic ways like Haste or Action Surge?
You could use those to get a ready action and take an attack action but at that point, what is the point? It's wasting a reaction for no net benefit really. So possible in those ways too but pointless since you consume the reaction for no reason or worse yet, lose attacks (extra attack) from going that way around.
Yeah, I don't see the point either. Just added those options in case they're helpful for the OP.
Only case I can think of - Sneak Attack. A rogue that has Haste cast on them can use their extra action to attack, then Ready an Attack to get on off-turn attack, to which they can apply Sneak Attack. This lets Rogues effectively double their total damage by getting their second attack on a different turn so that they can apply Sneak Attack twice per round.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I apologize for what might be a simple question, but I haven't found an answer in the rulebook or the sites I checked. I wanted to know whether a character can use their Reaction to attack, and then attack again with their Action that same turn. So the character takes their Action in turn 1 to Ready: in this case, when the thug comes into range to hit him with his axe. When the thug does so, the character Reacts and hits the thug with his axe. Since this was a Reaction, doesn't he still have an Action that turn, and can he use that to Attack with his axe again?
If you use your turn to take the Ready Action, you could define the trigger to happen on your own turn or another creature's turn (off-turn). In this case, you wouldn't be able to take the Attack action on your turn, because normally you can take only one action.
If the trigger happens, you will consume your Reaction at that point (e.g. to attack the thug)
Next turn, you will have your Action, Bonus Action and Reaction available again.
There are a few edge cases where it's possible to trigger a reaction attack on your own turn against another creature and still take the attack action. I believe one edge case would be two level 15+ Vengeance Paladins. The 1st Vengeance Paladin attacks the 2nd, this causes the 2nd Paladin to use soul of vengeance where they take a reaction to attack the 1st paladin. Now that the 2nd paladin has taken an attack against the 1st Vengeance Paladin, the 1st Vengeance Paladin also uses soul of vengeance to take a reaction to attack the 2nd paladin. This allows the 1st paladin to both use their action and reaction to attack the 2nd paladin on the 1st paladin's move.
Generally speaking however, such scenarios are rare to the point it's not worth worrying about.
Also thanks to classic ways like Haste or Action Surge?
You could use those to get a ready action and take an attack action but at that point, what is the point? It's wasting a reaction for no net benefit really. So possible in those ways too but pointless since you consume the reaction for no reason or worse yet, lose attacks (extra attack) from going that way around.
Using either of your Action or your Reaction doesn't inherently affect the use of the other (nor does it limit your Bonus Action or movement).
You might have some concepts mixed up here. A Turn is the timespan where a creature makes his actions and a Round is the timespan where all creatures takes their Turn (in Initiative order).
So if the character use their Action to Ready (an attack against an opponent as you specified) on Turn 1 that turn is then ended (possibly having done other things too) before the thug can take their Turn 1 (to move and to try to attack the character). The character could use his Reaction (from the Ready action) but that is used on the thugs Turn 1.
Then at some point Round 1 ends and Round 2 starts. And when the characters Turn 2 comes around he then gets actions back (Action, Bonus Action, Reaction) and he can then use them as he sees fit. Having used his Reaction on Turn 1 does not affect that.
One thing to remember is that if you Ready an action on a Turn then it has to be taken (via a Reaction) before the start of your next Turn otherwise it is lost. Also just because you Ready an action then that doesn't mean that you have to do that action, you can ignore the trigger when(/if) it comes along or you can choose to take another Reaction when an opportunity arises. Just remember that you only have one Reaction to use (you get it back when you start your next Turn).
Yeah, I don't see the point either. Just added those options in case they're helpful for the OP.
Only case I can think of - Sneak Attack. A rogue that has Haste cast on them can use their extra action to attack, then Ready an Attack to get on off-turn attack, to which they can apply Sneak Attack. This lets Rogues effectively double their total damage by getting their second attack on a different turn so that they can apply Sneak Attack twice per round.