Tonight I ran into an interesting concept with Reactions. My character was first first to go. (aka Had the highest initiative) My movement included running past two monsters drawing their "Attack of Opportunity" reactions.
Later during that round, the two monsters took their turn and attacked. I am good with that.
However, three of the party members had yet to take their turn in that round.
So, here is the question: If any of those three party members were to leave melee combat would those party members be subject to "Attack of Opportunity" from the two monsters I had run past at the start of this round?
The DM and several players insisted that is how "reactions" work. Those two monsters got "Attack of Opportunity" reactions against the players who went after them in initiative.
You regain your reaction at the start of your turn. If the order is your turn, enemies take opportunity attacks, enemies turn, ally's turn, enemies take opportunity attacks that's how it's supposed to work. It would work if the players and enemies roles were reversed too. You can find the reaction rules near the beginning of chapter 9, combat, of the 2014 PHB. Those enemies won't have a reaction until the start of their next turn. Going to the top of the initiative order doesn't matter.
At the risk of over-explaining what others said. Each creature gets one reaction per round. That reaction can be used to take an opportunity attack. The reaction refreshes on the creature’s turn. So you run past a monster, it uses its reaction and to take an OA against you. Let’s say another PC is next in order. They can run past that same monster, and will not draw an OA, because the monster no longer has a reaction.
Then the monster goes, and takes its turn. It now has a reaction again, because it gets a new one on its turn. So, now if another PC tries to run past it, the monster might choose to use its reaction to take the OA.
It’s important to think in terms of the OA as using a reaction, because sometimes monsters have other things they can do with their reaction. So if they do one of those other things, they can’t take an OA, and vice versa.
It's worth pointing out that "round" is more of a term of convenience in 5e D&D and the official rules don't really use it to define the timing of things. Things that people think of as being "once per round" are always actually defined as "until the start of your next turn" or "until the end of their next turn" or something along those lines.
Tonight I ran into an interesting concept with Reactions. My character was first first to go. (aka Had the highest initiative)
My movement included running past two monsters drawing their "Attack of Opportunity" reactions.
Later during that round, the two monsters took their turn and attacked. I am good with that.
However, three of the party members had yet to take their turn in that round.
So, here is the question: If any of those three party members were to leave melee combat would those party members be subject to "Attack of Opportunity" from the two monsters I had run past at the start of this round?
The DM and several players insisted that is how "reactions" work. Those two monsters got "Attack of Opportunity" reactions against the players who went after them in initiative.
Note: We are playing DnD 5e (2014 rules).
You regain your reaction at the start of your turn. If the order is your turn, enemies take opportunity attacks, enemies turn, ally's turn, enemies take opportunity attacks that's how it's supposed to work. It would work if the players and enemies roles were reversed too. You can find the reaction rules near the beginning of chapter 9, combat, of the 2014 PHB. Those enemies won't have a reaction until the start of their next turn. Going to the top of the initiative order doesn't matter.
Just to add: under the 2014 rules, you have a Reaction at the start of combat if you're not surprised.
In the 2024 rules, being surprised no longer affects your Reaction.
When you take a reaction, you can't take another one until the start of your next turn.
This can be in the same round.
At the risk of over-explaining what others said. Each creature gets one reaction per round. That reaction can be used to take an opportunity attack. The reaction refreshes on the creature’s turn.
So you run past a monster, it uses its reaction and to take an OA against you. Let’s say another PC is next in order. They can run past that same monster, and will not draw an OA, because the monster no longer has a reaction.
Then the monster goes, and takes its turn. It now has a reaction again, because it gets a new one on its turn. So, now if another PC tries to run past it, the monster might choose to use its reaction to take the OA.
It’s important to think in terms of the OA as using a reaction, because sometimes monsters have other things they can do with their reaction. So if they do one of those other things, they can’t take an OA, and vice versa.
It's worth pointing out that "round" is more of a term of convenience in 5e D&D and the official rules don't really use it to define the timing of things. Things that people think of as being "once per round" are always actually defined as "until the start of your next turn" or "until the end of their next turn" or something along those lines.
pronouns: he/she/they
Thanks for all the insight everyone. It is just another example of "Me not understanding rules".
Sad part of the whole scenario is that I rolled a Nat 20 on my Initiative roll. :-)