New DM here. One of my players (a Rogue) is trying to use both the additional attack from wielding two Light weapons from Nick mastery, and also the bonus action Two Weapon Fighting listed on DDB's character sheet. Here's what the Two-Weapon Fighting text says:
Two-Weapon Fighting
When you take the Attack action on your turn and attack with a Light weapon, you can make one extra attack as a Bonus Action later on the same turn. That extra attack must be made with a different Light weapon, and you don't add your ability modifier to the extra attack's damage unless that modifier is negative. For example, you can attack with a Shortsword in one hand and a Dagger in the other using the Attack action and a Bonus Action, but you don't add your Strength or Dexterity modifier to the damage roll of the Bonus Action unless that modifier is negative.
As far as I can tell, this seems to be more or less exactly the same as the property of Light weapons which says you can make one extra attack if you're using a second Light weapon. But doesn't the Nick Mastery say that it transfers the extra attack from the Light property to the main attack and you can only make the extra attack once? I am unclear if this Two-Weapon fighting bonus action is supposed to be a separate thing and therefore can be done even if you use Nick Mastery, or if that's some hold-over from the 2014 character sheet which shouldn't be there at all.
Where did you find this in 24 rules? Because as far as I know the two-weapon fighting has been replaced by the light property.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"grandpa" Salkur, Gnome Arti/Sorc: Forged in Chaos | Pepin, Human Arti/Cleric: Goblin horde | Mixtli, Volc Genasi Arti: Champions of the Citadel | Erix Vadalitis, Human Druid: Rising from the last war |Smithy, Human Arti: Night Ravens: Black orchids for Biscotti | Tamphalic Aliprax, Dragonborn Wizard: Chronicles of the Accursed | Doc, Dwarven Cleric (2024): Adventure at Hope's End | Abathax, Tiefling Illriger: Hunt for the Balowang | Gorin Mestel, Human Arti: Descend into Avernus
Secretfool is correct. The rules for Two-Weapon Fighting are now just a function of the Light property on weapons. The Nick mastery allows a player to move the extra attack from their bonus action to being part of their Attack action. The feat Two-Weapon Fighting (fighting style feat) allows the addition of your ability modifier to the damage of the extra Light weapon attack, whether part of your action or as a bonus action without Nick. If they want to benefit from the Nick mastery and still use their bonus action to make yet another attack, they would need the Dual Wielder feat, which grants you an attack as a bonus action after attacking with a Light weapon (this can be with any weapon without the two-handed property).
So a level 4 character with the Nick mastery and Dual Wielder could make one attack as normal, then an extra attack from their Nick weapon, then one more attack as a bonus action.
As mentioned above, Two-Weapon Fighting is now the name of a feat, distinct from the same term used in 2014. The rules for dual-wielding light weapons are now covered under the Light weapon property.
Might be worth changing how the app labels that (?)
New DM here. One of my players (a Rogue) is trying to use both the additional attack from wielding two Light weapons from Nick mastery, and also the bonus action Two Weapon Fighting listed on DDB's character sheet. Here's what the Two-Weapon Fighting text says:
Two-Weapon Fighting
When you take the Attack action on your turn and attack with a Light weapon, you can make one extra attack as a Bonus Action later on the same turn. That extra attack must be made with a different Light weapon, and you don't add your ability modifier to the extra attack's damage unless that modifier is negative. For example, you can attack with a Shortsword in one hand and a Dagger in the other using the Attack action and a Bonus Action, but you don't add your Strength or Dexterity modifier to the damage roll of the Bonus Action unless that modifier is negative.
As far as I can tell, this seems to be more or less exactly the same as the property of Light weapons which says you can make one extra attack if you're using a second Light weapon. But doesn't the Nick Mastery say that it transfers the extra attack from the Light property to the main attack and you can only make the extra attack once? I am unclear if this Two-Weapon fighting bonus action is supposed to be a separate thing and therefore can be done even if you use Nick Mastery, or if that's some hold-over from the 2014 character sheet which shouldn't be there at all.
EDIT: Finished an incomplete sentence.
That’s is correct. the rogue attacks with a nick weapon, has the mastery of course, that moves the bonus action attack from the light weapon properties. Hence that leaves your bonus action free again to make the attack from two weapon fighting style as a bonus attack. Not getting into the juggling stuff, but the nick weapon has to made with a different light weapon.
example dagger - short sword combo.
If the rogue was able to get extra attack ( then it would be 4 attacks per round)
Other combos are out there for using your reaction as another source of attack as well.
But to answer your question, the rogue character is following RAW and RAI.
Disclaimer though it’s your table and you should develop your own opinion based on research what you think would be fun and not break the game for your table.
New DM here. One of my players (a Rogue) is trying to use both the additional attack from wielding two Light weapons from Nick mastery, and also the bonus action Two Weapon Fighting listed on DDB's character sheet. Here's what the Two-Weapon Fighting text says:
Two-Weapon Fighting
When you take the Attack action on your turn and attack with a Light weapon, you can make one extra attack as a Bonus Action later on the same turn. That extra attack must be made with a different Light weapon, and you don't add your ability modifier to the extra attack's damage unless that modifier is negative. For example, you can attack with a Shortsword in one hand and a Dagger in the other using the Attack action and a Bonus Action, but you don't add your Strength or Dexterity modifier to the damage roll of the Bonus Action unless that modifier is negative.
As far as I can tell, this seems to be more or less exactly the same as the property of Light weapons which says you can make one extra attack if you're using a second Light weapon. But doesn't the Nick Mastery say that it transfers the extra attack from the Light property to the main attack and you can only make the extra attack once? I am unclear if this Two-Weapon fighting bonus action is supposed to be a separate thing and therefore can be done even if you use Nick Mastery, or if that's some hold-over from the 2014 character sheet which shouldn't be there at all.
EDIT: Finished an incomplete sentence.
That’s is correct. the rogue attacks with a nick weapon, has the mastery of course, that moves the bonus action attack from the light weapon properties. Hence that leaves your bonus action free again to make the attack from two weapon fighting style as a bonus attack. Not getting into the juggling stuff, but the nick weapon has to made with a different light weapon.
example dagger - short sword combo.
If the rogue was able to get extra attack ( then it would be 4 attacks per round)
Other combos are out there for using your reaction as another source of attack as well.
But to answer your question, the rogue character is following RAW and RAI.
Disclaimer though it’s your table and you should develop your own opinion based on research what you think would be fun and not break the game for your table.
That's not a rule from the 2024 rules though. For some reason, the 2014 rules are showing up there.
New DM here. One of my players (a Rogue) is trying to use both the additional attack from wielding two Light weapons from Nick mastery, and also the bonus action Two Weapon Fighting listed on DDB's character sheet. Here's what the Two-Weapon Fighting text says:
As far as I can tell, this seems to be more or less exactly the same as the property of Light weapons which says you can make one extra attack if you're using a second Light weapon. But doesn't the Nick Mastery say that it transfers the extra attack from the Light property to the main attack and you can only make the extra attack once? I am unclear if this Two-Weapon fighting bonus action is supposed to be a separate thing and therefore can be done even if you use Nick Mastery, or if that's some hold-over from the 2014 character sheet which shouldn't be there at all.
EDIT: Finished an incomplete sentence.
Where did you find this in 24 rules? Because as far as I know the two-weapon fighting has been replaced by the light property.
"grandpa" Salkur, Gnome Arti/Sorc: Forged in Chaos | Pepin, Human Arti/Cleric: Goblin horde | Mixtli, Volc Genasi Arti: Champions of the Citadel | Erix Vadalitis, Human Druid: Rising from the last war | Smithy, Human Arti: Night Ravens: Black orchids for Biscotti | Tamphalic Aliprax, Dragonborn Wizard: Chronicles of the Accursed | Doc, Dwarven Cleric (2024): Adventure at Hope's End | Abathax, Tiefling Illriger: Hunt for the Balowang | Gorin Mestel, Human Arti: Descend into Avernus
Secretfool is correct. The rules for Two-Weapon Fighting are now just a function of the Light property on weapons. The Nick mastery allows a player to move the extra attack from their bonus action to being part of their Attack action. The feat Two-Weapon Fighting (fighting style feat) allows the addition of your ability modifier to the damage of the extra Light weapon attack, whether part of your action or as a bonus action without Nick. If they want to benefit from the Nick mastery and still use their bonus action to make yet another attack, they would need the Dual Wielder feat, which grants you an attack as a bonus action after attacking with a Light weapon (this can be with any weapon without the two-handed property).
So a level 4 character with the Nick mastery and Dual Wielder could make one attack as normal, then an extra attack from their Nick weapon, then one more attack as a bonus action.
I didn't, but it is still on individual character sheets on D&D Beyond under All/Bonus Action. That's probably what confused the player.
I suspected that your answer was the case, and that it was just an error with the DDB character sheet. Thanks to both for the confirmation.
Yeah, the same thing happened to someone else recently: Two-Weapon Fighting shows up as bonus action on lvl 1 barb character sheet. Where does it come from?
As mentioned above, Two-Weapon Fighting is now the name of a feat, distinct from the same term used in 2014. The rules for dual-wielding light weapons are now covered under the Light weapon property.
Might be worth changing how the app labels that (?)
With PHB 2024, the extra attack of the Light property is different than the extra attack from Dual Wielder feat, and may stack with Nick Mastery.
Correct, but I wasn't referring to that feat, but the bonus action on the character sheet on DDB.
Just one more thing that has yet to be updated on the character builder....
The character sheet on DDB list options related to the Light property is labeled errenously at the origin of this confusion.
That’s is correct.
the rogue attacks with a nick weapon, has the mastery of course, that moves the bonus action attack from the light weapon properties. Hence that leaves your bonus action free again to make the attack from two weapon fighting style as a bonus attack.
Not getting into the juggling stuff, but the nick weapon has to made with a different light weapon.
example dagger - short sword combo.
If the rogue was able to get extra attack ( then it would be 4 attacks per round)
Other combos are out there for using your reaction as another source of attack as well.
But to answer your question, the rogue character is following RAW and RAI.
Disclaimer though it’s your table and you should develop your own opinion based on research what you think would be fun and not break the game for your table.
That's not a rule from the 2024 rules though. For some reason, the 2014 rules are showing up there.
A campaign should either use the rules for 2014 Two-Weapon Fighting or 2024 Light Property, not both.