A Line of strong wind 60 feet long and 10 feet wide blasts from you in a direction you choose for the duration. Each creature in the Line must succeed on a Strength saving throw or be pushed 15 feet away from you in a direction following the Line. A creature that ends its turn in the Line must make the same save.
Any creature in the Line must spend 2 feet of movement for every 1 foot it moves when moving closer to you.
The gust disperses gas or vapor, and it extinguishes candles and similar unprotected flames in the area. It causes protected flames, such as those of lanterns, to dance wildly and has a 50 percent chance to extinguish them.
As a Bonus Action on your later turns, you can change the direction in which the Line blasts from you.
**
It would make sense for a creature in the line when it is created (when the spell is cast) to make the save or be pushed, and it would also make sense for a creature in the line when the caster uses the Bonus Action to change the direction to make the save or be pushed. Also, of course, if a creature ends its turn in the line. The gust emanates from "Self" and so when the caster moves during the caster's turn the gust would move along with the caster, blasting out as the caster moved. This I think would allow a caster to clear a pretty big area of gas or vapor, walking along with the gust blasting out to one side. I don't think the spell was intended to make every creature have to save or be pushed if they were momentarily in the line as the caster moved along, but the clear language of the spell description would not necessarily preclude this I think. That would certainly make for a more powerful spell. But again I do think it makes most sense to have the save or be pushed apply to those in the line at casting and at bonus action moments in time. But who knows, maybe it can be used to sweep a large area. Thematically that is really cool.
Looking at both the 2024 and the 2014 versions of Gust of Wind, I think the RAW interpretation in 2024 is more ambiguous than it used to be, but the RAI seems relatively consistent with the spell’s original concept.
In the 2014 version, the spell states:
“Each creature that starts its turn in the line must succeed on a Strength saving throw or be pushed 15 feet…”
This is clear: the push effect applies only when a creature begins its turn inside the line — no save when the spell is cast or when it moves, only at the start of a creature’s turn.
In contrast, the 2024 version says:
“Each creature in the Line must succeed on a Strength saving throw or be pushed…”
...and separately:
“A creature that ends its turn in the Line must make the same save.”
The first clause doesn’t specify when this saving throw occurs. At first glance, it seems to refer to the moment the spell is cast. But given that the gust is described as ongoing — with effects like gas dispersal and resistance to movement — it creates some tension between RAW and thematic logic.
My interpretation is this:
RAW, the first saving throw likely applies only to creatures caught in the line at the time of casting. The second clause clearly refers to creatures ending their turn in the line. Nothing else in the 2024 wording explicitly triggers additional saving throws, except considering the wording "for the duration" beginning the sentence!
However, the lack of precision around the “each creature in the line” phrase opens the door to a broader reading: that any time a creature is in the line — such as when the caster uses a bonus action to change the direction — it should also make the saving throw. This would mirror the original casting effect and makes sense both mechanically and thematically.
RAI, the spell seems designed to behave like a continuous gust. When the caster uses a bonus action to shift the line, the new direction "hits" a new area — and it makes intuitive and thematic sense that affected creatures would make the same Strength save as if the spell had just been cast. I think that “A creature that ends its turn in the Line must make the same save.” refers to any creature that by any chance finds itself caught in the area of the spell (willingly or not), hence, it makes a saving throw to see if it gets pushed away or not.
Also, the persistent nature of the wind — including gas dispersion, flame extinguishing, and difficult movement toward the caster — suggests the line is not just a one-time pulse but an active, ongoing effect. Thematically, it’s like a magical leaf blower: if the caster walks with it, they can clear a broad area, but this doesn’t necessarily mean they push every creature along the way unless specific triggers (like ending their turn in the line) are met.
I'd go with the RAI interpretation I stated, it just doesn't really make much sense only triggering the save at the END of turn of a creature that finds itself in the area of the gust, making the description of the spell consistent with the legacy (2014) version of it! Letting the push apply both at casting and when the direction changes seems to preserve both balance and flavor. Also, the wording "for the duration" beginning the description of the spell would support this mechanic even by RAW.
A Gust of Wind cause each creature in the Line to save or be pushed, this at all time. While Self, it isn't rotating with you, always keeping the direction in which the Line blasts from you until you change it as a Bonus Action. If you do and the creature is still in the Line, it will save again or be pushed.
I've compared the 2024 language of Gust of Wind with another 2024 spell that emanates from Self and moves with the caster, Spirit Guardians which explicitly says that the creature makes the save only once per turn. I've also compared it against another spell that you can move each turn that it is active with concentration, Moonbeam, which also explicitly says it is a save only once per turn. Gust of Wind does not have this qualifier.
Gust of Wind is specifically mentioned as dispersing things like Fog Cloud and Stinking Cloud, which have big areas, and it wouldn't make sense that a 10 foot wide line takes multiple rounds to clear the area. Instead, because Gust of Wind moves with the caster, and can be moved as a bonus action too, I believe the spell does what the spell says. It gusts from the caster continuously in a specific direction and the direction can be moved as a bonus action, and if you move on your turn while this spell is ongoing it covers a very large area. For example you can have the blast go out from you perpendicular to your movement (to the side) as you move forward and with 30 feet of movement you can blast an area of gas or vapor that is 35 feet (30 feet movement plus 5 more since it is 10 feet wide) by 60 feet (its length), thereby clearing most of the area of a 2nd level Fog Cloud which can be a 40 foot radius.
Since the Gust of Wind spell doesn't specify that a creature only saves against the effect once per turn, I believe you could move the line across a creature more than once in a turn using your movement and possibly using your bonus action to move the direction of the line. This would result in them having to save as many times against the spell as it was in the line on that turn. A caster could move forward as the line blasts to the side of it, 15 feet, then move 15 feet back. This would result in two saves and possibly (with two failures) 30 feet of push.
Spells do what they say and this says a creature has to save when it is "in the line" and if it is "in the line" more than once per caster's turn it would save each time or be pushed 15 feet. If it were supposed to be otherwise, the spell would have limited the save to once per turn like Spirit Guardians.
The Gust of Wind spell does no damage, so it doesn't seem imbalanced, and a creature can save against it and not be pushed. On the creature's turn it can choose not to end its turn in the line and avoid the effect. It is concentration so damage to the caster can end the spell.
I think the wording "Each creature in the Line must succeed on a Strength saving throw or be pushed 15 feet away from you in a direction following the Line" combined with the language that "A Line of strong wind 60 feet long and 10 feet wide blasts from you in a direction you choose for the duration" and the absence of any limit on number of saves per turn, and the fact that the spell emanates from "Self" which presumes the caster can use movement to move the line, results in a spell which can cause multiple saves over a very large area and move creatures around. Gust of Wind does not scale with spell level, does not deal damage, requires concentration, and is a great battlefield control spell!
Some spells have wording like Gust of Wind, where you make the Saving Throw when the spell is cast because that's what the the effects of the spell says, not multiple times in the same turn.
EDIT: then, as a Bonus Action on your later turns, you can change the direction in which the Line blasts from you, so each creature in the Line must succeed on a Strength saving throw.
Unfortunately, both Fear and Sunbeam function quite a bit differently than Gust of Wind. In the case of Gust of Wind, the actual AoE which fuels the spell effect is explicitly ongoing for the duration. In the case of Fear, the AoE only really exists instantaneously, and then whichever creatures interact with that AoE at that moment then become affected for the duration. So that's a different mechanic. Likewise, in the case of Sunbeam, the actual beam does not last for the duration, it's instantaneous. The thing that is ongoing "for the duration" in that spell is that you can continue to take more actions (presumably on future turns) to create more of these instantaneous effects without burning more spell slots. So, that's also a different mechanic from each of the other two.
The wording for Gust of Wind could certainly be cleaned up a bit to be made clearer.
The best interpretation for Gust of Wind based on the current wording is that the creatures make a save immediately when the spell is cast. Thereafter, the ONLY time that creatures make a save is if they end their turn in the area. Meaning, if you move and cause the area to move such that it comes into contact with a creature . . . no save. If a creature moves such that it comes into contact with the area . . . no save. If you use your Bonus Action to change the direction of the area (note that this is not a "sweeping" change of direction, it's a "turn off and turn on" type of change in direction) such that it comes into contact with a creature . . . no save in that case either.
Until the spell ends, you can use your action to create a new line of radiance.
For Sunbeam and Gust of Wind, I think in both cases, when a new line is created (Sunbeam) or the line changes direction (Gust of Wind), creatures make a new Saving Throw.
For Sunbeam and Gust of Wind, I think in both cases, when a new line is created (Sunbeam) or the line changes direction (Gust of Wind), creatures make a new Saving Throw.
EDIT: for clarity.
I think that this makes sense for Sunbeam because otherwise the new Lines would have no effect at all. But also, because the author makes a point of calling this a new line so it should function similarly to the original line and affect creatures upon coming into existence. With Gust of Wind that's sort of reasonable but based on the current wording I would lean the other way on that spell. The flavor seems to be that Sunbeam is like a laser strobe light that might flash out from you in any direction once every six seconds, zapping creatures each time. The Gust of Wind seems to be meant to be a sustained force that a creature can temporarily resist for a few seconds before eventually failing to keep their footing and getting blown backwards.
If after casting Gust of Wind it's only intended to affect creatures that ends their turn in the Line i think it was not written clear enought.
I agree, the wording isn't great. If it was meant to have multiple ways to force a save, then they should have added the wording that we see in spells like Spirit Guardians and Moonbeam.
Also, if the functionality is meant to be as I'm describing it would have been better to use the other wording from Moonbeam where it says "when the Cylinder appears" which makes it clear that that portion of the spell is only talking about when the spell is initially cast instead of the current wording of "blasts from you in a direction you choose for the duration. Each creature in the Line must . . ." in which it's not super obvious if this save is forced only on the initial blast when the spell was first cast or potentially also at some other time (which is not actually specified). This spell would benefit from some minor errata to clarify this.
I must admit, I now have my own doubts about how to rule this spell.
After rereading the replies in the thread, maybe during your turn whenever the Line moves and overlaps a new creature, that creature must make the Saving Throw.
I mean, not just when you cast and the Area of Effect overlaps creatures, but also while you move the Line as part of your movement and the area affects new creatures doing so.
Some spells have wording like Gust of Wind, where you make the Saving Throw when the spell is cast because that's what the the effects of the spell says, not multiple times in the same turn.
EDIT: then, as a Bonus Action on your later turns, you can change the direction in which the Line blasts from you, so each creature in the Line must succeed on a Strength saving throw.
I don't believe Fear or Sunbeam are good comparisons. Fear is a blast and Sunbeam are multiple blasts, not a continuous effect like Gust of Wind. The closest comparison is Spirit Guardians which emanates from self and moves with the caster, but Spirit Guardians specifically states that there is only one save per turn, whereas Gust of Wind does not have this specific limitation. The rule in statutory construction (the law!) is that where there is an inclusion of something in one part of the law and an exclusion in another, that means something. I believe that Gust of Wind continously blasts outward, moving with the caster, and each instance of a creature being in "the line" results in another save against being pushed.
Unfortunately, both Fear and Sunbeam function quite a bit differently than Gust of Wind. In the case of Gust of Wind, the actual AoE which fuels the spell effect is explicitly ongoing for the duration. In the case of Fear, the AoE only really exists instantaneously, and then whichever creatures interact with that AoE at that moment then become affected for the duration. So that's a different mechanic. Likewise, in the case of Sunbeam, the actual beam does not last for the duration, it's instantaneous. The thing that is ongoing "for the duration" in that spell is that you can continue to take more actions (presumably on future turns) to create more of these instantaneous effects without burning more spell slots. So, that's also a different mechanic from each of the other two.
The wording for Gust of Wind could certainly be cleaned up a bit to be made clearer.
The best interpretation for Gust of Wind based on the current wording is that the creatures make a save immediately when the spell is cast. Thereafter, the ONLY time that creatures make a save is if they end their turn in the area. Meaning, if you move and cause the area to move such that it comes into contact with a creature . . . no save. If a creature moves such that it comes into contact with the area . . . no save. If you use your Bonus Action to change the direction of the area (note that this is not a "sweeping" change of direction, it's a "turn off and turn on" type of change in direction) such that it comes into contact with a creature . . . no save in that case either.
I tend not to agree with this because Gust of Wind requires a save whenever a creature is in the line and when the caster moves a creature is in the line the moment the gust moves across them. Spirit Guardians is a continuous emanation like Gust of Wind, but states only one save per turn, whereas Gust of Wind has no such limiting language, and so you can interpret this as allowing a save and push effect whenever a creature is in the line, just like the spell says.
Unfortunately, both Fear and Sunbeam function quite a bit differently than Gust of Wind. In the case of Gust of Wind, the actual AoE which fuels the spell effect is explicitly ongoing for the duration. In the case of Fear, the AoE only really exists instantaneously, and then whichever creatures interact with that AoE at that moment then become affected for the duration. So that's a different mechanic. Likewise, in the case of Sunbeam, the actual beam does not last for the duration, it's instantaneous. The thing that is ongoing "for the duration" in that spell is that you can continue to take more actions (presumably on future turns) to create more of these instantaneous effects without burning more spell slots. So, that's also a different mechanic from each of the other two.
The wording for Gust of Wind could certainly be cleaned up a bit to be made clearer.
The best interpretation for Gust of Wind based on the current wording is that the creatures make a save immediately when the spell is cast. Thereafter, the ONLY time that creatures make a save is if they end their turn in the area. Meaning, if you move and cause the area to move such that it comes into contact with a creature . . . no save. If a creature moves such that it comes into contact with the area . . . no save. If you use your Bonus Action to change the direction of the area (note that this is not a "sweeping" change of direction, it's a "turn off and turn on" type of change in direction) such that it comes into contact with a creature . . . no save in that case either.
I tend not to agree with this because Gust of Wind requires a save whenever a creature is in the line and when the caster moves a creature is in the line the moment the gust moves across them. Spirit Guardians is a continuous emanation like Gust of Wind, but states only one save per turn, whereas Gust of Wind has no such limiting language, and so you can interpret this as allowing a save and push effect whenever a creature is in the line, just like the spell says.
That's certainly one way to interpret the spell description. It's just not the best way for many reasons.
The wording of the spell is such that they simply broke up one thought into two sentences instead of creating one very long run-on sentence. The second sentence really is just referring back to the first sentence, it's not declaring a whole separate mechanic on its own. The first sentence is describing the size, shape, position and orientation of the AoE effect that is created by the spell when it is cast. The second sentence is just describing what happens to creatures at that moment (when the spell is cast). It's all one thought that describes what happens when the spell is cast.
Note that there is no other timing mechanism specified for when we should check to see if a creature is "in the Line", so we would potentially have to do this all the time. The result would be a strange situation where a creature is pushed back 15 feet as described and then we immediately check again and then that same creature gets pushed back another 15 feet and then we check again and that same creature is pushed back another 15 feet and so on until it ends up more than 60 feet away from you.
Next, what would ever be the benefit of passing a saving throw? A creature passes the save and so is not pushed back. Then we immediately check again and see this same creature in the Line and force it to make a save again? And again and again until it eventually fails enough saving throws to be pushed back more than 60 feet?
In addition, a creature presumably cannot be pushed backward through solid walls or other obstacles. So, what happens in that case? He gets pushed back and stopped, then we check again, then we try to push it back again, then we check again, then we try to push it back again, and so on and we would never be able to actually continue playing the game because there is always a creature "in the Line" that must be resolved.
Lastly, how would it ever be possible for a creature to ever "end its turn in the Line"? We've been checking at all other possible times before that creature's turn ends and so it would have been pushed out of the effect by then. Why would the spell description go out of its way to explicitly declare what happens when a creature ends its turn in the Line if that occurrence is never possible?
It's clear that if the spell were intended to work anything like this it would have been written dramatically differently.
It's better to just follow what is written and force creatures to make a save if it is in the Line at the moment that the spell is cast and also whenever it ends its turn in the Line.
1) Most extreme interpretation we can rule out because it's ridiculous:
- creatures have to make a save whenever they are in the Line on the caster's turn. If this were the case, there would be no point to the saving throws at all -- if a creature passed it, it would still be in the Line, requiring another saving throw... even if they did fail and got pushed 15 feet, they'd probably still be in the Line, requiring another saving throw, until finally they failed enough to get pushed out of the Line. That's clearly absurd and can be dismissed as possible RAI
2) Plausible but potentially overpowered interpretation:
- creatures have to make a save once, when they are in the Line on the caster's turn. This means when the spell is first cast, creatures in the Line make a save. When the caster uses a bonus action to change the direction, creatures in the new Line make a save
This interpretation, however, opens up shenanigans like the caster pacing back and forth, hitting creatures multiple times on the same turn with the Line. I'm actually OK with this interpretation, because all the spell does is move creatures -- it doesn't do any damage directly, or even knock them prone -- so doubling or tripling up just means more potential movement. That doesn't seem overpowered to me for a 2nd level spell, but others might disagree
3) Less plausible and potentially underpowered interpretation:
- creatures only have to make a save once on the caster's turn, regardless of how many times the Line interacts with their space.
There isn't really any language in the spell to support this one, but I can see a DM making this call given the lack of clarity in the text on when the saving throw happens, and if they don't like 2) above.
4) Plausible but even more underpowered interpretation:
- creatures only have to make a save when the spell is first cast, or when they end their turns in the Line.
If you read "Each creature in the Line must succeed on a Strength saving throw or be pushed 15 feet away from you in a direction following the Line" and "A creature that ends its turn in the Line must make the same save" as completely separate clauses, and the first one as only applying to when the spell is first cast, this is what you land on. I think that's a very silly interpretation, as those obviously aren't completely separate clauses and it makes the bonus action ability to change the direction of the Line almost useless, but you could parse the text in this fashion if you squinted hard enough
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock) Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric) Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue) Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
[...] 2) Plausible but potentially overpowered interpretation:
- creatures have to make a save once, when they are in the Line on the caster's turn. This means when the spell is first cast, creatures in the Line make a save. When the caster uses a bonus action to change the direction, creatures in the new Line make a save
This interpretation, however, opens up shenanigans like the caster pacing back and forth, hitting creatures multiple times on the same turn with the Line. I'm actually OK with this interpretation, because all the spell does is move creatures -- it doesn't do any damage directly, or even knock them prone -- so doubling or tripling up just means more potential movement. That doesn't seem overpowered to me for a 2nd level spell, but others might disagree [...]
This is similar to my fist interpretation, with the addition that "a creature that ends its turn in the Line must make the same save".
But I don't see how to hit creatures multiple times on the same turn, since the Bonus Action to change direction is only available on later turns.
But I don't see how to hit creatures multiple times on the same turn, since the Bonus Action to change direction is only available on later turns.
Creature #1 is 15 feet directly north of caster
Caster casts Gust pointed due north; creature #1 makes save
Caster walks 10 feet to the east, stops (hits more creatures with Gust?). Creature #1 is no longer in Line
Caster walks back 5 feet west; creature #1 is now in Line again
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock) Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric) Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue) Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
Gust of Wind 2024 is worded thus:
A Line of strong wind 60 feet long and 10 feet wide blasts from you in a direction you choose for the duration. Each creature in the Line must succeed on a Strength saving throw or be pushed 15 feet away from you in a direction following the Line. A creature that ends its turn in the Line must make the same save.
Any creature in the Line must spend 2 feet of movement for every 1 foot it moves when moving closer to you.
The gust disperses gas or vapor, and it extinguishes candles and similar unprotected flames in the area. It causes protected flames, such as those of lanterns, to dance wildly and has a 50 percent chance to extinguish them.
As a Bonus Action on your later turns, you can change the direction in which the Line blasts from you.
**
It would make sense for a creature in the line when it is created (when the spell is cast) to make the save or be pushed, and it would also make sense for a creature in the line when the caster uses the Bonus Action to change the direction to make the save or be pushed. Also, of course, if a creature ends its turn in the line. The gust emanates from "Self" and so when the caster moves during the caster's turn the gust would move along with the caster, blasting out as the caster moved. This I think would allow a caster to clear a pretty big area of gas or vapor, walking along with the gust blasting out to one side. I don't think the spell was intended to make every creature have to save or be pushed if they were momentarily in the line as the caster moved along, but the clear language of the spell description would not necessarily preclude this I think. That would certainly make for a more powerful spell. But again I do think it makes most sense to have the save or be pushed apply to those in the line at casting and at bonus action moments in time. But who knows, maybe it can be used to sweep a large area. Thematically that is really cool.
What do others think?
Looking at both the 2024 and the 2014 versions of Gust of Wind, I think the RAW interpretation in 2024 is more ambiguous than it used to be, but the RAI seems relatively consistent with the spell’s original concept.
In the 2014 version, the spell states:
This is clear: the push effect applies only when a creature begins its turn inside the line — no save when the spell is cast or when it moves, only at the start of a creature’s turn.
In contrast, the 2024 version says:
...and separately:
The first clause doesn’t specify when this saving throw occurs. At first glance, it seems to refer to the moment the spell is cast. But given that the gust is described as ongoing — with effects like gas dispersal and resistance to movement — it creates some tension between RAW and thematic logic.
My interpretation is this:
RAW, the first saving throw likely applies only to creatures caught in the line at the time of casting. The second clause clearly refers to creatures ending their turn in the line. Nothing else in the 2024 wording explicitly triggers additional saving throws, except considering the wording "for the duration" beginning the sentence!
However, the lack of precision around the “each creature in the line” phrase opens the door to a broader reading: that any time a creature is in the line — such as when the caster uses a bonus action to change the direction — it should also make the saving throw. This would mirror the original casting effect and makes sense both mechanically and thematically.
RAI, the spell seems designed to behave like a continuous gust. When the caster uses a bonus action to shift the line, the new direction "hits" a new area — and it makes intuitive and thematic sense that affected creatures would make the same Strength save as if the spell had just been cast. I think that “A creature that ends its turn in the Line must make the same save.” refers to any creature that by any chance finds itself caught in the area of the spell (willingly or not), hence, it makes a saving throw to see if it gets pushed away or not.
Also, the persistent nature of the wind — including gas dispersion, flame extinguishing, and difficult movement toward the caster — suggests the line is not just a one-time pulse but an active, ongoing effect. Thematically, it’s like a magical leaf blower: if the caster walks with it, they can clear a broad area, but this doesn’t necessarily mean they push every creature along the way unless specific triggers (like ending their turn in the line) are met.
I'd go with the RAI interpretation I stated, it just doesn't really make much sense only triggering the save at the END of turn of a creature that finds itself in the area of the gust, making the description of the spell consistent with the legacy (2014) version of it! Letting the push apply both at casting and when the direction changes seems to preserve both balance and flavor. Also, the wording "for the duration" beginning the description of the spell would support this mechanic even by RAW.
A Gust of Wind cause each creature in the Line to save or be pushed, this at all time. While Self, it isn't rotating with you, always keeping the direction in which the Line blasts from you until you change it as a Bonus Action. If you do and the creature is still in the Line, it will save again or be pushed.
I've compared the 2024 language of Gust of Wind with another 2024 spell that emanates from Self and moves with the caster, Spirit Guardians which explicitly says that the creature makes the save only once per turn. I've also compared it against another spell that you can move each turn that it is active with concentration, Moonbeam, which also explicitly says it is a save only once per turn. Gust of Wind does not have this qualifier.
Gust of Wind is specifically mentioned as dispersing things like Fog Cloud and Stinking Cloud, which have big areas, and it wouldn't make sense that a 10 foot wide line takes multiple rounds to clear the area. Instead, because Gust of Wind moves with the caster, and can be moved as a bonus action too, I believe the spell does what the spell says. It gusts from the caster continuously in a specific direction and the direction can be moved as a bonus action, and if you move on your turn while this spell is ongoing it covers a very large area. For example you can have the blast go out from you perpendicular to your movement (to the side) as you move forward and with 30 feet of movement you can blast an area of gas or vapor that is 35 feet (30 feet movement plus 5 more since it is 10 feet wide) by 60 feet (its length), thereby clearing most of the area of a 2nd level Fog Cloud which can be a 40 foot radius.
Since the Gust of Wind spell doesn't specify that a creature only saves against the effect once per turn, I believe you could move the line across a creature more than once in a turn using your movement and possibly using your bonus action to move the direction of the line. This would result in them having to save as many times against the spell as it was in the line on that turn. A caster could move forward as the line blasts to the side of it, 15 feet, then move 15 feet back. This would result in two saves and possibly (with two failures) 30 feet of push.
Spells do what they say and this says a creature has to save when it is "in the line" and if it is "in the line" more than once per caster's turn it would save each time or be pushed 15 feet. If it were supposed to be otherwise, the spell would have limited the save to once per turn like Spirit Guardians.
The Gust of Wind spell does no damage, so it doesn't seem imbalanced, and a creature can save against it and not be pushed. On the creature's turn it can choose not to end its turn in the line and avoid the effect. It is concentration so damage to the caster can end the spell.
I think the wording "Each creature in the Line must succeed on a Strength saving throw or be pushed 15 feet away from you in a direction following the Line" combined with the language that "A Line of strong wind 60 feet long and 10 feet wide blasts from you in a direction you choose for the duration" and the absence of any limit on number of saves per turn, and the fact that the spell emanates from "Self" which presumes the caster can use movement to move the line, results in a spell which can cause multiple saves over a very large area and move creatures around. Gust of Wind does not scale with spell level, does not deal damage, requires concentration, and is a great battlefield control spell!
Some spells have wording like Gust of Wind, where you make the Saving Throw when the spell is cast because that's what the the effects of the spell says, not multiple times in the same turn.
EDIT: then, as a Bonus Action on your later turns, you can change the direction in which the Line blasts from you, so each creature in the Line must succeed on a Strength saving throw.
Fear or Sunbeam are good comparisons.
Unfortunately, both Fear and Sunbeam function quite a bit differently than Gust of Wind. In the case of Gust of Wind, the actual AoE which fuels the spell effect is explicitly ongoing for the duration. In the case of Fear, the AoE only really exists instantaneously, and then whichever creatures interact with that AoE at that moment then become affected for the duration. So that's a different mechanic. Likewise, in the case of Sunbeam, the actual beam does not last for the duration, it's instantaneous. The thing that is ongoing "for the duration" in that spell is that you can continue to take more actions (presumably on future turns) to create more of these instantaneous effects without burning more spell slots. So, that's also a different mechanic from each of the other two.
The wording for Gust of Wind could certainly be cleaned up a bit to be made clearer.
The best interpretation for Gust of Wind based on the current wording is that the creatures make a save immediately when the spell is cast. Thereafter, the ONLY time that creatures make a save is if they end their turn in the area. Meaning, if you move and cause the area to move such that it comes into contact with a creature . . . no save. If a creature moves such that it comes into contact with the area . . . no save. If you use your Bonus Action to change the direction of the area (note that this is not a "sweeping" change of direction, it's a "turn off and turn on" type of change in direction) such that it comes into contact with a creature . . . no save in that case either.
Yeah, I added those just to compare the wording around when the Saving Throw happens, and they also have Range: Self and Duration: 1 Minute.
With Sunbeam, we have a similar mechanic to Gust of Wind:
For Sunbeam and Gust of Wind, I think in both cases, when a new line is created (Sunbeam) or the line changes direction (Gust of Wind), creatures make a new Saving Throw.
EDIT: for clarity.
If after casting Gust of Wind it's only intended to affect creatures that ends their turn in the Line i think it was not written clear enought.
I think that this makes sense for Sunbeam because otherwise the new Lines would have no effect at all. But also, because the author makes a point of calling this a new line so it should function similarly to the original line and affect creatures upon coming into existence. With Gust of Wind that's sort of reasonable but based on the current wording I would lean the other way on that spell. The flavor seems to be that Sunbeam is like a laser strobe light that might flash out from you in any direction once every six seconds, zapping creatures each time. The Gust of Wind seems to be meant to be a sustained force that a creature can temporarily resist for a few seconds before eventually failing to keep their footing and getting blown backwards.
I agree, the wording isn't great. If it was meant to have multiple ways to force a save, then they should have added the wording that we see in spells like Spirit Guardians and Moonbeam.
Also, if the functionality is meant to be as I'm describing it would have been better to use the other wording from Moonbeam where it says "when the Cylinder appears" which makes it clear that that portion of the spell is only talking about when the spell is initially cast instead of the current wording of "blasts from you in a direction you choose for the duration. Each creature in the Line must . . ." in which it's not super obvious if this save is forced only on the initial blast when the spell was first cast or potentially also at some other time (which is not actually specified). This spell would benefit from some minor errata to clarify this.
I must admit, I now have my own doubts about how to rule this spell.
After rereading the replies in the thread, maybe during your turn whenever the Line moves and overlaps a new creature, that creature must make the Saving Throw.
I mean, not just when you cast and the Area of Effect overlaps creatures, but also while you move the Line as part of your movement and the area affects new creatures doing so.
But again, not sure :(
I don't believe Fear or Sunbeam are good comparisons. Fear is a blast and Sunbeam are multiple blasts, not a continuous effect like Gust of Wind. The closest comparison is Spirit Guardians which emanates from self and moves with the caster, but Spirit Guardians specifically states that there is only one save per turn, whereas Gust of Wind does not have this specific limitation. The rule in statutory construction (the law!) is that where there is an inclusion of something in one part of the law and an exclusion in another, that means something. I believe that Gust of Wind continously blasts outward, moving with the caster, and each instance of a creature being in "the line" results in another save against being pushed.
Yeah, I recognize I didn't choose the best examples in the world :'(
I tend not to agree with this because Gust of Wind requires a save whenever a creature is in the line and when the caster moves a creature is in the line the moment the gust moves across them. Spirit Guardians is a continuous emanation like Gust of Wind, but states only one save per turn, whereas Gust of Wind has no such limiting language, and so you can interpret this as allowing a save and push effect whenever a creature is in the line, just like the spell says.
That's certainly one way to interpret the spell description. It's just not the best way for many reasons.
The wording of the spell is such that they simply broke up one thought into two sentences instead of creating one very long run-on sentence. The second sentence really is just referring back to the first sentence, it's not declaring a whole separate mechanic on its own. The first sentence is describing the size, shape, position and orientation of the AoE effect that is created by the spell when it is cast. The second sentence is just describing what happens to creatures at that moment (when the spell is cast). It's all one thought that describes what happens when the spell is cast.
Note that there is no other timing mechanism specified for when we should check to see if a creature is "in the Line", so we would potentially have to do this all the time. The result would be a strange situation where a creature is pushed back 15 feet as described and then we immediately check again and then that same creature gets pushed back another 15 feet and then we check again and that same creature is pushed back another 15 feet and so on until it ends up more than 60 feet away from you.
Next, what would ever be the benefit of passing a saving throw? A creature passes the save and so is not pushed back. Then we immediately check again and see this same creature in the Line and force it to make a save again? And again and again until it eventually fails enough saving throws to be pushed back more than 60 feet?
In addition, a creature presumably cannot be pushed backward through solid walls or other obstacles. So, what happens in that case? He gets pushed back and stopped, then we check again, then we try to push it back again, then we check again, then we try to push it back again, and so on and we would never be able to actually continue playing the game because there is always a creature "in the Line" that must be resolved.
Lastly, how would it ever be possible for a creature to ever "end its turn in the Line"? We've been checking at all other possible times before that creature's turn ends and so it would have been pushed out of the effect by then. Why would the spell description go out of its way to explicitly declare what happens when a creature ends its turn in the Line if that occurrence is never possible?
It's clear that if the spell were intended to work anything like this it would have been written dramatically differently.
It's better to just follow what is written and force creatures to make a save if it is in the Line at the moment that the spell is cast and also whenever it ends its turn in the Line.
1) Most extreme interpretation we can rule out because it's ridiculous:
- creatures have to make a save whenever they are in the Line on the caster's turn. If this were the case, there would be no point to the saving throws at all -- if a creature passed it, it would still be in the Line, requiring another saving throw... even if they did fail and got pushed 15 feet, they'd probably still be in the Line, requiring another saving throw, until finally they failed enough to get pushed out of the Line. That's clearly absurd and can be dismissed as possible RAI
2) Plausible but potentially overpowered interpretation:
- creatures have to make a save once, when they are in the Line on the caster's turn. This means when the spell is first cast, creatures in the Line make a save. When the caster uses a bonus action to change the direction, creatures in the new Line make a save
This interpretation, however, opens up shenanigans like the caster pacing back and forth, hitting creatures multiple times on the same turn with the Line. I'm actually OK with this interpretation, because all the spell does is move creatures -- it doesn't do any damage directly, or even knock them prone -- so doubling or tripling up just means more potential movement. That doesn't seem overpowered to me for a 2nd level spell, but others might disagree
3) Less plausible and potentially underpowered interpretation:
- creatures only have to make a save once on the caster's turn, regardless of how many times the Line interacts with their space.
There isn't really any language in the spell to support this one, but I can see a DM making this call given the lack of clarity in the text on when the saving throw happens, and if they don't like 2) above.
4) Plausible but even more underpowered interpretation:
- creatures only have to make a save when the spell is first cast, or when they end their turns in the Line.
If you read "Each creature in the Line must succeed on a Strength saving throw or be pushed 15 feet away from you in a direction following the Line" and "A creature that ends its turn in the Line must make the same save" as completely separate clauses, and the first one as only applying to when the spell is first cast, this is what you land on. I think that's a very silly interpretation, as those obviously aren't completely separate clauses and it makes the bonus action ability to change the direction of the Line almost useless, but you could parse the text in this fashion if you squinted hard enough
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock)
Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric)
Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue)
Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
This is similar to my fist interpretation, with the addition that "a creature that ends its turn in the Line must make the same save".
But I don't see how to hit creatures multiple times on the same turn, since the Bonus Action to change direction is only available on later turns.
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock)
Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric)
Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue)
Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
Ah, gotcha. I didn't make the connection since you mentioned "creatures have to make a save once". Thanks for answering me!