@arrinos you're adding limitations that aren't in the 2024 PHB.
The general free interaction described under "Time-Limited Object Interactions" is separate from the rule included in the Attack Action, and "Equipping and Unequipping Weapons" is a clear example of Exceptions Supersede General Rules.
General rules govern each part of the game. For example, the combat rules tell you that melee attacks use Strength and ranged attacks use Dexterity. That’s a general rule, and a general rule is in effect as long as something in the game doesn’t explicitly say otherwise.
The game also includes elements—class features, feats, weapon properties, spells, magic items, monster abilities, and the like—that sometimes contradict a general rule. When an exception and a general rule disagree, the exception wins. For example, if a feature says you can make melee attacks using your Charisma, you can do so, even though that statement disagrees with the general rule.
The wording of the Attack actions Equipping and Unequipping Weapons language is VERY general. It does not explicitly mention any additional object interactions being granted (as the authors have done with the Quick Draw feature of the Dual Wielder feat).
Meanwhile, the wording of the Time-Sensitive Object Interaction rule is VERY specific. It makes clear that you are allowed only one object interaction that must be taken as part of a move or an action. It also states that if you want a second object interaction, you NEED to use the Utilize action. That is VERY specific. Any language intended to override that would need to be more specific (such as Dual Wielder's language and the language of the Fast Hands feature of the rogue).
So, it is you who are ignoring the rule that specific overrides general. There is nothing in the Equipping and Unequipping Weapons clarification of the Attack Action that explicitly states that it overrides the general rule. Nor, is such an override the obvious logical conclusion from the actual language used.
If it was intended that every instance of drawing or stowing a weapon used up your one free object interaction, then there would be no reason at all for the authors to even bother writing the entire section called "Equipping and Unequipping Weapons". When using the "Interacting with Things" rule, you are allowed to interact with an object or feature of the environment for free during either your move or action. This timeframe includes every possible timeframe that applies to the "Equipping and Unequipping Weapons" rule since that rule can only be used either before or after an attack that occurs during an Attack action. Every possible timeframe that occurs during an Attack action is encompassed within the timeframe of "during either your move or action", so why would the authors even write any of this if the same resource is expended by doing this activity?
They wrote it because they wanted to put answers to questions about rules in one simple glossary format so that you could look up those rules more easily. How do I know that? Because Chris Perkins talked about it in the Player's Handbook launch video.
In the past, people had questions about whether they could draw a second weapon between their first and second attack, or whether they could draw a second weapon even if they weren't using the weapon as part of their Attack action. There were also cases where people tried to weasel the rules by dropping a weapon and not counting that as an object interaction. So, they wanted to put answers about what kind of weapon object interactions were allowed as part of the Attack action. They didn't want to replicate the entire Time-Limited Object Interaction section though. It is assumed that you know that rule and you understand that:
1. Only one object interaction is allowed per turn
No, it's one free object interaction allowed per turn. You keep leaving the word 'free' out
What do you think the word 'free' means in this context?
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock) Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric) Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue) Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
If it was intended that every instance of drawing or stowing a weapon used up your one free object interaction, then there would be no reason at all for the authors to even bother writing the entire section called "Equipping and Unequipping Weapons". When using the "Interacting with Things" rule, you are allowed to interact with an object or feature of the environment for free during either your move or action. This timeframe includes every possible timeframe that applies to the "Equipping and Unequipping Weapons" rule since that rule can only be used either before or after an attack that occurs during an Attack action. Every possible timeframe that occurs during an Attack action is encompassed within the timeframe of "during either your move or action", so why would the authors even write any of this if the same resource is expended by doing this activity?
They wrote it because they wanted to put answers to questions about rules in one simple glossary format so that you could look up those rules more easily. How do I know that? Because Chris Perkins talked about it in the Player's Handbook launch video.
In the past, people had questions about whether they could draw a second weapon between their first and second attack, or whether they could draw a second weapon even if they weren't using the weapon as part of their Attack action. There were also cases where people tried to weasel the rules by dropping a weapon and not counting that as an object interaction. So, they wanted to put answers about what kind of weapon object interactions were allowed as part of the Attack action. They didn't want to replicate the entire Time-Limited Object Interaction section though. It is assumed that you know that rule and you understand that:
1. Only one object interaction is allowed per turn
No, it's one free object interaction allowed per turn. You keep leaving the word 'free' out
What do you think the word 'free' means in this context?
That is very obvious. One free object interaction (which must be used as part of your move or your action) means that you don't have to rely on the Utilize action to interact.
How do I know? Because the same rule states that if you want a second object interaction in the same turn, you must use the Utilize action.
If it was intended that every instance of drawing or stowing a weapon used up your one free object interaction, then there would be no reason at all for the authors to even bother writing the entire section called "Equipping and Unequipping Weapons". When using the "Interacting with Things" rule, you are allowed to interact with an object or feature of the environment for free during either your move or action. This timeframe includes every possible timeframe that applies to the "Equipping and Unequipping Weapons" rule since that rule can only be used either before or after an attack that occurs during an Attack action. Every possible timeframe that occurs during an Attack action is encompassed within the timeframe of "during either your move or action", so why would the authors even write any of this if the same resource is expended by doing this activity?
They wrote it because they wanted to put answers to questions about rules in one simple glossary format so that you could look up those rules more easily. How do I know that? Because Chris Perkins talked about it in the Player's Handbook launch video.
In the past, people had questions about whether they could draw a second weapon between their first and second attack, or whether they could draw a second weapon even if they weren't using the weapon as part of their Attack action. There were also cases where people tried to weasel the rules by dropping a weapon and not counting that as an object interaction. So, they wanted to put answers about what kind of weapon object interactions were allowed as part of the Attack action. They didn't want to replicate the entire Time-Limited Object Interaction section though. It is assumed that you know that rule and you understand that:
1. Only one object interaction is allowed per turn
No, it's one free object interaction allowed per turn. You keep leaving the word 'free' out
What do you think the word 'free' means in this context?
That is very obvious. One free object interaction (which must be used as part of your move or your action) means that you don't have to rely on the Utilize action to interact.
How do I know? Because the same rule states that if you want a second object interaction in the same turn, you must use the Utilize action.
Then why is the Attack Action the only one that mentions objects?
The Magic Action doesn't say, "You can either equip or unequip any Material components necessary, or a Spell Focus, when you cast a spell as part of this action."
The Ready Action doesn't say, "You can either equip or unequip one weapon if your Readied Action involves making an attack."
The Study Action doesn't say, "You can either equip or unequip one object, such as a book you are consulting, as part of this action."
Those Actions don't mention it because they do require your free object interaction, and adhere to the general rule. The Attack Action does not. The object interaction listed in the Attack Action is separate from your free object interaction, and is a specific exception to the general rule.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock) Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric) Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue) Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
The wording of the Attack actions Equipping and Unequipping Weapons language is VERY general. It does not explicitly mention any additional object interactions being granted (as the authors have done with the Quick Draw feature of the Dual Wielder feat).
Consider the following scenario. I am a Wizard who is proficient in the use of daggers. I have already used my one free object interaction during this turn to open a door. My hands are currently empty, and I possess a dagger that is in its scabbard which is attached to my belt. I wish to cast the True Strike spell, using this dagger as my Material component and directing the attack that is described in that spell description against an enemy who is standing directly in front of me.
How many actions must I expend from my action economy to make this happen?
By your logic, I might have to find a way to use THREE actions to make this happen. The casting time for the spell is 1 action. Perhaps you'll want me to also use the Utilize action to draw my dagger that I need for my Material component. As per the spell description, I will also be making an attack with this dagger, so I suppose you'll want me to use the Attack action in order to make that attack.
Wrong.
The above sequence costs me exactly ONE action from my action economy. The Magic action to cast the spell. Accessing my Material component while casting the spell is an activity that I am required to perform as part of casting the spell. The attack is part of the spell effect which occurs as a result of casting the spell. Spells do what they say. If it says that I make an attack, then I make an attack. That does not require me to take the Attack action unless the spell description explicitly requires me to do so.
The same principles apply to this thread topic. When a rule says that you can do something, such as "You can either equip or unequip one weapon when you make an attack as part of this action" then that's exactly what you can do. The activity in question is being performed as part of an action already. No additional action is required. The One Free Object Interaction ONLY applies to situations where you would normally be using an action to perform an activity -- which is only the case for activities that are not already part of some other action economy expenditure. The description of the Utilize action goes out of its way to explain this explicitly. There are no activities in the game which would require you to expend an Attack action and also a Utilize action to perform. The description of the Utilize action makes that extremely clear.
Then why is the Attack Action the only one that mentions objects?
The Magic Action doesn't say, "You can either equip or unequip any Material components necessary, or a Spell Focus, when you cast a spell as part of this action."
The Ready Action doesn't say, "You can either equip or unequip one weapon if your Readied Action involves making an attack."
The Study Action doesn't say, "You can either equip or unequip one object, such as a book you are consulting, as part of this action."
Those Actions don't mention it because they do require your free object interaction, and adhere to the general rule. The Attack Action does not. The object interaction listed in the Attack Action is separate from your free object interaction, and is a specific exception to the general rule.
Because they didn't find the need to clarify. Probably because an the Attack action becomes inherently more complicated in people's minds because you can sometimes make multiple attacks. Also, because people weren't trying to weasel the rules for things like the Study action. But, we all know attack-focused characters that are always trying to maximize their damage per turn.
Pretty obvious actually.
Bigger question: these rules were pretty clear in the 2014 edition and still required sage advice to answer. Do you really think they completely obliterated the rules for object interactions and didn't advertise the change? Do you really think they gave such a massive advantage to martial classes and undermined the value of Dual Wielder and Fast Hands without even mentioning it?
Consider the following scenario. I am a Wizard who is proficient in the use of daggers. I have already used my one free object interaction during this turn to open a door. My hands are currently empty, and I possess a dagger that is in its scabbard which is attached to my belt. I wish to cast the True Strike spell, using this dagger as my Material component and directing the attack that is described in that spell description against an enemy who is standing directly in front of me.
How many actions must I expend from my action economy to make this happen?
By your logic, I might have to find a way to use THREE actions to make this happen. The casting time for the spell is 1 action. Perhaps you'll want me to also use the Utilize action to draw my dagger that I need for my Material component. As per the spell description, I will also be making an attack with this dagger, so I suppose you'll want me to use the Attack action in order to make that attack.
Wrong.
The above sequence costs me exactly ONE action from my action economy. The Magic action to cast the spell. Accessing my Material component while casting the spell is an activity that I am required to perform as part of casting the spell. The attack is part of the spell effect which occurs as a result of casting the spell. Spells do what they say. If it says that I make an attack, then I make an attack. That does not require me to take the Attack action unless the spell description explicitly requires me to do so.
The same principles apply to this thread topic. When a rule says that you can do something, such as "You can either equip or unequip one weapon when you make an attack as part of this action" then that's exactly what you can do. The activity in question is being performed as part of an action already. No additional action is required. The One Free Object Interaction ONLY applies to situations where you would normally be using an action to perform an activity -- which is only the case for activities that are not already part of some other action economy expenditure. The description of the Utilize action goes out of its way to explain this explicitly. There are no activities in the game which would require you to expend an Attack action and also a Utilize action to perform. The description of the Utilize action makes that extremely clear.
Yes, let's consider that scenario.
You have already used an object interaction to open the door. That is your only object interaction allowed without using the Utilize action. Unless you are also multiclass Rogue and have enough levels to have subclassed in Thief to get the Fast Hands feature, you cannot interact with any other objects in that turn and still use a Magic action to cast a spell.
It is not "my" logic. It is the rules as written.Let's assume that you had not opened the door. If you want to draw a weapon, that requires an object interaction. You can take that object interaction as part of your move or as part of your action. So, it could be part of your Magic action. The description of the spell itself says that you make an Attack as part of the action. That is clear.
So, if you want to do what your scenario laid out, I would recommend that you do one of the following:
Have someone else open the door, or
Cast a spell that doesn't require you to draw your weapon first, or
Make sure you have the Rogue's Fast Hands feature so you can use the Utilize action to draw your weapon as a Bonus Action, or
Come up with some other interesting and imaginative idea that doesn't require you to misinterpret the rules to gain more than the allowed number of object interactions
Probably because an the Attack action becomes inherently more complicated in people's minds because you can sometimes make multiple attacks.
One of the most common uses for the Ready Action, by far, is to hold an attack. If attacks are inherently more complicated, why wasn't the clarification also included here?
Bigger question: these rules were pretty clear in the 2014 edition and still required sage advice to answer. Do you really think they completely obliterated the rules for object interactions and didn't advertise the change? Do you really think the gave such a massive advantage to martial classes and undermined the value of Dual Wielder and Fast Hands without even mentioning it?
You keep making this claim that allowing an extra object interaction as part of the Attack Action "undermined the value of Dual Wielder and Fast Hands". How?
Dual Wielder allows you to draw or stow two weapons, when the rules would normally allow only one. That literally doesn't change no matter which interpretation of the object interaction rules you use. If anything, treating the Attack Action interaction as an extra interaction boosts the utility of Quick Draw, since it's another opportunity to use it
Quick Draw. You can draw or stow two weapons that lack the Two-Handed property when you would normally be able to draw or stow only one.
Fast Hands moves the Utilize Action, or a Magic Action when a magic item requires it to function, to your Bonus Action. It explicitly has nothing to do with the Attack Action, or weapons -- in fact, being required to use your Bonus Action via Fast Hands to draw a second weapon would defeat the purpose of drawing a second weapon, since you'd no longer have your Bonus Action free to attack with it. [Redacted]
Use an Object. Take the Utilize action, or take the Magic action to use a magic item that requires that action.
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock) Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric) Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue) Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
One of the most common uses for the Ready Action, by far, is to hold an attack. If attacks are inherently more complicated, why wasn't the clarification also included here?
That's a good question. I've got a bunch of better questions though:
Both the rules and the sage advice for the 2014 edition are clear about the one object interaction per turn. Why make such a drastic change and not announce it?
The 2024 rules make clear that drawing a sword is considered an object interaction. Why would they specifically say that drawing a sword is an object interaction if it didn't count as an object interaction?
The 2024 rules also are clear and consistent with the 2014 rules with regard to the limit of one object interaction per turn, and the NEED to use the Utilize action if you want a second object interaction in the same turn. Why would they say that you NEED to use the Utilize action for a second object interaction if they didn't mean it?
The 2024 rules kept the Dual Wielder feat's feature of being able to draw a second weapon, which would be nullified by your interpretation of the rules. How is it nullified? Because with your interpretation, anyone can draw two weapons in a single round: one "for free" and another with their attack action.
The 2024 rules kept the Fast Hands feature of the Thief subclass of Rogue which allows rogues to get a Utilize action as a Bonus Action, thereby allow them to bypass the one object interaction limitation without using their Action. This gave the rogue more flexibility than other classes, which is undermined by your interpretation. Why would they do that, and make no mention of it?
The 2024 rules for Weapon Properties make an explicit exception for Thrown weapons and for Ammunition, but make no explicit exception for Finesse, Heavy, Light, Ranged, Reach, Two-Handed, or Versatile weapons. Why?
Despite the fact that your interpretation would represent a MASSIVE rule change, it was never marketed as such in any of the official WoTC videos and has not been addressed by any errata or sage advice. Why is that?
Under most of the interpretations like yours, a fighter can push open a door and draw a weapon and attack -- but a spellcaster cannot push open a door and retrieve a spell's components and cast a spell. Does that make any sense? Obviously not. But the wording for Magic action does not include an "Equip Spell Components" section, so that is the only logical conclusion.
You keep making this claim that allowing an extra object interaction as part of the Attack Action "undermined the value of Dual Wielder and Fast Hands". How?
Because, under the rules as written, only someone with Dual Wielder could do the following
Draw and throw two thrown weapons
Draw two weapons in a round and attack with both
Start a round with two weapons in hand and sheathe one and replace it with another after learning a monster's vulnerabilities
With your interpretation, all of these things can be done by anyone, thereby undermining the value of the Dual Wielder feat.
Fast Hands moves the Utilize Action, or a Magic Action when a magic item requires it to function, to your Bonus Action. It explicitly has nothing to do with the Attack Action, or weapons -- in fact, being required to use your Bonus Action via Fast Hands to draw a second weapon would defeat the purpose of drawing a second weapon, since you'd no longer have your Bonus Action free to attack with it. [Redacted]
Do I really have to explain how having an Utilize action available as a Bonus Action gives you the ability to do things with weapons that couldn't be done under the Time-Sensitive Object Interactions rules? [Redacted]
One of the most common uses for the Ready Action, by far, is to hold an attack. If attacks are inherently more complicated, why wasn't the clarification also included here?
That's a good question. I've got a bunch of better questions though:
Both the rules and the sage advice for the 2014 edition are clear about the one object interaction per turn. Why make such a drastic change and not announce it?
The 2024 rules make clear that drawing a sword is considered an object interaction. Why would they specifically say that drawing a sword is an object interaction if it didn't count as an object interaction?
The 2024 rules also are clear and consistent with the 2014 rules with regard to the limit of one object interaction per turn, and the NEED to use the Utilize action if you want a second object interaction in the same turn. Why would they say that you NEED to use the Utilize action for a second object interaction if they didn't mean it?
The 2024 rules kept the Dual Wielder feat's feature of being able to draw a second weapon, which would be nullified by your interpretation of the rules. How is it nullified? Because with your interpretation, anyone can draw two weapons in a single round: one "for free" and another with their attack action.
The 2024 rules kept the Fast Hands feature of the Thief subclass of Rogue which allows rogues to get a Utilize action as a Bonus Action, thereby allow them to bypass the one object interaction limitation without using their Action. This gave the rogue more flexibility than other classes, which is undermined by your interpretation. Why would they do that, and make no mention of it?
The 2024 rules for Weapon Properties make an explicit exception for Thrown weapons and for Ammunition, but make no explicit exception for Finesse, Heavy, Light, Ranged, Reach, Two-Handed, or Versatile weapons. Why?
Despite the fact that your interpretation would represent a MASSIVE rule change, it was never marketed as such in any of the official WoTC videos and has not been addressed by any errata or sage advice. Why is that?
Under most of the interpretations like yours, a fighter can push open a door and draw a weapon and attack -- but a spellcaster cannot push open a door and retrieve a spell's components and cast a spell. Does that make any sense? Obviously not. But the wording for Magic action does not include an "Equip Spell Components" section, so that is the only logical conclusion.
Answering a question with a different question is generally recognized as a way to deflect from the fact that you don't have an answer
You keep making this claim that allowing an extra object interaction as part of the Attack Action "undermined the value of Dual Wielder and Fast Hands". How?
Because, under the rules as written, only someone with Dual Wielder could do the following
Draw and throw two thrown weapons
Draw two weapons in a round and attack with both
So your claim is that Two Weapon Fighting is broken unless you acquire a level-locked feat, and that thrown weapons aren't compatible with the Extra Attack feature. Huh. That's... definitely a take
Start a round with two weapons in hand and sheathe one and replace it with another after learning a monster's vulnerabilities
With your interpretation, all of these things can be done by anyone, thereby undermining the value of the Dual Wielder feat.
The third thing can't be done with Dual Wielder anyway, but we left both RAW and RAI far behind at this point
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock) Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric) Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue) Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
You can take that object interaction as part of your move or as part of your action. So, it could be part of your Magic action.
[Redacted]
In fact, you CANNOT take an object interaction as part of your move or as part of your action. Instead, you MUST take your object interaction during your move or action:
one free interaction per turn. That interaction must occur during a creature’s movement or action.
OR:
You can interact with one object or feature of the environment for free, during either your move or action.
Continuing to miss this distinction is causing you to continue to misinterpret what the rules are saying and how they work.
Activities that are part of an action are part of that action. Those activities are otherwise free (as explained in the Utilize action description) because you've already paid for them by taking the action that they are part of. The Time-Limited Object Interactions / Interacting with Things rules do not apply to such activities. They only apply to activities which might actually cost you some sort of action economy to perform, such as the Utilize action. You never take the Utilize action to perform any activity that is already explicitly part of another action. You only ever take the Utilize action to perform additional activities that are done during your move or action. By extension, you never use your one Free Object Interaction to perform any activity that is already explicitly part of another action. You only ever use your one Free Object Interaction to perform additional activities that are done during your move or action.
Remember, on Your Turn you may: move and take an action and communicate and use your One Free Object Interaction. But these are all separate things that you can do, and you cannot do them at the same time. In fact, there's another rule for that:
One Thing at a Time
The game uses actions to govern how much you can do at one time. You can take only one action at a time.
So, you can't take two different actions to do the same thing at the same time. Any time that you might feel like a single activity is being performed that would require the use of the Attack action and also the use of the Utilize action to do the same thing at the same time, by rule that must be a misinterpretation. If drawing a weapon is explicitly part of an Attack action, by rule it CANNOT also be part of a Utilize action and by extension it CANNOT require the use of an Object Interaction since that rule only applies to activities that would otherwise require the use of the Utilize action.
On the other hand, if you want to perform some completely separate activity that requires its own action to perform, such as opening a door, you can (and you must) do this during your move or during your action. This means that nested within the timeframe of the ongoing activity of your action to perform one activity you can spend some time to perform this particular type of other activity. Not at the same time, but during the same timeframe. This allows you to open a door with your One Free Object Interaction during your Attack action. Opening the door is NOT part of the attack action -- it's a separate activity which therefore would normally require a separate action, but in this case instead of the Utilize action you've chosen to use your One Free Object Interaction during your Attack action in order to open that door.
In fact, you CANNOT take an object interaction as part of your move or as part of your action. Instead, you MUST take your object interaction during your move or action:
one free interaction per turn. That interaction must occur during a creature’s movement or action.
OR:
You can interact with one object or feature of the environment for free, during either your move or action.
Continuing to miss this distinction is causing you to continue to misinterpret what the rules are saying and how they work.
[Redacted]
Nonetheless, it is a distinction without a difference. An object interaction is an object interaction, regardless of whether you want to say that it occurs "during" your action or "as part of" your action. [Redacted]
We have already established that drawing a weapon counts as an object interaction, and that you are limited to one object interaction per turn without needing to use the Utilize action to gain a second object interaction.
You say tom-A-to. I say tom-ah-to. Either way, a tomato is still an object and you can only interact with it one time for free each turn.
Activities that are part of an action are part of that action. Those activities are otherwise free (as explained in the Utilize action description) because you've already paid for them by taking the action that they are part of. The Time-Limited Object Interactions / Interacting with Things rules do not apply to such activities. They only apply to activities which might actually cost you some sort of action economy to perform, such as the Utilize action. You never take the Utilize action to perform any activity that is already explicitly part of another action. You only ever take the Utilize action to perform additional activities that are done during your move or action. By extension, you never use your one Free Object Interaction to perform any activity that is already explicitly part of another action. You only ever use your one Free Object Interaction to perform additional activities that are done during your move or action.
That is NOT what the Utilize action says. It says:
Utilize [Action]
You normally interact with an object while doing something else, such as when you draw a sword as part of the Attack action. When an object requires an action for its use, you take the Utilize action.
Very clearly this tells you that drawing a sword is an object interaction (regardless of whether it is "during" your Attack action or "as part of" your Attack action). [Redacted]
You only ever use your one Free Object Interaction to perform additional activities that are done during your move or action.
Nowhere does it say that. [Redacted] It explains what an object interaction is. The Utilize action itself makes clear that drawing your sword "as part of" an Attack action is an object interaction. The wording of in the Time-Sensitive Object Interactions makes clear that opening a door "during" your movement is an object interaction. Clearly, there is no distinction between "during" and "as part of" when it comes to object interactions. Nor, would one type count against your Object Interaction limit, while another type does not.
Remember, on Your Turn you may: move and take an action and communicate and use your One Free Object Interaction. But these are all separate things that you can do, and you cannot do them at the same time. In fact, there's another rule for that:
Movement is not an Action. Communicating is not an Action. Unless you are taking the Utilize action, interacting with an object as part of your move or your action is not an action. The rule states that you may only take one action at a time.
But you can move in between attacks that are part of your Attack action. So clearly you can Move while your Attack action is ongoing. Why? Because movement is not an action!
Similarly, it clearly says that you can Communicate as you take your turn. That means you can start an Attack action and while that Attack action is still ongoing, you can communicate. It specifically says: "Communicating. You can communicate however you are able—through brief utterances and gestures—as you take your turn. Doing so uses neither your action nor your move."
So, you can't take two different actions to do the same thing at the same time. Any time that you might feel like a single activity is being performed that would require the use of the Attack action and also the use of the Utilize action to do the same thing at the same time, by rule that must be a misinterpretation. If drawing a weapon is explicitly part of an Attack action, by rule it CANNOT also be part of a Utilize action and by extension it CANNOT require the use of an Object Interaction since that rule only applies to activities that would otherwise require the use of the Utilize action.
No one is saying that.
What I am saying, and what is obviously clear by the rules as written, is that unless you are using a feature like Action Surge or Fast Hands, you only get one action per turn. During that one action, or during your move, you can make one object interaction. If you want a second object interaction, you need to use the Utilize action, thereby eliminating the possibility of taking any other action (barring the aforementioned Action Surge or Fast Hands). That means a second object interaction of any kind (under most circumstances) eliminates the possibility of taking an Attack action, because your sole Action must be used for a Utilize action instead.
Nowhere does it say that there is a distinction between "during" and "as part of" that would indicate that something clearly identified as an object interaction isn't an object interaction.
The reasons any object interaction would require the Utilize action are: 1. You already had one object interaction as part of (or during) your move, and you want a second object interaction which by RAW requires the use of Utilize, or 2. You want to interact with an object that clearly states that it requires a full action to be used, thereby requiring the Utilize action to be used as your only action.
So your claim is that Two Weapon Fighting is broken unless you acquire a level-locked feat, and that thrown weapons aren't compatible with the Extra Attack feature. Huh. That's... definitely a take
This question was answered a long time ago in the 2014 Sage Advice. The rules have not changed since then. The wording has changed slightly, but only as an attempt to clarify the rules, not fundamentally change them. See below.
When you use two-weapon fighting, can you draw and throw two weapons on your turn?
You can throw two weapons with two-weapon fighting, but that rule doesn’t give you the ability to draw two weapons for free.
On your turn, you can interact with one object for free, either during your move or during an action. One of the most common object interactions is drawing or stowing a weapon. Interacting with a second object on the same turn requires an action. You need a feature like the Dual Wielder feat to draw or stow a second weapon for free.
This is fundamentally the same in 2024. You get one object interaction without having to use an entire Action for that interaction. The biggest change is that dropping a weapon in combat did not count as an object interaction, but now it does. So, if anything, the object interaction rules have become slightly more strict.
The 2014 edition was useful in that it gave you a number of examples of the types of things you could do as an object interaction during (or "as part of" or "in tandem with") you move or your action.
INTERACTING WITH OBJECTS AROUND YOU
Here are a few examples of the sorts of thing you can do in tandem with your movement and action:
draw or sheathe a sword
open or close a door
withdraw a potion from your backpack
pick up a dropped axe
take a bauble from a table
remove a ring from your finger
stuff some food into your mouth
plant a banner in the ground
fish a few coins from your belt pouch
drink all the ale in a flagon
throw a lever or a switch
pull a torch from a sconce
take a book from a shelf you can reach
extinguish a small flame
don a mask
pull the hood of your cloak up and over your head
put your ear to a door
kick a small stone
turn a key in a lock
tap the floor with a 10-foot pole
hand an item to another character
Later I will post the 2014 rules for object interactions and the 2024 rules. You will see that they have not changed in any meaningful way. The Sage Advice from 2014 still applies. The false interpretation that the Equipping and Unequipping Weapons section of the Attack action somehow eliminates or overrides this rule without explicitly saying so [redacted]
Here are a few examples of the sorts of thing you can do in tandem with your movement and action:
draw or sheathe a sword
Yes you can use a free object interaction for it, but you can ALSO do it as part of your attack action.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"grandpa" Salkur, Gnome Arti/Sorc: Forged in Chaos | Pepin, Human Arti/Cleric: Goblin horde | Mixtli, Volc Genasi Arti: Champions of the Citadel | Erix Vadalitis, Human Druid: Rising from the last war |Smithy, Human Arti: Night Ravens: Black orchids for Biscotti | Tamphalic Aliprax, Dragonborn Wizard: Chronicles of the Accursed | Doc, Dwarven Cleric (2024): Adventure at Hope's End | Abathax, Tiefling Illriger: Hunt for the Balowang | Gorin Mestel, Human Arti: Descend into Avernus
Free Item Interaction as part of movement or action
Utilize Action
Attack Action Equip & Unqeuip before or after an attack
Drawn Thrown Weapon as part of an attack
Draw Ammunition as part of an attack
You get one free object interaction per turn. Free means that it does not require the use of the Utilize action.
The free object interaction must be taken as part of a move or action. That means you can't claim an object interaction as part of Reactions or Bonus Action unless a feature explicitly grants that.
You can equip or unequip one weapon as part of the Attack action, but that counts as your one free object interaction. Equipping includes drawing or picking up a weapon. Unequipping includes stowing, sheathing, or dropping a weapon.
You can draw and throw a weapon with the Thrown property as part of your attack, but that still counts as your free object interaction. You cannot draw and throw a second weapon unless you have the Dual Wielder feat.
You can draw ammunition as part of a ranged attack, but equipping a weapon with the Ammunition property still requires a use of your object interaction.
Your own interpretation of the rules do not match RAW as none of this is written anywhere.
Here are a few examples of the sorts of thing you can do in tandem with your movement and action:
draw or sheathe a sword
Yes you can use a free object interaction for it, but you can ALSO do it as part of your attack action.
The text, or RAW, is very clear that drawing or sheathing a sword is an object interaction. Do you agree with that?
The text, or RAW, is also very clear that you are permitted one object interaction without the need to spend your action on a Utilize. That is where I assume you disagree.
So, let’s look again at the text associated with this rule. I think it is undeniable.
Time-Limited Object Interactions
When time is short, such as in combat, interactions with objects are limited: one free interaction per turn. That interaction must occur during a creature’s movement or action. Any additional interactions require the Utilize action, as explained in “Combat” later in this chapter.
Let’s also look at what it says under Combat. Again, I think it is undeniable.
Interacting with Things. You can interact with one object or feature of the environment for free, during either your move or action. For example, you could open a door during your move as you stride toward a foe.
If you want to interact with a second object, you need to take the Utilize action. Some magic items and other special objects always require an action to use, as stated in their descriptions.
The DM might require you to use an action for any of these activities when it needs special care or when it presents an unusual obstacle. For instance, the DM might require you to take the Utilize action to open a stuck door or turn a crank to lower a drawbridge.
Nowhere does it say that you treat object interactions “during” your action differently from object interactions made “as part of” your action. And, actually, the Utilize action’s own description makes clear that drawing your sword “as part of” your Attack action is considered an object interaction.
Similarly, nowhere does it say that there is a distinction between a “free object interaction” and an “object interaction made ‘as part of’ an Attack”. An object interaction is an object interaction. It is only described as “free” because you are not being required to use your Utilize action’s own description to interact with it. In simpler terms: you get one for free, but the second one you have to pay for.
I honestly cannot understand why this is controversial to anyone. The language is quite clear.
Free Item Interaction as part of movement or action
Utilize Action
Attack Action Equip & Unqeuip before or after an attack
Drawn Thrown Weapon as part of an attack
Draw Ammunition as part of an attack
You get one free object interaction per turn. Free means that it does not require the use of the Utilize action.
The free object interaction must be taken as part of a move or action. That means you can't claim an object interaction as part of Reactions or Bonus Action unless a feature explicitly grants that.
You can equip or unequip one weapon as part of the Attack action, but that counts as your one free object interaction. Equipping includes drawing or picking up a weapon. Unequipping includes stowing, sheathing, or dropping a weapon.
You can draw and throw a weapon with the Thrown property as part of your attack, but that still counts as your free object interaction. You cannot draw and throw a second weapon unless you have the Dual Wielder feat.
You can draw ammunition as part of a ranged attack, but equipping a weapon with the Ammunition property still requires a use of your object interaction.
Your own interpretation of the rules do not match RAW as none of this is written anywhere.
Why would you say that “but that counts as your one free object interaction” is not RAW. My previous post makes it clear that it is. Meanwhile, the only way to claim that it doesn’t count as your free object interaction is to ignore the text written in two places in the rules and confirmed elsewhere, and create out of whole cloth a distinction between some types of object interactions and other types without any justification. That “one interaction” rule has also been around for more than 10 years and has been confirmed through past Sage Advice.
Another point confirming that RAW supports exactly what I am saying it says is the following from the Combat section of the Player’s Handbook:
“If you want to interact with a second object, you need to take the Utilize action. Some magic items and other special objects always require an action to use, as stated in their descriptions.”
Here, they make clear that not all object interactions are equal. Some “always require an action”, which means some require the Utilize action. it does NOT say “also, some object interactions taken as part of your Attack action do not count as object interactions.” Yet, that is exactly the claim others here are making.
Where in the RAW does it state that drawing or sheathing a weapon is ever NOT counted as an object interaction?
The language is indeed clear against what you are saying, because as Plaguescarred mentioned you are adding things to the rules that aren't there. The attack action specifically tells you that drawing or stowing your weapon is part of it, and as it is part of that action it doesn't count as your free object interaction. Because if it would have counted as the free object interaction they wouldn't have added that sentence (or the one in Utilize action) into the rules.
Also you keep bringing in 2014 rules, but we are talking about 2024; so does rules don't matter for this discussion.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"grandpa" Salkur, Gnome Arti/Sorc: Forged in Chaos | Pepin, Human Arti/Cleric: Goblin horde | Mixtli, Volc Genasi Arti: Champions of the Citadel | Erix Vadalitis, Human Druid: Rising from the last war |Smithy, Human Arti: Night Ravens: Black orchids for Biscotti | Tamphalic Aliprax, Dragonborn Wizard: Chronicles of the Accursed | Doc, Dwarven Cleric (2024): Adventure at Hope's End | Abathax, Tiefling Illriger: Hunt for the Balowang | Gorin Mestel, Human Arti: Descend into Avernus
The language is indeed clear against what you are saying, because as Plaguescarred mentioned you are adding things to the rules that aren't there. The attack action specifically tells you that drawing or stowing your weapon is part of it, and as it is part of that action it doesn't count as your free object interaction. Because if it would have counted as the free object interaction they wouldn't have added that sentence (or the one in Utilize action) into the rules.
Also you keep bringing in 2014 rules, but we are talking about 2024; so does rules don't matter for this discussion.
It does not say that. It says it “can” be part of your action. When “can” it be? When you haven’t already used your free object interaction, which is limited as specified in the object interaction rules.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
The wording of the Attack actions Equipping and Unequipping Weapons language is VERY general. It does not explicitly mention any additional object interactions being granted (as the authors have done with the Quick Draw feature of the Dual Wielder feat).
Meanwhile, the wording of the Time-Sensitive Object Interaction rule is VERY specific. It makes clear that you are allowed only one object interaction that must be taken as part of a move or an action. It also states that if you want a second object interaction, you NEED to use the Utilize action. That is VERY specific. Any language intended to override that would need to be more specific (such as Dual Wielder's language and the language of the Fast Hands feature of the rogue).
So, it is you who are ignoring the rule that specific overrides general. There is nothing in the Equipping and Unequipping Weapons clarification of the Attack Action that explicitly states that it overrides the general rule. Nor, is such an override the obvious logical conclusion from the actual language used.
No, it's one free object interaction allowed per turn. You keep leaving the word 'free' out
What do you think the word 'free' means in this context?
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock)
Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric)
Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue)
Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
That is very obvious. One free object interaction (which must be used as part of your move or your action) means that you don't have to rely on the Utilize action to interact.
How do I know? Because the same rule states that if you want a second object interaction in the same turn, you must use the Utilize action.
Then why is the Attack Action the only one that mentions objects?
The Magic Action doesn't say, "You can either equip or unequip any Material components necessary, or a Spell Focus, when you cast a spell as part of this action."
The Ready Action doesn't say, "You can either equip or unequip one weapon if your Readied Action involves making an attack."
The Study Action doesn't say, "You can either equip or unequip one object, such as a book you are consulting, as part of this action."
Those Actions don't mention it because they do require your free object interaction, and adhere to the general rule. The Attack Action does not. The object interaction listed in the Attack Action is separate from your free object interaction, and is a specific exception to the general rule.
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock)
Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric)
Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue)
Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
Consider the following scenario. I am a Wizard who is proficient in the use of daggers. I have already used my one free object interaction during this turn to open a door. My hands are currently empty, and I possess a dagger that is in its scabbard which is attached to my belt. I wish to cast the True Strike spell, using this dagger as my Material component and directing the attack that is described in that spell description against an enemy who is standing directly in front of me.
How many actions must I expend from my action economy to make this happen?
By your logic, I might have to find a way to use THREE actions to make this happen. The casting time for the spell is 1 action. Perhaps you'll want me to also use the Utilize action to draw my dagger that I need for my Material component. As per the spell description, I will also be making an attack with this dagger, so I suppose you'll want me to use the Attack action in order to make that attack.
Wrong.
The above sequence costs me exactly ONE action from my action economy. The Magic action to cast the spell. Accessing my Material component while casting the spell is an activity that I am required to perform as part of casting the spell. The attack is part of the spell effect which occurs as a result of casting the spell. Spells do what they say. If it says that I make an attack, then I make an attack. That does not require me to take the Attack action unless the spell description explicitly requires me to do so.
The same principles apply to this thread topic. When a rule says that you can do something, such as "You can either equip or unequip one weapon when you make an attack as part of this action" then that's exactly what you can do. The activity in question is being performed as part of an action already. No additional action is required. The One Free Object Interaction ONLY applies to situations where you would normally be using an action to perform an activity -- which is only the case for activities that are not already part of some other action economy expenditure. The description of the Utilize action goes out of its way to explain this explicitly. There are no activities in the game which would require you to expend an Attack action and also a Utilize action to perform. The description of the Utilize action makes that extremely clear.
Because they didn't find the need to clarify. Probably because an the Attack action becomes inherently more complicated in people's minds because you can sometimes make multiple attacks. Also, because people weren't trying to weasel the rules for things like the Study action. But, we all know attack-focused characters that are always trying to maximize their damage per turn.
Pretty obvious actually.
Bigger question: these rules were pretty clear in the 2014 edition and still required sage advice to answer. Do you really think they completely obliterated the rules for object interactions and didn't advertise the change? Do you really think they gave such a massive advantage to martial classes and undermined the value of Dual Wielder and Fast Hands without even mentioning it?
[Redacted]
Yes, let's consider that scenario.
You have already used an object interaction to open the door. That is your only object interaction allowed without using the Utilize action. Unless you are also multiclass Rogue and have enough levels to have subclassed in Thief to get the Fast Hands feature, you cannot interact with any other objects in that turn and still use a Magic action to cast a spell.
It is not "my" logic. It is the rules as written.Let's assume that you had not opened the door. If you want to draw a weapon, that requires an object interaction. You can take that object interaction as part of your move or as part of your action. So, it could be part of your Magic action. The description of the spell itself says that you make an Attack as part of the action. That is clear.
So, if you want to do what your scenario laid out, I would recommend that you do one of the following:
Did that clarify it for you?
One of the most common uses for the Ready Action, by far, is to hold an attack. If attacks are inherently more complicated, why wasn't the clarification also included here?
You keep making this claim that allowing an extra object interaction as part of the Attack Action "undermined the value of Dual Wielder and Fast Hands". How?
Dual Wielder allows you to draw or stow two weapons, when the rules would normally allow only one. That literally doesn't change no matter which interpretation of the object interaction rules you use. If anything, treating the Attack Action interaction as an extra interaction boosts the utility of Quick Draw, since it's another opportunity to use it
Fast Hands moves the Utilize Action, or a Magic Action when a magic item requires it to function, to your Bonus Action. It explicitly has nothing to do with the Attack Action, or weapons -- in fact, being required to use your Bonus Action via Fast Hands to draw a second weapon would defeat the purpose of drawing a second weapon, since you'd no longer have your Bonus Action free to attack with it. [Redacted]
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock)
Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric)
Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue)
Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
That's a good question. I've got a bunch of better questions though:
Because, under the rules as written, only someone with Dual Wielder could do the following
With your interpretation, all of these things can be done by anyone, thereby undermining the value of the Dual Wielder feat.
Do I really have to explain how having an Utilize action available as a Bonus Action gives you the ability to do things with weapons that couldn't be done under the Time-Sensitive Object Interactions rules? [Redacted]
Answering a question with a different question is generally recognized as a way to deflect from the fact that you don't have an answer
So your claim is that Two Weapon Fighting is broken unless you acquire a level-locked feat, and that thrown weapons aren't compatible with the Extra Attack feature. Huh. That's... definitely a take
The third thing can't be done with Dual Wielder anyway, but we left both RAW and RAI far behind at this point
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock)
Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric)
Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue)
Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
[Redacted]
In fact, you CANNOT take an object interaction as part of your move or as part of your action. Instead, you MUST take your object interaction during your move or action:
OR:
Continuing to miss this distinction is causing you to continue to misinterpret what the rules are saying and how they work.
Activities that are part of an action are part of that action. Those activities are otherwise free (as explained in the Utilize action description) because you've already paid for them by taking the action that they are part of. The Time-Limited Object Interactions / Interacting with Things rules do not apply to such activities. They only apply to activities which might actually cost you some sort of action economy to perform, such as the Utilize action. You never take the Utilize action to perform any activity that is already explicitly part of another action. You only ever take the Utilize action to perform additional activities that are done during your move or action. By extension, you never use your one Free Object Interaction to perform any activity that is already explicitly part of another action. You only ever use your one Free Object Interaction to perform additional activities that are done during your move or action.
Remember, on Your Turn you may: move and take an action and communicate and use your One Free Object Interaction. But these are all separate things that you can do, and you cannot do them at the same time. In fact, there's another rule for that:
So, you can't take two different actions to do the same thing at the same time. Any time that you might feel like a single activity is being performed that would require the use of the Attack action and also the use of the Utilize action to do the same thing at the same time, by rule that must be a misinterpretation. If drawing a weapon is explicitly part of an Attack action, by rule it CANNOT also be part of a Utilize action and by extension it CANNOT require the use of an Object Interaction since that rule only applies to activities that would otherwise require the use of the Utilize action.
On the other hand, if you want to perform some completely separate activity that requires its own action to perform, such as opening a door, you can (and you must) do this during your move or during your action. This means that nested within the timeframe of the ongoing activity of your action to perform one activity you can spend some time to perform this particular type of other activity. Not at the same time, but during the same timeframe. This allows you to open a door with your One Free Object Interaction during your Attack action. Opening the door is NOT part of the attack action -- it's a separate activity which therefore would normally require a separate action, but in this case instead of the Utilize action you've chosen to use your One Free Object Interaction during your Attack action in order to open that door.
[Redacted]
Nonetheless, it is a distinction without a difference. An object interaction is an object interaction, regardless of whether you want to say that it occurs "during" your action or "as part of" your action. [Redacted]
We have already established that drawing a weapon counts as an object interaction, and that you are limited to one object interaction per turn without needing to use the Utilize action to gain a second object interaction.
You say tom-A-to. I say tom-ah-to. Either way, a tomato is still an object and you can only interact with it one time for free each turn.
That is NOT what the Utilize action says. It says:
Utilize [Action]
You normally interact with an object while doing something else, such as when you draw a sword as part of the Attack action. When an object requires an action for its use, you take the Utilize action.
Very clearly this tells you that drawing a sword is an object interaction (regardless of whether it is "during" your Attack action or "as part of" your Attack action). [Redacted]
Nowhere does it say that. [Redacted] It explains what an object interaction is. The Utilize action itself makes clear that drawing your sword "as part of" an Attack action is an object interaction. The wording of in the Time-Sensitive Object Interactions makes clear that opening a door "during" your movement is an object interaction. Clearly, there is no distinction between "during" and "as part of" when it comes to object interactions. Nor, would one type count against your Object Interaction limit, while another type does not.
Movement is not an Action. Communicating is not an Action. Unless you are taking the Utilize action, interacting with an object as part of your move or your action is not an action. The rule states that you may only take one action at a time.
But you can move in between attacks that are part of your Attack action. So clearly you can Move while your Attack action is ongoing. Why? Because movement is not an action!
Similarly, it clearly says that you can Communicate as you take your turn. That means you can start an Attack action and while that Attack action is still ongoing, you can communicate. It specifically says: "Communicating. You can communicate however you are able—through brief utterances and gestures—as you take your turn. Doing so uses neither your action nor your move."
No one is saying that.
What I am saying, and what is obviously clear by the rules as written, is that unless you are using a feature like Action Surge or Fast Hands, you only get one action per turn. During that one action, or during your move, you can make one object interaction. If you want a second object interaction, you need to use the Utilize action, thereby eliminating the possibility of taking any other action (barring the aforementioned Action Surge or Fast Hands). That means a second object interaction of any kind (under most circumstances) eliminates the possibility of taking an Attack action, because your sole Action must be used for a Utilize action instead.
Nowhere does it say that there is a distinction between "during" and "as part of" that would indicate that something clearly identified as an object interaction isn't an object interaction.
The reasons any object interaction would require the Utilize action are:
1. You already had one object interaction as part of (or during) your move, and you want a second object interaction which by RAW requires the use of Utilize, or
2. You want to interact with an object that clearly states that it requires a full action to be used, thereby requiring the Utilize action to be used as your only action.
This question was answered a long time ago in the 2014 Sage Advice. The rules have not changed since then. The wording has changed slightly, but only as an attempt to clarify the rules, not fundamentally change them. See below.
This is fundamentally the same in 2024. You get one object interaction without having to use an entire Action for that interaction. The biggest change is that dropping a weapon in combat did not count as an object interaction, but now it does. So, if anything, the object interaction rules have become slightly more strict.
The 2014 edition was useful in that it gave you a number of examples of the types of things you could do as an object interaction during (or "as part of" or "in tandem with") you move or your action.
Later I will post the 2014 rules for object interactions and the 2024 rules. You will see that they have not changed in any meaningful way. The Sage Advice from 2014 still applies. The false interpretation that the Equipping and Unequipping Weapons section of the Attack action somehow eliminates or overrides this rule without explicitly saying so [redacted]
Yes you can use a free object interaction for it, but you can ALSO do it as part of your attack action.
"grandpa" Salkur, Gnome Arti/Sorc: Forged in Chaos | Pepin, Human Arti/Cleric: Goblin horde | Mixtli, Volc Genasi Arti: Champions of the Citadel | Erix Vadalitis, Human Druid: Rising from the last war | Smithy, Human Arti: Night Ravens: Black orchids for Biscotti | Tamphalic Aliprax, Dragonborn Wizard: Chronicles of the Accursed | Doc, Dwarven Cleric (2024): Adventure at Hope's End | Abathax, Tiefling Illriger: Hunt for the Balowang | Gorin Mestel, Human Arti: Descend into Avernus
Your own interpretation of the rules do not match RAW as none of this is written anywhere.
The text, or RAW, is very clear that drawing or sheathing a sword is an object interaction. Do you agree with that?
The text, or RAW, is also very clear that you are permitted one object interaction without the need to spend your action on a Utilize. That is where I assume you disagree.
So, let’s look again at the text associated with this rule. I think it is undeniable.
Time-Limited Object Interactions
When time is short, such as in combat, interactions with objects are limited: one free interaction per turn. That interaction must occur during a creature’s movement or action. Any additional interactions require the Utilize action, as explained in “Combat” later in this chapter.
Let’s also look at what it says under Combat. Again, I think it is undeniable.
Interacting with Things. You can interact with one object or feature of the environment for free, during either your move or action. For example, you could open a door during your move as you stride toward a foe.
If you want to interact with a second object, you need to take the Utilize action. Some magic items and other special objects always require an action to use, as stated in their descriptions.
The DM might require you to use an action for any of these activities when it needs special care or when it presents an unusual obstacle. For instance, the DM might require you to take the Utilize action to open a stuck door or turn a crank to lower a drawbridge.
Nowhere does it say that you treat object interactions “during” your action differently from object interactions made “as part of” your action. And, actually, the Utilize action’s own description makes clear that drawing your sword “as part of” your Attack action is considered an object interaction.
Similarly, nowhere does it say that there is a distinction between a “free object interaction” and an “object interaction made ‘as part of’ an Attack”. An object interaction is an object interaction. It is only described as “free” because you are not being required to use your Utilize action’s own description to interact with it. In simpler terms: you get one for free, but the second one you have to pay for.
I honestly cannot understand why this is controversial to anyone. The language is quite clear.
Why would you say that “but that counts as your one free object interaction” is not RAW. My previous post makes it clear that it is. Meanwhile, the only way to claim that it doesn’t count as your free object interaction is to ignore the text written in two places in the rules and confirmed elsewhere, and create out of whole cloth a distinction between some types of object interactions and other types without any justification. That “one interaction” rule has also been around for more than 10 years and has been confirmed through past Sage Advice.
Another point confirming that RAW supports exactly what I am saying it says is the following from the Combat section of the Player’s Handbook:
“If you want to interact with a second object, you need to take the Utilize action. Some magic items and other special objects always require an action to use, as stated in their descriptions.”
Here, they make clear that not all object interactions are equal. Some “always require an action”, which means some require the Utilize action. it does NOT say “also, some object interactions taken as part of your Attack action do not count as object interactions.” Yet, that is exactly the claim others here are making.
Where in the RAW does it state that drawing or sheathing a weapon is ever NOT counted as an object interaction?
The language is indeed clear against what you are saying, because as Plaguescarred mentioned you are adding things to the rules that aren't there. The attack action specifically tells you that drawing or stowing your weapon is part of it, and as it is part of that action it doesn't count as your free object interaction. Because if it would have counted as the free object interaction they wouldn't have added that sentence (or the one in Utilize action) into the rules.
Also you keep bringing in 2014 rules, but we are talking about 2024; so does rules don't matter for this discussion.
"grandpa" Salkur, Gnome Arti/Sorc: Forged in Chaos | Pepin, Human Arti/Cleric: Goblin horde | Mixtli, Volc Genasi Arti: Champions of the Citadel | Erix Vadalitis, Human Druid: Rising from the last war | Smithy, Human Arti: Night Ravens: Black orchids for Biscotti | Tamphalic Aliprax, Dragonborn Wizard: Chronicles of the Accursed | Doc, Dwarven Cleric (2024): Adventure at Hope's End | Abathax, Tiefling Illriger: Hunt for the Balowang | Gorin Mestel, Human Arti: Descend into Avernus
It does not say that. It says it “can” be part of your action. When “can” it be? When you haven’t already used your free object interaction, which is limited as specified in the object interaction rules.