The only wording on the Beast Master's Share Spell feature is that "When you cast a spell targeting yourself, you can also affect your Primal Companion beast with the spell if the beast is within 30 feet of you." I'm genuinely curious if this can apply Wrathful Smite. Admittingly, it also doesn't make sense to me. But then again, I don't see a limitation on the Shared Spells feature that would say otherwise. The only limitation I can see is from Wrathful Smite itself which says "Bonus Action, which you take immediately after hitting a creature with a melee weapon attack or Unarmed Strike." and I don't think a Primal Companion's attacks can be considered unarmed strikes or melee weapon attack.
Idk, what's ya'll's call on this? Seems like a pretty interesting thought experiment at the very least.
I'm not sure what effect this is meant to have. Wrathful Smite is a spell you cast when you hit something with an attack; it causes the target to take extra damage and possibly be Frightened. What would it mean to share that effect with your animal companion? The effects only apply to the attack that triggered the spell to be cast.
Because the target of the spell is Self, does it not mean that you empower your next attack with the spell's effects?
With that idea in mind, wouldn't that mean that if you cast it on yourself, you'll also cast it on your Primal Companion and let them apply Wrathful Smite on their next attack?
Because the target of the spell is Self, does it not mean that you empower your next attack with the spell's effects?
With that idea in mind, wouldn't that mean that if you cast it on yourself, you'll also cast it on your Primal Companion and let them apply Wrathful Smite on their next attack?
Well, you're quoting from the 2024 version of both the spell and the Ranger feature. The 2024 version of the spell does not work that way; you cast it after hitting with an attack, and its effects apply to the triggering attack, not a subsequent one, so it wouldn't work.
I think technically it doesn't work under the 2014 rules either, because the 2014 version of the spell only applies to "a melee weapon attack" and doesn't allow unarmed strikes, which means your animal companion couldn't benefit from it unless it were somehow able to hold a weapon.
I don't see how this is going to work, unless you target yourself.
As explained in previous threads, Range and Targets are different things. Each one has its own separate paragraph in the Spells chapter.
- Range "indicates how far from the spellcaster the spell's effect can originate", but it does not define the targets.
- The target is explained in the Effect of a spell. Sometimes, a spell with "Range: Self" can target you, but only if the spell says so in its description (e.g. False Life or Shield). Maybe, technically, and if you DM allows it, you could target yourself with Wrathful Smite, but you will take damage:
The target takes an extra 1d6 Necrotic damage from the attack, and it must succeed on a Wisdom saving throw or have the Frightened condition until the spell ends.
And your Primal Companion will also take damage in this case:
Level 15: Share Spells
When you cast a spell targeting yourself, you can also affect your Primal Companion beast with the spell if the beast is within 30 feet of you.
The only wording on the Beast Master's Share Spell feature is that "When you cast a spell targeting yourself, you can also affect your Primal Companion beast with the spell if the beast is within 30 feet of you." I'm genuinely curious if this can apply Wrathful Smite. Admittingly, it also doesn't make sense to me. But then again, I don't see a limitation on the Shared Spells feature that would say otherwise. The only limitation I can see is from Wrathful Smite itself which says "Bonus Action, which you take immediately after hitting a creature with a melee weapon attack or Unarmed Strike." and I don't think a Primal Companion's attacks can be considered unarmed strikes or melee weapon attack.
Idk, what's ya'll's call on this? Seems like a pretty interesting thought experiment at the very least.
I'm not sure what effect this is meant to have. Wrathful Smite is a spell you cast when you hit something with an attack; it causes the target to take extra damage and possibly be Frightened. What would it mean to share that effect with your animal companion? The effects only apply to the attack that triggered the spell to be cast.
pronouns: he/she/they
Because the target of the spell is Self, does it not mean that you empower your next attack with the spell's effects?
With that idea in mind, wouldn't that mean that if you cast it on yourself, you'll also cast it on your Primal Companion and let them apply Wrathful Smite on their next attack?
Well, you're quoting from the 2024 version of both the spell and the Ranger feature. The 2024 version of the spell does not work that way; you cast it after hitting with an attack, and its effects apply to the triggering attack, not a subsequent one, so it wouldn't work.
I think technically it doesn't work under the 2014 rules either, because the 2014 version of the spell only applies to "a melee weapon attack" and doesn't allow unarmed strikes, which means your animal companion couldn't benefit from it unless it were somehow able to hold a weapon.
pronouns: he/she/they
I don't see how this is going to work, unless you target yourself.
As explained in previous threads, Range and Targets are different things. Each one has its own separate paragraph in the Spells chapter.
- Range "indicates how far from the spellcaster the spell's effect can originate", but it does not define the targets.
- The target is explained in the Effect of a spell. Sometimes, a spell with "Range: Self" can target you, but only if the spell says so in its description (e.g. False Life or Shield). Maybe, technically, and if you DM allows it, you could target yourself with Wrathful Smite, but you will take damage:
And your Primal Companion will also take damage in this case:
EDIT: for clarity.