it would be posible to use de ready action to wait until a party member fires an arrow to an enemy and cast a spell like darkness, hunger of hadar or sickening radiance on the projectile while its travelling?
Someone might correct me, but I don't think there's any official ruling on that. It would be up to a DM to adjudicate-- I've done the exact thing you describe, however. This applies to spells that can be cast on objects, and not at a point in the space.
I readied to cast Darkness at the absolute edge of its range for when the Barbarian threw a javelin at the end of a gargantuan beast. The Barbarian got a solid hit, and the DM ruled that the javelin was lodged in the thing's flesh like a splinter, causing the radius of darkness to blind it so long as I could keep concentration -- it definitely felt cool, but I don't know if it would be ruled the same way again. I don't often try to do things like this too many times, lest it just annoy a DM :P
As a DM I think I may have required the spellcaster to roll an ability check of some kind to get the timing just right, setting a reasonable DC, but again: I really think it's up to the DM in the end. Your DM might rule it as a flat no, and wouldn't be wrong necessarily.
It depends on the spell. Only certain spells can be cast on objects. Most spells say that you target a point (usually a "point you can see"). There is no problem with your idea as long as the spell can target an object like light and darkness do (although light has a range of touch so that's the bigger problem there). Spells like hunger of Hadar target a point within range and so could not be targeted on the arrow, but only on the space that the arrow is currently occupying.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
it would be posible to use de ready action to wait until a party member fires an arrow to an enemy and cast a spell like darkness, hunger of hadar or sickening radiance on the projectile while its travelling?
Someone might correct me, but I don't think there's any official ruling on that. It would be up to a DM to adjudicate-- I've done the exact thing you describe, however. This applies to spells that can be cast on objects, and not at a point in the space.
I readied to cast Darkness at the absolute edge of its range for when the Barbarian threw a javelin at the end of a gargantuan beast. The Barbarian got a solid hit, and the DM ruled that the javelin was lodged in the thing's flesh like a splinter, causing the radius of darkness to blind it so long as I could keep concentration -- it definitely felt cool, but I don't know if it would be ruled the same way again. I don't often try to do things like this too many times, lest it just annoy a DM :P
As a DM I think I may have required the spellcaster to roll an ability check of some kind to get the timing just right, setting a reasonable DC, but again: I really think it's up to the DM in the end. Your DM might rule it as a flat no, and wouldn't be wrong necessarily.
It depends on the spell. Only certain spells can be cast on objects. Most spells say that you target a point (usually a "point you can see"). There is no problem with your idea as long as the spell can target an object like light and darkness do (although light has a range of touch so that's the bigger problem there). Spells like hunger of Hadar target a point within range and so could not be targeted on the arrow, but only on the space that the arrow is currently occupying.