Does a spell (one that does not require concentration) end if a PC drops to 0 HP?
Example: Mage Armor? Does a PC have to cast it again after they regain 1+ HP?
Also, abilities/feautres? Do they still trigger or continue even after a is PC reduced to 0 HP?
Example: The Hexblade's curse. When the hex'd creature dies, the hexblade regains "X" HP. If the Hexblade is downed, (does that ability end right then and there?) but the hex'd enemy combatant goes down in a subsiquent turn, does the Hexblade regain said "X" HP (thanks to a ally) and get back up on their next initiative turn?
Spells, generally, are considered to end when the caster is unconscious or dead. This is due to them not being able to manipulate the weave/energies necessary for spell casting. That said, I can see an argument that those spells that are "one and done" such as Mage Armor or Sanctuary would linger after the caster is unconscious since the energies have been expended and the spell cast.
Abilities and features are not going to happen unless they have the "on death" or "when you hit 0 hp" style triggers built in to them. In the case of Hexblade's Curse it's already built in that it won't trigger "The curse ends early if the target dies, you die, or you are incapacitated." I will assume that there are exceptions to this rule, but I'm unable to think of one at this time.
Spells, generally, are considered to end when the caster is unconscious or dead.
That's not a rule. Spells last for their duration or until their description says so. Most spells will keep going regardless of what happens to the caster unless they require concentration (which is part of the spell's duration).
Hexblade Curse specifically says that the curse falls if the caster dies or is incapacitated. So that one does have a specific case spelled out for it falling when you do.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So I got a newbie DM question:
Does a spell (one that does not require concentration) end if a PC drops to 0 HP?
Example: Mage Armor? Does a PC have to cast it again after they regain 1+ HP?
Also, abilities/feautres? Do they still trigger or continue even after a is PC reduced to 0 HP?
Example: The Hexblade's curse. When the hex'd creature dies, the hexblade regains "X" HP. If the Hexblade is downed, (does that ability end right then and there?) but the hex'd enemy combatant goes down in a subsiquent turn, does the Hexblade regain said "X" HP (thanks to a ally) and get back up on their next initiative turn?
Thank you in advanced.
Got Goblin?
Usually, spells and features describe clearly the condition upon which they get dropped. If there's not such a condition, they do not get dropped.
Spells, generally, are considered to end when the caster is unconscious or dead. This is due to them not being able to manipulate the weave/energies necessary for spell casting. That said, I can see an argument that those spells that are "one and done" such as Mage Armor or Sanctuary would linger after the caster is unconscious since the energies have been expended and the spell cast.
Abilities and features are not going to happen unless they have the "on death" or "when you hit 0 hp" style triggers built in to them. In the case of Hexblade's Curse it's already built in that it won't trigger "The curse ends early if the target dies, you die, or you are incapacitated." I will assume that there are exceptions to this rule, but I'm unable to think of one at this time.
That's not a rule. Spells last for their duration or until their description says so. Most spells will keep going regardless of what happens to the caster unless they require concentration (which is part of the spell's duration).
The Forum Infestation (TM)
Hexblade Curse specifically says that the curse falls if the caster dies or is incapacitated. So that one does have a specific case spelled out for it falling when you do.