I was wondering if this is something you could use on a flying creature?
Tanglepatch These magical balls of tangled vines are used by the wild dwarves, particularly in their battles against the Batiri goblins of the Chultan forests. The ball is thrown at a target and has a 20 ft. range increment. Upon hitting a target or landing, it creates an entangle spell centered on the point of impact. It is good for only one use. CL 1st; Craft Wondrous Item, entangle; Market Price: 100 gp; Weight: 1 lb. Source: Races of Faerûn
I don't think it will work without a house ruling by the DM. The text of entangle says "For the duration, these plants turn the ground in the area into difficult terrain." It specifically references the ground in the area, but it's definitely ambiguous how "centered in the point of impact" in the tanglepatch description interacts with that.
Edit: Races of Faerûn is a 3e supplement and in 3e entangle had no reference to the ground.
Sounds like the OP wants to use a Tanglepatch "on a flying creature" - suggesting the target is already in the air.
Entangle's first paragraph states that the target - the ground, not the creature on it - becomes difficult terrain, which is hard to accomplish where there's no ground touching the flying target.
The second paragraph causes an effect to creatures in the area where you cast the spell. So... probably not?
But this does suggest turning a Tanglepatch into a poor man's Iron Bands of Bilarro, and that's too cool to ignore.
Thank you all. We went with since the tanglepatch is a "ball of vines" that it is the piece of the ground itself with impact triggering the spell. The bilarro idea would work splendidly. Now just to convince him that if we throw a bunch at a dragon that it will at least mess up its flying a bit hehe.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Hi,
I was wondering if this is something you could use on a flying creature?
Tanglepatch
These magical balls of tangled vines are used by the wild dwarves, particularly in their battles against the Batiri goblins of the Chultan forests. The ball is thrown at a target and has a 20 ft. range increment. Upon hitting a target or landing, it creates an entangle spell centered on the point of impact. It is good for only one use.
CL 1st; Craft Wondrous Item, entangle; Market Price: 100 gp; Weight: 1 lb. Source: Races of Faerûn
As long as the creature is within range you should be able to use the item just fine.
I don't think it will work without a house ruling by the DM. The text of entangle says "For the duration, these plants turn the ground in the area into difficult terrain." It specifically references the ground in the area, but it's definitely ambiguous how "centered in the point of impact" in the tanglepatch description interacts with that.
Edit: Races of Faerûn is a 3e supplement and in 3e entangle had no reference to the ground.
I presume the OP wants to use it from a flying mount against a target on the ground.
Extended Signature
Sounds like the OP wants to use a Tanglepatch "on a flying creature" - suggesting the target is already in the air.
Entangle's first paragraph states that the target - the ground, not the creature on it - becomes difficult terrain, which is hard to accomplish where there's no ground touching the flying target.
The second paragraph causes an effect to creatures in the area where you cast the spell. So... probably not?
But this does suggest turning a Tanglepatch into a poor man's Iron Bands of Bilarro, and that's too cool to ignore.
I am a Canadian Dungeon Master, which means I reflexively apologize when the monsters score a critical hit on the players' characters.
Thank you all. We went with since the tanglepatch is a "ball of vines" that it is the piece of the ground itself with impact triggering the spell. The bilarro idea would work splendidly. Now just to convince him that if we throw a bunch at a dragon that it will at least mess up its flying a bit hehe.