Ok. I have a question. I have a Kenku Bloodhunter, Ghostslayer. I have some Armor of Resistance, Radiant damage. I am level 4, so I would take 4 damage from the rites I activate. If I activate my Radiant Damage Rite, do I take 2 damage (damage is halved), or 1 (Resitance+halved)?
As far as I see, the self inflicted rite damage is not specified as a type or mentioned as being the same type of damage as the rite activated, with this in mind I think your first assumption is correct; you would take 2 damage from activating the Rite of the Dawn due to it halving the damage you suffer!
However if it did specify that the self inflicted damage was Radiant, then you would take only 1 damage as per your second assumption.
It looks like the Rite of Dawn switches your crimson rite damage to radiant and you only take half. There is no mention of resistance in the feature's description. That's why i feel like it would stack with your armor of resistance. I suppose you would only take 1 damage.
However, there's also the issue of the crimson rite's basic functionality.
When a crimson rite is activated, you suffer damage equal to your character level, and you reduce your maximum hit points by an amount equal to your character level.
So while you only take 1 damage from activating the rite, your maximum hit points are still lowered by your level, so it would go down by 4. And your current hit points may not exceed your maximum hit points unless it's from an effect that explicitly allows it. So in response you could say, "Wait a minute. If I'm going to take full damage anyway, then why does the Rite of Dawn feature even bother to mention I only take half damage?" and it's a fair question. So if we go by the guidance that specific rules supersede general rules, then your maximum hit points would only drop by 2 and you would take 2 damage. It certainly appears that Matt Mercer intended the normal hit point loss to be halved for the Rite of Dawn.
So is that clear? You only take 1 damage. Except, no you take the full 4 damage. Except no, you only take 2 damage. Yes, I think it's 2 damage. Good luck!
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"Not all those who wander are lost"
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Ok. I have a question. I have a Kenku Bloodhunter, Ghostslayer. I have some Armor of Resistance, Radiant damage. I am level 4, so I would take 4 damage from the rites I activate. If I activate my Radiant Damage Rite, do I take 2 damage (damage is halved), or 1 (Resitance+halved)?
As far as I see, the self inflicted rite damage is not specified as a type or mentioned as being the same type of damage as the rite activated, with this in mind I think your first assumption is correct; you would take 2 damage from activating the Rite of the Dawn due to it halving the damage you suffer!
However if it did specify that the self inflicted damage was Radiant, then you would take only 1 damage as per your second assumption.
It looks like the Rite of Dawn switches your crimson rite damage to radiant and you only take half. There is no mention of resistance in the feature's description. That's why i feel like it would stack with your armor of resistance. I suppose you would only take 1 damage.
However, there's also the issue of the crimson rite's basic functionality.
So while you only take 1 damage from activating the rite, your maximum hit points are still lowered by your level, so it would go down by 4. And your current hit points may not exceed your maximum hit points unless it's from an effect that explicitly allows it. So in response you could say, "Wait a minute. If I'm going to take full damage anyway, then why does the Rite of Dawn feature even bother to mention I only take half damage?" and it's a fair question. So if we go by the guidance that specific rules supersede general rules, then your maximum hit points would only drop by 2 and you would take 2 damage. It certainly appears that Matt Mercer intended the normal hit point loss to be halved for the Rite of Dawn.
So is that clear? You only take 1 damage. Except, no you take the full 4 damage. Except no, you only take 2 damage. Yes, I think it's 2 damage. Good luck!
"Not all those who wander are lost"