This is a very interesting situation to me. I love the SCAG cantrips, and I find builds that combo things like PAM & War Caster fascinating for battlefield control. I even agree with almost every point made so far.. except bootstrapping a full weapon BB off of an "unarmed" AoO (bear with me 'til the end).
I think you're extrapolating your final position based on things that Jeremy Crawford has not actually said. What Jeremy does say is:
Just because you have multiple "reaches" does not mean that an AoO provoked by one "reach" can be substituted for any of your other options. If you're two-handing a reach weapon, and a creature provokes an AoO from your "unarmed" range, you can't substitute that with your reach weapon at that range.
With War Caster, you can cast a single-target spell, instead of a melee opportunity attack, with the weapon & "range" that triggered it. If you are taking your reaction as a creature moves across the 5' line (in either direction; PAM), your options are restricted to things that trigger & resolve an AoO at that range & at that moment.
Booming Blade requires a melee weapon attack be made as the material component. Unarmed strikes do not qualify. Reach weapons do not qualify because they do not provoke attacks of opportunity at this range. You cannot substitute an AoO by casting Booming Blade with a reach weapon if the reach weapon does not provoke an AoO at that range. You can't start to stick out your foot to trip the fleeing guy (unarmed AoO; totally fine), decide to cast a spell instead (War Caster; still fine), and then channel that spell through an attack, with a different weapon, with a different reach. ALL conditions have to be met.
Are there ways around this? Absolutely! 1H weapon (5' reach) + whip (10' reach). Boom!
Are there ways around this while still using PAM? Absolutely! Spear or Quarterstaff (1H, 5' reach, PAM) + whip (10' reach). Bam!
Are there ways around this while still using a 2H Reach weapon and PAM? Nope.
Can all of this be rendered moot if unarmed attacks would qualify for SCAG cantrips? Absolutely! But they don't.
This is the basis for why it feels a little dirty to me. What complicates the issue is that there is nothing that prevents a spell being cast at any range that is within its range (ie just because a spell has a range of 60' doesn't mean it has to be cast at 60'). Thus, just because spell sniper gives booming blade a range of 10', it doesn't require that the spell be cast at 10'. The trigger for an AoO isn't that you stuck your blade out to hit someone, but the fact that you can as they are leaving your reach. Warcaster gives you the chance to make a spell attack in lieu of an attack of opportunity, as long as the spell can be used within that range and it only targets one creature. Part of the casting requirements for booming blade is the melee attack. There isn't anything preventing booming blade from being cast at 5' normally, and there isn't anything allowing it at reach without spell sniper. During a normal attack with spell sniper, there isn't anything preventing booming blade from being cast at either 5' or 10' with a reach weapon (perhaps disadvantage if it's with a lance and the character isn't mounted). Assuming that a DM would allow the AoO for the unarmed strike while the character is holding a reach weapon, I can't see a good reason why it shouldn't be allowed to interact with warcaster as the OP desires.
I think that this would have to be something that was brought up at zero session or fairly early and between sessions. This wouldn't be a nice trick to play on a DM in the moment.
Exactly, Warcaster gives you the chance to make a spell attack in lieu of an attack of opportunity, as long as the spell can be used within that range and it only targets one creature. Thus the Weapon and attack method to proc the AoO become insignificant, Simply become you have the option.
We are talking about an Opportunity Attack == PHB "In a fight, everyone is constantly watching for a chance tostrike an enemy who is fleeing or passing by. Such a strike is called an opportunity attack."
A warcaster would first think i have just enough time to get a spell off before the creature leaves or vice versa before the creature gets here via PAM.
PCs Always have Unarmed Strikes. PC wielding a Reach weapon has +5 to reach with weapon and thus has 2 Reach Range.
So in our case, Bugbear on someone else's turn has a Reach of 5' and a Reach of 10', Leaving or Entering Either will Proc AoO at that point can be changed to a Spell. Any Spell that targets Single target, Same Target with Casting of 1 Action.
This only gives the PC more opportunities for the AoO, since they still only have one reaction. Needing to use 2 ASIs to get it (a third to get the option coming into range) seems reasonable enough. It's coming at the opportunity cost to do a great many things just to specialize in something that they can only do once a turn at the expense of using else. Of course, there are other things that those feats allow the player to do, so the costs aren't all focused on doing the one thing, but still.
The way I understand it, following the tweets linked above:
Foe moves from 5ft to 10ft: you get an opportunity attack (because the foe left the reach of your unarmed attacks), you can cast booming blade instead of the attack, as part of the spell you attack with the polearm.
Foe moves from 10ft to 15ft: you get an opportunity attack (because the foe left the reach of your polearm), you can cast booming blade instead of the attack, as part of the spell you attack with the polearm.
Foe moves from 15ft to 10ft: you get an opportunity attack (because the foe entered the reach of your polearm and you have the feat), you can cast booming blade instead of the attack, as part of the spell you attack with the polearm.
Foe moves from 10ft to 5ft: you do not get an opportunity attack (because the foe did not enter or leave the reach of your polearm), so no chance to cast a spell.
@12th Level Booming Blade hits a 2d8+weapon dmg die(s) and 3d8 for moving. So lets say 5d8+ weapon dmg if we hit with a AoO on enemy turn, note enemy has option to stop moving making this a Pseudo Sentinel.While also having 4 other strikes per round (Fighter 11, 3 Strikes per Attack Action, PAM 1 Strike with butt of weapon, 1 Reaction WarCaster) all able to deal flat dmg with GWM. So +50 flat dmg per round if all hit before Action Surge, before Weapon dmg die, before spell dmg die or anything else
All attacks have 15' Range except for reaction strike which is 10'
I would personally choose Battle Master for something like this because the ability to
Evasive Footwork Can be used any turn without losing dmg (+ AC Create 15' distance then attack)
Precision Attack use this maneuver before or after making the attack roll (less likely to miss strikes)
Pushing Attack push the target up to 15 feet away from you (Still in attack range, Using on reaction if target is adjacent)
The way I understand it, following the tweets linked above:
Foe moves from 5ft to 10ft: you get an opportunity attack (because the foe left the reach of your unarmed attacks), you can cast booming blade instead of the attack, as part of the spell you attack with the polearm.
Foe moves from 10ft to 15ft: you get an opportunity attack (because the foe left the reach of your polearm), you can cast booming blade instead of the attack, as part of the spell you attack with the polearm.
Foe moves from 15ft to 10ft: you get an opportunity attack (because the foe entered the reach of your polearm and you have the feat), you can cast booming blade instead of the attack, as part of the spell you attack with the polearm.
Foe moves from 10ft to 5ft: you do not get an opportunity attack (because the foe did not enter or leave the reach of your polearm), so no chance to cast a spell.
That's what I've come to determine. The more I look into it, the more that seems correct according to RAW. The exception would be if the PC had a spear or quarterstaff, which would reverse the incoming AoOs potentially, but I agree that the PC would have two triggers (one with non reach weapons) for retreating enemies and one for approaching enemies.
When you take the Attack action and attack with only a glaive, halberd, quarterstaff, or spear, you can use a bonus action to make a melee attack with the opposite end of the weapon. This attack uses the same ability modifier as the primary attack. The weapon’s damage die for this attack is a d4, and it deals bludgeoning damage.
While you are wielding a glaive, halberd, pike, quarterstaff, or spear, other creatures provoke an opportunity attack from you when they enter your reach.
Is wielding the same as using (Attacking with)?
Wearing and Wielding Items
Using a magic item's properties might mean wearing or wielding it. A magic item meant to be worn must be donned in the intended fashion: boots go on the feet, gloves on the hands, hats and helmets on the head, and rings on the finger. Magic armor must be donned, a shield strapped to the arm, a cloak fastened about the shoulders. A weapon must be held.
In most cases, a magic item that's meant to be worn can fit a creature regardless of size or build. Many magic garments are made to be easily adjustable, or they magically adjust themselves to the wearer. Rare exceptions exist. If the story suggests a good reason for an item to fit only creatures of a certain size or shape, you can rule that it doesn't adjust. For example, drow-made armor might fit elves only. Dwarves might make items usable only by dwarf-sized and dwarf-shaped folk.
When a nonhumanoid tries to wear an item, use your discretion as to whether the item functions as intended. A ring placed on a tentacle might work, but a creature with a snakelike tail instead of legs can't wear boots.
Bad news guys (including past me). I found this in the current Sage advice compendium which are official (and overrule any Twitter rulings).
How does a reach weapon work with opportunity attacks? An opportunity attack is normally triggered when a creature you can see moves beyond your reach (PH, 195). If you want to make an opportunity attack with a reach weapon, such as a glaive or a halberd, you can do so when a creature leaves the reach you have with that weapon. For example, if you’re wielding a halberd, a creature that is right next to you could move 5 feet away without triggering an opportunity attack. If that creature tries to move an additional 5 feet—beyond your 10-foot reach—the creature then triggers an opportunity attack.
So it looks like you cannot in fact use your unarmed strike reach to trigger AoO.
[Edit]I don't know anymore. Get your shit together WotC.
Bad news guys (including past me). I found this in the current Sage advice compendium which are official (and overrule any Twitter rulings).
How does a reach weapon work with opportunity attacks? An opportunity attack is normally triggered when a creature you can see moves beyond your reach (PH, 195). If you want to make an opportunity attack with a reach weapon, such as a glaive or a halberd, you can do so when a creature leaves the reach you have with that weapon. For example, if you’re wielding a halberd, a creature that is right next to you could move 5 feet away without triggering an opportunity attack. If that creature tries to move an additional 5 feet—beyond your 10-foot reach—the creature then triggers an opportunity attack.
So it looks like you cannot in fact use your unarmed strike reach to trigger AoO.
If you want to make an opportunity attack with a REACH WEAPON. I do not if they are coming in or out of the 5' range, i want to make an opportunity attack with UNARMED STRIKE which is then changed to a spell
Bad news guys (including past me). I found this in the current Sage advice compendium which are official (and overrule any Twitter rulings).
How does a reach weapon work with opportunity attacks? An opportunity attack is normally triggered when a creature you can see moves beyond your reach (PH, 195). If you want to make an opportunity attack with a reach weapon, such as a glaive or a halberd, you can do so when a creature leaves the reach you have with that weapon. For example, if you’re wielding a halberd, a creature that is right next to you could move 5 feet away without triggering an opportunity attack. If that creature tries to move an additional 5 feet—beyond your 10-foot reach—the creature then triggers an opportunity attack.
So it looks like you cannot in fact use your unarmed strike reach to trigger AoO.
If you want to make an opportunity attack with a REACH WEAPON. I do not if they are coming in or out of the 5' range, i want to make an opportunity attack with UNARMED STRIKE which is then changed to a spell
Ok. Maybe you can. Even though the question never specifies the weapon attack and (since reach weapon attacks are simple to figure out) is probably referring to all AoO as a whole, the answer seems to only answer the obvious aspect of reach weapon attacks (even though it doesn't specify that for the 5 ft range part of the answer) and is not referring to opportunity attacks as a whole which the question is asking.
I'm also now convinced that a reach weapon can grapple. Prove me wrong.
When you want to grab a creature or wrestle with it, you can use theAttack action to make a special melee attack, a grapple. If you're able to make multiple attacks with the Attack action, this attack replaces one of them.
The target of your grapple must be no more than one size larger than you and must be within your reach. Using at least one free hand, you try to seize the target by making a grapple check instead of an attack roll
Most Reach weapons have the Two-Handed Tag.
Two-Handed. This weapon requires two hands when you attack with it. This property is relevant only when you attack with the weapon, not when you simply hold it.
Thus you can if its a whip and only a whip if DM is nice but
No if RAW as I read Using your hand's reach YOU can Grapple not the weapon But Bearbug would be 10' grapple.
In short: Polearm Master + War Caster isn't RAI. If the only reason an enemy is provoking an opportunity attack is that you're wielding a reach weapon or a polearm, the intent is that you take the opportunity attack with that weapon. The whole idea behind Polearm Master's opportunity attack is that you're taking advantage of your weapon's reach to hit an enemy on the way in. Likewise, War Caster was obviously intended to be used against an enemy on the way out.
However, the rules for opportunity attacks, reach weapons, Polearm Master and War Caster aren't explicit enough, so most people will consider the combo to work by RAW. It also requires three feats to work if you're going for Booming Blade with a reach weapon, so its effectiveness is questionable.
Grappling uses your hands. You're not attacking with a weapon, so your weapon's reach doesn't factor into it. The same goes for shoving. They're not even classified as weapon attacks.
When you want to grab a creature or wrestle with it, you can use theAttack action to make a special melee attack, a grapple. If you're able to make multiple attacks with the Attack action, this attack replaces one of them.
The target of your grapple must be no more than one size larger than you and must be within your reach. Using at least one free hand, you try to seize the target by making a grapple check instead of an attack roll
Most Reach weapons have the Two-Handed Tag.
Two-Handed. This weapon requires two hands when you attack with it. This property is relevant only when you attack with the weapon, not when you simply hold it.
Thus you can if its a whip and only a whip if DM is nice but
No if RAW as I read Using your hand's reach YOU can Grapple not the weapon But Bearbug would be 10' grapple.
I knew there must have been something I overlooked. I was just so tired of these rules not being specific about "reach."
If you want to make an opportunity attack with a REACH WEAPON. I do not if they are coming in or out of the 5' range, i want to make an opportunity attack with UNARMED STRIKE which is then changed to a spell
We all understand what you're trying to do. If your DM allows it, cool for you. It is not legal by RAW or RAI because the weapon you are trying to use as your Material Component is not the weapon you are triggering the AoO with.
I'm with you 100% right up to trying to combo all your stuff off the unarmed attack. In this specific instance, you are using a loophole to start an AoO with one "weapon", switch to a different action, and complete that action with a different weapon that didn't even provoke the AoO in the first place.
And let me be clear again: I wish it did work. I love this kind of tactical planning! It just doesn't work by RAW or RAI, but house rules are fine! Since you want PAM in the build, I'd even allow it to be done at the 5'-10' line using the 1d4 attack you get from PAM. That's equal to a proficient unarmed strike.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
Why would It not work? That doesn't make sense. It's completely RAW. Instead of an AoO, you cast a spell with War Caster. Using that spell, it follows the rules and you cast Booming Blade. that allows a weapon attack. a Glaive is a weapon. so, you forgo your AoO for a spell that has an attack attached, and you do it. so, it is RAW. I see nothing conflicting with the rules here.
We all understand what you're trying to do. If your DM allows it, cool for you. It is not legal by RAW or RAI because the weapon you are trying to use as your Material Component is not the weapon you are triggering the AoO with.
I'm with you 100% right up to trying to combo all your stuff off the unarmed attack. In this specific instance, you are using a loophole to start an AoO with one "weapon", switch to a different action, and complete that action with a different weapon that didn't even provoke the AoO in the first place.
And let me be clear again: I wish it did work. I love this kind of tactical planning! It just doesn't work by RAW or RAI, but house rules are fine! Since you want PAM in the build, I'd even allow it to be done at the 5'-10' line using the 1d4 attack you get from PAM. That's equal to a proficient unarmed strike.
I don't know about RAI, would have to ask the designers for that, but RAW it does work. There is no rule requiring the weapon used for the attack that is part of Booming Blade to be the one for which the Opportunity Attack was triggered.
If you want to make an opportunity attack with a REACH WEAPON. I do not if they are coming in or out of the 5' range, i want to make an opportunity attack with UNARMED STRIKE which is then changed to a spell
We all understand what you're trying to do. If your DM allows it, cool for you. It is not legal by RAW or RAI because the weapon you are trying to use as your Material Component is not the weapon you are triggering the AoO with.
I'm with you 100% right up to trying to combo all your stuff off the unarmed attack. In this specific instance, you are using a loophole to start an AoO with one "weapon", switch to a different action, and complete that action with a different weapon that didn't even provoke the AoO in the first place.
And let me be clear again: I wish it did work. I love this kind of tactical planning! It just doesn't work by RAW or RAI, but house rules are fine! Since you want PAM in the build, I'd even allow it to be done at the 5'-10' line using the 1d4 attack you get from PAM. That's equal to a proficient unarmed strike.
Then by your own logical WarCaster should be limited to melee spell attack, No Spells with range other than 5', as leaving a casters 5' reach is what proc'd the feat as onlyreach of self or weapon count towards AoO.
Just so we are clear
Paladin wielding a Longsword and Shield has 2 option when someone leaves his reach, AoO with Longsword and AoO with Unarmed Strike, they just so happen to have the same reach so everyone usually picks the Longsword.
Thief wielding a dagger and hand crossbow has 2 option when someone leaves his reach, AoO with Dagger and AoO with Unarmed Strike, the Hand crossbow can never proc because it has Range attribute likewise with most spells.
Monk wielding a Whip and shortsword has 3 option when someone leaves his reach, AoO with Whip and AoO with Unarmed Strike, and AoO with Shortsword
You can make an opportunity attack when a hostile creature that you can see moves out of your reach. To make the opportunity attack, you use your reaction to make one melee attack against the provoking creature. The attack occurs right before the creature leaves your reach
It never restricts the weapon to be used but of course the attack most reach the target.
Leaving the monk's 5' reach or 10' reach would proc AoO, in case of the 10' reach any melee attack is an option if satisfies "can it reach the target". Only the whip would work at the 10'.
We all understand what you're trying to do. If your DM allows it, cool for you. It is not legal by RAW or RAI because the weapon you are trying to use as your Material Component is not the weapon you are triggering the AoO with.
I'm with you 100% right up to trying to combo all your stuff off the unarmed attack. In this specific instance, you are using a loophole to start an AoO with one "weapon", switch to a different action, and complete that action with a different weapon that didn't even provoke the AoO in the first place.
And let me be clear again: I wish it did work. I love this kind of tactical planning! It just doesn't work by RAW or RAI, but house rules are fine! Since you want PAM in the build, I'd even allow it to be done at the 5'-10' line using the 1d4 attack you get from PAM. That's equal to a proficient unarmed strike.
I don't know about RAI, would have to ask the designers for that, but RAW it does work. There is no rule requiring the weapon used for the attack that is part of Booming Blade to be the one for which the Opportunity Attack was triggered.
Specific RAW, no, and that's a fair assessment. I do wish there would be an official ruling on this.
General RAW, yeah. If you're trying to combine the effects of multiple features, you need to meet the requirements for all of them. The initial AoO triggered by movement out of Unarmed Reach means that's the "weapon" you are locked into for the purposes of ALL other features being combined. War Caster still lets you convert the AoO to a single-target spell, but that spell can't be BB here.
Maybe this will be easier to understand: forget about War Caster for a moment. If a creature provokes an AoO from you by leaving your unarmed reach, can you make that attack with your reach weapon instead? Of course not! Why would having War Caster make that any different? It doesn't.
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
Exactly, Warcaster gives you the chance to make a spell attack in lieu of an attack of opportunity, as long as the spell can be used within that range and it only targets one creature. Thus the Weapon and attack method to proc the AoO become insignificant, Simply become you have the option.
We are talking about an Opportunity Attack == PHB "In a fight, everyone is constantly watching for a chance to strike an enemy who is fleeing or passing by. Such a strike is called an opportunity attack."
A warcaster would first think i have just enough time to get a spell off before the creature leaves or vice versa before the creature gets here via PAM.
PCs Always have Unarmed Strikes. PC wielding a Reach weapon has +5 to reach with weapon and thus has 2 Reach Range.
So in our case, Bugbear on someone else's turn has a Reach of 5' and a Reach of 10', Leaving or Entering Either will Proc AoO at that point can be changed to a Spell. Any Spell that targets Single target, Same Target with Casting of 1 Action.
https://twitter.com/JeremyECrawford/status/725193622581293056
This only gives the PC more opportunities for the AoO, since they still only have one reaction. Needing to use 2 ASIs to get it (a third to get the option coming into range) seems reasonable enough. It's coming at the opportunity cost to do a great many things just to specialize in something that they can only do once a turn at the expense of using else. Of course, there are other things that those feats allow the player to do, so the costs aren't all focused on doing the one thing, but still.
Wow. This got a lot of comme ts in a short time.
I think the reach, PAM, War Caster combo works. Creatures moving into or out of 5 or 10 feet range can get BB'd.
The way I understand it, following the tweets linked above:
Foe moves from 5ft to 10ft: you get an opportunity attack (because the foe left the reach of your unarmed attacks), you can cast booming blade instead of the attack, as part of the spell you attack with the polearm.
Foe moves from 10ft to 15ft: you get an opportunity attack (because the foe left the reach of your polearm), you can cast booming blade instead of the attack, as part of the spell you attack with the polearm.
Foe moves from 15ft to 10ft: you get an opportunity attack (because the foe entered the reach of your polearm and you have the feat), you can cast booming blade instead of the attack, as part of the spell you attack with the polearm.
Foe moves from 10ft to 5ft: you do not get an opportunity attack (because the foe did not enter or leave the reach of your polearm), so no chance to cast a spell.
@12th Level Booming Blade hits a 2d8+weapon dmg die(s) and 3d8 for moving. So lets say 5d8+ weapon dmg if we hit with a AoO on enemy turn, note enemy has option to stop moving making this a Pseudo Sentinel.While also having 4 other strikes per round (Fighter 11, 3 Strikes per Attack Action, PAM 1 Strike with butt of weapon, 1 Reaction WarCaster) all able to deal flat dmg with GWM. So +50 flat dmg per round if all hit before Action Surge, before Weapon dmg die, before spell dmg die or anything else
All attacks have 15' Range except for reaction strike which is 10'
I would personally choose Battle Master for something like this because the ability to
Evasive Footwork Can be used any turn without losing dmg (+ AC Create 15' distance then attack)
Precision Attack use this maneuver before or after making the attack roll (less likely to miss strikes)
Pushing Attack push the target up to 15 feet away from you (Still in attack range, Using on reaction if target is adjacent)
That's what I've come to determine. The more I look into it, the more that seems correct according to RAW. The exception would be if the PC had a spear or quarterstaff, which would reverse the incoming AoOs potentially, but I agree that the PC would have two triggers (one with non reach weapons) for retreating enemies and one for approaching enemies.
When you take the Attack action and attack with only a glaive, halberd, quarterstaff, or spear, you can use a bonus action to make a melee attack with the opposite end of the weapon. This attack uses the same ability modifier as the primary attack. The weapon’s damage die for this attack is a d4, and it deals bludgeoning damage.
Is wielding the same as using (Attacking with)?
Wearing and Wielding Items
Using a magic item's properties might mean wearing or wielding it. A magic item meant to be worn must be donned in the intended fashion: boots go on the feet, gloves on the hands, hats and helmets on the head, and rings on the finger. Magic armor must be donned, a shield strapped to the arm, a cloak fastened about the shoulders. A weapon must be held.
In most cases, a magic item that's meant to be worn can fit a creature regardless of size or build. Many magic garments are made to be easily adjustable, or they magically adjust themselves to the wearer. Rare exceptions exist. If the story suggests a good reason for an item to fit only creatures of a certain size or shape, you can rule that it doesn't adjust. For example, drow-made armor might fit elves only. Dwarves might make items usable only by dwarf-sized and dwarf-shaped folk.
When a nonhumanoid tries to wear an item, use your discretion as to whether the item functions as intended. A ring placed on a tentacle might work, but a creature with a snakelike tail instead of legs can't wear boots.
Bad news guys (including past me). I found this in the current Sage advice compendium which are official (and overrule any Twitter rulings).So it looks like you cannot in fact use your unarmed strike reach to trigger AoO.[Edit]I don't know anymore. Get your shit together WotC.
If you want to make an opportunity attack with a REACH WEAPON. I do not if they are coming in or out of the 5' range, i want to make an opportunity attack with UNARMED STRIKE which is then changed to a spell
Ok. Maybe you can. Even though the question never specifies the weapon attack and (since reach weapon attacks are simple to figure out) is probably referring to all AoO as a whole, the answer seems to only answer the obvious aspect of reach weapon attacks (even though it doesn't specify that for the 5 ft range part of the answer) and is not referring to opportunity attacks as a whole which the question is asking.
I'm also now convinced that a reach weapon can grapple. Prove me wrong.
Grappling
When you want to grab a creature or wrestle with it, you can use the Attack action to make a special melee attack, a grapple. If you're able to make multiple attacks with the Attack action, this attack replaces one of them.
The target of your grapple must be no more than one size larger than you and must be within your reach. Using at least one free hand, you try to seize the target by making a grapple check instead of an attack roll
Most Reach weapons have the Two-Handed Tag.
Two-Handed. This weapon requires two hands when you attack with it. This property is relevant only when you attack with the weapon, not when you simply hold it.
Thus you can if its a whip and only a whip if DM is nice but
No if RAW as I read Using your hand's reach YOU can Grapple not the weapon But Bearbug would be 10' grapple.
In short: Polearm Master + War Caster isn't RAI. If the only reason an enemy is provoking an opportunity attack is that you're wielding a reach weapon or a polearm, the intent is that you take the opportunity attack with that weapon. The whole idea behind Polearm Master's opportunity attack is that you're taking advantage of your weapon's reach to hit an enemy on the way in. Likewise, War Caster was obviously intended to be used against an enemy on the way out.
However, the rules for opportunity attacks, reach weapons, Polearm Master and War Caster aren't explicit enough, so most people will consider the combo to work by RAW. It also requires three feats to work if you're going for Booming Blade with a reach weapon, so its effectiveness is questionable.
Grappling uses your hands. You're not attacking with a weapon, so your weapon's reach doesn't factor into it. The same goes for shoving. They're not even classified as weapon attacks.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
I knew there must have been something I overlooked. I was just so tired of these rules not being specific about "reach."
We all understand what you're trying to do. If your DM allows it, cool for you. It is not legal by RAW or RAI because the weapon you are trying to use as your Material Component is not the weapon you are triggering the AoO with.
I'm with you 100% right up to trying to combo all your stuff off the unarmed attack. In this specific instance, you are using a loophole to start an AoO with one "weapon", switch to a different action, and complete that action with a different weapon that didn't even provoke the AoO in the first place.
And let me be clear again: I wish it did work. I love this kind of tactical planning! It just doesn't work by RAW or RAI, but house rules are fine! Since you want PAM in the build, I'd even allow it to be done at the 5'-10' line using the 1d4 attack you get from PAM. That's equal to a proficient unarmed strike.
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
Why would It not work? That doesn't make sense. It's completely RAW. Instead of an AoO, you cast a spell with War Caster. Using that spell, it follows the rules and you cast Booming Blade. that allows a weapon attack. a Glaive is a weapon. so, you forgo your AoO for a spell that has an attack attached, and you do it. so, it is RAW. I see nothing conflicting with the rules here.
Extended Signature! Yay! https://www.dndbeyond.com/forums/off-topic/adohands-kitchen/3153-extended-signature-thread?page=2#c21
Haven’t used this account in forever. Still a big fan of crawling claws.
I don't know about RAI, would have to ask the designers for that, but RAW it does work. There is no rule requiring the weapon used for the attack that is part of Booming Blade to be the one for which the Opportunity Attack was triggered.
Then by your own logical WarCaster should be limited to melee spell attack, No Spells with range other than 5', as leaving a casters 5' reach is what proc'd the feat as only reach of self or weapon count towards AoO.
Just so we are clear
Paladin wielding a Longsword and Shield has 2 option when someone leaves his reach, AoO with Longsword and AoO with Unarmed Strike, they just so happen to have the same reach so everyone usually picks the Longsword.
Thief wielding a dagger and hand crossbow has 2 option when someone leaves his reach, AoO with Dagger and AoO with Unarmed Strike, the Hand crossbow can never proc because it has Range attribute likewise with most spells.
Monk wielding a Whip and shortsword has 3 option when someone leaves his reach, AoO with Whip and AoO with Unarmed Strike, and AoO with Shortsword
You can make an opportunity attack when a hostile creature that you can see moves out of your reach. To make the opportunity attack, you use your reaction to make one melee attack against the provoking creature. The attack occurs right before the creature leaves your reach
It never restricts the weapon to be used but of course the attack most reach the target.
Leaving the monk's 5' reach or 10' reach would proc AoO, in case of the 10' reach any melee attack is an option if satisfies "can it reach the target". Only the whip would work at the 10'.
Specific RAW, no, and that's a fair assessment. I do wish there would be an official ruling on this.
General RAW, yeah. If you're trying to combine the effects of multiple features, you need to meet the requirements for all of them. The initial AoO triggered by movement out of Unarmed Reach means that's the "weapon" you are locked into for the purposes of ALL other features being combined. War Caster still lets you convert the AoO to a single-target spell, but that spell can't be BB here.
Maybe this will be easier to understand: forget about War Caster for a moment. If a creature provokes an AoO from you by leaving your unarmed reach, can you make that attack with your reach weapon instead? Of course not! Why would having War Caster make that any different? It doesn't.
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
If a creature provokes an AoO from you by leaving your unarmed reach, can you make that attack with your reach weapon instead?
YES, you can
To make the opportunity attack, you use your reaction to make one melee attack against the provoking creature.