In the description for the Find Steed spell, it says the caster can “dismiss” the steed or “release” it, and both these actions cause it to disappear. Does the dismissing action work like in Find Familiar, where you can use another action to call it back, or can it only be called back using another spell slot?
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Just a dysfunctional girl addicted to fantasy because I’m tired of living in reality
Avatar picture: Wizard PC Dess Miranova, drawn by Porzio_art
When the steed drops to 0 hit points, it disappears, leaving behind no physical form. You can also dismiss your steed at any time as an action, causing it to disappear. In either case, casting this spell again summons the same steed, restored to its hit point maximum.
You can dismiss it like Find Familiar but unlike FF, recalling the steed requires another casting of the spell.
It appears to just be a weird rule. If it dies or you dismiss it as an action, recasting the spell summons the same mount. If you release it as an action, recasting the spell can summon a different mount.
This means if you summon a horse and it dies, then later you need a camel, you need to resummon the horse, release it, then summon a camel. WTF?
So you should never dismiss it and always release it, since there is no benefit to dismissing, only releasing. Unless I overlooked something?
Alright thanks guys. I just wanted to make sure I was reading it right. I’ll probably have my steed run around in a forest most of the time then instead of dismissing it, since paladin spell slots are precious.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Just a dysfunctional girl addicted to fantasy because I’m tired of living in reality
Avatar picture: Wizard PC Dess Miranova, drawn by Porzio_art
You're not wrong in your reading, but I cannot imagine a situation in which the spell was designed with that seemingly irrational distinction in mind.
DM: The orc hits your horse and does 7 damage. Player: Damn, my horse just died. I'm going to destroy that orc!
later on...
Player: I cast Find Steed and call a camel this time DM: Well, your horse died instead of being released. The rules say you have to call another horse first, then release it. Then you can call a camel. Player: But I only have two level two spell slots. DM: Sorry. Them's the rules. Player: I'll kill everyone at this table!
Exactly. My guess is it is a less than perfect adaptation of the ability from an older edition.
WotC Dev: "let's see, we'll just copy and paste that. That rule isn't in this edition, so we'll crop that out. Too strong to work like find familiar so add this line. Done."
Anyone: "Should we proof read it?"
Dev: "I already ran spell check. That's good enough."
It could be intentional. Find greater steed has similar wording and it was made much later.
People like to armor their mounts. I wonder what happens to the armor when a steed is dismissed/released. Does it just go away? Does it fall to the ground?
I also hate that if you dismiss the steed all it's equipment doesn't go into the pocket dimension with the horse.
I conceded that they probably didn't want the players to give the horse an item and stick dismiss it so it can't be accessed.... but, as it stands if you want barding or a saddle it means your paladin is hauling that around.
This means if you summon a horse and it dies, then later you need a camel, you need to resummon the horse, release it, then summon a camel. WTF?
Player: I cast Find Steed and call a camel this time DM: Well, your horse died instead of being released. The rules say you have to call another horse first, then release it. Then you can call a camel. Player: But I only have two level two spell slots. DM: Sorry. Them's the rules. Player: I'll kill everyone at this table!
Mmm... after reading Find SteedI would say that you do not need to cast the spell again just to release it and summon a different mount.
"You can't have more than one steed bonded by this spell at a time. As an action, you can release the steed from its bond at any time, causing it to disappear."
I would assume that since its talking about bonding with your steed the taking "release" as the action un-bonds the steed from you (making it disappear if its currently out.) But "you can release the steed from its bond at any time" meaning you don't need to summon it or have it out to do the releasing.
Edit: Hmm... after seeing how my post actually posted, could someone send me a message on how to link spells and show whom I got the quote from?
Maybe it’s some sort of penalty for letting your steed die...
That feels a little "petty" for this edition.
I mean for one you don't really get a choice in what the monster attacks unless you have the feat "Mounted Combat" and ontop of that most AoEs will 1 shot a mount.
There is nothing in the spell's description that says you cannot release a dismissed steed without calling back first. The words, "...causing it to disappear," tell me it probably wasn't designed with that in mind.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"Not all those who wander are lost"
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
In the description for the Find Steed spell, it says the caster can “dismiss” the steed or “release” it, and both these actions cause it to disappear. Does the dismissing action work like in Find Familiar, where you can use another action to call it back, or can it only be called back using another spell slot?
Just a dysfunctional girl addicted to fantasy because I’m tired of living in reality
Avatar picture: Wizard PC Dess Miranova, drawn by Porzio_art
Music, anyone?
Find Steed
You can dismiss it like Find Familiar but unlike FF, recalling the steed requires another casting of the spell.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
The difference is that if you release it, you can summon a different steed the next time you cast it.
It appears to just be a weird rule. If it dies or you dismiss it as an action, recasting the spell summons the same mount. If you release it as an action, recasting the spell can summon a different mount.
This means if you summon a horse and it dies, then later you need a camel, you need to resummon the horse, release it, then summon a camel. WTF?
So you should never dismiss it and always release it, since there is no benefit to dismissing, only releasing. Unless I overlooked something?
Alright thanks guys. I just wanted to make sure I was reading it right. I’ll probably have my steed run around in a forest most of the time then instead of dismissing it, since paladin spell slots are precious.
Just a dysfunctional girl addicted to fantasy because I’m tired of living in reality
Avatar picture: Wizard PC Dess Miranova, drawn by Porzio_art
Music, anyone?
You're not wrong in your reading, but I cannot imagine a situation in which the spell was designed with that seemingly irrational distinction in mind.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
Exactly. My guess is it is a less than perfect adaptation of the ability from an older edition.
It could be intentional. Find greater steed has similar wording and it was made much later.
People like to armor their mounts. I wonder what happens to the armor when a steed is dismissed/released. Does it just go away? Does it fall to the ground?
"Not all those who wander are lost"
I also hate that if you dismiss the steed all it's equipment doesn't go into the pocket dimension with the horse.
I conceded that they probably didn't want the players to give the horse an item and stick dismiss it so it can't be accessed.... but, as it stands if you want barding or a saddle it means your paladin is hauling that around.
I would house rule that all gear worn by animal goes with it. Clever players can take advantage of that. So can a clever GM.
Where did you store all your climbing gear? Do you want to expend that spell slot to get it back?
Find greater steed does specifically mention it leaves behind items. The 2 spells are practically identical in behaviour, just fgs is newer.
Mmm... after reading Find Steed I would say that you do not need to cast the spell again just to release it and summon a different mount.
"You can't have more than one steed bonded by this spell at a time. As an action, you can release the steed from its bond at any time, causing it to disappear."
I would assume that since its talking about bonding with your steed the taking "release" as the action un-bonds the steed from you (making it disappear if its currently out.) But "you can release the steed from its bond at any time" meaning you don't need to summon it or have it out to do the releasing.
Edit: Hmm... after seeing how my post actually posted, could someone send me a message on how to link spells and show whom I got the quote from?
Good luck and may you roll 20's when you need them and 1's when you need a laugh. - myself
Maybe it’s some sort of penalty for letting your steed die...
That feels a little "petty" for this edition.
I mean for one you don't really get a choice in what the monster attacks unless you have the feat "Mounted Combat" and ontop of that most AoEs will 1 shot a mount.
There is nothing in the spell's description that says you cannot release a dismissed steed without calling back first. The words, "...causing it to disappear," tell me it probably wasn't designed with that in mind.
"Not all those who wander are lost"