“At 1st level, you gain the ability to manipulate the line between life and death. When you would normally roll one or more dice to restore hit points with a spell to a creature at 0 hit points, you instead use the highest number possible for each die.”
Would this apply to a Cure Wounds cast by the cleric from a scroll? It doesn’t say your spells, just “a” spell.
But does the person holding a spell scroll actually "cast" the spell themselves when they use the item, or is it the scroll that is considered to be "casting" the spell?
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Three-time Judge of the Competition of the Finest Brews!Come join us in making fun, unique homebrew and voting for your favorite entries!
“At 1st level, you gain the ability to manipulate the line between life and death. When you would normally roll one or more dice to restore hit points with a spell to a creature at 0 hit points, you instead use the highest number possible for each die.”
Would this apply to a Cure Wounds cast by the cleric from a scroll? It doesn’t say your spells, just “a” spell.
Yes. Or any spell from any object. Or a spell from another class if you are multiclass. As long as it is a spell, and you are casting it.
But does the person holding a spell scroll actually "cast" the spell themselves when they use the item, or is it the scroll that is considered to be "casting" the spell?
Three-time Judge of the Competition of the Finest Brews! Come join us in making fun, unique homebrew and voting for your favorite entries!
You're still casting the spell. It's like reading a recipe ... the recipe is telling you how to do it, but you're still the one baking the cake.
Most magic items will say "you cast the spell" in some form. spell scroll does. So it is you casting the spell.