My group is having some trouble sorting out the RAW vs RAI with regards to the Levitate spell. Where we are confused is with an uwilling target's movement. Specifically, can the target move horizontally if pushing or pulling on a fixed object or surface?
The RAW says, "The target can move only by pushing or pulling against a fixed object or surface within reach (such as a wall or a ceiling), which allows it to move as if it were climbing." This also seems to imply that they can move horizontally with the right conditions.
However, the RAW goes on to say, "If you are the target, you can move up or down as part of your move." Here it seems to clearly state that up and down are the target's only options.
Does anyone have any insight on this movement question, or know if Jeremy Crawford clarified this anywhere? Thanks in advance for your help.
I read that passage from Levitate that if you target yourself, you can move up and down as part of your move.
If you target a creature, you can move them 20 feet up or down as an action.
On their own, however, a targeted creature can only move by pushing or pulling onto a fixed object, and that counts as climbing, meaning if you don't have a climb speed, your speed is halved.
the "if you are the target..." section refers to if the caster is the target, allowing you to change altitude as part of your movement instead of requiring an action to do so.
On a related note, if someone is levitated and they enlarge, thereby increasing their weight above 500lbs, would you rule they float gently back to the ground? And if you levitate a creature and it casts levitate as well, can it levitate itself back to the ground if it desires and then move using what remains of their walking speed?
My gut is to say yes to both, but I'm curious on other opinions.
On a related note, if someone is levitated and they enlarge, thereby increasing their weight above 500lbs, would you rule they float gently back to the ground? And if you levitate a creature and it casts levitate as well, can it levitate itself back to the ground if it desires and then move using what remains of their walking speed?
My gut is to say yes to both, but I'm curious on other opinions.
I would definitely say a creature suddenly becoming >500 lbs would end the effect of Levitate - and as a result they would float safely back down.
On a related note, if someone is levitated and they enlarge, thereby increasing their weight above 500lbs, would you rule they float gently back to the ground? And if you levitate a creature and it casts levitate as well, can it levitate itself back to the ground if it desires and then move using what remains of their walking speed?
My gut is to say yes to both, but I'm curious on other opinions.
In the case of being enlarged, I'd guess the spell should end since you are no longer a valid target and according to the spell's description, when it ends you float down. There may be some rule about target restrictions and changing after spell is in effect, but I'm too lazy to check.
As for casting levitate on a levitating target, yes the newer effect overwrites the old (that's the simple answer anyway).
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
My group is having some trouble sorting out the RAW vs RAI with regards to the Levitate spell. Where we are confused is with an uwilling target's movement. Specifically, can the target move horizontally if pushing or pulling on a fixed object or surface?
The RAW says, "The target can move only by pushing or pulling against a fixed object or surface within reach (such as a wall or a ceiling), which allows it to move as if it were climbing." This also seems to imply that they can move horizontally with the right conditions.
However, the RAW goes on to say, "If you are the target, you can move up or down as part of your move." Here it seems to clearly state that up and down are the target's only options.
Does anyone have any insight on this movement question, or know if Jeremy Crawford clarified this anywhere? Thanks in advance for your help.
I’d rule that an unwilling target can move horizontally if it can reach something to push/pull against.
Professional computer geek
I read that passage from Levitate that if you target yourself, you can move up and down as part of your move.
If you target a creature, you can move them 20 feet up or down as an action.
On their own, however, a targeted creature can only move by pushing or pulling onto a fixed object, and that counts as climbing, meaning if you don't have a climb speed, your speed is halved.
More Interesting Lock Picking Rules
the "if you are the target..." section refers to if the caster is the target, allowing you to change altitude as part of your movement instead of requiring an action to do so.
I agree with Lunali and Account256.
Great, thanks for your help everyone!
On a related note, if someone is levitated and they enlarge, thereby increasing their weight above 500lbs, would you rule they float gently back to the ground? And if you levitate a creature and it casts levitate as well, can it levitate itself back to the ground if it desires and then move using what remains of their walking speed?
My gut is to say yes to both, but I'm curious on other opinions.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
I would definitely say a creature suddenly becoming >500 lbs would end the effect of Levitate - and as a result they would float safely back down.
Mega Yahtzee Thread:
Highest 41: brocker2001 (#11,285).
Yahtzee of 2's: Emmber (#36,161).
Lowest 9: JoeltheWalrus (#312), Emmber (#12,505) and Dertinus (#20,953).
In the case of being enlarged, I'd guess the spell should end since you are no longer a valid target and according to the spell's description, when it ends you float down. There may be some rule about target restrictions and changing after spell is in effect, but I'm too lazy to check.
As for casting levitate on a levitating target, yes the newer effect overwrites the old (that's the simple answer anyway).