I think that is reasonable and that according to that reading, ice knife that only targets you while no one is within 5 feet of you could take the bonus to save. The target-range and target-subject are only you, so you can get the bonus.
You would get the (+2) bonus if you were the only one in the area.
You don't. It follows Twinned Spell logic.
Agree that you don't (after Jaysburn pointed it out), but disagree that it follows Twinned Spell's logic. Twinned Spell is much more restricted, since it is limited to spells that cannot target multiple creatures, instead of spells that do not target multiple creatures.
Indeed. Spells like Chain Lightning and Acid Splashcannot be twinned, even if you target only one creature with them, such as if you were trying to twin Chain Lightning against two creatures that are within the spells range but farther than 30 feet apart from each other.
However, if you and only you are targeted by these spells, you can benefit from Shield Master's bonus to your Dex save.
You would get the (+2) bonus if you were the only one in the area.
You don't. It follows Twinned Spell logic.
Agree that you don't (after Jaysburn pointed it out), but disagree that it follows Twinned Spell's logic. Twinned Spell is much more restricted, since it is limited to spells that cannot target multiple creatures, instead of spells that do not target multiple creatures.
Indeed. Spells like Chain Lightning and Acid Splashcannot be twinned, even if you target only one creature with them, such as if you were trying to twin Chain Lightning against two creatures that are within the spells range but farther than 30 feet apart from each other.
However, if you and only you are targeted by these spells, you can benefit from Shield Master's bonus to your Dex save.
I disagree on the last point. They do follow the exact same logic, but I will acknowledge that Twinned Spell does a better job of explaining it:
Twinned Spell
When you cast a spell that targets only one creature and doesn’t have a range of self, you can spend a number of sorcery points equal to the spell’s level to target a second creature in range with the same spell (1 sorcery point if the spell is a cantrip).
To be eligible, a spell must be incapable of targeting more than one creature at the spell’s current level. For example, magic missile and scorching ray aren’t eligible, but ray of frost and chromatic orb are.
Shield Master
You use shields not just for protection but also for offense. You gain the following benefits while you are wielding a shield:
If you take the Attack action on your turn, you can use a bonus action to try to shove a creature within 5 feet of you with your shield.
If you aren't incapacitated, you can add your shield's AC bonus to any Dexterity saving throw you make against a spell or other harmful effect that targets only you.
If you are subjected to an effect that allows you to make a Dexterity saving throw to take only half damage, you can use your reaction to take no damage if you succeed on the saving throw, interposing your shield between yourself and the source of the effect.
Bolded text from each is what's pertinent. They describe exactly the same thing, and the only semantic differences between them is the narrative perspective. Twinned Spell continues to offer a further explanation of what "a spell that targets only one creature" actually means. The omission of this same explanation in the entry for Shield Master does not alter the meaning of the phrase.
As an aside, I'm not trying to tear down Shield Master because I think it does too much or anything. Quite the opposite, really... this feat has been diminished into near-oblivion by our favorite knee-jerk over-correcter-in-chief (Crawford). This particular feature has always been the weakest part of the package, and that's really saying something considering the 3rd feature isn't even a watered down Evasion; it's a watered down Evasion that can only be used in more restrictive circumstances, consumes resources (reaction), and offers no passive benefit (resistance). I feel it needs a major overhaul, and I would hope that this highlights just how watered down the feat really is.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
That's not true though; that coda at the end of Twinned spell, the "to be eligible..." part is what sets it apart from Shield Master. Shield Master says nothing about spells only being eligible if they are incapable of targeting more than one creature, only that you can only use the ability if you are the only target.
Spells like Chain Lightning and Acid Splashcan target multiple creatures, making them ineligible for twinning, but they can also only target one creature in which case you could use that ability of the Shield Master feat; as the feat states, they are targeting only you, even if they are capable of targeting more. It's that capability that sets Twinning apart.
That said, I'd like to address Ice Knife again. Upon further reflection, I think that it would be eligible both for Twinning and for defending against with Shield Master. Unlike other AoE spells - Fireball for example - it does not target a point in space; it specifically targets one creature, also setting it apart from spells that can target multiple creatures, like the aforementioned Chain Lightning and Acid Splash.
On top of that, after exploding, it states "The target and each creature within 5 feet..." making this spell more of a "splash" effect than an actual AoE. The target of the spell is one creature, through and through, and it cannot target more than one. This probably isn't the RAI, but adding it all up it certainly seems to be the RAW.
In the event that an enemy cast Chain Lightning at me in an empty field with nobody else around, who else/what else did Chain Lightning target other than me? It targeted me, and didn't target any other object or point, so....? It's a spell that only targeted me that doesn't qualify as a "spell that only targets you"?
BTW, I'm in the camp that you should look for rule text or shared vocabulary wherever you can find it, so I'm happy to discuss Twinned Spell but I do think it's a little funny that earlier you told me that the explanation of Spell Scroll couldn't possibly influence our understanding of a caster's Spellcasting feature, but now a Sorcerer's Twinned Spell is suddenly authoritative on how to interpret Shield Master. Hmmmm.
If you actually think the rules concerning how to use a spell scroll are in any way applicable to how spell casting functions for a character's personal abilities, you are hopelessly lost on this topic, and there is no logic we can demonstrate that will make you see that. Wolf gets it. 👍
Because they're completely different bleeping things.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
I disagree on the last point. They do follow the exact same logic, but I will acknowledge that Twinned Spell does a better job of explaining it:
Worth pointing out that last part of Twinned Spell was added in errata, too. It wasn't originally there.
As an aside, I'm not trying to tear down Shield Master because I think it does too much or anything. Quite the opposite, really... this feat has been diminished into near-oblivion by our favorite knee-jerk over-correcter-in-chief (Crawford).
As much as I wish Shield Master were more broadly applicable, the bit about being able to take a bonus action before doing the thing that actually entitles you to take that bonus action was pure nonsense. That ruling shouldn't have existed and I'm glad he retracted it.
Didn't someone already point out that AOEs target an area? So even if you are the only creature in that area, the spell is not targeting "only you," it targets the area.
Also, this argument has gotten slightly off topic from the OP, which was the interaction of shield master and arrow catching shield (which has been thoroughly answered).
Well, what constitutes a spell that only targets you is certainly relevant to shield master and was brought up in context of ice knife which is a spell that involves an attack and a save, still pertinent to the overlap. I’m just not sure I have any clear opinion on it. It isn’t like you are going to face thousands of ice knife casts that only hit you during the course of your campaign.
In all seriousness, casting an area spell that only hits the shield master paladin is probably a waste of the enemy’s resources anyway, so should not come up all that often.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I think that is reasonable and that according to that reading, ice knife that only targets you while no one is within 5 feet of you could take the bonus to save. The target-range and target-subject are only you, so you can get the bonus.
Indeed. Spells like Chain Lightning and Acid Splash cannot be twinned, even if you target only one creature with them, such as if you were trying to twin Chain Lightning against two creatures that are within the spells range but farther than 30 feet apart from each other.
However, if you and only you are targeted by these spells, you can benefit from Shield Master's bonus to your Dex save.
I disagree on the last point. They do follow the exact same logic, but I will acknowledge that Twinned Spell does a better job of explaining it:
Bolded text from each is what's pertinent. They describe exactly the same thing, and the only semantic differences between them is the narrative perspective. Twinned Spell continues to offer a further explanation of what "a spell that targets only one creature" actually means. The omission of this same explanation in the entry for Shield Master does not alter the meaning of the phrase.
As an aside, I'm not trying to tear down Shield Master because I think it does too much or anything. Quite the opposite, really... this feat has been diminished into near-oblivion by our favorite knee-jerk over-correcter-in-chief (Crawford). This particular feature has always been the weakest part of the package, and that's really saying something considering the 3rd feature isn't even a watered down Evasion; it's a watered down Evasion that can only be used in more restrictive circumstances, consumes resources (reaction), and offers no passive benefit (resistance). I feel it needs a major overhaul, and I would hope that this highlights just how watered down the feat really is.
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
That's not true though; that coda at the end of Twinned spell, the "to be eligible..." part is what sets it apart from Shield Master. Shield Master says nothing about spells only being eligible if they are incapable of targeting more than one creature, only that you can only use the ability if you are the only target.
Spells like Chain Lightning and Acid Splash can target multiple creatures, making them ineligible for twinning, but they can also only target one creature in which case you could use that ability of the Shield Master feat; as the feat states, they are targeting only you, even if they are capable of targeting more. It's that capability that sets Twinning apart.
That said, I'd like to address Ice Knife again. Upon further reflection, I think that it would be eligible both for Twinning and for defending against with Shield Master. Unlike other AoE spells - Fireball for example - it does not target a point in space; it specifically targets one creature, also setting it apart from spells that can target multiple creatures, like the aforementioned Chain Lightning and Acid Splash.
On top of that, after exploding, it states "The target and each creature within 5 feet..." making this spell more of a "splash" effect than an actual AoE. The target of the spell is one creature, through and through, and it cannot target more than one. This probably isn't the RAI, but adding it all up it certainly seems to be the RAW.
In the event that an enemy cast Chain Lightning at me in an empty field with nobody else around, who else/what else did Chain Lightning target other than me? It targeted me, and didn't target any other object or point, so....? It's a spell that only targeted me that doesn't qualify as a "spell that only targets you"?
BTW, I'm in the camp that you should look for rule text or shared vocabulary wherever you can find it, so I'm happy to discuss Twinned Spell but I do think it's a little funny that earlier you told me that the explanation of Spell Scroll couldn't possibly influence our understanding of a caster's Spellcasting feature, but now a Sorcerer's Twinned Spell is suddenly authoritative on how to interpret Shield Master. Hmmmm.
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.
Because they're completely different bleeping things.
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
Worth pointing out that last part of Twinned Spell was added in errata, too. It wasn't originally there.
As much as I wish Shield Master were more broadly applicable, the bit about being able to take a bonus action before doing the thing that actually entitles you to take that bonus action was pure nonsense. That ruling shouldn't have existed and I'm glad he retracted it.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
Didn't someone already point out that AOEs target an area? So even if you are the only creature in that area, the spell is not targeting "only you," it targets the area.
Also, this argument has gotten slightly off topic from the OP, which was the interaction of shield master and arrow catching shield (which has been thoroughly answered).
Well, what constitutes a spell that only targets you is certainly relevant to shield master and was brought up in context of ice knife which is a spell that involves an attack and a save, still pertinent to the overlap. I’m just not sure I have any clear opinion on it. It isn’t like you are going to face thousands of ice knife casts that only hit you during the course of your campaign.
In all seriousness, casting an area spell that only hits the shield master paladin is probably a waste of the enemy’s resources anyway, so should not come up all that often.