Hey! Just a quick question. I'm playing a Lurker in the Deep warlock (Kraken Patron) that has just recently purchased the Ring of Mind Shielding (my 2nd favorite magical item in all of D&D). It says that creatures can telepathically communicate with the wearer only if the wearer allows it. Does this mean that my warlock can stop his patron from telepathically communicating with him? Essentially shutting out his patron until he wants to talk? Thanks in advance!
I mean technically - sure - it could block your patron. But there could be any number of reasons your DM could turn around and say they can contact you anyway.
Hey! Just a quick question. I'm playing a Lurker in the Deep warlock (Kraken Patron) that has just recently purchased the Ring of Mind Shielding (my 2nd favorite magical item in all of D&D). It says that creatures can telepathically communicate with the wearer only if the wearer allows it. Does this mean that my warlock can stop his patron from telepathically communicating with him? Essentially shutting out his patron until he wants to talk? Thanks in advance!
Rules as written, I'm not aware of any ability which states that the patron communicates telepathically with the Warlock. Or communicates with the Warlock at all, for that matter. So there's no clear mechanism how your patron is communicating with you. So there's not really anything to evaluate.
That means it's entirely up to the DM. That said, the pact could easily override or ignore any mortal abjuration. Pacts are generally entered into willingly, and they bind the PC to patron in very extensive ways. In short, it's completely reasonable for your DM to rule that you've already agreed to communicate with your patron whenever and wherever your patron wants. The small print on that contract is not going to be particularly favorable to the warlock. The patron gives the warlock power, and in exchange the warlock sacrifices freedom.
Hey! Just a quick question. I'm playing a Lurker in the Deep warlock (Kraken Patron) that has just recently purchased the Ring of Mind Shielding (my 2nd favorite magical item in all of D&D). It says that creatures can telepathically communicate with the wearer only if the wearer allows it. Does this mean that my warlock can stop his patron from telepathically communicating with him? Essentially shutting out his patron until he wants to talk? Thanks in advance!
I mean technically - sure - it could block your patron. But there could be any number of reasons your DM could turn around and say they can contact you anyway.
Mega Yahtzee Thread:
Highest 41: brocker2001 (#11,285).
Yahtzee of 2's: Emmber (#36,161).
Lowest 9: JoeltheWalrus (#312), Emmber (#12,505) and Dertinus (#20,953).
Rules as written, I'm not aware of any ability which states that the patron communicates telepathically with the Warlock. Or communicates with the Warlock at all, for that matter. So there's no clear mechanism how your patron is communicating with you. So there's not really anything to evaluate.
That means it's entirely up to the DM. That said, the pact could easily override or ignore any mortal abjuration. Pacts are generally entered into willingly, and they bind the PC to patron in very extensive ways. In short, it's completely reasonable for your DM to rule that you've already agreed to communicate with your patron whenever and wherever your patron wants. The small print on that contract is not going to be particularly favorable to the warlock. The patron gives the warlock power, and in exchange the warlock sacrifices freedom.
There are a lot of nuances to this question. The short answer is: If the DM wants your patron to talk to you, they are going to.
The long answer is basically all the things da_chicken said.