Does it take an action to cover the obect, lets say with your hand or like you said opening closing your mouth with a coin in it?
Those are probably the one free object interaction you get a turn. A DM might let you just close or open your moth for free, not even costing the object interaction, but that would be up to them.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Canto alla vita alla sua bellezza ad ogni sua ferita ogni sua carezza!
I sing to life and to its tragic beauty To pain and to strife, but all that dances through me The rise and the fall, I've lived through it all!
Covering the object is likely a free object interaction as long as you do something simple like drop it in a pocket or cover with a cloth you had prepared for that purpose. If you have to search your backpack to find something to cover the object with then the DM would like require you to use your action for it.
In terms of moving the darkness. The text of the spell says: "If the point you choose is on an object you are holding or one that isn't being worn or carried, the darkness emanates from the object and moves with it."
The text says that the darkness moves with the object - that is what the "it" at the end of the sentence refers to. The beginning of the sentence is referring to the target of the spell casting. The spell can target an object you are holding or one that isn't being worn or carried [up to the DM whether this is worn or carried including the caster or not]. However, as soon as the spell is cast, the darkness emanates from the object and moves with it. Holding is only required for initial targeting and after that you could give the object to someone else, wear it, cover it, put it on the ground, toss it in the back of a cart and the spell would continue to function. Other DMs are welcome to rule otherwise but that interpretation is consistent with the spell as written.
1. Magical darkness spreads from a point you choose...
2. Ifthe point you choose is on an object you are holding or one that isn't being worn or carried, the darkness emanates from the object and moves with it.
No where does it say that it HAS to be in your hand, or whether it is something you are wearing, or something an enemy is wearing.
There are no restrictions on the point you choose other than the 60 ft range.
They updated this in the 2024 rules to be a stationary point or any object in range.
Need you help over an issue similar to the one discuss here. Trying to understand something.....
We are playing with the 2014 rules, and a character cast Darkness on the mast of the rival ship. As DM, I let is be done as the idea was good and helped the story to move forward. Nevertheless, I think I may have taken a wrong approach.
I was not able to find anything that states or clarifies over this issue. Should it be allowed to do so? Isn't the mast being worn/caried by the ship? The spell states that the object can be cover with something similar to a helm/bowl to cancel temporarily its effects, so I understand the object affected should be of a size that can be covered by something as big as a bowl or helm
Only the light cantrip states that the object should not be larger that 10ft in any direction (taking into consideration that light and darkness spells should behave the same way).
Need you help over an issue similar to the one discuss here. Trying to understand something.....
We are playing with the 2014 rules, and a character cast Darkness on the mast of the rival ship. As DM, I let is be done as the idea was good and helped the story to move forward. Nevertheless, I think I may have taken a wrong approach.
I was not able to find anything that states or clarifies over this issue. Should it be allowed to do so? Isn't the mast being worn/caried by the ship? The spell states that the object can be cover with something similar to a helm/bowl to cancel temporarily its effects, so I understand the object affected should be of a size that can be covered by something as big as a bowl or helm
Only the light cantrip states that the object should not be larger that 10ft in any direction (taking into consideration that light and darkness spells should behave the same way).
thanks in advance for your comments.....
In D&D rules the phrase "worn or carried" is generally understood to refer to a creature wearing or carrying something. Unless a creature is physically carrying that part of the ship (which, to be fair, there are things in the Monster Manual big enough to do that) then it's not "being worn or carried". So it's fine to use it in that way.
Bowls and helms are offered as examples of ways to cover an affected object to shut out the darkness. The spell description does not say or imply that it can only affect objects that can fit under a bowl or helm, nor does it specify any limit on the size of the object that can be affected.
However, the spell does say that the area of darkness it creates has a radius of 15 feet, which is probably not large enough to cover an entire ship or in many cases even just the mast of a ship.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
pronouns: he/she/they
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Those are probably the one free object interaction you get a turn. A DM might let you just close or open your moth for free, not even costing the object interaction, but that would be up to them.
Canto alla vita
alla sua bellezza
ad ogni sua ferita
ogni sua carezza!
I sing to life and to its tragic beauty
To pain and to strife, but all that dances through me
The rise and the fall, I've lived through it all!
Covering the object is likely a free object interaction as long as you do something simple like drop it in a pocket or cover with a cloth you had prepared for that purpose. If you have to search your backpack to find something to cover the object with then the DM would like require you to use your action for it.
In terms of moving the darkness. The text of the spell says:
"If the point you choose is on an object you are holding or one that isn't being worn or carried, the darkness emanates from the object and moves with it."
The text says that the darkness moves with the object - that is what the "it" at the end of the sentence refers to. The beginning of the sentence is referring to the target of the spell casting. The spell can target an object you are holding or one that isn't being worn or carried [up to the DM whether this is worn or carried including the caster or not]. However, as soon as the spell is cast, the darkness emanates from the object and moves with it. Holding is only required for initial targeting and after that you could give the object to someone else, wear it, cover it, put it on the ground, toss it in the back of a cart and the spell would continue to function. Other DMs are welcome to rule otherwise but that interpretation is consistent with the spell as written.
1. Magical darkness spreads from a point you choose...
2. If the point you choose is on an object you are holding or one that isn't being worn or carried, the darkness emanates from the object and moves with it.
No where does it say that it HAS to be in your hand, or whether it is something you are wearing, or something an enemy is wearing.
There are no restrictions on the point you choose other than the 60 ft range.
They updated this in the 2024 rules to be a stationary point or any object in range.
Why can't you cast it on an object someone else is holding? How does the spell know whether an object is behind held by someone?
If a creature is dragging a rope, and an object is tied to the rope, can you cast darkness on that object? Why or why not?
Because the spell says so.
Magic.
Ask your DM.
Canto alla vita
alla sua bellezza
ad ogni sua ferita
ogni sua carezza!
I sing to life and to its tragic beauty
To pain and to strife, but all that dances through me
The rise and the fall, I've lived through it all!
Hi, community, good day!
Need you help over an issue similar to the one discuss here. Trying to understand something.....
We are playing with the 2014 rules, and a character cast Darkness on the mast of the rival ship. As DM, I let is be done as the idea was good and helped the story to move forward. Nevertheless, I think I may have taken a wrong approach.
I was not able to find anything that states or clarifies over this issue. Should it be allowed to do so? Isn't the mast being worn/caried by the ship? The spell states that the object can be cover with something similar to a helm/bowl to cancel temporarily its effects, so I understand the object affected should be of a size that can be covered by something as big as a bowl or helm
Only the light cantrip states that the object should not be larger that 10ft in any direction (taking into consideration that light and darkness spells should behave the same way).
thanks in advance for your comments.....
In D&D rules the phrase "worn or carried" is generally understood to refer to a creature wearing or carrying something. Unless a creature is physically carrying that part of the ship (which, to be fair, there are things in the Monster Manual big enough to do that) then it's not "being worn or carried". So it's fine to use it in that way.
Bowls and helms are offered as examples of ways to cover an affected object to shut out the darkness. The spell description does not say or imply that it can only affect objects that can fit under a bowl or helm, nor does it specify any limit on the size of the object that can be affected.
However, the spell does say that the area of darkness it creates has a radius of 15 feet, which is probably not large enough to cover an entire ship or in many cases even just the mast of a ship.
pronouns: he/she/they