It also says except for A cantrips, not except for cantrips. So if you use healing word as a bonus action you can not use action surge to cast two cantrips.
That is incorrect. Casting a cantrip with a cast time of one action does not change the fact that a second cantrip with a cast time of one action is still also a cantrip with a cast time of one action, which the rules explicitly allow you to cast.
A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven't already taken a bonus action this turn. You can't cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.
RAW "a cantrip" is exactly 1 cantrip, otherwise it would have said "except for cantrips with a casting time of 1 action".
It also says except for A cantrips, not except for cantrips. So if you use healing word as a bonus action you can not use action surge to cast two cantrips.
That is incorrect. Casting a cantrip with a cast time of one action does not change the fact that a second cantrip with a cast time of one action is still also a cantrip with a cast time of one action, which the rules explicitly allow you to cast.
A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven't already taken a bonus action this turn. You can't cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.
RAW "a cantrip" is exactly 1 cantrip, otherwise it would have said "except for cantrips with a casting time of 1 action".
By that logic, since "can't cast another spell" is singular, then if you use action surge to cast 2 more spells, they can both be leveled (they can't).
The whole sentence is singular because it applies per instance. You can only cast a single spell at a time, so why would it be plural?
It also says except for A cantrips, not except for cantrips. So if you use healing word as a bonus action you can not use action surge to cast two cantrips.
That is incorrect. Casting a cantrip with a cast time of one action does not change the fact that a second cantrip with a cast time of one action is still also a cantrip with a cast time of one action, which the rules explicitly allow you to cast.
A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven't already taken a bonus action this turn. You can't cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.
RAW "a cantrip" is exactly 1 cantrip, otherwise it would have said "except for cantrips with a casting time of 1 action".
No, "a cantrip" is "a cantrip." If I cast two cantrips, they are each "a cantrip." If they meant "exactly one cantrip," that's what they would have said. "A" is just an article; it doesn't convey much information in English.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
This means a fighter/Sorcerer/Warlock can quicken Eldritch Blast and cast it 3 times in one turn.
Please check out my homebrew, I would appreciate feedback:
Spells, Monsters, Subclasses, Races, Arcknight Class, Occultist Class, World, Enigmatic Esoterica forms
A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven't already taken a bonus action this turn. You can't cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.
RAW "a cantrip" is exactly 1 cantrip, otherwise it would have said "except for cantrips with a casting time of 1 action".
By that logic, since "can't cast another spell" is singular, then if you use action surge to cast 2 more spells, they can both be leveled (they can't).
The whole sentence is singular because it applies per instance. You can only cast a single spell at a time, so why would it be plural?
No, "a cantrip" is "a cantrip." If I cast two cantrips, they are each "a cantrip." If they meant "exactly one cantrip," that's what they would have said. "A" is just an article; it doesn't convey much information in English.