Hey everybody, I have a few questions about rules to do with grappling.
1. Can a prone creature grapple a standing creature, and vice versa?
2. Can 2 creatures who are prone grapple with eachother?
3. If you're currently grappling a creature, can you drop prone while still holding the grapple, and if so, does the creature you're grappling drop prone with you, or do you drop prone and just maintain the grapple from a now prone position?
4. Can a creature who is currently grappling, grapple with a second creature at the same time?
I think most of these fall under the general rule, that if it doesn't specifically say you can't do a thing, you can. So,
1. Yes
2. Yes
3. I think RAW, you would be prone and the creature you are grappling would remain standing, since it doesn't say anything otherwise. I could see some house/improvised rule giving you an attempt to bring the person down with you, though. Opposed Strength or athletics checks or something.
4. I don't know if it's covered in the rules, but I'm sure someone else will correct me if it is. I think you could. Personally, I could see someone really strong having two different creatures grappled simultaneously (one in a headlock under each arm). But I'd probably house rule that they have disadvantage to initiate the second grapple and then disadvantage again to maintain two grapples if they succeed. And' I'd say common sense would say you couldn't really do more than two. Maybe a third if you somehow got your legs around them, but then everyone would need to be prone for that to work. Of course, this is D&D, crazy crap happens all the time. And there would be an exception if the creature has multiple arms.
Just to quick add onto this with a consensus and a little more info.
1. Yes
2. Yes
3. RAW they remain standing, however much like how grappling replaces one of the attacks in the attack action, you can shove (opposed athletics check) a creature and choose to push them 5ft or knock them prone. So a character with Extra attack could Shove (prone) --> Grapple.
4. Per the player's handbook: Using at least one free hand, you try to seize the target by making a grapple check instead of an attack roll. So if you're holding a grapple you may attempt to grapple another creature so long as both your hands were free (no weapon/shield). Using legs would be a question for your DM at the table, RAW it wouldn't work but rule of cool and physics say why not.
1. Yes, with disadvantage as you would have while prone with melee/unarmed attacks. Makes sense.
2. Yes, but not simultaneously, unless one saved a reaction to grapple when grappled, but it's basically two grapple checks in a row, and no advantage or disadvantage (they'll cancel eachother, you have both)
3. If you move the grappled creature moves with you, so likely it would go prone, as you are holding it and therefore (according to the rules) it moves with you.
4. Yes, but the second will likely be disadvantage. A grapple in the rule book only requires one free hand. But at the same time you are now grappling two creatures. This one is a bit more tricky, technically it could be a straight roll plus modifiers.
Hey everybody, I have a few questions about rules to do with grappling.
1. Can a prone creature grapple a standing creature, and vice versa?
2. Can 2 creatures who are prone grapple with eachother?
3. If you're currently grappling a creature, can you drop prone while still holding the grapple, and if so, does the creature you're grappling drop prone with you, or do you drop prone and just maintain the grapple from a now prone position?
4. Can a creature who is currently grappling, grapple with a second creature at the same time?
I think most of these fall under the general rule, that if it doesn't specifically say you can't do a thing, you can. So,
1. Yes
2. Yes
3. I think RAW, you would be prone and the creature you are grappling would remain standing, since it doesn't say anything otherwise. I could see some house/improvised rule giving you an attempt to bring the person down with you, though. Opposed Strength or athletics checks or something.
4. I don't know if it's covered in the rules, but I'm sure someone else will correct me if it is. I think you could. Personally, I could see someone really strong having two different creatures grappled simultaneously (one in a headlock under each arm). But I'd probably house rule that they have disadvantage to initiate the second grapple and then disadvantage again to maintain two grapples if they succeed. And' I'd say common sense would say you couldn't really do more than two. Maybe a third if you somehow got your legs around them, but then everyone would need to be prone for that to work. Of course, this is D&D, crazy crap happens all the time. And there would be an exception if the creature has multiple arms.
That all makes sense. Thank you for your input!
Just to quick add onto this with a consensus and a little more info.
1. Yes
2. Yes
3. RAW they remain standing, however much like how grappling replaces one of the attacks in the attack action, you can shove (opposed athletics check) a creature and choose to push them 5ft or knock them prone. So a character with Extra attack could Shove (prone) --> Grapple.
4. Per the player's handbook: Using at least one free hand, you try to seize the target by making a grapple check instead of an attack roll. So if you're holding a grapple you may attempt to grapple another creature so long as both your hands were free (no weapon/shield). Using legs would be a question for your DM at the table, RAW it wouldn't work but rule of cool and physics say why not.
Just adding that it's super fun to grapple two creatures and then drag them over to a very high ledge and drop them off. Use a Loxodon for extra fun!
1. Yes, with disadvantage as you would have while prone with melee/unarmed attacks. Makes sense.
2. Yes, but not simultaneously, unless one saved a reaction to grapple when grappled, but it's basically two grapple checks in a row, and no advantage or disadvantage (they'll cancel eachother, you have both)
3. If you move the grappled creature moves with you, so likely it would go prone, as you are holding it and therefore (according to the rules) it moves with you.
4. Yes, but the second will likely be disadvantage. A grapple in the rule book only requires one free hand. But at the same time you are now grappling two creatures. This one is a bit more tricky, technically it could be a straight roll plus modifiers.