Be Niv'Mizzet from Guildmaster's Guide to Ravnica.
As a CR 26 character that cannot be achieved. The highest CR any player creature can become is 20, via True Polymorph.
Niv'Mizzet is just shy of Tiamat in power and she's an actual Dragon God.
Yeah not an actual serious suggestion Haha
If your DM allows you to level up after True Polymorphing into a CR 20 creature, making yourself a level 20 wizard again, your DM could recalculate your CR, because you'll have more hit points, super high-level spells, and other abilities that should boost your CR to around CR 26, and then you could possibly True Polymorph yourself into Niv Mizzet if you have seen him.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Please check out my homebrew, I would appreciate feedback:
You can upcast Glyph of Warding to store a spell of the same or lower lvl. So the highest you can get is casting Glyph at lvl 9 to store a 8th lvl spell.
(For all the lawyers out there: This is not the same as casting two spells simultaneously or concentrate on two spells at the same time. It is however a valid way to circumvent those restrictions under certain conditions.)
What about with a familiar that can cast on your behalf such as Wizard's "Find Familiar" Artificer's "Steel Defender" or Wildfire Druid's "Summon Wildfire Spirit"?
Would any of these Spell-assistants be able to maintain concentration for a spell you cast through them while you cast another yourself? If so, can you swap concentration essentially handing off spell maintenance to your familiar?
I think all of those pets only allow you to cast the spell as if you were in the pet's position, not allow the pets to cast the spell.
I think the only ways to have multiple concentration spells from a single caster are some magic items and the chronurgy wizard subclass from the Crit Role stuff.
There is a work-around (I think). The spell Glyph of Warding (a third-level spell available to bards, clerics, wizards, and artificers) can be used to cast a spell of third level or lower upon triggering the glyph (higher levels if upcast). The wording of it says, "If the spell requires concentration, it lasts until the end of its full duration." So if you were to prepare appropriately, you could cast a spell into a glyph of warding that you can trigger on yourself during combat. This spell wouldn't require your concentration, so you could cast another concentration spell. So you'd burn an extra third-level spell slot and you would have to prepare it ahead of time, but otherwise, it seems like a valid option.
Only the object doesn't need ot mov, and it could be very useful in this way. Say you are worried the BBEG will send some goons to assassinate you while you sleep at home so do not have to deal with your armor. You can then cast barkskin into a glyph of warding on a book you keep next to your bed and cast alarm in your room. If the alarm goes off you open the book and have some defence against their attacks.
RAW I am not sure if you can get the above to work without an action by you. If you set the trigger being the bell of your alarm spell going off. This then raises the question whether the creature that triggered the glyph os the creature that cast alarm or the creature that entered its area as the trigger wouldn't apply without both creatures actions. As a DM I would certainly ally the PC to get buff spell cast on them in this way.
Going back to the original question you CAN cast two concentrations spells on the same turn (if that counts as at the same time). Thought you very rarely will want to. One example might be A high level caster with a couple of level of fighter has used up all their high level spell slots but has a coule of 4th level slots left. THe BBEG is nearly dead but has to be killed on this turn, it might even be vulnerable to lightning damage. The player casts 4th level witch bolt and then action surges to cast it again. On the second cast concentration ends for the first cast but it still does 8d12 damage.
As long as you keep a surface or object as part of your person and don’t move more than 10 feet.
I agree the surface or obect can't move, because I was referring to casting ot on an obect I just mentioned that as short-hand.
What I really meant was the object doesn't need to be on your person just accessable when you are likely to need it. So in my example during the day you might wear armor so not need barkskin so you can leave the book with the glyph next to your bed (not moving more than 10 ft) while you go about your business thenat night when you remove your armor you remain within reach of you (stationary) book until you have donned your armor the next morning.
"is there a way to be able to cast 2 or more concentration spells at the same time?"
Let me count the ways.
The description of the spell Wish specifies that, "The basic use of this spell is to duplicate any other spell of 8th level or lower. You don't need to meet any requirements in that spell, including costly components. The spell simply takes effect." RAW it doesn't specifically mention that, "You don't need to meet any requirements in [the casting of] that spell ..." just that "You don't need to meet any requirements in that spell ...". This leads to a logical reading that the no "need to meet any requirements" stipulation includes an otherwise potential of concentration to maintain the spell's effect. By this interpretation spells like Mass Polymorph might be achieved without a requirement to maintain concentration.
A favourite option is klo_gray's suggestion of making a timely and location tied use Glyph of Warding which similarly wouldn't require concentration to be held.
But going back to the question, it only requires casting and not the personal holding of the concentration. There are certainly many ways to initiate magic for the simultaneous casting of spells.
According to various rules of crafting magic items, spell casting can be required for the crafting of potions such as for enabling growth.
Other options require the involvement of third parties like followers, roped in NPCs, fellow adventurers, familiars, a homunculus or a simulacrum.
Followers are difficult. The knight background (PHb) or Noble background, knight variant (BR) each provide 3 commoner retainers. There are limits as "Your retainers are commoners who can perform mundane tasks for you, but they do not fight for you, will not follow you into obviously dangerous areas (such as dungeons), and will leave if they are frequently endangered or abused." However, if actions were taken such as regularly ritual casting Tiny Hut, perhaps they might be made to at least feel safe.
Roped in NPCs, fellow adventurers, familiars, a homunculus, a simulacrum or the items elsewhere mentioned may all be more compliant. The casting of spells in the writing of spell scrolls would allow even magical novices to cast relatively high level spells like polymourph or mass polymorph. (In this light, retired characters of sufficient level may find it easy to find retirement options just as long as they might be willing to be polymorphed, via some crash course wizard with a spell scroll, into some high level, town defending beast).
Ring of spell storing can do the same while allowing all creatures (including familiars and homunculuses) to cast with a limit of up to using a one shot 5th level spell.
RAW permits artificers to infuse with their Replicate Item option, at negligible material cost, with the provision that, "you can choose the magic item from among the common magic items in the game, not including potions or scrolls". If your DM allows it, RAW would allow the infusion of another type of consumable item in the form of spellwrought tattoos, all for negligible material costs and still allowing the casting of any 1st level spell of any class by any class. To me this is vastly overpowered for a second level artificer ability as suddenly party members including fighters, sorcerers or between rages barbarians (with their proficiencies in constitution saving throws) can all cast bless etc. With the use of artificer infusion, it would not strictly be the character casting the spell. You'd be enabling castings with, potentially, even wider applications.
Simulacrums of you can cast spells of levels that you could cast as at least a version of you, though dispel magic may not just dispel the concentration spell effect but the simulacrum as well.
You can concentrate on as many things as you have minds available to perform said concentration. Typically, that's only one.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
Actually, you CAN. if Strongholds and followers is in play. if you build a Library (I think - one of the wizards strongholds) you gain the ability to concentrate on another spell at the same time...if you are high enough level :
Class Feature Improvement: Spellmaster You can maintain two spells with concentration at once. You can do this a number of times equal to your stronghold level, after which you must take an extended rest to refresh this ability.
There was a feat in the Tal'dorei Campaign Guide - which is the not-official precursor to Explorer's Guide to Wildemount - based on rules Matt made for the Critical Role show, that did allow this but with heavy restrictions. Given that the majority of the Campaign 2 cast have spellcasters and none of them took the feat I'm guessing Matt did not allow this feat the second time around.
I think it's probably more likely that the "concentrate on two spells at once feat" from that book just has so many negatives to balance it out that it's kind of a bad feat and not worth taking so, despite being allowed to take it, none of the spellcasters in that game made the decision to do so.
Chained Device: "By 14th level, you have learned to imprint vestiges of your consciousness on electronic devices with significant computing power. When you cast a concentration spell, you can use a device whose computing power is equal to or greater than a tablet computer to maintain concentration of the spell on your behalf. The device must be held or worn by you to maintain this effect. If the device is destroyed, taken from you, dropped, or turned off, the concentration ends. Once you use this feature, you can’t use it again until you finish a long rest."
It means that you can cast a concentration spell and use a device to maintain concentration of the spell, and after that, cast another concentration spell. Am I wrong?
Chained Device: "By 14th level, you have learned to imprint vestiges of your consciousness on electronic devices with significant computing power. When you cast a concentration spell, you can use a device whose computing power is equal to or greater than a tablet computer to maintain concentration of the spell on your behalf. The device must be held or worn by you to maintain this effect. If the device is destroyed, taken from you, dropped, or turned off, the concentration ends. Once you use this feature, you can’t use it again until you finish a long rest."
It means that you can cast a concentration spell and use a device to maintain concentration of the spell, and after that, cast another concentration spell. Am I wrong?
If the modern magic UA is allowed you appear to be correct but bear in mind that UA is play test content, usually if play test material makes it into a published book it is changed in response to the play testing. This was issued 7 years ago and still hasn't made itinto published material so probably never will. It also requires a specific modern setting for the campaign in every D&D game I have played devices with computing power equal to or greater than a tablet computer don't exist.
What if im warlock and i have Mindfocusing patron like Aboleth... Can he help me in fight to hold more concentration spells?? Like Two brains can do more.
What if im warlock and i have Mindfocusing patron like Aboleth... Can he help me in fight to hold more concentration spells?? Like Two brains can do more.
No currently printed Warlock ability allows concentration on multiple spells at once. Any that would allow that would have to be homebrew, and beware any homebrew that does because it likely isn't balanced.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
If your DM allows you to level up after True Polymorphing into a CR 20 creature, making yourself a level 20 wizard again, your DM could recalculate your CR, because you'll have more hit points, super high-level spells, and other abilities that should boost your CR to around CR 26, and then you could possibly True Polymorph yourself into Niv Mizzet if you have seen him.
Please check out my homebrew, I would appreciate feedback:
Spells, Monsters, Subclasses, Races, Arcknight Class, Occultist Class, World, Enigmatic Esoterica forms
You can upcast Glyph of Warding to store a spell of the same or lower lvl. So the highest you can get is casting Glyph at lvl 9 to store a 8th lvl spell.
(For all the lawyers out there: This is not the same as casting two spells simultaneously or concentrate on two spells at the same time. It is however a valid way to circumvent those restrictions under certain conditions.)
What about with a familiar that can cast on your behalf such as Wizard's "Find Familiar" Artificer's "Steel Defender" or Wildfire Druid's "Summon Wildfire Spirit"?
Would any of these Spell-assistants be able to maintain concentration for a spell you cast through them while you cast another yourself? If so, can you swap concentration essentially handing off spell maintenance to your familiar?
if the spell description doesn't specifically say you can, then no.
Guide to the Five Factions (PWYW)
Deck of Decks
I think all of those pets only allow you to cast the spell as if you were in the pet's position, not allow the pets to cast the spell.
I think the only ways to have multiple concentration spells from a single caster are some magic items and the chronurgy wizard subclass from the Crit Role stuff.
There is a work-around (I think). The spell Glyph of Warding (a third-level spell available to bards, clerics, wizards, and artificers) can be used to cast a spell of third level or lower upon triggering the glyph (higher levels if upcast). The wording of it says, "If the spell requires concentration, it lasts until the end of its full duration." So if you were to prepare appropriately, you could cast a spell into a glyph of warding that you can trigger on yourself during combat. This spell wouldn't require your concentration, so you could cast another concentration spell. So you'd burn an extra third-level spell slot and you would have to prepare it ahead of time, but otherwise, it seems like a valid option.
As long as you keep a surface or object as part of your person and don’t move more than 10 feet.
Only the object doesn't need ot mov, and it could be very useful in this way. Say you are worried the BBEG will send some goons to assassinate you while you sleep at home so do not have to deal with your armor. You can then cast barkskin into a glyph of warding on a book you keep next to your bed and cast alarm in your room. If the alarm goes off you open the book and have some defence against their attacks.
RAW I am not sure if you can get the above to work without an action by you. If you set the trigger being the bell of your alarm spell going off. This then raises the question whether the creature that triggered the glyph os the creature that cast alarm or the creature that entered its area as the trigger wouldn't apply without both creatures actions. As a DM I would certainly ally the PC to get buff spell cast on them in this way.
Going back to the original question you CAN cast two concentrations spells on the same turn (if that counts as at the same time). Thought you very rarely will want to. One example might be A high level caster with a couple of level of fighter has used up all their high level spell slots but has a coule of 4th level slots left. THe BBEG is nearly dead but has to be killed on this turn, it might even be vulnerable to lightning damage. The player casts 4th level witch bolt and then action surges to cast it again. On the second cast concentration ends for the first cast but it still does 8d12 damage.
.
I agree the surface or obect can't move, because I was referring to casting ot on an obect I just mentioned that as short-hand.
What I really meant was the object doesn't need to be on your person just accessable when you are likely to need it. So in my example during the day you might wear armor so not need barkskin so you can leave the book with the glyph next to your bed (not moving more than 10 ft) while you go about your business thenat night when you remove your armor you remain within reach of you (stationary) book until you have donned your armor the next morning.
"is there a way to be able to cast 2 or more concentration spells at the same time?"
Let me count the ways.
The description of the spell Wish specifies that, "The basic use of this spell is to duplicate any other spell of 8th level or lower. You don't need to meet any requirements in that spell, including costly components. The spell simply takes effect."
RAW it doesn't specifically mention that, "You don't need to meet any requirements in [the casting of] that spell ..." just that "You don't need to meet any requirements in that spell ...". This leads to a logical reading that the no "need to meet any requirements" stipulation includes an otherwise potential of concentration to maintain the spell's effect. By this interpretation spells like Mass Polymorph might be achieved without a requirement to maintain concentration.
A favourite option is klo_gray's suggestion of making a timely and location tied use Glyph of Warding which similarly wouldn't require concentration to be held.
But going back to the question, it only requires casting and not the personal holding of the concentration. There are certainly many ways to initiate magic for the simultaneous casting of spells.
According to various rules of crafting magic items, spell casting can be required for the crafting of potions such as for enabling growth.
Other options require the involvement of third parties like followers, roped in NPCs, fellow adventurers, familiars, a homunculus or a simulacrum.
Followers are difficult. The knight background (PHb) or Noble background, knight variant (BR) each provide 3 commoner retainers. There are limits as "Your retainers are commoners who can perform mundane tasks for you, but they do not fight for you, will not follow you into obviously dangerous areas (such as dungeons), and will leave if they are frequently endangered or abused." However, if actions were taken such as regularly ritual casting Tiny Hut, perhaps they might be made to at least feel safe.
Roped in NPCs, fellow adventurers, familiars, a homunculus, a simulacrum or the items elsewhere mentioned may all be more compliant.
The casting of spells in the writing of spell scrolls would allow even magical novices to cast relatively high level spells like polymourph or mass polymorph. (In this light, retired characters of sufficient level may find it easy to find retirement options just as long as they might be willing to be polymorphed, via some crash course wizard with a spell scroll, into some high level, town defending beast).
Ring of spell storing can do the same while allowing all creatures (including familiars and homunculuses) to cast with a limit of up to using a one shot 5th level spell.
RAW permits artificers to infuse with their Replicate Item option, at negligible material cost, with the provision that, "you can choose the magic item from among the common magic items in the game, not including potions or scrolls". If your DM allows it, RAW would allow the infusion of another type of consumable item in the form of spellwrought tattoos, all for negligible material costs and still allowing the casting of any 1st level spell of any class by any class. To me this is vastly overpowered for a second level artificer ability as suddenly party members including fighters, sorcerers or between rages barbarians (with their proficiencies in constitution saving throws) can all cast bless etc. With the use of artificer infusion, it would not strictly be the character casting the spell. You'd be enabling castings with, potentially, even wider applications.
Simulacrums of you can cast spells of levels that you could cast as at least a version of you, though dispel magic may not just dispel the concentration spell effect but the simulacrum as well.
You can concentrate on as many things as you have minds available to perform said concentration. Typically, that's only one.
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
Actually, you CAN. if Strongholds and followers is in play. if you build a Library (I think - one of the wizards strongholds) you gain the ability to concentrate on another spell at the same time...if you are high enough level :
Class Feature Improvement:
Spellmaster
You can maintain two spells with concentration at
once. You can do this a number of times equal to
your stronghold level, after which you must take an
extended rest to refresh this ability.
While that may be true, that is a 3rd party option.
I think it's probably more likely that the "concentrate on two spells at once feat" from that book just has so many negatives to balance it out that it's kind of a bad feat and not worth taking so, despite being allowed to take it, none of the spellcasters in that game made the decision to do so.
Wizard: Technomancy (UA)
Chained Device:
"By 14th level, you have learned to imprint vestiges of your consciousness on electronic devices with significant computing power. When you cast a concentration spell, you can use a device whose computing power is equal to or greater than a tablet computer to maintain concentration of the spell on your behalf. The device must be held or worn by you to maintain this effect. If the device is destroyed, taken from you, dropped, or turned off, the concentration ends. Once you use this feature, you can’t use it again until you finish a long rest."
It means that you can cast a concentration spell and use a device to maintain concentration of the spell, and after that, cast another concentration spell.
Am I wrong?
If the modern magic UA is allowed you appear to be correct but bear in mind that UA is play test content, usually if play test material makes it into a published book it is changed in response to the play testing. This was issued 7 years ago and still hasn't made itinto published material so probably never will. It also requires a specific modern setting for the campaign in every D&D game I have played devices with computing power equal to or greater than a tablet computer don't exist.
What if im warlock and i have Mindfocusing patron like Aboleth... Can he help me in fight to hold more concentration spells?? Like Two brains can do more.
No currently printed Warlock ability allows concentration on multiple spells at once. Any that would allow that would have to be homebrew, and beware any homebrew that does because it likely isn't balanced.