I'm looking at the rules for the lair actions of various monsters, and most of these mention the “initiative count.” For example: “On initiative count 20 (losing initiative ties), the dragon takes a lair action.”
I don't know what initiative count means. I'm learning to be a DM, and I'm designing some homebrew beasties, so I'd like to understand this rule.
I'm looking at the rules for the lair actions of various monsters, and most of these mention the “initiative count.” For example: “On initiative count 20 (losing initiative ties), the dragon takes a lair action.”
I don't know what initiative count means. I'm learning to be a DM, and I'm designing some homebrew beasties, so I'd like to understand this rule.
Thanks in advance for any help.
At the beginning of battle, you have everyone roll initiative which is 1d20+their initiative bonus (typically just their dex modifier, but some things add to that). If Conan rolls a 21, Betty rolls a 15, Bergen rolls a 12, and Elrond rolls a 17; then you'll list them in descending order for your initiative. If you have a Dragon (that has a lair action) that you roll a 10 for and who has 3 cultists that you roll 14 for, then your total initiative will be Conan at count 21, Lair Action at count 20, Elrond at count 17, Betty at Count 15, the Cultists at count 14, Bergen at count 12, and the Dragon at count 10.
Initiative count 20 is basically as if the lair action had rolled a 20 on it's initiative.
For example: player A rolls a 23 initiative, player B rolls a 19, player C rolls an 18, monster 1 rolls a 17, player D rolls a 12, and player E rolls a 7. The following list would be the turn order
23, player A 20, Lair Action 19, player B 18, player C 17, monster 1 12, player D 7, player E
I hope this helps, typed this while a bit tired so hoping it is coherent.
As others have stated, Lair Actions are treated as if there is an extra creature present, the Lair itself, that always rolls a fixed Initiative of 20. If another creature rolls 20 for their Initiative, the Lair will always go after that creature.
I'm looking at the rules for the lair actions of various monsters, and most of these mention the “initiative count.” For example: “On initiative count 20 (losing initiative ties), the dragon takes a lair action.”
I don't know what initiative count means. I'm learning to be a DM, and I'm designing some homebrew beasties, so I'd like to understand this rule.
Thanks in advance for any help.
At the beginning of battle, you have everyone roll initiative which is 1d20+their initiative bonus (typically just their dex modifier, but some things add to that). If Conan rolls a 21, Betty rolls a 15, Bergen rolls a 12, and Elrond rolls a 17; then you'll list them in descending order for your initiative. If you have a Dragon (that has a lair action) that you roll a 10 for and who has 3 cultists that you roll 14 for, then your total initiative will be Conan at count 21, Lair Action at count 20, Elrond at count 17, Betty at Count 15, the Cultists at count 14, Bergen at count 12, and the Dragon at count 10.
Initiative count 20 is basically as if the lair action had rolled a 20 on it's initiative.
For example: player A rolls a 23 initiative, player B rolls a 19, player C rolls an 18, monster 1 rolls a 17, player D rolls a 12, and player E rolls a 7. The following list would be the turn order
23, player A
20, Lair Action
19, player B
18, player C
17, monster 1
12, player D
7, player E
I hope this helps, typed this while a bit tired so hoping it is coherent.
As others have stated, Lair Actions are treated as if there is an extra creature present, the Lair itself, that always rolls a fixed Initiative of 20. If another creature rolls 20 for their Initiative, the Lair will always go after that creature.
OK, that makes sense. It seems pretty straightforward. Thanks folks!