It would be hard to activate. And I would say that if cast with a spell slot of four or higher, then the glyph immediately goes off and the bag is destroyed. Cause it's magic. And you wouldn't be able to get anything from the bag... Or BOOM!
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
'The Cleverness of mushrooms always surprises me!' - Ivern Bramblefoot.
What happens if you crawl inside a bag of holding with a scroll and cast the glyph on the scroll, then leave the scroll inside the bag of holding and crawl back out.
Later on you open the bag and remove the scroll, it has not moved more than 10 feet from where you cast the spell.
You're entering "ask your DM" territory but if you ask me, if you cast the spell in an extradimensional space and you take the item out of that space, you've definitely violated the spirit of the rule. The item is no longer within 10 feet of where the spell was cast.
The whole idea is NOT to use a damage spell. Read Glyph, it obviates the need for concentration. So cast Fly into it. Or invisibility or a ton of other concentration spells. You can even upcast Glyph to load it with spells above 3rd level.
And I am perfectly willing to activate the glyph while IN the bag of holding.
It's not even in the same plane of existence any more. There's no distance you could sensibly measure between its position in the material plane and the position the spell was cast within the extradimensional space, any more than you could measure a distance between Waterdeep in the material plane and the City of Brass in the plane of fire.
Your scroll is 1 inch away from a portal and an undefined distance away from the spell's anchor point.
As far as I'm concerned, the spirit of the rule is "don't move the glyph" and it's clearly talking about distance, not expending movement. To me that outweighs whatever contrived logic anyone wants to use to justify this. That's like arguing teleporting the object halfway across the continent is fine.
I'd consider it despite the rules purely on the basis that it could be fun for a player.
Distance is distance though, actually feet of movement... if you go to another plane, although you're on another plane, have you moved any distance?
We're not talking about feet of movement: the spell says "moved more than 10 feet from where you cast this spell". If you pick up the object, move it 5 feet in one direction, then 10 feet in the opposite direction, you've spent 15 feet of movement but it's still within 10 feet of its original location.
The way I see it, you're supposed to keep the object within a 10 foot radius sphere. If it leaves that bubble, your glyph breaks. I don't see why it should matter whether was removed normally, via teleportation, or taken through a portal to another plane.
And is 10 feet the limit of the movement for the glyph... I mean can you move it 10 feet and nothing happens, or is 10 feet where something happens, so 9 feet and 11 inches is ok (by the way this means you can move the glyph around within that distance).
10 feet is fine. Anything more than that is too much.
What are the best options for non damaging spells? I was thinking of Conjure Minor Elementals and having 8 elementals harass the trespasser of the glyph.
Polymorph, Teleportation Circle, Flesh To Stone and Forcecage are all good options for dealing with trespassers, especially if you also have Alarm to tell you your trap's been sprung. There aren't a whole lot of great options below 4th level.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
The Forum Infestation (TM)
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Can you cast it on a Boat? If the boat moves, does it end?
Lots of stuff you can do with it, as for one hour prep time and 200gp cost means no concentration necessary for spells that target you.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
I guess as long as the piece of wood doesn't move, then I would say yes.
'The Cleverness of mushrooms always surprises me!' - Ivern Bramblefoot.
I'll worldbuild for your DnD games!
Just a D&D enjoyer, check out my fiverr page if you need any worldbuilding done for ya!
How about inside a bag of holding? It's a small space, and I am not sure that moving the bag counts as moving the space inside.
It would be hard to activate. And I would say that if cast with a spell slot of four or higher, then the glyph immediately goes off and the bag is destroyed. Cause it's magic. And you wouldn't be able to get anything from the bag... Or BOOM!
'The Cleverness of mushrooms always surprises me!' - Ivern Bramblefoot.
I'll worldbuild for your DnD games!
Just a D&D enjoyer, check out my fiverr page if you need any worldbuilding done for ya!
That technically works, though it also limits your options since you wouldn't want to blow up the bag or the items inside.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
You're entering "ask your DM" territory but if you ask me, if you cast the spell in an extradimensional space and you take the item out of that space, you've definitely violated the spirit of the rule. The item is no longer within 10 feet of where the spell was cast.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
The whole idea is NOT to use a damage spell. Read Glyph, it obviates the need for concentration. So cast Fly into it. Or invisibility or a ton of other concentration spells. You can even upcast Glyph to load it with spells above 3rd level.
And I am perfectly willing to activate the glyph while IN the bag of holding.
It's not even in the same plane of existence any more. There's no distance you could sensibly measure between its position in the material plane and the position the spell was cast within the extradimensional space, any more than you could measure a distance between Waterdeep in the material plane and the City of Brass in the plane of fire.
Your scroll is 1 inch away from a portal and an undefined distance away from the spell's anchor point.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
It also means you can't say it's within 10 feet, which is why I said it violates the spirit of the rule.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
As far as I'm concerned, the spirit of the rule is "don't move the glyph" and it's clearly talking about distance, not expending movement. To me that outweighs whatever contrived logic anyone wants to use to justify this. That's like arguing teleporting the object halfway across the continent is fine.
I'd consider it despite the rules purely on the basis that it could be fun for a player.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
A 15th level Wizard can upcast the Glyph to 8th llevel. Then, cast the 7th level Tenser's Transformation into the Glyph.
Now, you have a Bag of holding that you can enter, activate the Glyph, and get 10 minutes of Tenser's Transformation without having to concentrate.
We're not talking about feet of movement: the spell says "moved more than 10 feet from where you cast this spell". If you pick up the object, move it 5 feet in one direction, then 10 feet in the opposite direction, you've spent 15 feet of movement but it's still within 10 feet of its original location.
The way I see it, you're supposed to keep the object within a 10 foot radius sphere. If it leaves that bubble, your glyph breaks. I don't see why it should matter whether was removed normally, via teleportation, or taken through a portal to another plane.
10 feet is fine. Anything more than that is too much.
Polymorph, Teleportation Circle, Flesh To Stone and Forcecage are all good options for dealing with trespassers, especially if you also have Alarm to tell you your trap's been sprung. There aren't a whole lot of great options below 4th level.
The Forum Infestation (TM)