The only thing I know for sure can do it is Greater Restoration, as it explicitly says you can use it to end one effect that charmed or petrified the target. Obviously a Wish spell could do it, but that's kinda overkill. I *think* Dispel Magic can do it, but Flesh To Stone is a 6th-level spell so you'll likely have to roll a spellcasting ability check. If you're trying to end petrification resulting from something that's not a spell, like a Beholder ray, Dispel Magic won't work. You'll definitely need Greater Restoration for that.
I've gone through this in my campaign, and Farling is correct. In some earlier editions, this spell (like some others) was reversible and could be applied to a petrified creature--or just plain stone (the flesh would not be viable or coherent like a body). 5E wizards are limited in reversing petrification beyond spells.
After 1 minute, dispel magic does work against the Flesh to Stone spell (Sage Advice confirmed), but it wouldn't work against Gorgon breath. For that, you'd need at least Greater Restoration. Time to call in the clerics.
Compare to Wall of Stone which specifies that, after concentration ends, the stone is permanent.
It is a spell with a duration, so you can try Dispel Magic on it. Being 6th level, the Dispel Magic rules would apply to see if it is succesful.
Hitting the caster hard enough to make them fail their concentration roll would also break the spell ;-)
After the one minute I think that Dispel Magic would still apply, since it is still a spell making the person stone.
Greater Restoration (5th level) works to remove petrification.
Remove Curse doesn't say that it removes petrification.
I am not sure I agree.
If you are talking about a spell that is active, then I completely agree. Dispel Magic would stop Flesh to Stone if cast during the concentration window. A similar spell "True Polymorph" has the wording "If you concentrate on this spell for the full duration, the spell lasts until it is dispelled".
On the other hand Flesh to Stone says:
"If it fails its saves three times, it is turned to stone and subjected to the petrified condition for the duration."
"If you maintain your concentration on this spell for the entire possible duration, the creature is turned to stone until the effect is removed."
The spell description fairly explicitly says that you need to remove the effect - which is the petrified condition - it doesn't explicitly state "dispelled" as in the case of True Polymorph. I would tend to interpret this to mean that a creature petrified by the flesh to stone spell where concentration is maintained for the full duration would require Greater Restoration to remove the condition rather than Dispel Magic. However, decision is ultimately up to the DM.
P.S. That said :) ... some DMs allow the players to come up with an alchemical solution derived from creatures like a Basilisk to allow lower level parties without access to Greater Restoration, a chance to cure the petrified condition.
The only reason for the spell to still be affecting you at the end of the 1 minute of concentration is for you to be under the petrified condition (since you must have failed at least 8 [or 7?] savings throws; since 3 successes ends the spell).
However, the final sentence then changes this "petrified" condition to "the creature is turned to stone until the effect is removed". So the creature is no longer a creature, but is actually turned to stone.
Since the 1 minute of the duration has expired, the spell is no longer active, so the target is no longer under the effects of a magical spell, instead it is simply stone.
The only reason for the spell to still be affecting you at the end of the 1 minute of concentration is for you to be under the petrified condition (since you must have failed at least 8 [or 7?] savings throws; since 3 successes ends the spell).
However, the final sentence then changes this "petrified" condition to "the creature is turned to stone until the effect is removed". So the creature is no longer a creature, but is actually turned to stone.
Since the 1 minute of the duration has expired, the spell is no longer active, so the target is no longer under the effects of a magical spell, instead it is simply stone.
In English and D&D, petrified is usually synonymous with being "turned to stone".
"PETRIFIED • A petrified creature is transformed, along with any nonmagical object it is wearing or carrying, into a solid inanimate substance (usually stone). Its weight increases by a factor of ten, and it ceases aging."
So, when the Flesh to Stone spell ends leaving the creature "turned to stone" ... I usually interpret this to mean as still being petrified. However, since the magic of the spell has ended, dispel magic won't reverse the process. The only way to "end the condition" as described in the spell would be an alchemical solution made from the oil of a basilisks stomach (Thanks Kerrec! I didn't know this was actually in the text for the Basilisk in the MM), Greater Restoration, Wish or whatever else a DM decides to allow.
P.S. Another interesting observation about the petrified condition - Only nonmagical objects are transformed. If you want to loot the magic items from a creature - change it to stone and take whatever falls to the ground :)
P.S. Another interesting observation about the petrified condition - Only nonmagical objects are transformed. If you want to loot the magic items from a creature - change it to stone and take whatever falls to the ground :)
Why wouldn't the object be possibly incorporated into the stone?
P.S. Another interesting observation about the petrified condition - Only nonmagical objects are transformed. If you want to loot the magic items from a creature - change it to stone and take whatever falls to the ground :)
Why wouldn't the object be possibly incorporated into the stone?
The description of the petrified condition says
"PETRIFIED • A petrified creature is transformed, along with any nonmagical object it is wearing or carrying, into a solid inanimate substance (usually stone). Its weight increases by a factor of ten, and it ceases aging."
It specifically states that only nonmagical objects that it is carrying or wearing are transformed. Any magical items would appear to NOT be transformed into stone ... which I had not noticed before answering the question above.
Whether the items fall to the ground around the creature being transformed to stone or end up embedded in the stone and have to be chipped/broken out (damaging the petrified creature if it is ever restored) is up to the DM to figure out.
Just found this and haven’t seen anyone say it anywhere, but the Tale of the Angel feature in the Bard College of Spirits can also cure the petrified condition
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
It does not list whether a Dispell Magic or Remove Curse, or something else does it.
The only thing I know for sure can do it is Greater Restoration, as it explicitly says you can use it to end one effect that charmed or petrified the target. Obviously a Wish spell could do it, but that's kinda overkill. I *think* Dispel Magic can do it, but Flesh To Stone is a 6th-level spell so you'll likely have to roll a spellcasting ability check. If you're trying to end petrification resulting from something that's not a spell, like a Beholder ray, Dispel Magic won't work. You'll definitely need Greater Restoration for that.
It is a spell with a duration, so you can try Dispel Magic on it. Being 6th level, the Dispel Magic rules would apply to see if it is succesful.
Hitting the caster hard enough to make them fail their concentration roll would also break the spell ;-)
After the one minute I think that Dispel Magic would still apply, since it is still a spell making the person stone.
Greater Restoration (5th level) works to remove petrification.
Remove Curse doesn't say that it removes petrification.
I've gone through this in my campaign, and Farling is correct. In some earlier editions, this spell (like some others) was reversible and could be applied to a petrified creature--or just plain stone (the flesh would not be viable or coherent like a body). 5E wizards are limited in reversing petrification beyond spells.
After 1 minute, dispel magic does work against the Flesh to Stone spell (Sage Advice confirmed), but it wouldn't work against Gorgon breath. For that, you'd need at least Greater Restoration. Time to call in the clerics.
Compare to Wall of Stone which specifies that, after concentration ends, the stone is permanent.
I am not sure I agree.
If you are talking about a spell that is active, then I completely agree. Dispel Magic would stop Flesh to Stone if cast during the concentration window. A similar spell "True Polymorph" has the wording "If you concentrate on this spell for the full duration, the spell lasts until it is dispelled".
On the other hand Flesh to Stone says:
"If it fails its saves three times, it is turned to stone and subjected to the petrified condition for the duration."
"If you maintain your concentration on this spell for the entire possible duration, the creature is turned to stone until the effect is removed."
The spell description fairly explicitly says that you need to remove the effect - which is the petrified condition - it doesn't explicitly state "dispelled" as in the case of True Polymorph. I would tend to interpret this to mean that a creature petrified by the flesh to stone spell where concentration is maintained for the full duration would require Greater Restoration to remove the condition rather than Dispel Magic. However, decision is ultimately up to the DM.
P.S. That said :) ... some DMs allow the players to come up with an alchemical solution derived from creatures like a Basilisk to allow lower level parties without access to Greater Restoration, a chance to cure the petrified condition.
A Basilisk has text (right at the bottom, below the stat block) that says their stomach fluids can be turned into an oil that reverts petrification.
Actually the wording is quite confusing.
The only reason for the spell to still be affecting you at the end of the 1 minute of concentration is for you to be under the petrified condition (since you must have failed at least 8 [or 7?] savings throws; since 3 successes ends the spell).
However, the final sentence then changes this "petrified" condition to "the creature is turned to stone until the effect is removed". So the creature is no longer a creature, but is actually turned to stone.
Since the 1 minute of the duration has expired, the spell is no longer active, so the target is no longer under the effects of a magical spell, instead it is simply stone.
In English and D&D, petrified is usually synonymous with being "turned to stone".
"PETRIFIED
• A petrified creature is transformed, along with any nonmagical object it is wearing or carrying, into a solid inanimate substance (usually stone). Its weight increases by a factor of ten, and it ceases aging."
So, when the Flesh to Stone spell ends leaving the creature "turned to stone" ... I usually interpret this to mean as still being petrified. However, since the magic of the spell has ended, dispel magic won't reverse the process. The only way to "end the condition" as described in the spell would be an alchemical solution made from the oil of a basilisks stomach (Thanks Kerrec! I didn't know this was actually in the text for the Basilisk in the MM), Greater Restoration, Wish or whatever else a DM decides to allow.
P.S. Another interesting observation about the petrified condition - Only nonmagical objects are transformed. If you want to loot the magic items from a creature - change it to stone and take whatever falls to the ground :)
Why wouldn't the object be possibly incorporated into the stone?
Yeah, you'd turn it to stone, then get a hammer and chisel to go after the non-stone goodies.
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
The description of the petrified condition says
"PETRIFIED
• A petrified creature is transformed, along with any nonmagical object it is wearing or carrying, into a solid inanimate substance (usually stone). Its weight increases by a factor of ten, and it ceases aging."
It specifically states that only nonmagical objects that it is carrying or wearing are transformed. Any magical items would appear to NOT be transformed into stone ... which I had not noticed before answering the question above.
Whether the items fall to the ground around the creature being transformed to stone or end up embedded in the stone and have to be chipped/broken out (damaging the petrified creature if it is ever restored) is up to the DM to figure out.
Just found this and haven’t seen anyone say it anywhere, but the Tale of the Angel feature in the Bard College of Spirits can also cure the petrified condition