"As an action you can temporarly dismiss your familiar. It disappears into a pocket dimension where it awaits your summon" "Alternativly, you can dissmiss it forever." "You cant have more than one familiar at a time. If you cast this spell while you already have a familiar you insted cause it to adopt a new form"
All these qouts makes me understand it as it is indeed the one and same familliat. Now I dont know about bringing things with it as its not stated by the spell (pg.240 in the phb) but Id say its up to the gm :)
I’m not sure about bringing things back and forth. Largely because many of the familiars don’t have hands they could use to grip the object, though I guess some have talons, but then the object would need to be pretty small. If they could, you’d need to tell it what to bring back, dismiss it, then summon it, since the pocket dimension would count as more than 100 feet away.
So I am planning on being a ritual caster, but I don't want my backup ritual book to get destroyed. So if the answers end up all being a "yes", then I could hide my backup ritual spell book in my familiar's pocket dimension and then retrieve it as needed or if it seems safe.
So I am planning on being a ritual caster, but I don't want my backup ritual book to get destroyed. So if the answers end up all being a "yes", then I could hide my backup ritual spell book in my familiar's pocket dimension and then retrieve it as needed or if it seems safe.
Unless the familiar dies when the original is lost, then you can’t recast it ever. it’s going to be up to your DM, as other said, but it might be a stretch to say a cat could pick up a book and carry it anywhere. It’s going to depend a lot on what kind of familiar you choose. And to take a step back, I wouldn’t worry too much about losing the book. That’s typically a very rare occurrence; most DMs aren’t that mean that they would screw with a player like that.
I don't think it is wise to allow a familiar to take things back to it's pocket dimension to store for the player. It becomes a combination of Familiar and Leomund's Secret Chest in that case. Familiars have their own utility as a first level spell. I don't think we should piggy-back a 4th level spell onto it.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Cum catapultae proscriptae erunt tum soli proscript catapultas habebunt
I don't think it is wise to allow a familiar to take things back to it's pocket dimension to store for the player. It becomes a combination of Familiar and Leomund's Secret Chest in that case. Familiars have their own utility as a first level spell. I don't think we should piggy-back a 4th level spell onto it.
Exactly that.
2) is an absolute no. That's what Leomund's Secret Chest is for.
I don't think it is wise to allow a familiar to take things back to it's pocket dimension to store for the player. It becomes a combination of Familiar and Leomund's Secret Chest in that case. Familiars have their own utility as a first level spell. I don't think we should piggy-back a 4th level spell onto it.
I would allow a Familiar to take something with it - something it could physically or wear, or perhaps one very, very small item that it could carry. But it couldn't "leave it there" when it came back; it would still be wearing or carrying the item(s) in question when it returned, no exceptions.
I mean, if your Wizard wants to invest in barding for his familiar, I see no reason why the barding couldn't come and go along with the Familiar. Or if he wanted his familiar to briefly carry something the size and weight of a ring, a key, or a similar single Tiny-or-smaller object, I'd be fine with that. A Chain Warlock's improved familiar options might be able to manage something slightly larger, because: improved familiars.
But in all cases, it would be far, far less capacity than Leomund's Secret Chest offers.
1) If my familiar dies and I summon a familiar again, is it the same familiar?
2) Can my familiar take objects with it into its pocket dimension?
2.5) If so, can it leave the object in its pocket dimension and then retrieve it later?
1. It’s a spirit that is fey, celestial, or fiend and when it drops to 0 hit points (it doesn’t die) it disappears. You can get it back when recast. I’m sure with DM approval it can be same one or a new spirit. (But can take another form if you want)
2. I would say no it cannot take anything with it. It is a spirit that leaves no physical form if dropped to 0 hit points so I would assume it is similar when it goes to the pocket dimension (no physical form to carry the object)
[NEW] When you dismiss the familiar you conjure with the find familiar spell to its pocket dimension, can it take any objects it’s wearing or carrying with it? No, the intent of find familiar is that any objects are left behind when the familiar vanishes. This intent will be reflected in future printings of the Player’s Handbook.
I hope no one minds me piggy-backing on this thread but I know the caster can do the following when within 100' of the famliar
Communicate telepathically
Use the familiar's sight and hearing
Cast touch spells
However, the spell is silent on whether or not the caster knows the location or at least the direction of the familiar at any time, whether or no within 100'. Is that one of those DM things?
Personally, as sage advice points out, the familiar does not have a secret cubby it goes to and hangs out with stuff. The pocket dimension is more of a stasis cage for the spirit to be held. If you have a generous GM that would allow something to enter the spirits holding cage, it should be something attuned to the spirit at least. I consider the pocket dimension to be a formless gap, maybe even part of the character's own spirit, that the familiar is folded into. When it 'poofs' out of the prime material, it loses the physical manifestation of its form and returns to spirit and incapable of retaining anything it may be carrying.
That said, I think an attuned item to the character that has the familiar which would allow it to return items to the caster as it is recalled would be awesome. Or even something that would allow the spirit to return to its pocket dimension holding a tiny object. I definitely would not allow the dimension to hold an item without the familiar also being inside. But these would be GM calls and you should ask them about options. I have seen some GMs that just treat it as a small box, usable by the caster commanding the familiar to retrieve rings and small gems or whatever you could convince them would fit in a pants pocket.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
IMHO, Earthdawn is still the best fantasy realm, Shadowrun is the best Sci-Fi realm, and Dark Sun is the best D&D realm.
As long as you can communicate telepathically with your familiar it can just tell you where it is. If it doesn't know where it is, or it's location in reference to yours, then that's an issue.
So I am planning on being a ritual caster, but I don't want my backup ritual book to get destroyed. So if the answers end up all being a "yes", then I could hide my backup ritual spell book in my familiar's pocket dimension and then retrieve it as needed or if it seems safe.
Unless the familiar dies when the original is lost, then you can’t recast it ever.
At least until you replace the book and scribe the Find Familiar spell into it again.
I would say no, personally. If a familiar could take items with it into its pocket dimension what would stop a Lich, for example, from having its familiar take its phylactery with it into the pocket dimension?
I hope no one minds me piggy-backing on this thread but I know the caster can do the following when within 100' of the famliar
Communicate telepathically
Use the familiar's sight and hearing
Cast touch spells
However, the spell is silent on whether or not the caster knows the location or at least the direction of the familiar at any time, whether or no within 100'. Is that one of those DM things?
No, but kind of. When not using the senses of the familiar directly you can still freely communicate with it so there's no reason why it wouldn't be able to telepathically communicate its location to you.
Worst case scenario you can just use 2 actions to temporarily dismiss and then re-summon it within 30ft of you.
The rules treat falls as instantaneous. If you're suffering an extremely long fall and the DM opts to break it up over multiple rounds, the rules are silent on whether momentum is preserved when you teleport or otherwise plane shift without physically passing through a portal. If the DM does decide that momentum is preserved, the rest depends on what the DM decides the pocket dimension is like (is it an infinite void? Does it have a floor? How large is it?) The rules don't say anything about that either.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
The Forum Infestation (TM)
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
1) If my familiar dies and I summon a familiar again, is it the same familiar?
2) Can my familiar take objects with it into its pocket dimension?
2.5) If so, can it leave the object in its pocket dimension and then retrieve it later?
"As an action you can temporarly dismiss your familiar. It disappears into a pocket dimension where it awaits your summon"
"Alternativly, you can dissmiss it forever."
"You cant have more than one familiar at a time. If you cast this spell while you already have a familiar you insted cause it to adopt a new form"
All these qouts makes me understand it as it is indeed the one and same familliat. Now I dont know about bringing things with it as its not stated by the spell (pg.240 in the phb) but Id say its up to the gm :)
I’m not sure about bringing things back and forth. Largely because many of the familiars don’t have hands they could use to grip the object, though I guess some have talons, but then the object would need to be pretty small. If they could, you’d need to tell it what to bring back, dismiss it, then summon it, since the pocket dimension would count as more than 100 feet away.
So I am planning on being a ritual caster, but I don't want my backup ritual book to get destroyed. So if the answers end up all being a "yes", then I could hide my backup ritual spell book in my familiar's pocket dimension and then retrieve it as needed or if it seems safe.
.....
when there’s no rule that says no: “it’s up to the dm”
not yes.
theres no rule that a loxodon or Goliath can’t hide a gnome in their rectum. Does that mean it’s a yes that they can?
Watch me on twitch
There’s no rule a tortle can’t remove its shell completely and let someone else wear it either.
Watch me on twitch
Unless the familiar dies when the original is lost, then you can’t recast it ever.
it’s going to be up to your DM, as other said, but it might be a stretch to say a cat could pick up a book and carry it anywhere. It’s going to depend a lot on what kind of familiar you choose.
And to take a step back, I wouldn’t worry too much about losing the book. That’s typically a very rare occurrence; most DMs aren’t that mean that they would screw with a player like that.
I don't think it is wise to allow a familiar to take things back to it's pocket dimension to store for the player. It becomes a combination of Familiar and Leomund's Secret Chest in that case. Familiars have their own utility as a first level spell. I don't think we should piggy-back a 4th level spell onto it.
Cum catapultae proscriptae erunt tum soli proscript catapultas habebunt
Exactly that.
2) is an absolute no. That's what Leomund's Secret Chest is for.
Mega Yahtzee Thread:
Highest 41: brocker2001 (#11,285).
Yahtzee of 2's: Emmber (#36,161).
Lowest 9: JoeltheWalrus (#312), Emmber (#12,505) and Dertinus (#20,953).
I would allow a Familiar to take something with it - something it could physically or wear, or perhaps one very, very small item that it could carry. But it couldn't "leave it there" when it came back; it would still be wearing or carrying the item(s) in question when it returned, no exceptions.
I mean, if your Wizard wants to invest in barding for his familiar, I see no reason why the barding couldn't come and go along with the Familiar. Or if he wanted his familiar to briefly carry something the size and weight of a ring, a key, or a similar single Tiny-or-smaller object, I'd be fine with that. A Chain Warlock's improved familiar options might be able to manage something slightly larger, because: improved familiars.
But in all cases, it would be far, far less capacity than Leomund's Secret Chest offers.
1. It’s a spirit that is fey, celestial, or fiend and when it drops to 0 hit points (it doesn’t die) it disappears. You can get it back when recast. I’m sure with DM approval it can be same one or a new spirit. (But can take another form if you want)
2. I would say no it cannot take anything with it. It is a spirit that leaves no physical form if dropped to 0 hit points so I would assume it is similar when it goes to the pocket dimension (no physical form to carry the object)
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?
#2 is now 'no'. see version 2.5 of Sage Advice
[NEW] When you dismiss the familiar you conjure with the find familiar spell to its pocket dimension, can it take any objects it’s wearing or carrying with it? No, the intent of find familiar is that any objects are left behind when the familiar vanishes. This intent will be reflected in future printings of the Player’s Handbook.
Guide to the Five Factions (PWYW)
Deck of Decks
I hope no one minds me piggy-backing on this thread but I know the caster can do the following when within 100' of the famliar
However, the spell is silent on whether or not the caster knows the location or at least the direction of the familiar at any time, whether or no within 100'. Is that one of those DM things?
Tandor the White, Human Life Cleric
If the spell Find Familiar doesn't say you know where it is at all times - then you don't. The rules only do what they say they do.
Mega Yahtzee Thread:
Highest 41: brocker2001 (#11,285).
Yahtzee of 2's: Emmber (#36,161).
Lowest 9: JoeltheWalrus (#312), Emmber (#12,505) and Dertinus (#20,953).
Personally, as sage advice points out, the familiar does not have a secret cubby it goes to and hangs out with stuff. The pocket dimension is more of a stasis cage for the spirit to be held. If you have a generous GM that would allow something to enter the spirits holding cage, it should be something attuned to the spirit at least. I consider the pocket dimension to be a formless gap, maybe even part of the character's own spirit, that the familiar is folded into. When it 'poofs' out of the prime material, it loses the physical manifestation of its form and returns to spirit and incapable of retaining anything it may be carrying.
That said, I think an attuned item to the character that has the familiar which would allow it to return items to the caster as it is recalled would be awesome. Or even something that would allow the spirit to return to its pocket dimension holding a tiny object. I definitely would not allow the dimension to hold an item without the familiar also being inside. But these would be GM calls and you should ask them about options. I have seen some GMs that just treat it as a small box, usable by the caster commanding the familiar to retrieve rings and small gems or whatever you could convince them would fit in a pants pocket.
IMHO, Earthdawn is still the best fantasy realm, Shadowrun is the best Sci-Fi realm, and Dark Sun is the best D&D realm.
As long as you can communicate telepathically with your familiar it can just tell you where it is. If it doesn't know where it is, or it's location in reference to yours, then that's an issue.
This is the opposite of how rules work in Dungeons and Dragons.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
At least until you replace the book and scribe the Find Familiar spell into it again.
I would say no, personally. If a familiar could take items with it into its pocket dimension what would stop a Lich, for example, from having its familiar take its phylactery with it into the pocket dimension?
No, but kind of. When not using the senses of the familiar directly you can still freely communicate with it so there's no reason why it wouldn't be able to telepathically communicate its location to you.
Worst case scenario you can just use 2 actions to temporarily dismiss and then re-summon it within 30ft of you.
If one were to send the rat into it’s pocket dimension mid fall, would it still have that momentum when you make it reappear?
The rules treat falls as instantaneous. If you're suffering an extremely long fall and the DM opts to break it up over multiple rounds, the rules are silent on whether momentum is preserved when you teleport or otherwise plane shift without physically passing through a portal. If the DM does decide that momentum is preserved, the rest depends on what the DM decides the pocket dimension is like (is it an infinite void? Does it have a floor? How large is it?) The rules don't say anything about that either.
The Forum Infestation (TM)