I have this flowchart I like to post when discussions of bonus action spells pop up. I considered whether I needed to reword it, but it looks like it still works as is :)
When I look at an interpretation, I assume that the general rule does not have to address every specific rule that may create an exception (otherwise there would be no "general" rules). So the Bonus action spellcasting rule operates under "standard" turn gameplay when you interpret it. I also rule that grammar written for the "standard" gameplay is not inherently applicable when exceptions change the parameters of the general rule.
Standard gameplay assumes movement, one bonus action, one action, and one reaction on a turn, so the general rule should be applied in that manner: If you use a bonus action spell, you are limited only to a cantrip with a casting time of one action. "Cantrip" defines the level, and "one action" defines the piece of the turn you can use (and excludes reactions by default because they aren't "action" casting time spells. Because the "standard" turn in gameplay only includes one action, the grammar "a cantrip" in the singular makes sense for the general rule
Action surge creates an exception to "standard" gameplay by allowing two actions in a turn, and since that doesn't change any of the requirements of the spell (cantrip/one action), I would rule the grammar is overruled because the new "turn" no longer universally assumes singular actions on a turn.
Just my two cents, but based on the above I believe the RAI definitely allows action surge to allow two cantrips if a bonus action is cast, so long as those cantrips are single action spells.
The introduction to Xanathar's guide has Ten Things To Remember and includes this phrasing, which is far less singular-specific than the PHB.
If you want to cast a spell that has a casting time of 1 bonus action, remember that you can’t cast any other spells before or after it on the same turn, except for cantrips with a casting time of 1 action.
Not really going into rules texts, but my take is the following:
You can use action surge to cast two full leveled spells with casting time 1 action. That might be even something like a 9th and a 8th level spell in one go.
If you use your bonus action to cast a spell, I do not see anything, that would make it too powerfull to cast one cantrip per action. So, one bonus action spell + 2 cantrips.
The introduction to Xanathar's guide has Ten Things To Remember and includes this phrasing, which is far less singular-specific than the PHB.
If you want to cast a spell that has a casting time of 1 bonus action, remember that you can’t cast any other spells before or after it on the same turn, except for cantrips with a casting time of 1 action.
Wait Texas, are you conceding that Xanathar's cuts against your position? "Cantrips"? I would generally say that PHB > Xanathar's when conflicts emerge, but Xanathar's can be a helpful source for interpreting the intent of ambiguous core rules, and I think the plural cantrips does so here.
I think it all boils down to WotC not foreseeing a situation in which a caster had the potential of having more than one usage of the [Tooltip Not Found] action on a single turn, so they didn't see the need to be that specific about the BA general rule. XgtE shows that, at the very least, the RAI is that the BA rule applies to all instances of the [Tooltip Not Found] action on a single turn.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
The introduction to Xanathar's guide has Ten Things To Remember and includes this phrasing, which is far less singular-specific than the PHB.
If you want to cast a spell that has a casting time of 1 bonus action, remember that you can’t cast any other spells before or after it on the same turn, except for cantrips with a casting time of 1 action.
Wait Texas, are you conceding that Xanathar's cuts against your position? "Cantrips"? I would generally say that PHB > Xanathar's when conflicts emerge, but Xanathar's can be a helpful source for interpreting the intent of ambiguous core rules, and I think the plural cantrips does so here.
Yes. I took a position early on that I felt the wording in the PHB strongly indicated a singular cantrip and now I am presenting supplementary evidence I found that supports the case for multiple cantrips. I am most interested in getting a complete understanding of the rules as written as well as intended even if that means my initial hypothesis doesn't hold up to scrutiny.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"Not all those who wander are lost"
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I have this flowchart I like to post when discussions of bonus action spells pop up. I considered whether I needed to reword it, but it looks like it still works as is :)
"Not all those who wander are lost"
When I look at an interpretation, I assume that the general rule does not have to address every specific rule that may create an exception (otherwise there would be no "general" rules). So the Bonus action spellcasting rule operates under "standard" turn gameplay when you interpret it. I also rule that grammar written for the "standard" gameplay is not inherently applicable when exceptions change the parameters of the general rule.
Standard gameplay assumes movement, one bonus action, one action, and one reaction on a turn, so the general rule should be applied in that manner: If you use a bonus action spell, you are limited only to a cantrip with a casting time of one action. "Cantrip" defines the level, and "one action" defines the piece of the turn you can use (and excludes reactions by default because they aren't "action" casting time spells. Because the "standard" turn in gameplay only includes one action, the grammar "a cantrip" in the singular makes sense for the general rule
Action surge creates an exception to "standard" gameplay by allowing two actions in a turn, and since that doesn't change any of the requirements of the spell (cantrip/one action), I would rule the grammar is overruled because the new "turn" no longer universally assumes singular actions on a turn.
Just my two cents, but based on the above I believe the RAI definitely allows action surge to allow two cantrips if a bonus action is cast, so long as those cantrips are single action spells.
The introduction to Xanathar's guide has Ten Things To Remember and includes this phrasing, which is far less singular-specific than the PHB.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
Not really going into rules texts, but my take is the following:
You can use action surge to cast two full leveled spells with casting time 1 action. That might be even something like a 9th and a 8th level spell in one go.
If you use your bonus action to cast a spell, I do not see anything, that would make it too powerfull to cast one cantrip per action. So, one bonus action spell + 2 cantrips.
But that is just my view balancing wise.
Wait Texas, are you conceding that Xanathar's cuts against your position? "Cantrips"? I would generally say that PHB > Xanathar's when conflicts emerge, but Xanathar's can be a helpful source for interpreting the intent of ambiguous core rules, and I think the plural cantrips does so here.
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.
I think it all boils down to WotC not foreseeing a situation in which a caster had the potential of having more than one usage of the [Tooltip Not Found] action on a single turn, so they didn't see the need to be that specific about the BA general rule. XgtE shows that, at the very least, the RAI is that the BA rule applies to all instances of the [Tooltip Not Found] action on a single turn.
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
Yes. I took a position early on that I felt the wording in the PHB strongly indicated a singular cantrip and now I am presenting supplementary evidence I found that supports the case for multiple cantrips. I am most interested in getting a complete understanding of the rules as written as well as intended even if that means my initial hypothesis doesn't hold up to scrutiny.
"Not all those who wander are lost"