I am currently Dungeon Master for a group that is currently exploring Undermountain. What's in Undermountain...well...a lot of things, but also Drow. Drow who can innately cast Darkness.
This is our impasse: One of our group has a Driftglobe. A player and I have a disagreement as to whether or not the light coming from a Driftglobe illuminates within the Darkness, but does not dispel it, or does the Darkness Spell remove the light completely. I say it does not as I feel the description of the Driftglobe at least infers that the light coming from the Driftglobe is as per the spell, Light. They feel that the wording of the item would allow the light from said item to illuminate the area of the Darkness spell, but not dispel it.
This is the description listed for Driftglobe:
This small sphere of thick glass weighs 1 pound. If you are within 60 feet of it, you can speak its command word and cause it to emanate the light or daylight spell. Once used, the daylight effect can't be used again until the next dawn.
You can speak another command word as an action to make the illuminated globe rise into the air and float no more than 5 feet off the ground. The globe hovers in this way until you or another creature grasps it. If you move more than 60 feet from the hovering globe, it follows you until it is within 60 feet of you. It takes the shortest route to do so. If prevented from moving, the globe sinks gently to the ground and becomes inactive, and its light winks out.
If any of this spell's area overlaps with an area of light created by a spell of 2nd level or lower, the spell that created the light is dispelled.
So if the Darkness overlaps with the Light (cantrip) cast by the Driftglobe, the Darkness dispels the Light spell. On the other hand, the 3rd-level Daylight beats the 2nd-level Darkness.
(The Darkness is not dispelled, but it is illuminated, since Darkness specifies that nonmagical light cant illuminate it. Meaning that magical light clearly can - if it's high enough level not to get dispelled by the Darkness)
The main issue is the wording of the item and it's abilities. They point out that "you can speak its command word and cause it to emanate the light or daylight spell." While I believe they wording implies that the item is casting a spell, they believe that the item is just recreating an effect of those spells.
It seems pretty reasonable to think that when an item confers the ability of a spell, the function adheres to the spell's rules, as if it had been cast. Even though the wording isn't entirely clear, I believe the item can cast Light at will and Daylight once per day. They work normally as if cast in any other way, by any other creature.
I think the key word, is "emanate". Have a look in any number of dictionaries. The general sense is to "spring from" or "come forth from". Within the constructs of the Driftglobe, that means "duplicate the spell and its effects", including Darkness trumping Light, but Daylight trumping Darkness.
The main issue is the wording of the item and it's abilities. They point out that "you can speak its command word and cause it to emanate the light or daylight spell." While I believe they wording implies that the item is casting a spell, they believe that the item is just recreating an effect of those spells.
I mean, whether it's "casting" the spell or "recreating its effects", the level of the spell and its effects are recreated either way, so I don't see how it matter?
The dispelling effect occurs even when there is only overlap of the respective areas. It also affects spells that generate light/darkness as a byproduct.
Be aware that an upcast spell can prevent being canceled.
The dispelling effect occurs even when there is only overlap of the respective areas. It also affects spells that generate light/darkness as a byproduct.
Be aware that an upcast spell can prevent being canceled.
Spells cast from items & racial features, are typically cast at their lowest spell level, but not always.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
The significance of Emanate is that it can only cast light/daylight on itself (normally you cast it on an object you touch).
Not sure what point your trying to make here... the Driftglobe is an object.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I am currently Dungeon Master for a group that is currently exploring Undermountain. What's in Undermountain...well...a lot of things, but also Drow. Drow who can innately cast Darkness.
This is our impasse: One of our group has a Driftglobe. A player and I have a disagreement as to whether or not the light coming from a Driftglobe illuminates within the Darkness, but does not dispel it, or does the Darkness Spell remove the light completely. I say it does not as I feel the description of the Driftglobe at least infers that the light coming from the Driftglobe is as per the spell, Light. They feel that the wording of the item would allow the light from said item to illuminate the area of the Darkness spell, but not dispel it.
This is the description listed for Driftglobe:
This small sphere of thick glass weighs 1 pound. If you are within 60 feet of it, you can speak its command word and cause it to emanate the light or daylight spell. Once used, the daylight effect can't be used again until the next dawn.
You can speak another command word as an action to make the illuminated globe rise into the air and float no more than 5 feet off the ground. The globe hovers in this way until you or another creature grasps it. If you move more than 60 feet from the hovering globe, it follows you until it is within 60 feet of you. It takes the shortest route to do so. If prevented from moving, the globe sinks gently to the ground and becomes inactive, and its light winks out.
Thanks in advance for any advice.
The Driftglobe allows you to cast Light (a cantrip) or daylight (once a day, 3rd-level spell).
The Darkness says
So if the Darkness overlaps with the Light (cantrip) cast by the Driftglobe, the Darkness dispels the Light spell. On the other hand, the 3rd-level Daylight beats the 2nd-level Darkness.
(The Darkness is not dispelled, but it is illuminated, since Darkness specifies that nonmagical light cant illuminate it. Meaning that magical light clearly can - if it's high enough level not to get dispelled by the Darkness)
Search for: silver flame outpost (provides cleric).
The main issue is the wording of the item and it's abilities. They point out that "you can speak its command word and cause it to emanate the light or daylight spell." While I believe they wording implies that the item is casting a spell, they believe that the item is just recreating an effect of those spells.
It seems pretty reasonable to think that when an item confers the ability of a spell, the function adheres to the spell's rules, as if it had been cast. Even though the wording isn't entirely clear, I believe the item can cast Light at will and Daylight once per day. They work normally as if cast in any other way, by any other creature.
I think the key word, is "emanate". Have a look in any number of dictionaries. The general sense is to "spring from" or "come forth from". Within the constructs of the Driftglobe, that means "duplicate the spell and its effects", including Darkness trumping Light, but Daylight trumping Darkness.
I mean, whether it's "casting" the spell or "recreating its effects", the level of the spell and its effects are recreated either way, so I don't see how it matter?
Thanks guys!
Darkness will dispel light, and daylight will dispel darkness.
The dispelling effect occurs even when there is only overlap of the respective areas. It also affects spells that generate light/darkness as a byproduct.
Be aware that an upcast spell can prevent being canceled.
More Interesting Lock Picking Rules
This. Using the Driftglobe to produce Daylight will dispell the Drow's Darkness.
Spells cast from items & racial features, are typically cast at their lowest spell level, but not always.
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
The significance of Emanate is that it can only cast light/daylight on itself (normally you cast it on an object you touch).
Not sure what point your trying to make here... the Driftglobe is an object.
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.