I'm planning a character who's an aasimar divination wizard (essentially flavoured as a full on diviner / mystic), and as such I'd like access to the cleric divination spells as a means to contact and form a stronger connection to my angelic guide. I figured the best way to do this would be to pick up the ritual caster (cleric) feat asap, giving access to augury, commune, divination etc.
My question is, does the wizard's second level feature {spell school} Savant, which allows spells of the wizard's favoured school to be copied into their spell book at half cost, also apply to a ritual spell book from the ritual caster feat?
I find this is a really borderline question since on the one hand, it says it applies to the wizard's spell book and not the wizard's ritual book. But the thing is, who's to say they're not the same book? If not, is there even a substantive difference between a ritual book & a spell book, are they not both just spell books belonging to the wizard?
Rules-wise, it’s not borderline. You use your spellbook to cast your wizard ritual spells, but your cleric ritual book is a mechanically separate thing. Even if it’s the same physical book, the rules draw a clear line between the pages of it that are your wizard spellbook and the pages that are your cleric ritual book.
That said, I would 100% allow a player to benefit from their wizard subclass savant feature with the ritual book if it came up at my table. Most DMs probably would agree.
Seconded to Saga's point... RAW a Ritual Book and a Spellbook are distinctly different objects, even though flavoring doesn't require them both to be distinct literal books, but I'm another DM who would allow a player to apply their Savant to spells specifically applied to their Ritual Book.
I'm planning a character who's an aasimar divination wizard (essentially flavoured as a full on diviner / mystic), and as such I'd like access to the cleric divination spells as a means to contact and form a stronger connection to my angelic guide. I figured the best way to do this would be to pick up the ritual caster (cleric) feat asap, giving access to augury, commune, divination etc.
My question is, does the wizard's second level feature {spell school} Savant, which allows spells of the wizard's favoured school to be copied into their spell book at half cost, also apply to a ritual spell book from the ritual caster feat?
I find this is a really borderline question since on the one hand, it says it applies to the wizard's spell book and not the wizard's ritual book. But the thing is, who's to say they're not the same book? If not, is there even a substantive difference between a ritual book & a spell book, are they not both just spell books belonging to the wizard?
Rules-wise, it’s not borderline. You use your spellbook to cast your wizard ritual spells, but your cleric ritual book is a mechanically separate thing. Even if it’s the same physical book, the rules draw a clear line between the pages of it that are your wizard spellbook and the pages that are your cleric ritual book.
That said, I would 100% allow a player to benefit from their wizard subclass savant feature with the ritual book if it came up at my table. Most DMs probably would agree.
Seconded to Saga's point... RAW a Ritual Book and a Spellbook are distinctly different objects, even though flavoring doesn't require them both to be distinct literal books, but I'm another DM who would allow a player to apply their Savant to spells specifically applied to their Ritual Book.
Watch Crits for Breakfast, an adults-only RP-Heavy Roll20 Livestream at twitch.tv/afterdisbooty
And now you too can play with the amazing art and assets we use in Roll20 for our campaign at Hazel's Emporium