Hello! I am having some trouble figuring out how the net weapon works, and if anybody could answer these questions, that would be great!
1: Are all net attacks made with disadvantage because it is a ranged weapon with a normal reach of 5 feet?
2: The description says: "When you use an action, bonus action, or reaction to attack with a net, you can make only one attack regardless of the number of attacks you can normally make." Does this mean that I could use a bonus action or reaction to attack with a net normally? Could I attack with a net as a bonus action and then attack with a sword as an action? Could I throw out a net as a reaction when I get hit?
Hello! I am having some trouble figuring out how the net weapon works, and if anybody could answer these questions, that would be great!
1: Are all net attacks made with disadvantage because it is a ranged weapon with a normal reach of 5 feet?
2: The description says: "When you use an action, bonus action, or reaction to attack with a net, you can make only one attack regardless of the number of attacks you can normally make." Does this mean that I could use a bonus action or reaction to attack with a net normally? Could I attack with a net as a bonus action and then attack with a sword as an action? Could I throw out a net as a reaction when I get hit?
no it means if you OA or dual wield attack or the like you can only make one even if you used flurry of blows as a monk or something
Net. A Large or smaller creature hit by a net is restrained until it is freed. A net has no effect on creatures that are formless, or creatures that are Huge or larger. A creature can use its action to make a DC 10 Strength check, freeing itself or another creature within its reach on a success. Dealing 5 slashing damage to the net (AC 10) also frees the creature without harming it, ending the effect and destroying the net.
When you use an action, bonus action, or reaction to attack with a net, you can make only one attack regardless of the number of attacks you can normally make.
1: Yes, unless you have the Crossbow Expert feat for close attacks within 5 feet, or Sharpshooter for long ones 10-15 feet out. (Fun fact, you can use Sharpshooter to do damage with nets too!)
2A: The net does not grant you the ability to make Bonus Action or Reaction attacks with it, but if some other feature allows you to make one or more attacks with an Action, Bonus Action, or Reaction, and you use a net for that attack, you can only make one net attack instead of the normal amount that that feature would allow.
2B: If you had a feature that let you make a bonus action attack, then making that attack with a Net would not interfere with your ability to make your normal Action attack(s) with your Longsword.
2C: If you have a feature that lets you make a Ranged Weapon Attack as a reaction on being hit (or if for instance you held an action to make such an attack against the next creature that hits you), then you could use a net. Otherwise, that's not a reaction that characters normally have.
Net. A Large or smaller creature hit by a net is restrained until it is freed. A net has no effect on creatures that are formless, or creatures that are Huge or larger. A creature can use its action to make a DC 10 Strength check, freeing itself or another creature within its reach on a success. Dealing 5 slashing damage to the net (AC 10) also frees the creature without harming it, ending the effect and destroying the net.
When you use an action, bonus action, or reaction to attack with a net, you can make only one attack regardless of the number of attacks you can normally make.
1: Yes, unless you have the Crossbow Expert feat for close attacks within 5 feet, or Sharpshooter for long ones 10-15 feet out. (Fun fact, you can use Sharpshooter to do damage with nets too!)
False. A net is not a ranged weapon, it is a thrown weapon and does not benefit from Sharpshooter.
You have mastered ranged weapons and can make shots that others find impossible. You gain the following benefits:
Attacking at long range doesn't impose disadvantage on your ranged weapon attack rolls.
Your ranged weapon attacks ignore half cover and three-quarters cover.
Before you make an attack with a ranged weapon that you are proficient with, you can choose to take a -5 penalty to the attack roll. If the attack hits, you add +10 to the attack's damage.
Most "thrown" weapons are indeed melee weapons, which Thrown allows you to use as ranged weapons. There are a couple ranged weapons that are thrown, however: Darts and Nets. On a ranged weapon, it's hard to see what (if anything) that property does, but the presence of it certainly isn't enough to make a martial ranged weapon into a melee weapon.
By adding the Thrown property they are clarifying that when you attack with it - you are throwing the item itself - rather than some form of ammunition. At least - that's how I'm deciding to read it.
Also, it's worth pointing out that Dakael's bolding above obfuscated that some of Sharpshooter's bullets looks for "ranged weapon attacks" while others look for "attacks with a ranged weapon." Those are two very different things:
You have mastered ranged weapons and can make shots that others find impossible. You gain the following benefits:
Attacking at long range doesn't impose disadvantage on your ranged weapon attack rolls.
Your ranged weapon attacks ignore half cover and three-quarters cover.
Before you make an attack with a ranged weapon that you are proficient with, you can choose to take a -5 penalty to the attack roll. If the attack hits, you add +10 to the attack's damage.
The first and second bullets don't require a ranged weapon, they require a ranged weapon attack. So, a thrown Dagger, for example, would benefit from those two.
The third bullet instead requires an attack with a ranged weapon. A Dagger, even when thrown, can't qualify for that... but truly ridiculously, an improvised melee weapon attack bash made with a Longbowmight? Probably not RAI :p
Also, it's worth pointing out that Dakael's bolding above obfuscated that some of Sharpshooter's bullets looks for "ranged weapon attacks" while others look for "attacks with a ranged weapon." Those are two very different things:
You have mastered ranged weapons and can make shots that others find impossible. You gain the following benefits:
Attacking at long range doesn't impose disadvantage on your ranged weapon attack rolls.
Your ranged weapon attacks ignore half cover and three-quarters cover.
Before you make an attack with a ranged weapon that you are proficient with, you can choose to take a -5 penalty to the attack roll. If the attack hits, you add +10 to the attack's damage.
The first and second bullets don't require a ranged weapon, they require a ranged weapon attack. So, a thrown Dagger, for example, would benefit from those two.
The third bullets instead requires an attack with a ranged weapon. A Dagger, even when thrown, can't qualify for that... but truly ridiculously, an improvised melee weapon attack bash made with a Longbowmight? Probably not RAI :p
A ranged weapon when used in melee is considered an improvised weapon - and in that specific case it wouldn't count for the third bullet point.
The third bullets instead requires an attack with a ranged weapon. A Dagger, even when thrown, can't qualify for that... but truly ridiculously, an improvised melee weapon attack bash made with a Longbowmight? Probably not RAI :p
A ranged weapon when used in melee is considered an improvised weapon - and in that specific case it wouldn't count for the third bullet point.
Sometimes characters don't have their weapons and have to attack with whatever is at hand. An improvised weapon includes any object you can wield in one or two hands, such as broken glass, a table leg, a frying pan, a wagon wheel, or a dead goblin.
Often, an improvised weapon is similar to an actual weapon and can be treated as such. For example, a table leg is akin to a club. At the DM's option, a character proficient with a weapon can use a similar object as if it were that weapon and use his or her proficiency bonus.
An object that bears no resemblance to a weapon deals 1d4 damage (the DM assigns a damage type appropriate to the object). If a character uses a ranged weapon to make a melee attack, or throws a melee weapon that does not have the thrown property, it also deals 1d4 damage. An improvised thrown weapon has a normal range of 20 feet and a long range of 60 feet.
I wouldn't go so far as to say this is intended, but I don't see language in Chapter 5 that makes a Longbow stop being a martial ranged weapon when you use it to hit someone, only language that tells you that it deals 1d4 damage and doesn't ordinarily benefit from your proficiency bonus.
Now if I can just talk my DM into seeing it that way, my ranged Kensai Monk with Sharpshooter (and Tavern Brawler, if necessary!) is about to get a lot more interesting :p
The third bullets instead requires an attack with a ranged weapon. A Dagger, even when thrown, can't qualify for that... but truly ridiculously, an improvised melee weapon attack bash made with a Longbowmight? Probably not RAI :p
A ranged weapon when used in melee is considered an improvised weapon - and in that specific case it wouldn't count for the third bullet point.
Sometimes characters don't have their weapons and have to attack with whatever is at hand. An improvised weapon includes any object you can wield in one or two hands, such as broken glass, a table leg, a frying pan, a wagon wheel, or a dead goblin.
Often, an improvised weapon is similar to an actual weapon and can be treated as such. For example, a table leg is akin to a club. At the DM's option, a character proficient with a weapon can use a similar object as if it were that weapon and use his or her proficiency bonus.
An object that bears no resemblance to a weapon deals 1d4 damage (the DM assigns a damage type appropriate to the object). If a character uses a ranged weapon to make a melee attack, or throws a melee weapon that does not have the thrown property, it also deals 1d4 damage. An improvised thrown weapon has a normal range of 20 feet and a long range of 60 feet.
I wouldn't go so far as to say this is intended, but I don't see language in Chapter 5 that makes a Longbow stop being a martial ranged weapon when you use it to hit someone, only language that tells you that it deals 1d4 damage and doesn't ordinarily benefit from your proficiency bonus.
Unless you have Tavern Brawler, you are not proficient with Improvised Weapons. So, to benefit from Sharpshooter whilst melee hitting someone with a longbow, you would also need the Tavern Brawler feat.
You are not making an attack with a ranged weapon you are proficient with if you are not proficient with the weapon attack you make.
That's a reasonable gate to put on the interaction, but I think the RAW doesn't require it. It comes down to whether the third bullet of Sharpshooter is saying "an attack with a ranged weapon that you are proficient with" or instead "an attack with a ranged weapon that you are proficient with". Considering that characters are proficient with types of weapons, not with types of attacks (other than the implied-but-unwritten specific exception that you lose your proficiency bonus for improvised attacks made with ranged weapons), I'd say that the first interpretation is more reasonable.
Well as Chicken_Champ pointed out - the improvised weapons rules never call out a ranged weapon as an improvised weapon if used in melee. It just says it does 1d4 damage. So RAW you're using a ranged weapon for an improvised weapon attack - not an improvised weapon for an improvised weapon attack.
Well as Chicken_Champ pointed out - the improvised weapons rules never call out a ranged weapon as an improvised weapon if used in melee. It just says it does 1d4 damage. So RAW you're using a ranged weapon for an improvised weapon attack - not an improvised weapon for an improvised weapon attack.
Clearly it's not RAI - but RAW it works.
Are you quoting this from the Improvised Weapons section of the Weapons section of the PHB?
"Often, an improvised weapon is similar to an actual weapon and can be treated as such. For example, a table leg is akin to a club. At the DM's option, a character proficient with a weapon can use a similar object as if it were that weapon and use his or her proficiency bonus.
An object that bears no resemblance to a weapon deals 1d4 damage (the DM assigns a damage type appropriate to the object). If a character uses a ranged weapon to make a melee attack, or throws a melee weapon that does not have the thrown property, it also deals 1d4 damage. An improvised thrown weapon has a normal range of 20 feet and a long range of 60 feet."
I would assume, you may say incorrectly, that this means that for the attack, the ranged weapon counts as an improvised weapon for the attack not an attack with proficiency. From PHB, Weapons > Weapon Proficiency
"Proficiency with a weapon allows you to add your proficiency bonus to the attack roll for any attack you make with that weapon. If you make an attack roll using a weapon with which you lack proficiency, you do not add your proficiency bonus to the attack roll."
DnD doesn't use proficiency with an attack, but with weapons, so an improvised weapon attack is an attack with an improvised weapon. If you see the Tavern Fighter Feat:
"Accustomed to rough-and-tumble fighting using whatever weapons happen to be at hand, you gain the following benefits:
Increase your Strength or Constitution score by 1, to a maximum of 20.
You are proficient with improvised weapons.
Your unarmed strike uses a d4 for damage.
When you hit a creature with an unarmed strike or an improvised weapon on your turn, you can use a bonus action to attempt to grapple the target."
It doesn't refer to an improvised weapon attack but an attack with an improvised weapon.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Hello! I am having some trouble figuring out how the net weapon works, and if anybody could answer these questions, that would be great!
1: Are all net attacks made with disadvantage because it is a ranged weapon with a normal reach of 5 feet?
2: The description says: "When you use an action, bonus action, or reaction to attack with a net, you can make only one attack regardless of the number of attacks you can normally make." Does this mean that I could use a bonus action or reaction to attack with a net normally? Could I attack with a net as a bonus action and then attack with a sword as an action? Could I throw out a net as a reaction when I get hit?
The three teachings of Tyre:
Nothing is forbidden.
Nothing is sacred.
Nothing is impossible.
Also I stan Tomoe for life
no it means if you OA or dual wield attack or the like you can only make one even if you used flurry of blows as a monk or something
I am leader of the yep cult:https://www.dndbeyond.com/forums/off-topic/adohands-kitchen/82135-yep-cult Pronouns are she/her
1: Yes, unless you have the Crossbow Expert feat for close attacks within 5 feet, or Sharpshooter for long ones 10-15 feet out. (Fun fact, you can use Sharpshooter to do damage with nets too!)
2A: The net does not grant you the ability to make Bonus Action or Reaction attacks with it, but if some other feature allows you to make one or more attacks with an Action, Bonus Action, or Reaction, and you use a net for that attack, you can only make one net attack instead of the normal amount that that feature would allow.
2B: If you had a feature that let you make a bonus action attack, then making that attack with a Net would not interfere with your ability to make your normal Action attack(s) with your Longsword.
2C: If you have a feature that lets you make a Ranged Weapon Attack as a reaction on being hit (or if for instance you held an action to make such an attack against the next creature that hits you), then you could use a net. Otherwise, that's not a reaction that characters normally have.
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.
Thank you all so much for the help!
The three teachings of Tyre:
Nothing is forbidden.
Nothing is sacred.
Nothing is impossible.
Also I stan Tomoe for life
False. A net is not a ranged weapon, it is a thrown weapon and does not benefit from Sharpshooter.
It's listed under Martial Ranged Weapons, though.
Canto alla vita
alla sua bellezza
ad ogni sua ferita
ogni sua carezza!
I sing to life and to its tragic beauty
To pain and to strife, but all that dances through me
The rise and the fall, I've lived through it all!
Sorry boss, but a Net is a martial ranged weapon.
Most "thrown" weapons are indeed melee weapons, which Thrown allows you to use as ranged weapons. There are a couple ranged weapons that are thrown, however: Darts and Nets. On a ranged weapon, it's hard to see what (if anything) that property does, but the presence of it certainly isn't enough to make a martial ranged weapon into a melee weapon.
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.
By adding the Thrown property they are clarifying that when you attack with it - you are throwing the item itself - rather than some form of ammunition. At least - that's how I'm deciding to read it.
Mega Yahtzee Thread:
Highest 41: brocker2001 (#11,285).
Yahtzee of 2's: Emmber (#36,161).
Lowest 9: JoeltheWalrus (#312), Emmber (#12,505) and Dertinus (#20,953).
Also, it's worth pointing out that Dakael's bolding above obfuscated that some of Sharpshooter's bullets looks for "ranged weapon attacks" while others look for "attacks with a ranged weapon." Those are two very different things:
The first and second bullets don't require a ranged weapon, they require a ranged weapon attack. So, a thrown Dagger, for example, would benefit from those two.
The third bullet instead requires an attack with a ranged weapon. A Dagger, even when thrown, can't qualify for that... but truly ridiculously, an improvised melee weapon attack bash made with a Longbow might? Probably not RAI :p
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.
Yeah whoops, I just saw the net info posted and ran with it y'all. My bad lol.
A ranged weapon when used in melee is considered an improvised weapon - and in that specific case it wouldn't count for the third bullet point.Edit:
I was wrong (at least by RAW).
Mega Yahtzee Thread:
Highest 41: brocker2001 (#11,285).
Yahtzee of 2's: Emmber (#36,161).
Lowest 9: JoeltheWalrus (#312), Emmber (#12,505) and Dertinus (#20,953).
The way it's worded in the PHB Chapter 5, the Longbow doesn't stop being a Longbow or a ranged weapon:
I wouldn't go so far as to say this is intended, but I don't see language in Chapter 5 that makes a Longbow stop being a martial ranged weapon when you use it to hit someone, only language that tells you that it deals 1d4 damage and doesn't ordinarily benefit from your proficiency bonus.
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.
Hm you're right - that is unspecific.
Mega Yahtzee Thread:
Highest 41: brocker2001 (#11,285).
Yahtzee of 2's: Emmber (#36,161).
Lowest 9: JoeltheWalrus (#312), Emmber (#12,505) and Dertinus (#20,953).
Now if I can just talk my DM into seeing it that way, my ranged Kensai Monk with Sharpshooter (and Tavern Brawler, if necessary!) is about to get a lot more interesting :p
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.
As incorrect as it is, it would allow for badass archers to emulate the like of Legolas and Green Arrow in melee combat with their bows.
Canto alla vita
alla sua bellezza
ad ogni sua ferita
ogni sua carezza!
I sing to life and to its tragic beauty
To pain and to strife, but all that dances through me
The rise and the fall, I've lived through it all!
Unless you have Tavern Brawler, you are not proficient with Improvised Weapons. So, to benefit from Sharpshooter whilst melee hitting someone with a longbow, you would also need the Tavern Brawler feat.
You are not making an attack with a ranged weapon you are proficient with if you are not proficient with the weapon attack you make.
That's a reasonable gate to put on the interaction, but I think the RAW doesn't require it. It comes down to whether the third bullet of Sharpshooter is saying "an attack with a ranged weapon that you are proficient with" or instead "an attack with a ranged weapon that you are proficient with". Considering that characters are proficient with types of weapons, not with types of attacks (other than the implied-but-unwritten specific exception that you lose your proficiency bonus for improvised attacks made with ranged weapons), I'd say that the first interpretation is more reasonable.
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.
Yes, but in the attack, are you proficient with the weapon you are using if it is an improvised weapon?
Well as Chicken_Champ pointed out - the improvised weapons rules never call out a ranged weapon as an improvised weapon if used in melee. It just says it does 1d4 damage. So RAW you're using a ranged weapon for an improvised weapon attack - not an improvised weapon for an improvised weapon attack.
Clearly it's not RAI - but RAW it works.
Mega Yahtzee Thread:
Highest 41: brocker2001 (#11,285).
Yahtzee of 2's: Emmber (#36,161).
Lowest 9: JoeltheWalrus (#312), Emmber (#12,505) and Dertinus (#20,953).
Are you quoting this from the Improvised Weapons section of the Weapons section of the PHB?
"Often, an improvised weapon is similar to an actual weapon and can be treated as such. For example, a table leg is akin to a club. At the DM's option, a character proficient with a weapon can use a similar object as if it were that weapon and use his or her proficiency bonus.
An object that bears no resemblance to a weapon deals 1d4 damage (the DM assigns a damage type appropriate to the object). If a character uses a ranged weapon to make a melee attack, or throws a melee weapon that does not have the thrown property, it also deals 1d4 damage. An improvised thrown weapon has a normal range of 20 feet and a long range of 60 feet."
I would assume, you may say incorrectly, that this means that for the attack, the ranged weapon counts as an improvised weapon for the attack not an attack with proficiency. From PHB, Weapons > Weapon Proficiency
"Proficiency with a weapon allows you to add your proficiency bonus to the attack roll for any attack you make with that weapon. If you make an attack roll using a weapon with which you lack proficiency, you do not add your proficiency bonus to the attack roll."
DnD doesn't use proficiency with an attack, but with weapons, so an improvised weapon attack is an attack with an improvised weapon. If you see the Tavern Fighter Feat:
"Accustomed to rough-and-tumble fighting using whatever weapons happen to be at hand, you gain the following benefits:
It doesn't refer to an improvised weapon attack but an attack with an improvised weapon.