Can I use a spell that can be casted as a bonus action like Hunter's Mark then use my attack? Master said i couldn't, but that severly limits the utility of a lot of spells
The other rule your DM might be thinking of is if you cast a spell with your bonus action you can not cast another spell that turn unless it is a cantrip with a casting time of one action.
You can cast hunters mark as a bonus action and then attack with your sword, if can even attack them with a cantrip if you have any. What you can not do is cast cure wounds or magic missile on the same turn as casting hunter's mark
Very common tactic. Misty Step in particular works well with the bonus action cast and then attack.
Also you can use bonus action attacks and cast a spell.
Prime example is a high level Wizard using Crown of Stars (4d12, not a concentration spell), while also using the spell Sunbeam (6d8+ blind chance) to make an attack every round.
+ 48 average damage plus blinding each round if you hit and they fail the save, for 7 rounds.
Yes, you can do that. If the spell had somatic or material components, a strict DM might interpret RAW against it, based on needing your hands free to cast the spell, and charging you an action to draw your weapon. But it doesn't. It's just verbal.
Note that you cannot cast Hunter's Mark and make two attacks with two-weapon fighting in the same turn, as the off-hand attack is also a bonus action.
Yes, you can do that. If the spell had somatic or material components, a strict DM might interpret RAW against it, based on needing your hands free to cast the spell, and charging you an action to draw your weapon. But it doesn't. It's just verbal.
Note that you cannot cast Hunter's Mark and make two attacks with two-weapon fighting in the same turn, as the off-hand attack is also a bonus action.
Another notable exception to this in RAW is spells in which the material component can be the weapon you're attacking with, such as in the case of Green-Flame Blade or Booming Blade, or casting shillelagh on a staff, a staff being both usable as a quarter staff and a spell focus capable of replacing material components in addition to being the weapon you're casting the spell upon.
I would have said yes, otherwise the paladins smites are kinda pointless. you BA searing smite then attack otherwise it is Attack, BA, hope you dont get hit and fail your concentration check to use the smite the next turn or it is a wasted spell.
it is still possible that you fail your attack roll and have to hope you keep concentration for the next turn, but that is luck of the die not rules.
The action would be him "Casting a spell". If, for example, the spell chosen was Hunter's Mark, it has a casting time of "Bonus Action". Spells that have a casting time of "Bonus Action", can only be cast if you haven't used a bonus action this turn. It also allows you to cast cantrips with a casting time of one action. You can not cast another spell.
All of this still falls under the action of Casting a Spell. You can't cast a spell as a character's doing a bonus action - that's absurd. Yeah, it's a little clunky, but spells with the casting time of 1 action, bonus action, reaction, etc. they require the player have those actions available for it to be cast. Imagine you have a bank of your actions each turn, when you go to cast a spell, you check your bank to see if you have it, but Casting the Spell as your action is still required to cast the spell.
Yes, most people are using Shield wrong. When someone uses Shield, on another character's turn - that is not RAW. They would have needed to cast shield(preferably out of combat if they're wise), casting it requires 1 reaction *which you take when you are hit by an attack or targeted by the magic missile spell (it's even got a star, people...). This means you can cast Shield and now you have an invisible barrier around you, which doesn't activate until you are HIT by an attack, protecting you just when you needed it. Woah, sorta like the spell's description, huh? Go figure. It does not mean, you can walk around and cast it the moment another NPC has landed an attack. Just think about it for a second... The orc goes to hit you, and then you...in a split second, cast an invisible barrier of...WARDING magic, stopping the attack. Nothing about shield, to me, comes off like it's supposed to be a last-second saving spell. The way it's written, the imagery it conveys, all of it - to me of course - comes off like one cast with forethought and planning by a wisened spellcaster. *gets off soapbox*
Play however you want though, but it's just funny to me when I see a DM or PC sit and debate if they wanna use Shield, to stop a possible attack... like how does that not break immersion more than most things people get hung on up about.
Anyways, so... where are you gaining this extra action to use for your attack, after casting Hunter's Mark? And you didn't say it specifically, but seem to imply this would "severely limit" Hunter's Mark - it does not. If the intended use was for it to work on the same turn you were attacking, they would have worded it the way Favored Foe is, "including when you marked it" or something similar. It seems very much intended that the Ranger marks their target for future attacks. I
Can I use a spell that can be casted as a bonus action like Hunter's Mark then use my attack? Master said i couldn't, but that severly limits the utility of a lot of spells
There is no rule that says you can only use your Bonus Action at the end of your turn, and there is no rule that says casting a spell with your Bonus Action prevents you from then taking the Attack action on the same turn. Going by the rules as written, your Dungeon Master is ruling incorrectly. If they claim they're going by the rules, ask them to point to the rule that prevents you from doing what you're trying to do.
This thread is 18 months old but pretty much everything you say is wrong:
I am not sure what you mean by "You can't cast a spell as a character's doing a bonus action - that's absurd" if a spell has a casting time of "one bonus action" the only way you can cast the spell is by using your bonus action to cast it. It does not require your action to cast a spell unless it says it requires an action
Casting Shield requires "requires 1 reaction *which you take when you are hit by an attack or targeted by the magic missile spell " You can not cast it out of combat because you can only cast it when you are hit by an attack or targeted by a magic missile spell. "A reaction is an instant response to a trigger of some kind, which can occur on your turn or on someone else’s." anything that uses your reaction needs a specific trigger. there are a number of features in D&D which are a little backwards in time. For example a paladin decides after he has seen he has made a critical hit that he will smite the enemy, shield is a bit like that it can be interpretd as being cast as you see the sword bearing down on you and you know it will hit so you quickly create a forcefield over you for the next few seconds but you can argue that you don't know it will hit at that point.
The reason Hunter's mark is not worded like favoured foe is favoured foe does not require a bonus action or an action. Your analagy of having a bank of "things" you can do on your turn is reasonable but the term "action" has a specific meaning in D&D so I would avoid its use here. In general that bank consists of:
An Action
A bonus Action
Movement of to maximum number of feat
An object interaction
A reaction (you get 1 reaction for the whole round so if you use it on your turn you can not do anything that requires a reaction until the star t of your next turn)
Sometimes you can break one of these things up for example you can move part of your movement, then do an action then move some more. Sometimes you can't or choose not to use everything in the bank Many low level character do not have any feature that require a bonus action, if the only thinks you can do that require a bonus action. More often than not during your turn nothing happens that is the trigger to anything you can do that requires a reaction. If you move away from an enemy and they try to attack you you do not have to cast shield. A fighter can action surge to add a second action to their bank.
Anyway Hunter's mark uses your bonus action you still have everything left in your bank including your action.
There is nothing to stop a ranger casting hunter's mark on an enemy with their bonus action, using their action to attack the same foe and marking their traget using favored foe (no action required)
The action would be him "Casting a spell". If, for example, the spell chosen was Hunter's Mark, it has a casting time of "Bonus Action". Spells that have a casting time of "Bonus Action", can only be cast if you haven't used a bonus action this turn. It also allows you to cast cantrips with a casting time of one action. You can not cast another spell.
All of this still falls under the action of Casting a Spell. You can't cast a spell as a character's doing a bonus action - that's absurd. Yeah, it's a little clunky, but spells with the casting time of 1 action, bonus action, reaction, etc. they require the player have those actions available for it to be cast. Imagine you have a bank of your actions each turn, when you go to cast a spell, you check your bank to see if you have it, but Casting the Spell as your action is still required to cast the spell.
I think you may have misunderstood.
The [Tooltip Not Found] "action" isn't really an action, it basically amounts to "read the spell". The spell itself will then specify whether it requires an action, a bonus action, a reaction, or even multiple actions (for a spell with 1 minute, 10 minutes etc. casting time) to actually cast the spell.
It's a bit of a confusing way to do it as it's really just an "action" in the sense that it's something you can do, but how it actually slots into your action economy depends upon the spell(s) you actually want to use. D&D Beyond doesn't help to clarify this as Cast a Spell is only listed under actions, whereas it should really also appear under bonus actions and reactions, since this is how you actually cast those types of spells, though it does list the specific spells that you might want to cast.
Yes, most people are using Shield wrong. When someone uses Shield, on another character's turn - that is not RAW. They would have needed to cast shield(preferably out of combat if they're wise), casting it requires 1 reaction *which you take when you are hit by an attack or targeted by the magic missile spell (it's even got a star, people...). This means you can cast Shield and now you have an invisible barrier around you, which doesn't activate until you are HIT by an attack, protecting you just when you needed it. Woah, sorta like the spell's description, huh? Go figure. It does not mean, you can walk around and cast it the moment another NPC has landed an attack. Just think about it for a second... The orc goes to hit you, and then you...in a split second, cast an invisible barrier of...WARDING magic, stopping the attack. Nothing about shield, to me, comes off like it's supposed to be a last-second saving spell. The way it's written, the imagery it conveys, all of it - to me of course - comes off like one cast with forethought and planning by a wisened spellcaster. *gets off soapbox*
Shield is an example of a spell that is cast as a reaction, i.e- when you are hit by an attack, you can use Cast a Spell as a reaction in order to cast shield, boosting your AC and potentially turning the hit into a miss, as well as protecting you until the start of your next turn.
You do not need to cast it during your turn, you just wait until you are hit.
Now, many people like to narrate shield as some kind of persistent spell on their character, and the reaction represents it triggering automatically, because that's cool, but it's pure flavour; how it works mechanically is you get hit, so you cast it as a reaction. So you can just as easily frame it as something active like throwing up a sudden energy barrier or whatever.
Anyways, so... where are you gaining this extra action to use for your attack, after casting Hunter's Mark? And you didn't say it specifically, but seem to imply this would "severely limit" Hunter's Mark - it does not. If the intended use was for it to work on the same turn you were attacking, they would have worded it the way Favored Foe is, "including when you marked it" or something similar. It seems very much intended that the Ranger marks their target for future attacks. I
If the OP (who posted two years ago btw) casts hunter's mark then they have only used their bonus action, their main action is unused at that point. As pwhimp pointed out, we can choose what order to resolve our bonus action and action (and free object interaction) during our turn, so they can mark first, then immediately attack the same target to benefit from the bonus damage on the same turn.
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
It does not mean, you can walk around and cast it the moment another NPC has landed an attack. Just think about it for a second... The orc goes to hit you, and then you...in a split second, cast an invisible barrier of...WARDING magic, stopping the attack.
RAW that's literally exactly how Shield works what are you talking about...
Can I use a spell that can be casted as a bonus action like Hunter's Mark then use my attack? Master said i couldn't, but that severly limits the utility of a lot of spells
"You choose when to take a bonus action during your turn, unless the bonus action's timing is specified"
https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/basic-rules/combat
The other rule your DM might be thinking of is if you cast a spell with your bonus action you can not cast another spell that turn unless it is a cantrip with a casting time of one action.
You can cast hunters mark as a bonus action and then attack with your sword, if can even attack them with a cantrip if you have any. What you can not do is cast cure wounds or magic missile on the same turn as casting hunter's mark
Very common tactic. Misty Step in particular works well with the bonus action cast and then attack.
Also you can use bonus action attacks and cast a spell.
Prime example is a high level Wizard using Crown of Stars (4d12, not a concentration spell), while also using the spell Sunbeam (6d8+ blind chance) to make an attack every round.
+ 48 average damage plus blinding each round if you hit and they fail the save, for 7 rounds.
Yes, you can do that. If the spell had somatic or material components, a strict DM might interpret RAW against it, based on needing your hands free to cast the spell, and charging you an action to draw your weapon. But it doesn't. It's just verbal.
Note that you cannot cast Hunter's Mark and make two attacks with two-weapon fighting in the same turn, as the off-hand attack is also a bonus action.
Another notable exception to this in RAW is spells in which the material component can be the weapon you're attacking with, such as in the case of Green-Flame Blade or Booming Blade, or casting shillelagh on a staff, a staff being both usable as a quarter staff and a spell focus capable of replacing material components in addition to being the weapon you're casting the spell upon.
I would have said yes, otherwise the paladins smites are kinda pointless. you BA searing smite then attack otherwise it is Attack, BA, hope you dont get hit and fail your concentration check to use the smite the next turn or it is a wasted spell.
it is still possible that you fail your attack roll and have to hope you keep concentration for the next turn, but that is luck of the die not rules.
The action would be him "Casting a spell". If, for example, the spell chosen was Hunter's Mark, it has a casting time of "Bonus Action". Spells that have a casting time of "Bonus Action", can only be cast if you haven't used a bonus action this turn. It also allows you to cast cantrips with a casting time of one action. You can not cast another spell.
All of this still falls under the action of Casting a Spell. You can't cast a spell as a character's doing a bonus action - that's absurd. Yeah, it's a little clunky, but spells with the casting time of 1 action, bonus action, reaction, etc. they require the player have those actions available for it to be cast. Imagine you have a bank of your actions each turn, when you go to cast a spell, you check your bank to see if you have it, but Casting the Spell as your action is still required to cast the spell.
Yes, most people are using Shield wrong. When someone uses Shield, on another character's turn - that is not RAW. They would have needed to cast shield(preferably out of combat if they're wise), casting it requires 1 reaction *which you take when you are hit by an attack or targeted by the magic missile spell (it's even got a star, people...). This means you can cast Shield and now you have an invisible barrier around you, which doesn't activate until you are HIT by an attack, protecting you just when you needed it. Woah, sorta like the spell's description, huh? Go figure. It does not mean, you can walk around and cast it the moment another NPC has landed an attack. Just think about it for a second... The orc goes to hit you, and then you...in a split second, cast an invisible barrier of...WARDING magic, stopping the attack. Nothing about shield, to me, comes off like it's supposed to be a last-second saving spell. The way it's written, the imagery it conveys, all of it - to me of course - comes off like one cast with forethought and planning by a wisened spellcaster. *gets off soapbox*
Play however you want though, but it's just funny to me when I see a DM or PC sit and debate if they wanna use Shield, to stop a possible attack... like how does that not break immersion more than most things people get hung on up about.
Anyways, so... where are you gaining this extra action to use for your attack, after casting Hunter's Mark? And you didn't say it specifically, but seem to imply this would "severely limit" Hunter's Mark - it does not. If the intended use was for it to work on the same turn you were attacking, they would have worded it the way Favored Foe is, "including when you marked it" or something similar. It seems very much intended that the Ranger marks their target for future attacks. I
There is no rule that says you can only use your Bonus Action at the end of your turn, and there is no rule that says casting a spell with your Bonus Action prevents you from then taking the Attack action on the same turn. Going by the rules as written, your Dungeon Master is ruling incorrectly. If they claim they're going by the rules, ask them to point to the rule that prevents you from doing what you're trying to do.
This thread is 18 months old but pretty much everything you say is wrong:
I am not sure what you mean by "You can't cast a spell as a character's doing a bonus action - that's absurd" if a spell has a casting time of "one bonus action" the only way you can cast the spell is by using your bonus action to cast it. It does not require your action to cast a spell unless it says it requires an action
Casting Shield requires "requires 1 reaction *which you take when you are hit by an attack or targeted by the magic missile spell " You can not cast it out of combat because you can only cast it when you are hit by an attack or targeted by a magic missile spell. "A reaction is an instant response to a trigger of some kind, which can occur on your turn or on someone else’s." anything that uses your reaction needs a specific trigger. there are a number of features in D&D which are a little backwards in time. For example a paladin decides after he has seen he has made a critical hit that he will smite the enemy, shield is a bit like that it can be interpretd as being cast as you see the sword bearing down on you and you know it will hit so you quickly create a forcefield over you for the next few seconds but you can argue that you don't know it will hit at that point.
The reason Hunter's mark is not worded like favoured foe is favoured foe does not require a bonus action or an action. Your analagy of having a bank of "things" you can do on your turn is reasonable but the term "action" has a specific meaning in D&D so I would avoid its use here. In general that bank consists of:
Sometimes you can break one of these things up for example you can move part of your movement, then do an action then move some more. Sometimes you can't or choose not to use everything in the bank Many low level character do not have any feature that require a bonus action, if the only thinks you can do that require a bonus action. More often than not during your turn nothing happens that is the trigger to anything you can do that requires a reaction. If you move away from an enemy and they try to attack you you do not have to cast shield. A fighter can action surge to add a second action to their bank.
Anyway Hunter's mark uses your bonus action you still have everything left in your bank including your action.
There is nothing to stop a ranger casting hunter's mark on an enemy with their bonus action, using their action to attack the same foe and marking their traget using favored foe (no action required)
I think you may have misunderstood.
The [Tooltip Not Found] "action" isn't really an action, it basically amounts to "read the spell". The spell itself will then specify whether it requires an action, a bonus action, a reaction, or even multiple actions (for a spell with 1 minute, 10 minutes etc. casting time) to actually cast the spell.
It's a bit of a confusing way to do it as it's really just an "action" in the sense that it's something you can do, but how it actually slots into your action economy depends upon the spell(s) you actually want to use. D&D Beyond doesn't help to clarify this as Cast a Spell is only listed under actions, whereas it should really also appear under bonus actions and reactions, since this is how you actually cast those types of spells, though it does list the specific spells that you might want to cast.
Shield is an example of a spell that is cast as a reaction, i.e- when you are hit by an attack, you can use Cast a Spell as a reaction in order to cast shield, boosting your AC and potentially turning the hit into a miss, as well as protecting you until the start of your next turn.
You do not need to cast it during your turn, you just wait until you are hit.
Now, many people like to narrate shield as some kind of persistent spell on their character, and the reaction represents it triggering automatically, because that's cool, but it's pure flavour; how it works mechanically is you get hit, so you cast it as a reaction. So you can just as easily frame it as something active like throwing up a sudden energy barrier or whatever.
If the OP (who posted two years ago btw) casts hunter's mark then they have only used their bonus action, their main action is unused at that point. As pwhimp pointed out, we can choose what order to resolve our bonus action and action (and free object interaction) during our turn, so they can mark first, then immediately attack the same target to benefit from the bonus damage on the same turn.
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
RAW that's literally exactly how Shield works what are you talking about...
"To die would be an awfully big adventure"