@JeremyECrawford If the ranger uses both their bonus action and sacrifices their attack to command the primal companion to take the attack action, can the primal companion take the attack action twice on its turn?
And that, right there, is the hiccup. Because multiple commands can be issued, and because there's no clarification on resolution if such a thing were to occur, the feature is just nebulous enough that a DM would not be wrong in allowing it.
Again, I'm not saying you have to like it. I don't even like it, and it's one I would personally disallow. But I will maintain it's a valid interpretation because the DM has to make a call. And, in my opinion, the permissions granted by a specific subclass feature trump the general rule.
DMs are never wrong in allowing anything. But allowing it here would unambiguously violate a rule. The rules do not specifically say what happens, but they do specifically say what doesn't happen. When the rules say "you can't do X," you can't use the lack of the rules saying "you CAN do Y" as evidence that you can, actually, do X.
Permissions granted by specific subclass features definitely trump general rules! Specific beats general, there's no argument there. But, again, and I cannot stress this enough, you continue to not provide any specific rule that would trump the general rule.
I can't think of anywhere the rules actually use prohibitive language. By and large, everything is written in the affirmative. The rules tell you what you can do, not what you cannot.
The ranger can issue multiple commands, so logically those multiple commands would be followed through on.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I just tweeted this…
@JeremyECrawford If the ranger uses both their bonus action and sacrifices their attack to command the primal companion to take the attack action, can the primal companion take the attack action twice on its turn?
I can't think of anywhere the rules actually use prohibitive language. By and large, everything is written in the affirmative. The rules tell you what you can do, not what you cannot.
The ranger can issue multiple commands, so logically those multiple commands would be followed through on.