The spell itself must target a creature. While the created 'blade' can target creatures for attacks, the spell itself when being cast doesn't target a creature - it targets a space you can see within 60 ft. Note also, that the spell never describes you/the blade targeting a creature, just that you make a blade with which to make two attacks to creatures or objects within 5 ft of it.
Essentially, you cannot twin this spell for the same reason you cannot twin Shadow Blade or Spiritual Weapon: it doesn't target a creature, it just creates a weapon and lets you use it for attacks as a bonus action.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
The spell itself must target a creature. While the created 'blade' can target creatures for attacks, the spell itself when being cast doesn't target a creature - it targets a space you can see within 60 ft. Note also, that the spell never describes you/the blade targeting a creature, just that you make a blade with which to make two attacks to creatures or objects within 5 ft of it.
Essentially, you cannot twin this spell for the same reason you cannot twin Shadow Blade or Spiritual Weapon: it doesn't target a creature, it just creates a weapon and lets you use it for attacks as a bonus action.
This is six whether you count one half dozen or another, but I would argue the spell does target multiple creatures (it doesn't have to, but it can, which is the reason the twin rule says "incapable" so the fact that it can disqualifies it)...the blades attacks are described as melee spell attacks, not weapon attacks, so I would argue the attacks on creatures by the blade is part of the spell's targeting...Either way, you can't twin it though.
spiritual weapon uses the same language, and shadow blade doesn't (it implies normal weapon attacks), but that spell targets self, so it is ineligible for that reason
It doesn't have a range of self, and it is a single target attack, but it makes two attacks, so I am not sure. Blade of Disaster
The spell doesn't target a single creature, so No you can't.
"To be eligible, a spell must be incapable of targeting more than one creature at the spell’s current level."
The spell itself must target a creature. While the created 'blade' can target creatures for attacks, the spell itself when being cast doesn't target a creature - it targets a space you can see within 60 ft. Note also, that the spell never describes you/the blade targeting a creature, just that you make a blade with which to make two attacks to creatures or objects within 5 ft of it.
Essentially, you cannot twin this spell for the same reason you cannot twin Shadow Blade or Spiritual Weapon: it doesn't target a creature, it just creates a weapon and lets you use it for attacks as a bonus action.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
This is six whether you count one half dozen or another, but I would argue the spell does target multiple creatures (it doesn't have to, but it can, which is the reason the twin rule says "incapable" so the fact that it can disqualifies it)...the blades attacks are described as melee spell attacks, not weapon attacks, so I would argue the attacks on creatures by the blade is part of the spell's targeting...Either way, you can't twin it though.
spiritual weapon uses the same language, and shadow blade doesn't (it implies normal weapon attacks), but that spell targets self, so it is ineligible for that reason
Thank god you can't
That would be FAR too OP