I have 2 questions about Thrown Weapon Fighting and how it interacts with other stuff
1) The first thing I wanna ask is how does Thrown Weapon Fighting interact with magic stone? Do the stones count as thrown weapons? Or are they ranged weapons?
2) Does the dart become amazing with this style? Cause darts are simple ranged weapons with the thrown property, and as such, I can use both sharpshooter plus Thrown Weapon Fighting. Cause if the rules work then I can so the -5 and get a plus +12. I can then use it in conjunction with the artificer returning weapon and get another +1 so I'll have d4+5+1+2+10=d4+18 XD and with 11 lvl in fighter I'll have 3d4+54 with a +8 to hit.
Also since you make a ranged spell attack does the magic stone also act in a similar way like the dart?
Magic Stone says you can make a Ranged Spell Attack with them - or hurl them with a Sling (a Ranged Weapon). In both cases they're Ranged attacks - and it makes no mention of them having the Thrown property - so there would be no interaction with the Fighting Style.
Yes Darts do work with both the Fighting Style and Sharpshooter - because they are in the (almost) unique position of being Ranged weapons and having the Thrown property (the only other one is the Net).
You can use Sharpshooter with Magic Stone - but only if you use a Sling to attack with them - because Sharpshooter requires using a Ranged Weapon - and just throwing the stones would be Ranged Spell Attacks (not weapon attacks).
I'm sure there's a bit more nuance to the rules than that - but those are my thoughts from a quick reading of each.
Well, not specifically that, but yes. The spell does not say they are weapons.
When hurled by the sling, you follow the rules for a sling, except it is a ranged spell attack and replaces attack mod and damage like spell effect says.
[Edit]Removed suggesting it is a weapon attack, it is a ranged spell attack made with a ranged weapon (sharpshooter and archery still work with it).
I have a question about the magic stone, lets say I'm using a warlock at lvl 17 with 20 Chr and 20 Dex and I have a rod of the pact keeper +3. If I use a sling to hurl the pebble, do I use 6+5 from the dex mod or do I use 6+5+3 from the spellcasting mod cause of the Chr? Or does it only apply to the throwing of the stone?
If you throw the stone it's a spell attack and uses your spellcasting ability modifier. If you use a sling it's a weapon attack and uses whatever stat you are allowed to use for weapon attacks. Normally that's Dexterity as it's a Ranged weapon - but a Hexblade could replace it with Charisma if it's their hex weapon.
I have a question about the magic stone, lets say I'm using a warlock at lvl 17 with 20 Chr and 20 Dex and I have a rod of the pact keeper +3. If I use a sling to hurl the pebble, do I use 6+5 from the dex mod or do I use 6+5+3 from the spellcasting mod cause of the Chr? Or does it only apply to the throwing of the stone?
If you throw the stone it's a spell attack and uses your spellcasting ability modifier. If you use a sling it's a weapon attack and uses whatever stat you are allowed to use for weapon attacks. Normally that's Dexterity as it's a Ranged weapon - but a Hexblade could replace it with Charisma if it's their hex weapon.
It uses your spellcasting modifier (14 in this example) whether you throw it or use a sling. The spell description says it is a ranged spell attack in both cases and uses the spell's mod and damage (from the caster) in both cases.
The only thing using a sling changes is the range and that it is now a spell attack with a weapon.
I've been talking to my DM about this, and says Bonus Action Two Weapon Fighting and Thrown Weapons Fighting do not mix. Else where I've found people saying it does work. If I'm throwing daggers can I:
1. Attack with thrown dagger
2. Bonus Action Two Weapon Fighting: Attack with Second dagger.
He is saying this doesn't work because of the TWF description: When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon that you're holding in one hand, you can use a bonus action to attack with a different light melee weapon that you're holding in the other hand. You don't add your ability modifier to the damage of the bonus attack, unless that modifier is negative.
In other words, the two do not work together because I would have to be holding the other dagger my hand. Does this make sense? If it does, that really only means if you wanted to play a knife thrower... you can only ever throw 1D4 + (X +2) for damage...?
I've been talking to my DM about this, and says Bonus Action Two Weapon Fighting and Thrown Weapons Fighting do not mix. Else where I've found people saying it does work. If I'm throwing daggers can I:
1. Attack with thrown dagger
2. Bonus Action Two Weapon Fighting: Attack with Second dagger.
He is saying this doesn't work because of the TWF description: When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon that you're holding in one hand, you can use a bonus action to attack with a different light melee weapon that you're holding in the other hand. You don't add your ability modifier to the damage of the bonus attack, unless that modifier is negative.
In other words, the two do not work together because I would have to be holding the other dagger my hand. Does this make sense? If it does, that really only means if you wanted to play a knife thrower... you can only ever throw 1D4 + (X +2) for damage...?
As long as you were already holding the second dagger when you threw the first one, you meet the conditions.
In order to throw a dagger you must first be holding it - right? So as long as you were holding both daggers before making the initial attack - you can two-weapon fighting.
See the second paragraph of Two-Weapon fighting, "If either weapon has the thrown property, you can throw the weapon, instead of making a melee attack with it."
A question. On character sheet damage is not calculated, example if Fighter has +3 STR and he has this fighting style on ranged attack with dart damage bonus should +5, but it remains +3. Is this a known issue on DnD Beyond char sheets?
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I have 2 questions about Thrown Weapon Fighting and how it interacts with other stuff
1) The first thing I wanna ask is how does Thrown Weapon Fighting interact with magic stone? Do the stones count as thrown weapons? Or are they ranged weapons?
2) Does the dart become amazing with this style? Cause darts are simple ranged weapons with the thrown property, and as such, I can use both sharpshooter plus Thrown Weapon Fighting. Cause if the rules work then I can so the -5 and get a plus +12. I can then use it in conjunction with the artificer returning weapon and get another +1 so I'll have d4+5+1+2+10=d4+18 XD and with 11 lvl in fighter I'll have 3d4+54 with a +8 to hit.
Also since you make a ranged spell attack does the magic stone also act in a similar way like the dart?
I'm sure there's a bit more nuance to the rules than that - but those are my thoughts from a quick reading of each.
Mega Yahtzee Thread:
Highest 41: brocker2001 (#11,285).
Yahtzee of 2's: Emmber (#36,161).
Lowest 9: JoeltheWalrus (#312), Emmber (#12,505) and Dertinus (#20,953).
The second sentence of the Thrown Weapon Fighting style doesn't say that the weapon must have the Thrown property so it should work with any weapon that you throw. Similar to how the first two sentence of Sharpshooter applies to all weapon attacks made at range, even if they are not classified as ranged weapons.
Canto alla vita
alla sua bellezza
ad ogni sua ferita
ogni sua carezza!
I sing to life and to its tragic beauty
To pain and to strife, but all that dances through me
The rise and the fall, I've lived through it all!
Because it's a spell attack?
Canto alla vita
alla sua bellezza
ad ogni sua ferita
ogni sua carezza!
I sing to life and to its tragic beauty
To pain and to strife, but all that dances through me
The rise and the fall, I've lived through it all!
Well, not specifically that, but yes. The spell does not say they are weapons.
When hurled by the sling, you follow the rules for a sling, except it is a ranged spell attack and replaces attack mod and damage like spell effect says.
[Edit]Removed suggesting it is a weapon attack, it is a ranged spell attack made with a ranged weapon (sharpshooter and archery still work with it).
I have a question about the magic stone, lets say I'm using a warlock at lvl 17 with 20 Chr and 20 Dex and I have a rod of the pact keeper +3. If I use a sling to hurl the pebble, do I use 6+5 from the dex mod or do I use 6+5+3 from the spellcasting mod cause of the Chr? Or does it only apply to the throwing of the stone?
If you throw the stone it's a spell attack and uses your spellcasting ability modifier. If you use a sling it's a weapon attack and uses whatever stat you are allowed to use for weapon attacks. Normally that's Dexterity as it's a Ranged weapon - but a Hexblade could replace it with Charisma if it's their hex weapon.Ignore this. I was wrong.
Mega Yahtzee Thread:
Highest 41: brocker2001 (#11,285).
Yahtzee of 2's: Emmber (#36,161).
Lowest 9: JoeltheWalrus (#312), Emmber (#12,505) and Dertinus (#20,953).
It uses your spellcasting modifier (14 in this example) whether you throw it or use a sling. The spell description says it is a ranged spell attack in both cases and uses the spell's mod and damage (from the caster) in both cases.
The only thing using a sling changes is the range and that it is now a spell attack with a weapon.
Thanks mate
Follow up question....
I've been talking to my DM about this, and says Bonus Action Two Weapon Fighting and Thrown Weapons Fighting do not mix. Else where I've found people saying it does work. If I'm throwing daggers can I:
1. Attack with thrown dagger
2. Bonus Action Two Weapon Fighting: Attack with Second dagger.
He is saying this doesn't work because of the TWF description: When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon that you're holding in one hand, you can use a bonus action to attack with a different light melee weapon that you're holding in the other hand. You don't add your ability modifier to the damage of the bonus attack, unless that modifier is negative.
In other words, the two do not work together because I would have to be holding the other dagger my hand. Does this make sense? If it does, that really only means if you wanted to play a knife thrower... you can only ever throw 1D4 + (X +2) for damage...?
As long as you were already holding the second dagger when you threw the first one, you meet the conditions.
In order to throw a dagger you must first be holding it - right? So as long as you were holding both daggers before making the initial attack - you can two-weapon fighting.
Mega Yahtzee Thread:
Highest 41: brocker2001 (#11,285).
Yahtzee of 2's: Emmber (#36,161).
Lowest 9: JoeltheWalrus (#312), Emmber (#12,505) and Dertinus (#20,953).
See the second paragraph of Two-Weapon fighting, "If either weapon has the thrown property, you can throw the weapon, instead of making a melee attack with it."
How do I get thrown weapon as a fighting style ?
By choosing a Ranger or Fighter's Fighting Style via class or feat (Fighting initiate)
So I have an echo knight but it dosent show it as an option anysourcebook I need ?
Thrown Weapon Fighting is an optional rule from Tasha's so you need TCoE and optional features enabled when creating your character.
Thankyou:)
A question. On character sheet damage is not calculated, example if Fighter has +3 STR and he has this fighting style on ranged attack with dart damage bonus should +5, but it remains +3. Is this a known issue on DnD Beyond char sheets?