So Gollum, Boromir, and Saruman the White, a lvl 5 party were fighting against an Eldritch Abomination that the DM brewed up on his own. Throughout the battle, we had discovered the Abom also had spells to cast. Gollum used its reaction to counterspell the first spell it threw at us before combat ensued. However, it wasn't until it was the Abom's turn that it tried to cast another spell that Gollum began to counterspell it. The Abom tried to counterspell this counterspell to the non-cantrip spell he was already casting. Looking at the player's handbook, it does state that you cannot cast more, 1 as an action and as a bonus action during your turn as per page 204 PHB. However, with reactions on page 190 PHB explains reactions as the action you can take on your turn or someone else's. The question is on the subject if the Abomination was able to cast his spell as an action only to immediately cast a counterspell to cover itself?
The Abom hasn't used a bonus action to cast a spell, therefore he isn't limited to casting only cantrips on the same turn, therefore he can cast counterspell in order to prevent the counterspell that Gollum cast at him.
The PHB reference in my book is page 202, and it is in the section relating to spells with a casting time of bonus action, so doesn't apply in your case.
Casting a spell as an action does not inhibit reaction casting. The only restriction is if you cast a spell as a bonus action. Thus if you cast a spell with your action and it gets counterspelled, you can then counterspell the counterspell (provided you can see the caster). If you instead cast a spell with your bonus action, you cannot counter the counter, no matter what you do with your action.
Yeah, that bonus action spell rule takes a few reads to fully understand it. It trips up new players a lot.
But as others said, it only applies if a spell is (or will be) cast using a bonus action that turn. Countering a counter while casting a spell is entirely intended game mechanics.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So Gollum, Boromir, and Saruman the White, a lvl 5 party were fighting against an Eldritch Abomination that the DM brewed up on his own. Throughout the battle, we had discovered the Abom also had spells to cast. Gollum used its reaction to counterspell the first spell it threw at us before combat ensued. However, it wasn't until it was the Abom's turn that it tried to cast another spell that Gollum began to counterspell it. The Abom tried to counterspell this counterspell to the non-cantrip spell he was already casting. Looking at the player's handbook, it does state that you cannot cast more, 1 as an action and as a bonus action during your turn as per page 204 PHB. However, with reactions on page 190 PHB explains reactions as the action you can take on your turn or someone else's. The question is on the subject if the Abomination was able to cast his spell as an action only to immediately cast a counterspell to cover itself?
The Abom hasn't used a bonus action to cast a spell, therefore he isn't limited to casting only cantrips on the same turn, therefore he can cast counterspell in order to prevent the counterspell that Gollum cast at him.
The PHB reference in my book is page 202, and it is in the section relating to spells with a casting time of bonus action, so doesn't apply in your case.
Casting a spell as an action does not inhibit reaction casting. The only restriction is if you cast a spell as a bonus action. Thus if you cast a spell with your action and it gets counterspelled, you can then counterspell the counterspell (provided you can see the caster). If you instead cast a spell with your bonus action, you cannot counter the counter, no matter what you do with your action.
Yeah, that bonus action spell rule takes a few reads to fully understand it. It trips up new players a lot.
But as others said, it only applies if a spell is (or will be) cast using a bonus action that turn. Countering a counter while casting a spell is entirely intended game mechanics.