Greetings, Im a bit confused...could a Bard cast a spell as an attack, and then separately use a cantrip as an action in the same turn? Seems like this would be considered two actions, but I am not certain. Thanks in advance...https://tweakbox.mobi/
If a Spell can be casted as a Bonus Action (for example Guardian of Nature ) you can cast the spell and a Cantrip in the same turn. But that is the only way you could cast both a Spell and a Cantrip in the same turn.
You can not cast a Bonus Action Spell and another Spell in the same turn tho, it only works with Cantrips.
Greetings, Im a bit confused...could a Bard cast a spell as an attack, and then separately use a cantrip as an action in the same turn? Seems like this would be considered two actions, but I am not certain. Thanks in advance...
You get one Action on your turn, you can use it either to Cast A Spell(which may involve making an attack, but you're still Casting A Spell), or Attack(which by default means making a single weapon attack, though many classes gain the ability to make multiple attacks within a single Attack action). There are other things you can do with your Action, but they aren't important for this topic. You also can also do something as a Bonus Action on your turn, but despite its name it's not simply "another Action". More descriptive terms might be "Quick Action" or "Minor Action". Certain class abilities or feats will allow you to do something as a Bonus Action. Certain spells have a casting time of "1 Bonus Action", etc. Things that take your Bonus Action and things that take your Action are not interchangeable, unless the description explicitly says you can do both. For example, Druids can use their Action to Wild Shape, Circle Of The Moon Druids can also do it as either their Action OR Bonus Action, depending on which makes more sense at the time. Only one class by default gets an ability to take more than one Action on a turn, and that's the Fighter with Action Surge. Once per Short Rest they can choose to take a second Action on the same turn.
Theoretically, a Bard could use their Action to cast one spell, and their Bonus Action to cast another, provided the spells have the approriate casting times. The deal with it being a spell and a cantrip comes from a specific rule. If you cast a spell using your Bonus Action, like Misty Step or Healing Word, you can't cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 Action. So if a Bard uses their Bonus Action to cast Healing Word on their ally, they couldn't use their Action on the same turn to cast Hold Person on the bandit captain attacking them. The Bard COULD however use their Action to cast Vicious Mockery on that bandit captain. Of course, if the Bard had used their Bonus Action for something else, like giving Bardic Inspiration to their ally, then they can use their Action to cast a spell of any level. That Fighter I mentioned above? If they're an Eldritch Knight for example, they could cast Fireball with their Action, use Action Surge and cast ANOTHER Fireball. But if they had started their turn by using their Bonus Action for Misty Step, they wouldn't be able to cast Fireball even once.
You get (without special class abilities or other effects) one action, one reaction, and one bonus action on your turn
The Action can only be used on your turn, and can be used to attack (the "attack" action), to cast a spell that takes one action (the "cast a spell" action), or any other action in the rules
The Bonus Action can only be used on your turn, and only for things that are listed as Bonus actions (so if you don't have anything that is listed as a Bonus Action, you can't use this). If you use your bonus action to cast a spell (like healing word, the only spells you can cast in the same turn are cantrips with a casting time of one action (this works both ways, so if you cast a leveled spell with your action already, you can't cast a Bonus action spell)
The reaction can be used on your turn, or anyone else's turn, but only in response to a trigger. the most common reaction is an opportunity attack, but there are other spells and class abilities (plus the "ready" action if you used it on your turn) that use your reaction. You only get one, and it recharges at the start of your turn.
Some things (like Action Surge for the Fighter Class) give you additional actions, but the rules apply as stated above,
Bonus action casting rules aren't very rookie friendly and the more detailed answers here got kind of wordy, so lets see if I can make things short and simple.
By default you get 1 action and 1 bonus action (and 1 reaction, not relevant ATM).
A cantrip is a level of spell. Somehow seems to be treated differently in this thread...
Casting a spell requires the [Tooltip Not Found] action (not attack except bladesinger extra attack) and can be a bonus action, etc based on casting time.
If you will or have cast any spell as a bonus action, the only other spell you can cast in the same turn is a cantrip as an action (no reaction spells).
1. If you cast a leveled spell (level 1-9) with a casting time of 1 action, you cannot cast any spell as a bonus action
2. If you cast a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action you can then cast any spell with a casting time of a bonus action
3. If you cast any spell (leveled or cantrip) as a bonus action you can then only cast a cantrip that has a casting time of 1 action.
Basically #2 and 3 are the same just reverse order.
And #1 is just the inverse of #2. You could have made all of this 1 sentence like I did.
True but the rules for casting a bonus action.spell is only 3 sentences long, the 1st sentence basically fluff, and how many threads has it spawned?
Bonus Action
A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven't already taken a bonus action this turn. You can't cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.
It depends on the spells being cast. Let's look at the action economy.
Every character, by default, gets one Action in combat. This can be Attack, [Tooltip Not Found], or one of several others. They are, generally speaking, mutually exclusive and you cannot combine or perform two Actions in one turn.
Characters may also have one Bonus Action. These usually come from a feature, such as the goblin's Nimble Escape, or from a spell like Misty Step. Note that not every character has a Bonus Action. You can only take one if something on your character sheet allows for it. For example, you cannot cast Expeditious Retreat with your Action; only your Bonus Action. There are exceptions, of course; chief among them being Two-Weapon Fighting. That is a Bonus Action which any character can take.
Characters may also have a Reaction, such as with an Opportunity Attack or a spell, like Shield.
When you cast a spell with your Bonus Action on your turn, the only other spell you can cast on your turn is a Cantrip with a casting time of 1 Action. So, for example, let's assume a cleric were to cast Shield of Faith on their turn. They could follow up by casting Sacred Flame during their turn because it's a Cantrip, but not Guiding Bolt because it's not a Cantrip.
That said, a spellcaster can cast a spell with their Action and Reaction during their turn without being limited to a Cantrips. If a wizard wanted to cast Fireball with their Action and jump like John McClane off the roof of the Nakatomi Building in Die Hard (1988), they could still use their Reaction to cast Feather Fall to slow their descent.
Hope that helps.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Greetings, Im a bit confused...could a Bard cast a spell as an attack, and then separately use a cantrip as an action in the same turn? Seems like this would be considered two actions, but I am not certain. Thanks in advance...https://tweakbox.mobi/
If a Spell can be casted as a Bonus Action (for example Guardian of Nature ) you can cast the spell and a Cantrip in the same turn. But that is the only way you could cast both a Spell and a Cantrip in the same turn.
You can not cast a Bonus Action Spell and another Spell in the same turn tho, it only works with Cantrips.
You get one Action on your turn, you can use it either to Cast A Spell(which may involve making an attack, but you're still Casting A Spell), or Attack(which by default means making a single weapon attack, though many classes gain the ability to make multiple attacks within a single Attack action). There are other things you can do with your Action, but they aren't important for this topic. You also can also do something as a Bonus Action on your turn, but despite its name it's not simply "another Action". More descriptive terms might be "Quick Action" or "Minor Action". Certain class abilities or feats will allow you to do something as a Bonus Action. Certain spells have a casting time of "1 Bonus Action", etc. Things that take your Bonus Action and things that take your Action are not interchangeable, unless the description explicitly says you can do both. For example, Druids can use their Action to Wild Shape, Circle Of The Moon Druids can also do it as either their Action OR Bonus Action, depending on which makes more sense at the time. Only one class by default gets an ability to take more than one Action on a turn, and that's the Fighter with Action Surge. Once per Short Rest they can choose to take a second Action on the same turn.
Theoretically, a Bard could use their Action to cast one spell, and their Bonus Action to cast another, provided the spells have the approriate casting times. The deal with it being a spell and a cantrip comes from a specific rule. If you cast a spell using your Bonus Action, like Misty Step or Healing Word, you can't cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 Action. So if a Bard uses their Bonus Action to cast Healing Word on their ally, they couldn't use their Action on the same turn to cast Hold Person on the bandit captain attacking them. The Bard COULD however use their Action to cast Vicious Mockery on that bandit captain. Of course, if the Bard had used their Bonus Action for something else, like giving Bardic Inspiration to their ally, then they can use their Action to cast a spell of any level. That Fighter I mentioned above? If they're an Eldritch Knight for example, they could cast Fireball with their Action, use Action Surge and cast ANOTHER Fireball. But if they had started their turn by using their Bonus Action for Misty Step, they wouldn't be able to cast Fireball even once.
You get (without special class abilities or other effects) one action, one reaction, and one bonus action on your turn
Some things (like Action Surge for the Fighter Class) give you additional actions, but the rules apply as stated above,
Bonus action casting rules aren't very rookie friendly and the more detailed answers here got kind of wordy, so lets see if I can make things short and simple.
Still a bit wordy.
1. If you cast a leveled spell (level 1-9) with a casting time of 1 action, you cannot cast any spell as a bonus action
2. If you cast a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action you can then cast any spell with a casting time of a bonus action
3. If you cast any spell (leveled or cantrip) as a bonus action you can then only cast a cantrip that has a casting time of 1 action.
Basically #2 and 3 are the same just reverse order.
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?
And #1 is just the inverse of #2. You could have made all of this 1 sentence like I did.
But sometimes it is clearer to see a clear list of the different set of options available.
True but the rules for casting a bonus action.spell is only 3 sentences long, the 1st sentence basically fluff, and how many threads has it spawned?
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?
It depends on the spells being cast. Let's look at the action economy.
Every character, by default, gets one Action in combat. This can be Attack, [Tooltip Not Found], or one of several others. They are, generally speaking, mutually exclusive and you cannot combine or perform two Actions in one turn.
Characters may also have one Bonus Action. These usually come from a feature, such as the goblin's Nimble Escape, or from a spell like Misty Step. Note that not every character has a Bonus Action. You can only take one if something on your character sheet allows for it. For example, you cannot cast Expeditious Retreat with your Action; only your Bonus Action. There are exceptions, of course; chief among them being Two-Weapon Fighting. That is a Bonus Action which any character can take.
Characters may also have a Reaction, such as with an Opportunity Attack or a spell, like Shield.
When you cast a spell with your Bonus Action on your turn, the only other spell you can cast on your turn is a Cantrip with a casting time of 1 Action. So, for example, let's assume a cleric were to cast Shield of Faith on their turn. They could follow up by casting Sacred Flame during their turn because it's a Cantrip, but not Guiding Bolt because it's not a Cantrip.
That said, a spellcaster can cast a spell with their Action and Reaction during their turn without being limited to a Cantrips. If a wizard wanted to cast Fireball with their Action and jump like John McClane off the roof of the Nakatomi Building in Die Hard (1988), they could still use their Reaction to cast Feather Fall to slow their descent.
Hope that helps.