nets are also only 3 pounds and within the spells perimeters. now that i think of it it only states a weight (5 pounds) but never a size? so you could catapult a fully unfurled net.
It's worth noting that the net would also take the 3d8 damage from Catapult, which would almost assuredly destroy it. You would effectively be blasting a target with hunks of hemp, not nettapulting them.
Makes you wonder how a dm would rule the entanglement effect of being covered in a mass of broken pieces of hemp that blindside hit you out of no where. sure you wouldn’t be restrained, but that does seem fairly similar to being stuck in a web for 1 turn (6 seconds)
now is there any spells that would reduce the weight of an object besides Reduce/Enlarge?
could you reduce a 450 lb tortle down to the 5 lb max and launch it into the air so it does major fall damage to enemies? then return it to normal size?
You could True Polymorph a Tortle into a cannonball, and then launch it, and then drop concentration.
Or maybe you could regular Polymorph a Tortle into a small turtle, and then have a second caster petrify that turtle with Flesh to Stone, and maintain concentration a full minute, and maybe that would count as a small stone statue of a turtle instead of as a Petrified turtle at that point? Probably not though.... and unclear if dropping concentration on the Polymorph would then turn the Tortle back into a healthy Tortle, a Petrified Tortle, or leave it as a petrified turtle/turtle statue until the petrification is dispelled? Shrug.
Well, Flesh to Stone doesn't, but arguably the Petrified condition itself might. I mean, 99% no it doesn't, the condition continues to refer to it as "the creature," but the first bullet describes: "A petrified creature is transformed, along with any nonmagical object it is wearing or carrying, into a solid inanimate substance (usually stone). Its weight increases by a factor of ten, and it ceases aging." I don't know that there's a rule that says that creatures can't also simultaneously be objects, though I've certainly always viewed them as two seperate non-overlapping categories to avoid any wonky rule interactions... Would you let a spell that says "target creature" target a creature that is currently True Polymorphed into a chair, or would you say "sorry it's an object now, not a creature"? "Solid inanimate substance" sounds a lot like what the definition of "object" might be, were one to try to give "object" a definition at all, so maybe...
I'm just being too hair splitty. You're right, Flesh to Stone probably doesn't turn creatures into objects, just into ageless creatures made of inanimate substance.
nets are also only 3 pounds and within the spells perimeters. now that i think of it it only states a weight (5 pounds) but never a size? so you could catapult a fully unfurled net.
It's worth noting that the net would also take the 3d8 damage from Catapult, which would almost assuredly destroy it. You would effectively be blasting a target with hunks of hemp, not nettapulting them.
The description of the net says that it breaks if you deal 5 slashing damage to it. This spells deals the bludgeoning damage, so it doesn't destroy the net.
So the Catapult spell only works on objects ?? Because I was thinking about if a Monk is performing a long run to later do a long jump, what if I cast Catapult on the Monk to throw him further, just like in a Olympics game ??
Do I need to cast a diferent spell to do that ?? Or can I use Catapult spell ??
The Catapult spell specifically says "Choose one object weighing 1 to 5 pounds". A character is not an object and weighs a LOT more than 1-5 lbs. Even if you tried to upcast it to be able to throw a 35 lb Gnome - they're still not an object. You would need a different spell.
Well you could straight up cast Jump on them so they can go further. Or if you want to chuck them you would need something like Bigby's Hand or Telekinesis. Or if you wanted to teleport them there's Scatter. I'm sure there are probably others that I can't think of off the top of my head.
Question: could your use Catapult to hurl (for example) Alchemist's Fire, and gain the benefits of its extra damage? On the same train of thought, if you doused daggers animated by the Animate Objects spell in poison, would their attacks gain the additional poison damage?
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Hi there! I'm a Christian musician based in Canada :)
The general consensus seems to be that using Catapult on a flask of acid of Alchemist's fire will cause the target to take damage from both. If you applied poison to a dagger or sword before casting Animate Object, it makes sense that its first attack would be a poisoned one, but it could only gain that benefit as long as a poisoned weapon normally would.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
The general consensus seems to be that using Catapult on a flask of acid of Alchemist's fire will cause the target to take damage from both. If you applied poison to a dagger or sword before casting Animate Object, it makes sense that its first attack would be a poisoned one, but it could only gain that benefit as long as a poisoned weapon normally would.
Ah okay, thanks.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Hi there! I'm a Christian musician based in Canada :)
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Makes you wonder how a dm would rule the entanglement effect of being covered in a mass of broken pieces of hemp that blindside hit you out of no where.
sure you wouldn’t be restrained, but that does seem fairly similar to being stuck in a web for 1 turn (6 seconds)
Blank
Magic Stones weight too little to work with Catapult unfortunately.
Watch your back, conserve your ammo,
and NEVER cut a deal with a dragon!
hmm how much do you think a adamantine wire net would way perhaps mithral
now is there any spells that would reduce the weight of an object besides Reduce/Enlarge?
could you reduce a 450 lb tortle down to the 5 lb max and launch it into the air so it does major fall damage to enemies? then return it to normal size?
Catapult only works on objects, not creatures.
You could ready an action to enlarge a cannon ball once it leaves the cannon.
Please check out my homebrew, I would appreciate feedback:
Spells, Monsters, Subclasses, Races, Arcknight Class, Occultist Class, World, Enigmatic Esoterica forms
You could True Polymorph a Tortle into a cannonball, and then launch it, and then drop concentration.
Or maybe you could regular Polymorph a Tortle into a small turtle, and then have a second caster petrify that turtle with Flesh to Stone, and maintain concentration a full minute, and maybe that would count as a small stone statue of a turtle instead of as a Petrified turtle at that point? Probably not though.... and unclear if dropping concentration on the Polymorph would then turn the Tortle back into a healthy Tortle, a Petrified Tortle, or leave it as a petrified turtle/turtle statue until the petrification is dispelled? Shrug.
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.
Flesh to Stone doesn't turn them into objects, just petrifies them, which doesn't turn you into an object, strangely.
Please check out my homebrew, I would appreciate feedback:
Spells, Monsters, Subclasses, Races, Arcknight Class, Occultist Class, World, Enigmatic Esoterica forms
Well, Flesh to Stone doesn't, but arguably the Petrified condition itself might. I mean, 99% no it doesn't, the condition continues to refer to it as "the creature," but the first bullet describes: "A petrified creature is transformed, along with any nonmagical object it is wearing or carrying, into a solid inanimate substance (usually stone). Its weight increases by a factor of ten, and it ceases aging." I don't know that there's a rule that says that creatures can't also simultaneously be objects, though I've certainly always viewed them as two seperate non-overlapping categories to avoid any wonky rule interactions... Would you let a spell that says "target creature" target a creature that is currently True Polymorphed into a chair, or would you say "sorry it's an object now, not a creature"? "Solid inanimate substance" sounds a lot like what the definition of "object" might be, were one to try to give "object" a definition at all, so maybe...
I'm just being too hair splitty. You're right, Flesh to Stone probably doesn't turn creatures into objects, just into ageless creatures made of inanimate substance.
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.
The description of the net says that it breaks if you deal 5 slashing damage to it. This spells deals the bludgeoning damage, so it doesn't destroy the net.
That's in addition to the normal rules for dealing damage to an object, not overriding them.
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
Now, the real question: does a wasp nest count as an object when it's full of wasps?
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
Yes, but I would rule as a DM that most of the wasps would die on impact, because, physics.
Please check out my homebrew, I would appreciate feedback:
Spells, Monsters, Subclasses, Races, Arcknight Class, Occultist Class, World, Enigmatic Esoterica forms
That is the logical, boring possibility.
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
So the Catapult spell only works on objects ?? Because I was thinking about if a Monk is performing a long run to later do a long jump, what if I cast Catapult on the Monk to throw him further, just like in a Olympics game ??
Do I need to cast a diferent spell to do that ?? Or can I use Catapult spell ??
My Ready-to-rock&roll chars:
Dertinus Tristany // Amilcar Barca // Vicenç Sacrarius // Oriol Deulofeu // Grovtuk
The Catapult spell specifically says "Choose one object weighing 1 to 5 pounds". A character is not an object and weighs a LOT more than 1-5 lbs. Even if you tried to upcast it to be able to throw a 35 lb Gnome - they're still not an object. You would need a different spell.
Mega Yahtzee Thread:
Highest 41: brocker2001 (#11,285).
Yahtzee of 2's: Emmber (#36,161).
Lowest 9: JoeltheWalrus (#312), Emmber (#12,505) and Dertinus (#20,953).
Which one ??
My Ready-to-rock&roll chars:
Dertinus Tristany // Amilcar Barca // Vicenç Sacrarius // Oriol Deulofeu // Grovtuk
Well you could straight up cast Jump on them so they can go further. Or if you want to chuck them you would need something like Bigby's Hand or Telekinesis. Or if you wanted to teleport them there's Scatter. I'm sure there are probably others that I can't think of off the top of my head.
Mega Yahtzee Thread:
Highest 41: brocker2001 (#11,285).
Yahtzee of 2's: Emmber (#36,161).
Lowest 9: JoeltheWalrus (#312), Emmber (#12,505) and Dertinus (#20,953).
Question: could your use Catapult to hurl (for example) Alchemist's Fire, and gain the benefits of its extra damage? On the same train of thought, if you doused daggers animated by the Animate Objects spell in poison, would their attacks gain the additional poison damage?
Hi there! I'm a Christian musician based in Canada :)
The general consensus seems to be that using Catapult on a flask of acid of Alchemist's fire will cause the target to take damage from both. If you applied poison to a dagger or sword before casting Animate Object, it makes sense that its first attack would be a poisoned one, but it could only gain that benefit as long as a poisoned weapon normally would.
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
Ah okay, thanks.
Hi there! I'm a Christian musician based in Canada :)