After spending more time with the UA material and reading it for the umptenth time I realized one of my biggest gripes has no merit. If I use hex spell to apply hexblade’s curse to a creature, kill it, then switch hex spell to a new creature as a bonus action I believed the new creature would not have the hexblade’s curse applied. I was wrong. The hexblade’s curse would definitely be on the new creature. The Hexblade curse duration is as long as the hex spell’s duration and applies to the target of the hex spell. Hexblade’s curse does not end when the target dies. That is probably why they nerfed hungering hex from giving you warlock level health upon killing the target. You could kill multiple targets with one use hexblade’s curse if you apply it with the hex spell. This also means you could keep the +2 of Accursed shield going more reliably than I originally thought. That part of the feature still needs to work with light armor though, so there is still that to gripe about.
After spending more time with the UA material and reading it for the umptenth time I realized one of my biggest gripes has no merit. If I use hex spell to apply hexblade’s curse to a creature, kill it, then switch hex spell to a new creature as a bonus action I believed the new creature would not have the hexblade’s curse applied. I was wrong. The hexblade’s curse would definitely be on the new creature. The Hexblade curse duration is as long as the hex spell’s duration and applies to the target of the hex spell. Hexblade’s curse does not end when the target dies. That is probably why they nerfed hungering hex from giving you warlock level health upon killing the target. You could kill multiple targets with one use hexblade’s curse if you apply it with the hex spell. This also means you could keep the +2 of Accursed shield going more reliably than I originally thought. That part of the feature still needs to work with light armor though, so there is still that to gripe about.
i understand that interpretation, but its still very uncertain.
because it says you can apply hexcurse effect when you cast a spell with a slot. What you would be doing there is reapplying to another creature. Hexcurse duration might be one hour, but it did not become an added effect of hex, its a seperate spell effect. And you selected its target and duration when you casted it. if someone breaks your concentration on hex, with this wording, hexcurse would still be there, because its a seperate effect.
now, this is not 100% certain, there is room for your view. But based on this wording the meaning would vary wildly from table to table, and i dont feel comfortable reviewing the UA with the most charitable interpretation when it could really go either way.
So i review it as you just get 3-5 uses with feeback that the meaning is unclear, and maybe they should get more uses.
one problem with the hex transfer method is it undermines the, you dont have to use hex thing somewhat, Not using hex as the primary deliverer of hexcurse becomes getting 1 use, or ggetting 1-24 hours of use. And especially without having 3-5 free uses of hex, it becomes a pretty hard decision to cancel that pact slot. though it becomes a choice with tradeoffs. I wouldnt mind it, but they would need to make the wording super clear. And imagine there will be people salty about feeling forced to maintain concentration on hex.
“…When you do so, the target of the spell is the target of the spell is the target of your hexblade’s curse…”
It’s not an interpretation, it’s RAW for this UA. Whomever is the target of hex spell is also the target of hexblade’s curse for the duration of the hex spell. It doesn’t matter if that is the first target or the 20th (if you somehow moved it 19 times before it ran out. If your concentration on hex spell is broken then hexblade’s curse ends because the spell ended. Please just read the UA again. I can understand how you misread it. I did.
Edit: And yes there is no logical reason to apply hexblade’s curse in any other manner than with hex according to the way this is written.
“…When you do so, the target of the spell is the target of the spell is the target of your hexblade’s curse…”
It’s not an interpretation, it’s RAW for this UA. Whomever is the target of hex spell is also the target of hexblade’s curse for the duration of the hex spell. It doesn’t matter if that is the first target or the 20th (if you somehow moved it 19 times before it ran out. If your concentration on hex spell is broken then hexblade’s curse ends because the spell ended. Please just read the UA again. I can understand how you misread it. I did.
Edit: And yes there is no logical reason to apply hexblade’s curse in any other manner than with hex according to the way this is written.
as sure as you are, i dont think its clear for the reasons i mentioned, and many other people who are rules reading types and DMs have differing opinions, which means that likely it will be different at every table. So, as i said, for my feeback i will say it should be more clear, and i tested it assuming the least favorable interpretation, because IMO that might be the actual intent.
but you can deal with it, and give feedback on your basis.
as for using hex under that interpretation, it would still happen, in cases where you want more power, or versatility for the current situation. It just makes it less likely, and encourages you holding on to that slot/spell more. Which im not sure is a great design, it might be, trade offs and what not. But i feel like many people would feel uncomfortably pressured to keep that concnetration, and use their hexcurse slots mostly on hex.
It’s clear that it is RAW, but you can interpret it however you want. RAI might be that you can’t transfer it. The words say what they say. I tested and even filled out the survey under the false idea that it ended if you killed the first target. I realized that wasn’t true when I was reading the actual words on the document and not making assumptions about them. There is nothing that says Hexblade Curse ends if the original target dies. It does say it last for the full duration of spell (hex) and targets the target of the spell (hex which can change targets). It does not say it stops after one target. I can’t really know RAI without the designer giving more input, but I’m assuming the reason they nerfed how much hp you get for killing the target because they knew how the words read. The only reason to think Hexblade curse ends after the first target is legacy.
It’s clear that it is RAW, but you can interpret it however you want. RAI might be that you can’t transfer it. The words say what they say. I tested and even filled out the survey under the false idea that it ended if you killed the first target. I realized that wasn’t true when I was reading the actual words on the document and not making assumptions about them. There is nothing that says Hexblade Curse ends if the original target dies. It does say it last for the full duration of spell (hex) and targets the target of the spell (hex which can change targets). It does not say it stops after one target. I can’t really know RAI without the designer giving more input, but I’m assuming the reason they nerfed how much hp you get for killing the target because they knew how the words read. The only reason to think Hexblade curse ends after the first target is legacy.
the issue isnt so much when it ends, its about when its applied. By my reading of raw, its a seperate effect that takes the target of your spell and its duration. What you do with hex after that cast, whether it gets ended or changes its target is not relevent to hexcurse.
in programming, or general instructions, there is different language for when something taking information from another object at the time of creation, or whether they are permanently connected.
the logic of the language used here is, When you cast a curse spell with. a spell slot.... ( you can also use hexblades curse, ) the target of the spell is also the target of the hexblades curse.
which logically should be = to.
The target of the spell, when you cast a curse spell with a spell slot is the target of hexblades curse.
that is not neccesarily = to the target of the spell after you change targets of hex, changes the target of hexblades curse.
to use another example
if some one says, when you press play on a youtube video, my computer will automatically press play on that same video and watch it for its full duration. That doesnt necessarily mean i will watch the videos that were randomly selected after the first video. or videos you select by other means, like clicking a link.
Essentially it is not clear whether the target/duration is selected when you cast spell, or its a linked state where target must be the same for the life of the hex spell.
But if you disagree thats fine, i think many people believe what you do, i personally believe its not clear enough to say for certain. And my feeback was based on both possibilities, as well as the fact that it was unclear. But my testing was based on 3-5 only because when you are actually playing you have to choose.
You are doing more work to make it not mean what it says. It says what it says. That is how RAW works. It last the duration of hex and the target of hex is also the target of hexblade’s curse. Anything else is jumping through hoops. The 2nd target of hex is the target of hex. The 5th target of hex is the target of hex.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
After spending more time with the UA material and reading it for the umptenth time I realized one of my biggest gripes has no merit. If I use hex spell to apply hexblade’s curse to a creature, kill it, then switch hex spell to a new creature as a bonus action I believed the new creature would not have the hexblade’s curse applied. I was wrong. The hexblade’s curse would definitely be on the new creature. The Hexblade curse duration is as long as the hex spell’s duration and applies to the target of the hex spell. Hexblade’s curse does not end when the target dies. That is probably why they nerfed hungering hex from giving you warlock level health upon killing the target. You could kill multiple targets with one use hexblade’s curse if you apply it with the hex spell. This also means you could keep the +2 of Accursed shield going more reliably than I originally thought. That part of the feature still needs to work with light armor though, so there is still that to gripe about.
i understand that interpretation, but its still very uncertain.
because it says you can apply hexcurse effect when you cast a spell with a slot. What you would be doing there is reapplying to another creature. Hexcurse duration might be one hour, but it did not become an added effect of hex, its a seperate spell effect. And you selected its target and duration when you casted it. if someone breaks your concentration on hex, with this wording, hexcurse would still be there, because its a seperate effect.
now, this is not 100% certain, there is room for your view. But based on this wording the meaning would vary wildly from table to table, and i dont feel comfortable reviewing the UA with the most charitable interpretation when it could really go either way.
So i review it as you just get 3-5 uses with feeback that the meaning is unclear, and maybe they should get more uses.
one problem with the hex transfer method is it undermines the, you dont have to use hex thing somewhat, Not using hex as the primary deliverer of hexcurse becomes getting 1 use, or ggetting 1-24 hours of use. And especially without having 3-5 free uses of hex, it becomes a pretty hard decision to cancel that pact slot. though it becomes a choice with tradeoffs. I wouldnt mind it, but they would need to make the wording super clear. And imagine there will be people salty about feeling forced to maintain concentration on hex.
“…When you do so, the target of the spell is the target of the spell is the target of your hexblade’s curse…”
It’s not an interpretation, it’s RAW for this UA. Whomever is the target of hex spell is also the target of hexblade’s curse for the duration of the hex spell. It doesn’t matter if that is the first target or the 20th (if you somehow moved it 19 times before it ran out. If your concentration on hex spell is broken then hexblade’s curse ends because the spell ended. Please just read the UA again. I can understand how you misread it. I did.
Edit: And yes there is no logical reason to apply hexblade’s curse in any other manner than with hex according to the way this is written.
as sure as you are, i dont think its clear for the reasons i mentioned, and many other people who are rules reading types and DMs have differing opinions, which means that likely it will be different at every table. So, as i said, for my feeback i will say it should be more clear, and i tested it assuming the least favorable interpretation, because IMO that might be the actual intent.
but you can deal with it, and give feedback on your basis.
as for using hex under that interpretation, it would still happen, in cases where you want more power, or versatility for the current situation. It just makes it less likely, and encourages you holding on to that slot/spell more. Which im not sure is a great design, it might be, trade offs and what not. But i feel like many people would feel uncomfortably pressured to keep that concnetration, and use their hexcurse slots mostly on hex.
which may be intentional, who knows.
It’s clear that it is RAW, but you can interpret it however you want. RAI might be that you can’t transfer it. The words say what they say. I tested and even filled out the survey under the false idea that it ended if you killed the first target. I realized that wasn’t true when I was reading the actual words on the document and not making assumptions about them. There is nothing that says Hexblade Curse ends if the original target dies. It does say it last for the full duration of spell (hex) and targets the target of the spell (hex which can change targets). It does not say it stops after one target. I can’t really know RAI without the designer giving more input, but I’m assuming the reason they nerfed how much hp you get for killing the target because they knew how the words read. The only reason to think Hexblade curse ends after the first target is legacy.
the issue isnt so much when it ends, its about when its applied. By my reading of raw, its a seperate effect that takes the target of your spell and its duration. What you do with hex after that cast, whether it gets ended or changes its target is not relevent to hexcurse.
in programming, or general instructions, there is different language for when something taking information from another object at the time of creation, or whether they are permanently connected.
the logic of the language used here is, When you cast a curse spell with. a spell slot.... ( you can also use hexblades curse, ) the target of the spell is also the target of the hexblades curse.
which logically should be = to.
The target of the spell, when you cast a curse spell with a spell slot is the target of hexblades curse.
that is not neccesarily = to the target of the spell after you change targets of hex, changes the target of hexblades curse.
to use another example
if some one says, when you press play on a youtube video, my computer will automatically press play on that same video and watch it for its full duration. That doesnt necessarily mean i will watch the videos that were randomly selected after the first video. or videos you select by other means, like clicking a link.
Essentially it is not clear whether the target/duration is selected when you cast spell, or its a linked state where target must be the same for the life of the hex spell.
But if you disagree thats fine, i think many people believe what you do, i personally believe its not clear enough to say for certain. And my feeback was based on both possibilities, as well as the fact that it was unclear. But my testing was based on 3-5 only because when you are actually playing you have to choose.
You are doing more work to make it not mean what it says. It says what it says. That is how RAW works. It last the duration of hex and the target of hex is also the target of hexblade’s curse. Anything else is jumping through hoops. The 2nd target of hex is the target of hex. The 5th target of hex is the target of hex.