There is a rule in the book under combining magical effects that, in general, indicates that the same effect does not stack. You get whichever effect is best. For example Temp HP. Getting it from several sources doesn't add to the Temp HP pool you just get whichever is higher at the time. Etc.
But what about those effects that are not magical? Is there a rule in the book that I missed that details this? Such as the Push mastery from my weapon and a push effect from a class ability or a feat. Isn't this the same thing? The same effect but from different sources and those do not stack you take whichever is greater?
If they're the same ability, they don't stack -- if you manage to get push mastery twice somehow, you don't have "extra push", you just know push mastery.
If they're different abilities with similar effects, they do.
So basically. An effect that derives from magic, such as temp HP does not stack. But effects that derive from a non-magical source, such as push from a weapon mastery, push from a feat, push from a class ability do stack.
No, that's really more an explicit feature of Temporary Hit Points; It doesn't matter if your source of Temporary hit points is magical or not, you can only use one source of Temporary Hit Points at a time.
Temporary Hit Points Don’t Stack
Temporary Hit Points can’t be added together. If you have Temporary Hit Points and receive more of them, you decide whether to keep the ones you have or to gain the new ones. For example, if a spell grants you 12 Temporary Hit Points when you already have 10, you can have 12 or 10, not 22.
However, if a spell gave you a +1 to AC, and a different spell gave you a +2 AC, you'd get the full +3 AC benefit from the two spells while under the effects of both, as long as neither of the spells prohibited that.
There is a rule in the book under combining magical effects that, in general, indicates that the same effect does not stack. You get whichever effect is best. For example Temp HP. Getting it from several sources doesn't add to the Temp HP pool you just get whichever is higher at the time. Etc.
But what about those effects that are not magical? Is there a rule in the book that I missed that details this? Such as the Push mastery from my weapon and a push effect from a class ability or a feat. Isn't this the same thing? The same effect but from different sources and those do not stack you take whichever is greater?
If they're the same ability, they don't stack -- if you manage to get push mastery twice somehow, you don't have "extra push", you just know push mastery.
If they're different abilities with similar effects, they do.
So basically. An effect that derives from magic, such as temp HP does not stack. But effects that derive from a non-magical source, such as push from a weapon mastery, push from a feat, push from a class ability do stack.
No, that's really more an explicit feature of Temporary Hit Points; It doesn't matter if your source of Temporary hit points is magical or not, you can only use one source of Temporary Hit Points at a time.
It applies certain types of other bonuses, including Advantage, Disadvantage, and Resistance.
However, if a spell gave you a +1 to AC, and a different spell gave you a +2 AC, you'd get the full +3 AC benefit from the two spells while under the effects of both, as long as neither of the spells prohibited that.
🎵I'm on top of the world, looking down on creation, wreaking death and devastation with my mind.
As the power that I've found erupts freely from the ground, I will cackle from the top of the world.🎵
Charisma Saving Throw: DC 18, Failure: 20d6 Psychic Damage, Success: Half damage