So as a DM, one of my players posed an interesting question last time we played. He asked since his passive wisdom was a 15, should he automatically pass a DC 15 wisdom save? In the end rather than cause argument (because he's my brother), I just said yes. However I come to you great DnD Beyond in search for the actual answer via the rule books. In my hunt for this answer I could not find it anywhere, so people of internet: should passive wisdom negate a saving throws?
As a general principle, if the rules don't say you can do something, then you can't do it. In other words, if the designers had wanted you to have passive saving throws, they'd have said so.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
WOTC lies. We know that WOTC lies. WOTC knows that we know that WOTC lies. We know that WOTC knows that we know that WOTC lies. And still they lie.
Because of the above (a paraphrase from Orwell) I no longer post to the forums -- PM me if you need help or anything.
Theoretically, a "passive saving throw" would be the Ability bonus + Proficiency (if you have proficiency in that particular save) +1 (minimum dice roll). But yeah, RAW there is no such thing as "Passive Wisdom".
By having a "passive wisdom" count for your save, you are basically assuming an automatic roll of 10, right? But the point of rolling is to randomize it -- no matter how tough you are, you might get really unlucky. This interpretation ruins the randomity, and would negate disadvantage on the roll. Passive perception, and more rarely insight, is a thing, but no, as stated before, passive saving throws do not exist.
Another point is my "rule of specification" -- if a magic item or ability says it lets you do something, then you probably can't do it without the specification. In Xanathar's guide to Everthing there is an extremely weak magic item -- a mechanus cog -- that lets you, once per day, forgo a d20 roll and assume you ruled a 10. By the rule of specification, you cannot just use (10+your wisdom+proficiency bonus if you're counting that), unless a class feature or magic item lets you do so.
So as a DM, one of my players posed an interesting question last time we played. He asked since his passive wisdom was a 15, should he automatically pass a DC 15 wisdom save? In the end rather than cause argument (because he's my brother), I just said yes. However I come to you great DnD Beyond in search for the actual answer via the rule books. In my hunt for this answer I could not find it anywhere, so people of internet: should passive wisdom negate a saving throws?
Thank you for your eventual aid!
You can only have a passive score in ability checks, not saving throws or attack roles.
Find my D&D Beyond articles here
Thank you so much!
As a general principle, if the rules don't say you can do something, then you can't do it. In other words, if the designers had wanted you to have passive saving throws, they'd have said so.
WOTC lies. We know that WOTC lies. WOTC knows that we know that WOTC lies. We know that WOTC knows that we know that WOTC lies. And still they lie.
Because of the above (a paraphrase from Orwell) I no longer post to the forums -- PM me if you need help or anything.
He doesn't have a passive Wisdom score. He has passive Insight and passive Perception.
Theoretically, a "passive saving throw" would be the Ability bonus + Proficiency (if you have proficiency in that particular save) +1 (minimum dice roll). But yeah, RAW there is no such thing as "Passive Wisdom".
By having a "passive wisdom" count for your save, you are basically assuming an automatic roll of 10, right? But the point of rolling is to randomize it -- no matter how tough you are, you might get really unlucky. This interpretation ruins the randomity, and would negate disadvantage on the roll. Passive perception, and more rarely insight, is a thing, but no, as stated before, passive saving throws do not exist.
Another point is my "rule of specification" -- if a magic item or ability says it lets you do something, then you probably can't do it without the specification. In Xanathar's guide to Everthing there is an extremely weak magic item -- a mechanus cog -- that lets you, once per day, forgo a d20 roll and assume you ruled a 10. By the rule of specification, you cannot just use (10+your wisdom+proficiency bonus if you're counting that), unless a class feature or magic item lets you do so.
Proud poster on the Create a World thread