Can i use Hunter's Mark with my bonus action on a target and attack on the same turn?
Master says I can't use Hunter's Mark "can't cast a spell and attack", because of something the creators said in a forum here on Sorcerer using metamagic to reduce casting time to bonus action and attacking or so.
You can, and should, cast hunter’s mark and attack on the same turn. Hunter’s mark takes your character’s bonus action, and attacking takes tour character’s action, the “attack action” to be precise. I would guess the conflict tour dungeon master is referring to is regarding spell casting specifically. If your character casts a spell on its turn using a bonus action, then the only other type of spell your character can cast on its turn is a cantrip. I’ll post links below.
A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven't already taken a bonus action this turn. You can't cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.
Various class features, spells, and other abilities let you take an additional action on your turn called a bonus action. The Cunning Action feature, for example, allows a rogue to take a bonus action. You can take a bonus action only when a special ability, spell, or other feature of the game states that you can do something as a bonus action. You otherwise don't have a bonus action to take.
You can take only one bonus action on your turn, so you must choose which bonus action to use when you have more than one available.
You choose when to take a bonus action during your turn, unless the bonus action's timing is specified, and anything that deprives you of your ability to take actions also prevents you from taking a bonus action.
When you take your action on your turn, you can take one of the actions presented here, an action you gained from your class or a special feature, or an action that you improvise. Many monsters have action options of their own in their stat blocks.
When you describe an action not detailed elsewhere in the rules, the DM tells you whether that action is possible and what kind of roll you need to make, if any, to determine success or failure.
Attack
The most common action to take in combat is the Attack action, whether you are swinging a sword, firing an arrow from a bow, or brawling with your fists.
With this action, you make one melee or ranged attack. See the "Making an Attack" section for the rules that govern attacks.
Certain features, such as the Extra Attack feature of the fighter, allow you to make more than one attack with this action.
They said they read in a forum you can't cast a spell + another spell or attack, no matter the spells use different "action lengths" (one uses an action, the other uses a bonus action), but i'm not finding any discussions where they say so anywhere, so i ended up searching for any "official response" by magic
They said they read in a forum you can't cast a spell + another spell or attack, no matter the spells use different "action lengths" (one uses an action, the other uses a bonus action), but i'm not finding any discussions where they say so anywhere, so i ended up searching for any "official response" by magic
Does Quickened Spell allow a sorcerer to cast two spells a round of 1st level or higher?
No, the sorcerer must follow the rule for casting a spell as a bonus action and casting another spell on the same turn; the other spell must be a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.
Casting Time
Is there a limit on the number of spells you can cast on your turn?
There’s no rule that says you can cast only X number of spells on your turn, but there are some practical limits. The main limiting factor is your action. Most spells require an action to cast, and unless you use a feature like the fighter’s Action Surge, you have only one action on your turn.
If you cast a spell, such as healing word, with a bonus action, you can cast another spell with your action, but that other spell must be a cantrip. Keep in mind that this particular limit is specific to spells that use a bonus action. For instance, if you cast a second spell using Action Surge, you aren’t limited to casting a cantrip with it.
Does the rule on casting a bonus action spell apply when you take a bonus action granted by a spell?
The rule on casting a spell as a bonus action applies only on the turn you cast the spell. For example, spiritual weapon can be cast as a bonus action, and it lasts for 1 minute. On the turn you cast it, you can’t cast another spell before or after it, unless that spell is a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action. Until spiritual weapon ends, it gives you the option of controlling its spectral weapon as a bonus action. That bonus action does not involve casting a spell, despite the fact that it’s granted by a spell, so you can control the weapon and cast whatever spell you like on the same turn.
It only applies to Casting A Spell action in a different way. It has nothing to do with using the Action action for anything including Hide, Doge, Attack action...etc.
You should be able to use your BONUS ACTION to cast Hunter's Mark, then use your ACTION to ATTACK, and therefore be allowed to act. Each PC has an action, a bonus action, and a reaction per round. Casting a spell like HM takes one bonus action and attacking takes an action, two completely different things.
Can i use Hunter's Mark with my bonus action on a target and attack on the same turn?
Master says I can't use Hunter's Mark "can't cast a spell and attack", because of something the creators said in a forum here on Sorcerer using metamagic to reduce casting time to bonus action and attacking or so.
You can, and should, cast hunter’s mark and attack on the same turn. Hunter’s mark takes your character’s bonus action, and attacking takes tour character’s action, the “attack action” to be precise. I would guess the conflict tour dungeon master is referring to is regarding spell casting specifically. If your character casts a spell on its turn using a bonus action, then the only other type of spell your character can cast on its turn is a cantrip. I’ll post links below.
Bonus Action
A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven't already taken a bonus action this turn. You can't cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.
https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/basic-rules/spellcasting
Bonus Actions
Various class features, spells, and other abilities let you take an additional action on your turn called a bonus action. The Cunning Action feature, for example, allows a rogue to take a bonus action. You can take a bonus action only when a special ability, spell, or other feature of the game states that you can do something as a bonus action. You otherwise don't have a bonus action to take.
You can take only one bonus action on your turn, so you must choose which bonus action to use when you have more than one available.
You choose when to take a bonus action during your turn, unless the bonus action's timing is specified, and anything that deprives you of your ability to take actions also prevents you from taking a bonus action.
https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/basic-rules/combat
Actions in Combat
When you take your action on your turn, you can take one of the actions presented here, an action you gained from your class or a special feature, or an action that you improvise. Many monsters have action options of their own in their stat blocks.
When you describe an action not detailed elsewhere in the rules, the DM tells you whether that action is possible and what kind of roll you need to make, if any, to determine success or failure.
Attack
The most common action to take in combat is the Attack action, whether you are swinging a sword, firing an arrow from a bow, or brawling with your fists.
With this action, you make one melee or ranged attack. See the "Making an Attack" section for the rules that govern attacks.
Certain features, such as the Extra Attack feature of the fighter, allow you to make more than one attack with this action.
https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/basic-rules/combat
They said they read in a forum you can't cast a spell + another spell or attack, no matter the spells use different "action lengths" (one uses an action, the other uses a bonus action), but i'm not finding any discussions where they say so anywhere, so i ended up searching for any "official response" by magic
Well, if they are the DM it could be a house rule. But unless it is you might try asking them to point you to the place where they saw this.
Ok, they read it wrong. The rule is:
It only applies to Casting A Spell action in a different way. It has nothing to do with using the Action action for anything including Hide, Doge, Attack action...etc.
You should be able to use your BONUS ACTION to cast Hunter's Mark, then use your ACTION to ATTACK, and therefore be allowed to act. Each PC has an action, a bonus action, and a reaction per round. Casting a spell like HM takes one bonus action and attacking takes an action, two completely different things.