Playing my Armorer Artificer for the first time in last night's session. Chillin' in the Underdark. Meet some Drow with a Drow Mage. I cast Fly, shoot up into the air. Drow Mage Counterspells my Fly. I attempt to cast Feather Fall.
"Nope," says the DM. "Only one levelled spell per round of combat."
I didn't argue, because I didn't really care to, but didn't think the ruling was necessary correct as per the rules. Took 6d6 fall damage, stewed for a while over the wasted spell slot for a bit, killed the Mage with my Thunder Gauntlets.
Now, I don't want to straight up fight the DM without some ammunition. Was he correct, or should I have been able to cast Feather Fall?
The limitation is specifically for Bonus Action spells, on the same "turn", not round. Reaction spells, like Feather Fall, are not prevented as they happen on other character's turns.
Casting Time
Most spells require a single action to cast, but some spells require a bonus action, a reaction, or much more time to cast.
Bonus Action
A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven't already taken a bonus action this turn. You can't cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.
Reactions
Some spells can be cast as reactions. These spells take a fraction of a second to bring about and are cast in response to some event. If a spell can be cast as a reaction, the spell description tells you exactly when you can do so.
The limitation is specifically for Bonus Action spells, on the same "turn", not round. Reaction spells, like Feather Fall, are not negated as they happen on other character's turns.
Casting Time
Most spells require a single action to cast, but some spells require a bonus action, a reaction, or much more time to cast.
Bonus Action
A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven't already taken a bonus action this turn. You can't cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.
Reactions
Some spells can be cast as reactions. These spells take a fraction of a second to bring about and are cast in response to some event. If a spell can be cast as a reaction, the spell description tells you exactly when you can do so.
Ah, thanks. Where is this specifically? I assume it's in the PHB somewhere.
But to answer your question, you could have cast feather fall. Not being able to cast 2 leveled spells is a common misinterpretation of the bonus action spellcasting rule. That rule prevents you from casting any other spell other than a cantrip with a casting time of an action in the same turn (not round) that you cast any bonus action spell (even a cantrip will prevent casting a leveled spell).
You can actually cast multiple leveled spells under the right conditions, like counterspelling a counterspell or using action surge. And even the BA limit rule doesn't stop you from casting a spell with your reaction after your turn ended.
Playing my Armorer Artificer for the first time in last night's session. Chillin' in the Underdark. Meet some Drow with a Drow Mage. I cast Fly, shoot up into the air. Drow Mage Counterspells my Fly. I attempt to cast Feather Fall.
"Nope," says the DM. "Only one levelled spell per round of combat."
I didn't argue, because I didn't really care to, but didn't think the ruling was necessary correct as per the rules. Took 6d6 fall damage, stewed for a while over the wasted spell slot for a bit, killed the Mage with my Thunder Gauntlets.
Now, I don't want to straight up fight the DM without some ammunition. Was he correct, or should I have been able to cast Feather Fall?
The limitation is specifically for Bonus Action spells, on the same "turn", not round. Reaction spells, like Feather Fall, are not prevented as they happen on other character's turns.
Ah, thanks. Where is this specifically? I assume it's in the PHB somewhere.
If they counterspelled your fly spell, then it never went off, and you wouldn't have flown at all. You shouldn't have taken fall damage.
(If they actually dispelled it, that's a different case)
I actually didn't think about that. I should have brought that up, thanks!
Hopefully, the Drow mage dispel magic'd your fly since counterspell would have prevented you from going into the air in the first place.
But to answer your question, you could have cast feather fall. Not being able to cast 2 leveled spells is a common misinterpretation of the bonus action spellcasting rule. That rule prevents you from casting any other spell other than a cantrip with a casting time of an action in the same turn (not round) that you cast any bonus action spell (even a cantrip will prevent casting a leveled spell).
You can actually cast multiple leveled spells under the right conditions, like counterspelling a counterspell or using action surge. And even the BA limit rule doesn't stop you from casting a spell with your reaction after your turn ended.
Basic Rules - Chapter 10: Spellcasting