I'm having an issue with my current game. I was doing research on the rules recently, looking up whether or not you can draw your weapon on the same action. The chapter on combat shows in the "Other activity on your turn" section it says, "You can also interact with one object or feature of the environment for free," and it says, "For Example..you could draw your weapon as part of the same action you use to attack." Here's where my issue comes in. My DM makes me and the other players use our action on drawing or sheathing. Personally, I think it is a waste of an action and ruins the flow. I need to know, do any other of you players and DMs do that?
When I DM, I give the 1 free item interaction per turn. When others in my group DM, they often try to give everyone bonus interactions or making actions only take bonus actions.
So, no, this is not a problem I can relate to. Point the rule out to your DM (and group) at the beginning or end of a session and see if they want to follow the book or stick with house rules.
Your turn can include a variety of flourishes that require neither your action nor your move.
You can communicate however you are able, through brief utterances and gestures, as you take your turn.
You can also interact with one object or feature of the environment for free, during either your move or your action. For example, you could open a door during your move as you stride toward a foe, or you could draw your weapon as part of the same action you use to attack.
If you want to interact with a second object, you need to use your action. Some magic items and other special objects always require an action to use, as stated in their descriptions.
This means that if you wish to draw two weapons you need the Dual Wielder feat:
Dual Wielder
You master fighting with two weapons, gaining the following benefits:
You gain a +1 bonus to AC while you are wielding a separate melee weapon in each hand.
You can use two-weapon fighting even when the one-handed melee weapons you are wielding aren’t light.
You can draw or stow two one-handed weapons when you would normally be able to draw or stow only one.
This is Rules as Written from the player handbook. That said, your DM has the final say in this. You might want to have a conversation with them about this if it really bothers you. It might be that they think it makes the game grittier by forcing you to keep your weapons out (which might not be an option in certain situations). They might have a good reason, but per the general rules you are right.
We had a similar problem with thrown weapons and extra attacks...you can draw an arrow or sling bullet and fire it as an attack action. But a thrown weapon you have to bonus action draw it then throw it as an attack action.limiting u to 1 or maybe 2 thrown attacks. Our DM made a ruling that light thrown weapons can be drawn and thrown as an attack action like an arrow. Made sense to us...
Can anyone explain why "sheathing" seems to require an action? it seems to me that would be a free interaction. If I can pull a leaver than attack why can't I sheath than cast.
I'm having an issue with my current game. I was doing research on the rules recently, looking up whether or not you can draw your weapon on the same action. The chapter on combat shows in the "Other activity on your turn" section it says, "You can also interact with one object or feature of the environment for free," and it says, "For Example..you could draw your weapon as part of the same action you use to attack." Here's where my issue comes in. My DM makes me and the other players use our action on drawing or sheathing. Personally, I think it is a waste of an action and ruins the flow. I need to know, do any other of you players and DMs do that?
As per the rule you quoted, you can draw your weapon as part of the same action you use to attack. I don't know any DM that require a seperate action to draw the weapon and another to attack.
It is effectively a waste of action and drags combat unecessarily. It's so unusual that everyone seem to think you're refering to both sheathing and drawing, which is what usually require an action for the 2nd item interaction. Simply drawing a weapon and attacking is done using a single action. Of course your DM is free to houserule otherwise.
Can anyone explain why "sheathing" seems to require an action? it seems to me that would be a free interaction. If I can pull a leaver than attack why can't I sheath than cast.
Sheathing also can be used with your movement or action.
Interacting with Objects Around You: Here are a few examples of the sorts of thing you can do in tandem with your movement and action:
Can anyone explain why "sheathing" seems to require an action? it seems to me that would be a free interaction. If I can pull a leaver than attack why can't I sheath than cast.
It's an item interaction, so it can be your free one, or you can spend your Action on it.
As others have said, it's a free action to draw a weapon as part of the attack.
If your DM refuses this, simply walk around with your weapon drawn all the time until they relent, or carry a spear/staff/halberd or other weapon that doesn't need to be drawn. When they find their NPCs are having to draw weapons and you aren't, I suspect they'll change their mind.
No. I don't require an action to draw or stow the average weapon. I have other things to worry about in game.
But, also... Sorry to hear that you have an issue with your DM's ruling. I might suggest that you set aside some time to talk to them about it. The responses that you have received here, while valid answers, don't apply to you. That is, unless one of the responses you got was from *your* DM. What we do in our games has absolutely no bearing on what another does in theirs. I would also point out that starting the conversation with "I asked a bunch of people on the Internet..." might be viewed as combative.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
“Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness, and many of our people need it sorely on these accounts. Broad, wholesome, charitable views of men and things cannot be acquired by vegetating in one little corner of the earth all one's lifetime.” - Mark Twain - Innocents Abroad
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I'm having an issue with my current game. I was doing research on the rules recently, looking up whether or not you can draw your weapon on the same action. The chapter on combat shows in the "Other activity on your turn" section it says, "You can also interact with one object or feature of the environment for free," and it says, "For Example..you could draw your weapon as part of the same action you use to attack." Here's where my issue comes in. My DM makes me and the other players use our action on drawing or sheathing. Personally, I think it is a waste of an action and ruins the flow. I need to know, do any other of you players and DMs do that?
When I DM, I give the 1 free item interaction per turn. When others in my group DM, they often try to give everyone bonus interactions or making actions only take bonus actions.
So, no, this is not a problem I can relate to. Point the rule out to your DM (and group) at the beginning or end of a session and see if they want to follow the book or stick with house rules.
In Actions During combat
This means that if you wish to draw two weapons you need the Dual Wielder feat:
This is Rules as Written from the player handbook. That said, your DM has the final say in this. You might want to have a conversation with them about this if it really bothers you. It might be that they think it makes the game grittier by forcing you to keep your weapons out (which might not be an option in certain situations). They might have a good reason, but per the general rules you are right.
Subclass: Dwarven Defender - Dragonborn Paragon
Feats: Artificer Apprentice
Monsters: Sheep - Spellbreaker Warforged Titan
Magic Items: Whipier - Ring of Secret Storage - Collar of the Guardian
Monster template: Skeletal Creature
We had a similar problem with thrown weapons and extra attacks...you can draw an arrow or sling bullet and fire it as an attack action. But a thrown weapon you have to bonus action draw it then throw it as an attack action.limiting u to 1 or maybe 2 thrown attacks. Our DM made a ruling that light thrown weapons can be drawn and thrown as an attack action like an arrow. Made sense to us...
Can anyone explain why "sheathing" seems to require an action? it seems to me that would be a free interaction. If I can pull a leaver than attack why can't I sheath than cast.
As per the rule you quoted, you can draw your weapon as part of the same action you use to attack. I don't know any DM that require a seperate action to draw the weapon and another to attack.
It is effectively a waste of action and drags combat unecessarily. It's so unusual that everyone seem to think you're refering to both sheathing and drawing, which is what usually require an action for the 2nd item interaction. Simply drawing a weapon and attacking is done using a single action. Of course your DM is free to houserule otherwise.
Sheathing also can be used with your movement or action.
Interacting with Objects Around You: Here are a few examples of the sorts of thing you can do in tandem with your movement and action:
• draw or sheathe a sword
It's an item interaction, so it can be your free one, or you can spend your Action on it.
As others have said, it's a free action to draw a weapon as part of the attack.
If your DM refuses this, simply walk around with your weapon drawn all the time until they relent, or carry a spear/staff/halberd or other weapon that doesn't need to be drawn. When they find their NPCs are having to draw weapons and you aren't, I suspect they'll change their mind.
No. I don't require an action to draw or stow the average weapon. I have other things to worry about in game.
But, also... Sorry to hear that you have an issue with your DM's ruling. I might suggest that you set aside some time to talk to them about it. The responses that you have received here, while valid answers, don't apply to you. That is, unless one of the responses you got was from *your* DM. What we do in our games has absolutely no bearing on what another does in theirs. I would also point out that starting the conversation with "I asked a bunch of people on the Internet..." might be viewed as combative.
“Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness, and many of our people need it sorely on these accounts. Broad, wholesome, charitable views of men and things cannot be acquired by vegetating in one little corner of the earth all one's lifetime.” - Mark Twain - Innocents Abroad