So I have a quick - hopefully easy to answer - question about Arcane Ward. When it's summoned it starts with 2xWizard Level + INT mod, but can it go above that? When you cast Abjuration spells, it regains HP. Can casting such a spell cause the Arcane Ward to go above the initial HP? Or is the starting HP of the ward it's true maximum until you either level up and/or get an INT increase?
The Arcane Ward feature says: "The ward has a hit point maximum equal to twice your wizard level + your Intelligence modifier. ". So, it can't go above that.
I had been assuming that, but the PHB I'm reading says "The ward has hit points equal to twice your wizard leveI + your Intelligence modifier." with no mention of an actual maximum.
This is one of those funny "It doesn't say no" moments in D&D. I can see the argument that you could, potentially, increase the amount of HP the ward has.
I'm of a mind to agree with Filcat here, and say that the maximum hp of the ward is equal to 2x level + Int and that creates the ceiling for the effect. I also consider the last half of the description to suggest that only after the ward is reduced to 0 will it begin to regain HP. The way it's worded makes me believe that the HP gain doesn't trigger until that point, where as if the "While the ward has 0 HP..." line was missing, it would be a constant effect in play.
So with these facts considered, it's probably just worth getting the DM's interpretation on a case-by-case basis then. It's odd that it'd be different but we've seen plenty of questionable meanings from WOTC over the years.
... I also consider the last half of the description to suggest that only after the ward is reduced to 0 will it begin to regain HP. The way it's worded makes me believe that the HP gain doesn't trigger until that point, where as if the "While the ward has 0 HP..." line was missing, it would be a constant effect in play.
The 0 HP phrase is in a different sentence to the section about the ward regaining hitpoints. The sentence about 0 HP is saying that draining the ward completely does not dispel it, but that it is dormant until it regains some hitpoints. The next sentence describes the method to regain hitpoints, but it starts with the word whenever, meaning that the ward can regain hitpoints at any time (unless it is already at max).
Sorcery Points. You have 2 sorcery points, and you gain more as you reach higher levels, as shown in the Sorcery Points column of the Sorcerer table. You can never have more sorcery points than shown on the table for your level. You regain all spent sorcery points when you finish a long rest.
The ward has hit points equal to twice your wizard level + your Intelligence modifier. Whenever you take damage, the ward takes the damage instead. If this damage reduces the ward to 0 hit points, you take any remaining damage.
While the ward has 0 hit points, it can't absorb damage, but its magic remains. Whenever you cast an abjuration spell of 1st level or higher, the ward regains a number of hit points equal to twice the level of the spell.
no mention of maximum arcane hp however it does say Whenever you cast an abjuration spell of 1st level or higher, the ward regains a number of hit points equal to twice the level of the spell. go kick some azz Gandalf
An old post and old issue but reading the actual wording, even of the old description, it states the ward regains hit points, which means it can only go up to it's original state. You can regain something you never had lol.
I would agree, it's wording isn't ideal, but it is pretty accurate, IMO.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Talk to your Players.Talk to your DM. If more people used this advice, there would be 24.74% fewer threads on Tactics, Rules and DM discussions.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So I have a quick - hopefully easy to answer - question about Arcane Ward. When it's summoned it starts with 2xWizard Level + INT mod, but can it go above that? When you cast Abjuration spells, it regains HP. Can casting such a spell cause the Arcane Ward to go above the initial HP? Or is the starting HP of the ward it's true maximum until you either level up and/or get an INT increase?
The Arcane Ward feature says: "The ward has a hit point maximum equal to twice your wizard level + your Intelligence modifier. ". So, it can't go above that.
I had been assuming that, but the PHB I'm reading says "The ward has hit points equal to twice your wizard leveI + your Intelligence modifier." with no mention of an actual maximum.
I see a maximum in the DDB version and on my physical copy.
Weird that the WotC errata document does not mention that.
This is one of those funny "It doesn't say no" moments in D&D. I can see the argument that you could, potentially, increase the amount of HP the ward has.
I'm of a mind to agree with Filcat here, and say that the maximum hp of the ward is equal to 2x level + Int and that creates the ceiling for the effect. I also consider the last half of the description to suggest that only after the ward is reduced to 0 will it begin to regain HP. The way it's worded makes me believe that the HP gain doesn't trigger until that point, where as if the "While the ward has 0 HP..." line was missing, it would be a constant effect in play.
So with these facts considered, it's probably just worth getting the DM's interpretation on a case-by-case basis then. It's odd that it'd be different but we've seen plenty of questionable meanings from WOTC over the years.
The 0 HP phrase is in a different sentence to the section about the ward regaining hitpoints. The sentence about 0 HP is saying that draining the ward completely does not dispel it, but that it is dormant until it regains some hitpoints. The next sentence describes the method to regain hitpoints, but it starts with the word whenever, meaning that the ward can regain hitpoints at any time (unless it is already at max).
The reason you see it in DnDB, is because it was errataed.
DND beyond auto incorporates errata. This was post July of 2015.
http://dnd.wizards.com/articles/features/sageadvice_july2015
The ward has hit points equal to twice your wizard level + your Intelligence modifier. Whenever you take damage, the ward takes the damage instead. If this damage reduces the ward to 0 hit points, you take any remaining damage.
While the ward has 0 hit points, it can't absorb damage, but its magic remains. Whenever you cast an abjuration spell of 1st level or higher, the ward regains a number of hit points equal to twice the level of the spell.
An old post and old issue but reading the actual wording, even of the old description, it states the ward regains hit points, which means it can only go up to it's original state. You can regain something you never had lol.
I would agree, it's wording isn't ideal, but it is pretty accurate, IMO.
Talk to your Players. Talk to your DM. If more people used this advice, there would be 24.74% fewer threads on Tactics, Rules and DM discussions.