Hi, it's me again with yet another dumb ruling question: what if a player attempted to bind the hidden lord to his services through "planar binding" while he is still trapped in the shield and then freed him?
1 thing that is up to DM is whether being trapped in the item counts as being in range.
If the player has figured out that the "hidden lord" can be targeted by the spell and the DM agrees, they can try, but good luck. It has a +7 and advantage on the save, so even if your spellsave DC is 19, you only have a 30.25% chance of succeeding.
Planar Binding targets a creature, and sadly sentient items are not creatures so by RAW the spell would simply fail. If it's your game you can homebrew it however you'd like, but by RAW it simply wouldn't work until Gargauth is free from the shield.
Hi, it's me again with yet another dumb ruling question: what if a player attempted to bind the hidden lord to his services through "planar binding" while he is still trapped in the shield and then freed him?
Thx in advance
1 thing that is up to DM is whether being trapped in the item counts as being in range.
If the player has figured out that the "hidden lord" can be targeted by the spell and the DM agrees, they can try, but good luck. It has a +7 and advantage on the save, so even if your spellsave DC is 19, you only have a 30.25% chance of succeeding.
Planar Binding targets a creature, and sadly sentient items are not creatures so by RAW the spell would simply fail. If it's your game you can homebrew it however you'd like, but by RAW it simply wouldn't work until Gargauth is free from the shield.
Thx