True polymorph seems to just turn you into whatever creature you want, limited only by CR. But in previous editions it was more clear on how much of the abilities you get. If a 20th level caster turns into a Pit Fiend, do they just get their physical stats and appearance or do they also get their multiple attacks, weapons (magical) and the ability to cast fireball at will? If turned into a creature with caster levels do they get to use those levels to cast spells common to that creature (mummy lord for instance)?
Creature into Creature. If you turn a creature into another kind of creature, the new form can be any kind you choose whose challenge rating is equal to or less than the target’s (or its level, if the target doesn’t have a challenge rating). The target’s game statistics, including mental ability scores, are replaced by the statistics of the new form. It retains its alignment and personality. The target assumes the hit points of its new form, and when it reverts to its normal form, the creature returns to the number of hit points it had before it transformed. If it reverts as a result of dropping to 0 hit points, any excess damage carries over to its normal form. As long as the excess damage doesn’t reduce the creature’s normal form to 0 hit points, it isn’t knocked unconscious. The creature is limited in the actions it can perform by the nature of its new form, and it can’t speak, cast spells, or take any other action that requires hands or speech, unless its new form is capable of such actions.
do you get the mummy lord's spells. yes, to an equivalent level of what you can polymorph into
So you're saying you do get the abilities of the monster you turn into, but if those abilities are based on items you do not? Is that your interpretation or is that based on rules somewhere?
Oh, that's interesting. I always took it the opposite way. The target's gear (what you're morphing to) melds. But I could see it interpreted both ways.
could individual parts of the body be transformed? if so, could i transform portions of the creature i choose? like lets say, i decide for whatever reason to turn my tongue into a snake, replace my hand with dragons head. that possible?
Note, several creatures have innate abilities that affect any weapon they wield. A Planetar for example is a great creature to become. Angelic weeapons means any weapon does more damage, you get multi-attack for 2 attacks per round, and you get healing. While you do not get their great sword, it is child's play to drop your weapon before you transform, then pick it up.
Honestly I'd advise just rolling with the printed weapons; it's a 9th level spell that can transform creatures into objects and vice-versa, so you're hardly going outside of the scope of the effect for the target to get a block's basic equipment for the duration.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
True polymorph seems to just turn you into whatever creature you want, limited only by CR. But in previous editions it was more clear on how much of the abilities you get. If a 20th level caster turns into a Pit Fiend, do they just get their physical stats and appearance or do they also get their multiple attacks, weapons (magical) and the ability to cast fireball at will? If turned into a creature with caster levels do they get to use those levels to cast spells common to that creature (mummy lord for instance)?
https://roll20.net/compendium/dnd5e/True Polymorph#content
Creature into Creature. If you turn a creature into another kind of creature, the new form can be any kind you choose whose challenge rating is equal to or less than the target’s (or its level, if the target doesn’t have a challenge rating). The target’s game statistics, including mental ability scores, are replaced by the statistics of the new form. It retains its alignment and personality.
The target assumes the hit points of its new form, and when it reverts to its normal form, the creature returns to the number of hit points it had before it transformed. If it reverts as a result of dropping to 0 hit points, any excess damage carries over to its normal form. As long as the excess damage doesn’t reduce the creature’s normal form to 0 hit points, it isn’t knocked unconscious.
The creature is limited in the actions it can perform by the nature of its new form, and it can’t speak, cast spells, or take any other action that requires hands or speech, unless its new form is capable of such actions.
Blank
Do you get the Pit fiend's magical weapons. no.
do you get the mummy lord's spells. yes, to an equivalent level of what you can polymorph into
Blank
So you're saying you do get the abilities of the monster you turn into, but if those abilities are based on items you do not? Is that your interpretation or is that based on rules somewhere?
both.
that's my interpretation based on the word for word of the spell's definition, which would be the spell's rules.
Blank
Yeah. Think you're looking for this part.
"The target's gear melds into the new form. The creature can't activate, use, wield, or otherwise benefit from any of its Equipment."
That's what happens when you wear a helmet your whole life!
My house rules
Ah, I interpreted this to mean any of the casters equipment he had on him when he cast the spell, not the equipment of the new form.
Oh, that's interesting. I always took it the opposite way. The target's gear (what you're morphing to) melds. But I could see it interpreted both ways.
That's what happens when you wear a helmet your whole life!
My house rules
could individual parts of the body be transformed? if so, could i transform portions of the creature i choose? like lets say, i decide for whatever reason to turn my tongue into a snake, replace my hand with dragons head. that possible?
No, individual parts cannot be transformed.
Note, several creatures have innate abilities that affect any weapon they wield. A Planetar for example is a great creature to become. Angelic weeapons means any weapon does more damage, you get multi-attack for 2 attacks per round, and you get healing. While you do not get their great sword, it is child's play to drop your weapon before you transform, then pick it up.
Honestly I'd advise just rolling with the printed weapons; it's a 9th level spell that can transform creatures into objects and vice-versa, so you're hardly going outside of the scope of the effect for the target to get a block's basic equipment for the duration.