Can a swarm keepers swarm move an ally if they needed to?
Yes. Gathered Swarm doesn't care it it's moving an ally or an enemy.
would they have to attack the ally first?
You don't have to attack yourself to move yourself 5 feet, and you're your own ally. To move yourself or an ally up to 15 feet, you have to do all of the following:
Attack the target creature.
Hit with the attack. Targets generally can't help you automatically hit them, but a cooperating ally can make it more likely - for example, they could shut their eyes. This won't work for stabbing yourself, as not being able to see your target and your attacker cancel each other out.
Hitting and missing are defined by making an attack roll. This means if you make an attack which does not make an attack roll and doesn't have a special rule allowing it to hit, you don't hit. This means Grapple and Shove (either version) can't be used to trigger Gathered Swarm.
The target has to fail a Strength saving throw they can't choose to automatically fail.
Note that you don't need to deal any damage, so if you're Strength 8, you can ask an ally to shut their eyes, punch them with Strength (you'll be at PB-1 to hit but with Advantage), deal 0 damage (even if you crit), and proceed accordingly.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Can a swarm keepers swarm move an ally if they needed to?
would they have to attack the ally first?
RAW you would need to attack an ally first, however, I as a DM would allow to use your action to move an ally 15 feet horizontally.
Yes for Gathered Swarm to move a creature, it must both be hit by an attack and fail a Strength saving throw.
Yes. Gathered Swarm doesn't care it it's moving an ally or an enemy.
You don't have to attack yourself to move yourself 5 feet, and you're your own ally. To move yourself or an ally up to 15 feet, you have to do all of the following:
Note that you don't need to deal any damage, so if you're Strength 8, you can ask an ally to shut their eyes, punch them with Strength (you'll be at PB-1 to hit but with Advantage), deal 0 damage (even if you crit), and proceed accordingly.